tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

01/02/2016 : PROTOMARTYR - The Agent Intellect

PROTOMARTYR

The Agent Intellect

MusicCD
IndiePost Punk

[85/100]   

Hardly Art
01/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Right off the cuff and making no concessions, that are the two key trademarks you can use if you want to describe Protomartyr’s music (even though you’ll never succeed in doing so). This post-punk band from Detroit is a busy bee, because in just three years, six productions were released (including some tapes). But with The Agent Intellect, the foursome aims at the world. The album lasts 45 minutes and consists of twelve songs in which singer Joe Casey does not mince words. Everything that seems foolish to him or makes him unhappy, is used in songs that are somewhere between the nonchalance of The Fall and the icy sound of Joy Division. Especially Casey's voice stands outreminds us of Pete Fijalkowski of Adorable, if you can remember that band.

The Agent Intellect is punk without chaos, because the four Americans know damn well how to write a proper melody, although they refuse to use the classic song structure. The songs won’t get any airplay, but if a band comes up with the equivalent of the cynical drivel of Mark E. Smith, then we can only conclude: we want more!

Didier BECU
01/02/2016


NL

Recht voor de vuist en geen toegevingen, dat zijn de twee kernwoorden die je kan gebruiken als je de muziek van Protomartyr wil omschrijven (ook al zal dat zeer moeilijk zijn). Deze postpunkband uit Detroit is een bezig bijtje, want op amper drie jaar tijd zijn zes releases uitgebracht (waaronder een paar tapes). Maar met The Agent Intellect mikt dit viertal op de hele wereld. De plaat duurt slechts 45 minuten en telt twaalf liedjes waarin zanger Joe Casey geen blad voor de mond neemt. Alles wat hem tegenzit of dwaas lijkt, wordt zonder omzien uitgespuwd in songs die zich ergens tussen de nonchalance van The Fall en de ijskoude klanken van Joy Division bevinden. Vooral de stem van Casey valt op en ze is verwant aan die van Pete Fijalkowski van Adorable, mocht je je die band nog herinneren.

The Agent Intellect is punk zonder dat het chaos wordt, want de vier Amerikanen weten verdomd goed hoe ze een melodie in elkaar moeten knutselen, hoewel ze weigeren om toe te geven aan de klassieke songstructuur. Veel airplay zal dat niet opleveren, maar als een band even sterk klinkt als het cynisch gewauwel van Mark E. Smith, dan kunnen wij alleen maar concluderen: graag meer van dat!

Didier BECU
01/02/2016


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl