tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

01/02/2016 : PROTOMARTYR - The Agent Intellect

PROTOMARTYR

The Agent Intellect

MusicCD
IndiePost Punk

[85/100]   

Hardly Art
01/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Right off the cuff and making no concessions, that are the two key trademarks you can use if you want to describe Protomartyr’s music (even though you’ll never succeed in doing so). This post-punk band from Detroit is a busy bee, because in just three years, six productions were released (including some tapes). But with The Agent Intellect, the foursome aims at the world. The album lasts 45 minutes and consists of twelve songs in which singer Joe Casey does not mince words. Everything that seems foolish to him or makes him unhappy, is used in songs that are somewhere between the nonchalance of The Fall and the icy sound of Joy Division. Especially Casey's voice stands outreminds us of Pete Fijalkowski of Adorable, if you can remember that band.

The Agent Intellect is punk without chaos, because the four Americans know damn well how to write a proper melody, although they refuse to use the classic song structure. The songs won’t get any airplay, but if a band comes up with the equivalent of the cynical drivel of Mark E. Smith, then we can only conclude: we want more!

Didier BECU
01/02/2016


NL

Recht voor de vuist en geen toegevingen, dat zijn de twee kernwoorden die je kan gebruiken als je de muziek van Protomartyr wil omschrijven (ook al zal dat zeer moeilijk zijn). Deze postpunkband uit Detroit is een bezig bijtje, want op amper drie jaar tijd zijn zes releases uitgebracht (waaronder een paar tapes). Maar met The Agent Intellect mikt dit viertal op de hele wereld. De plaat duurt slechts 45 minuten en telt twaalf liedjes waarin zanger Joe Casey geen blad voor de mond neemt. Alles wat hem tegenzit of dwaas lijkt, wordt zonder omzien uitgespuwd in songs die zich ergens tussen de nonchalance van The Fall en de ijskoude klanken van Joy Division bevinden. Vooral de stem van Casey valt op en ze is verwant aan die van Pete Fijalkowski van Adorable, mocht je je die band nog herinneren.

The Agent Intellect is punk zonder dat het chaos wordt, want de vier Amerikanen weten verdomd goed hoe ze een melodie in elkaar moeten knutselen, hoewel ze weigeren om toe te geven aan de klassieke songstructuur. Veel airplay zal dat niet opleveren, maar als een band even sterk klinkt als het cynisch gewauwel van Mark E. Smith, dan kunnen wij alleen maar concluderen: graag meer van dat!

Didier BECU
01/02/2016


Music reviews

22
07
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Pink Obsession
11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
07
R.I.P. Rüdiger Frank (1967-2019) (Printed At Bismarck's Death, The Tors Of Dartmoor)
18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

22
07
L'AME IMMORTELLE
Amphi
22
07
PINK TURNS BLUE
Amphi
22
07
HENRIC DE LA COUR
Amphi
22
07
BLUTENGEL
Amphi
22
07
LORD OF THE LOST
Amphi
22
07
HOCICO
Amphi
22
07
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
07
STIN SCATZOR
Hellgium
22
07
LIZARD SMILE
Silence In Your Eyes
21
07
MINUIT MACHINE
BATTLES
20
07
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
19
07
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart