tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

01/02/2016 : PROTOMARTYR - The Agent Intellect

PROTOMARTYR

The Agent Intellect

MusicCD
IndiePost Punk

[85/100]   

Hardly Art
01/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Right off the cuff and making no concessions, that are the two key trademarks you can use if you want to describe Protomartyr’s music (even though you’ll never succeed in doing so). This post-punk band from Detroit is a busy bee, because in just three years, six productions were released (including some tapes). But with The Agent Intellect, the foursome aims at the world. The album lasts 45 minutes and consists of twelve songs in which singer Joe Casey does not mince words. Everything that seems foolish to him or makes him unhappy, is used in songs that are somewhere between the nonchalance of The Fall and the icy sound of Joy Division. Especially Casey's voice stands outreminds us of Pete Fijalkowski of Adorable, if you can remember that band.

The Agent Intellect is punk without chaos, because the four Americans know damn well how to write a proper melody, although they refuse to use the classic song structure. The songs won’t get any airplay, but if a band comes up with the equivalent of the cynical drivel of Mark E. Smith, then we can only conclude: we want more!

Didier BECU
01/02/2016


NL

Recht voor de vuist en geen toegevingen, dat zijn de twee kernwoorden die je kan gebruiken als je de muziek van Protomartyr wil omschrijven (ook al zal dat zeer moeilijk zijn). Deze postpunkband uit Detroit is een bezig bijtje, want op amper drie jaar tijd zijn zes releases uitgebracht (waaronder een paar tapes). Maar met The Agent Intellect mikt dit viertal op de hele wereld. De plaat duurt slechts 45 minuten en telt twaalf liedjes waarin zanger Joe Casey geen blad voor de mond neemt. Alles wat hem tegenzit of dwaas lijkt, wordt zonder omzien uitgespuwd in songs die zich ergens tussen de nonchalance van The Fall en de ijskoude klanken van Joy Division bevinden. Vooral de stem van Casey valt op en ze is verwant aan die van Pete Fijalkowski van Adorable, mocht je je die band nog herinneren.

The Agent Intellect is punk zonder dat het chaos wordt, want de vier Amerikanen weten verdomd goed hoe ze een melodie in elkaar moeten knutselen, hoewel ze weigeren om toe te geven aan de klassieke songstructuur. Veel airplay zal dat niet opleveren, maar als een band even sterk klinkt als het cynisch gewauwel van Mark E. Smith, dan kunnen wij alleen maar concluderen: graag meer van dat!

Didier BECU
01/02/2016


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu