tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

01/02/2016 : PROTOMARTYR - The Agent Intellect

PROTOMARTYR

The Agent Intellect

MusicCD
IndiePost Punk

[85/100]   

Hardly Art
01/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Right off the cuff and making no concessions, that are the two key trademarks you can use if you want to describe Protomartyr’s music (even though you’ll never succeed in doing so). This post-punk band from Detroit is a busy bee, because in just three years, six productions were released (including some tapes). But with The Agent Intellect, the foursome aims at the world. The album lasts 45 minutes and consists of twelve songs in which singer Joe Casey does not mince words. Everything that seems foolish to him or makes him unhappy, is used in songs that are somewhere between the nonchalance of The Fall and the icy sound of Joy Division. Especially Casey's voice stands outreminds us of Pete Fijalkowski of Adorable, if you can remember that band.

The Agent Intellect is punk without chaos, because the four Americans know damn well how to write a proper melody, although they refuse to use the classic song structure. The songs won’t get any airplay, but if a band comes up with the equivalent of the cynical drivel of Mark E. Smith, then we can only conclude: we want more!

Didier BECU
01/02/2016


NL

Recht voor de vuist en geen toegevingen, dat zijn de twee kernwoorden die je kan gebruiken als je de muziek van Protomartyr wil omschrijven (ook al zal dat zeer moeilijk zijn). Deze postpunkband uit Detroit is een bezig bijtje, want op amper drie jaar tijd zijn zes releases uitgebracht (waaronder een paar tapes). Maar met The Agent Intellect mikt dit viertal op de hele wereld. De plaat duurt slechts 45 minuten en telt twaalf liedjes waarin zanger Joe Casey geen blad voor de mond neemt. Alles wat hem tegenzit of dwaas lijkt, wordt zonder omzien uitgespuwd in songs die zich ergens tussen de nonchalance van The Fall en de ijskoude klanken van Joy Division bevinden. Vooral de stem van Casey valt op en ze is verwant aan die van Pete Fijalkowski van Adorable, mocht je je die band nog herinneren.

The Agent Intellect is punk zonder dat het chaos wordt, want de vier Amerikanen weten verdomd goed hoe ze een melodie in elkaar moeten knutselen, hoewel ze weigeren om toe te geven aan de klassieke songstructuur. Veel airplay zal dat niet opleveren, maar als een band even sterk klinkt als het cynisch gewauwel van Mark E. Smith, dan kunnen wij alleen maar concluderen: graag meer van dat!

Didier BECU
01/02/2016


Music reviews

28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
10
OAKTREE
La Fin
02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
29
09
MYSTERY ART ORCHESTRA
Enjoy The Violence
28
09
BLANCMANGE
Don't Tell Me
27
09
DOWNLOAD
Glassblower (Official music video)