tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/01/2016 : THE SILENCE SET - Teeth Out

THE SILENCE SET

Teeth Out

MusicCD
DreampopIndiePost Rock

[79/100]   

Mini50 Records
29/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The Silence Set is a duo from Gothenburg: Dag Rosenqvist and Johan G Winther. Armed with an acoustic guitar, a harmonium, a banjo, a piano and some other instruments, the two made an album that eventually took three years to record.

It is a long time, but already from the opener We Will Die Enraged you realize that it was worthwhile to take such a long time. Everything sounds perfect to the smallest detail and sometimes it reminds us of the later TalkTalk days.

The song begins with a sound blast, but the rest (especially the splendour) returns after a few seconds. The music is beautiful alt-country in the style of Wilco and Lambchop. You’d swear that it is recorded in some American barn, but it all happened somewhere in Sweden. Even better is The Passing. The voice of Johan G Winther sounds thin and is frequently interrupted by distorted guitars. More strange sounds you hear in Words Meant To Harm, The best song is undoubtedly Worry, Glory, sung by Heather Woods Broderick and in which even Nils Frahm cooperates.

Deliverance is another knife that cuts both ways. On the one hand the track is bittersweet, on the other hand it cuts deep into your soul. All I Know Is All I Need is a pretty ballad, the kind of song that you play when you dream away and you think that you are happy for a moment. The piano on Little Hands is perfect for a chilly winter evening, while Johan’s tender voice is the fire that warms your heart. On Needles it feels like if a whole fanfare marches through your living room. The song is reminiscent of the pompous Belle & Sebastian, or just how pop always should sound!

You surely have heard the sound of The Silence Set before, but it's a debut that you definitely need to discover!

Didier BECU
29/01/2016


NL

The Silence Set is een duo uit Gothenburg: Dag Rosenqvist en Johan G Winther. Gewapend met een akoestische gitaar, een traporgel, een banjo, een piano en nog wat andere instrumenten, maakten de twee een plaat waarvan de opnames uiteindelijk drie jaar zouden duren.

Het is een hele poos, maar vanaf de opener We Will Die Enraged besef je dat het waard was om er zo veel tijd in te stoppen. Alles klinkt immers tot in de kleinste details op en top afgewerkt en herinnert ons soms aan de latere Talk Talk-dagen.

Het nummer begint met een geluidstoot, maar na een paar seconden keert de rust (en vooral de pracht) terug. De mooie alt-country ligt in de stijl van Wilco of Lambchop. Je denkt wel dat het in één of andere Amerikaanse schuur is opgenomen, maar het gebeurde wel degelijk ergens in Zweden. Nog mooier wordt het op The Passing. De stem van Johan G Winther klinkt ijl en wordt regelmatig onderbroken door vervormde gitaren. Nog meer vreemde geluiden hoor je in Words Meant To Harm, Het mooiste nummer is ongetwijfeld Worry, Glory dat wordt gezongen door Heather Woods Broderick en waar zelfs ook Nils Frahm aan meewerkt.

Deliverance is opnieuw een mes dat aan twee kanten snijdt. Enerzijds is de track bitterzoet, anderzijds snijdt het diep in je ziel. All I Know Is All I Need is een knappe ballade, het soort liedje dat je verzint als je wegdroomt en je denkt dat je voor een moment gelukkig bent. De pianoklanken op Little Hands zijn ideaal voor een kille winteravond, de tedere stem van Johan is het haardvuur dat je hart verwarmt. In Needles lijkt het zelfs alsof er plotseling een hele fanfare door je woonkamer trekt. Het nummer heeft inderdaad wel iets weg van de pompeuze Belle & Sebastian, of gewoon hoe pop altijd zou moeten klinken!

Je hebt het geluid van The Silence Set zeker al eens eerder gehoord, maar het is een debuut dat er gerust mag wezen!

Didier BECU
29/01/2016


Music reviews

25
11
DEZ MONA
LOOSE ENDS
02
11
STAATSEINDE
Fehlerlinie
05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
12
Today, 44 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
79 Years Ago JIM MORRISON WAS BORN!
07
12
30 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Rabbit Junk Brings Fatalism And Frustration To 'Apocalypse For Beginners'
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
46 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.
29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2

PHOTOS

08
12
TARJA TURUNEN
Christuskirche Bochum
05
12
SONAR
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
TEST DEPT
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
RADICAL G
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
FIX8:SED8
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
TC75
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
SOFT RIOT
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
12
HELENA HAUFF
Sworn To Secrecy Part II
07
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers
06
12
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
05
12
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
04
12
ORSON HENTSCHEL
Noise of the Light
03
12
GOOSE
Synrise
02
12
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks