tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

01/02/2016 : PROTOMARTYR - The Agent Intellect

PROTOMARTYR

The Agent Intellect

MusicCD
IndiePost Punk

[85/100]   

Hardly Art
01/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Right off the cuff and making no concessions, that are the two key trademarks you can use if you want to describe Protomartyr’s music (even though you’ll never succeed in doing so). This post-punk band from Detroit is a busy bee, because in just three years, six productions were released (including some tapes). But with The Agent Intellect, the foursome aims at the world. The album lasts 45 minutes and consists of twelve songs in which singer Joe Casey does not mince words. Everything that seems foolish to him or makes him unhappy, is used in songs that are somewhere between the nonchalance of The Fall and the icy sound of Joy Division. Especially Casey's voice stands outreminds us of Pete Fijalkowski of Adorable, if you can remember that band.

The Agent Intellect is punk without chaos, because the four Americans know damn well how to write a proper melody, although they refuse to use the classic song structure. The songs won’t get any airplay, but if a band comes up with the equivalent of the cynical drivel of Mark E. Smith, then we can only conclude: we want more!

Didier BECU
01/02/2016


NL

Recht voor de vuist en geen toegevingen, dat zijn de twee kernwoorden die je kan gebruiken als je de muziek van Protomartyr wil omschrijven (ook al zal dat zeer moeilijk zijn). Deze postpunkband uit Detroit is een bezig bijtje, want op amper drie jaar tijd zijn zes releases uitgebracht (waaronder een paar tapes). Maar met The Agent Intellect mikt dit viertal op de hele wereld. De plaat duurt slechts 45 minuten en telt twaalf liedjes waarin zanger Joe Casey geen blad voor de mond neemt. Alles wat hem tegenzit of dwaas lijkt, wordt zonder omzien uitgespuwd in songs die zich ergens tussen de nonchalance van The Fall en de ijskoude klanken van Joy Division bevinden. Vooral de stem van Casey valt op en ze is verwant aan die van Pete Fijalkowski van Adorable, mocht je je die band nog herinneren.

The Agent Intellect is punk zonder dat het chaos wordt, want de vier Amerikanen weten verdomd goed hoe ze een melodie in elkaar moeten knutselen, hoewel ze weigeren om toe te geven aan de klassieke songstructuur. Veel airplay zal dat niet opleveren, maar als een band even sterk klinkt als het cynisch gewauwel van Mark E. Smith, dan kunnen wij alleen maar concluderen: graag meer van dat!

Didier BECU
01/02/2016


Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
18
08
MARY OCHER
The Android Sea
17
08
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
16
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless
15
08
JO QUAIL
Gold (live)