tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/01/2016 : THE SILENCE SET - Teeth Out

THE SILENCE SET

Teeth Out

MusicCD
DreampopIndiePost Rock

[79/100]   

Mini50 Records
29/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The Silence Set is a duo from Gothenburg: Dag Rosenqvist and Johan G Winther. Armed with an acoustic guitar, a harmonium, a banjo, a piano and some other instruments, the two made an album that eventually took three years to record.

It is a long time, but already from the opener We Will Die Enraged you realize that it was worthwhile to take such a long time. Everything sounds perfect to the smallest detail and sometimes it reminds us of the later TalkTalk days.

The song begins with a sound blast, but the rest (especially the splendour) returns after a few seconds. The music is beautiful alt-country in the style of Wilco and Lambchop. You’d swear that it is recorded in some American barn, but it all happened somewhere in Sweden. Even better is The Passing. The voice of Johan G Winther sounds thin and is frequently interrupted by distorted guitars. More strange sounds you hear in Words Meant To Harm, The best song is undoubtedly Worry, Glory, sung by Heather Woods Broderick and in which even Nils Frahm cooperates.

Deliverance is another knife that cuts both ways. On the one hand the track is bittersweet, on the other hand it cuts deep into your soul. All I Know Is All I Need is a pretty ballad, the kind of song that you play when you dream away and you think that you are happy for a moment. The piano on Little Hands is perfect for a chilly winter evening, while Johan’s tender voice is the fire that warms your heart. On Needles it feels like if a whole fanfare marches through your living room. The song is reminiscent of the pompous Belle & Sebastian, or just how pop always should sound!

You surely have heard the sound of The Silence Set before, but it's a debut that you definitely need to discover!

Didier BECU
29/01/2016


NL

The Silence Set is een duo uit Gothenburg: Dag Rosenqvist en Johan G Winther. Gewapend met een akoestische gitaar, een traporgel, een banjo, een piano en nog wat andere instrumenten, maakten de twee een plaat waarvan de opnames uiteindelijk drie jaar zouden duren.

Het is een hele poos, maar vanaf de opener We Will Die Enraged besef je dat het waard was om er zo veel tijd in te stoppen. Alles klinkt immers tot in de kleinste details op en top afgewerkt en herinnert ons soms aan de latere Talk Talk-dagen.

Het nummer begint met een geluidstoot, maar na een paar seconden keert de rust (en vooral de pracht) terug. De mooie alt-country ligt in de stijl van Wilco of Lambchop. Je denkt wel dat het in één of andere Amerikaanse schuur is opgenomen, maar het gebeurde wel degelijk ergens in Zweden. Nog mooier wordt het op The Passing. De stem van Johan G Winther klinkt ijl en wordt regelmatig onderbroken door vervormde gitaren. Nog meer vreemde geluiden hoor je in Words Meant To Harm, Het mooiste nummer is ongetwijfeld Worry, Glory dat wordt gezongen door Heather Woods Broderick en waar zelfs ook Nils Frahm aan meewerkt.

Deliverance is opnieuw een mes dat aan twee kanten snijdt. Enerzijds is de track bitterzoet, anderzijds snijdt het diep in je ziel. All I Know Is All I Need is een knappe ballade, het soort liedje dat je verzint als je wegdroomt en je denkt dat je voor een moment gelukkig bent. De pianoklanken op Little Hands zijn ideaal voor een kille winteravond, de tedere stem van Johan is het haardvuur dat je hart verwarmt. In Needles lijkt het zelfs alsof er plotseling een hele fanfare door je woonkamer trekt. Het nummer heeft inderdaad wel iets weg van de pompeuze Belle & Sebastian, of gewoon hoe pop altijd zou moeten klinken!

Je hebt het geluid van The Silence Set zeker al eens eerder gehoord, maar het is een debuut dat er gerust mag wezen!

Didier BECU
29/01/2016


Music reviews

10
05
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Fear And Cufre
09
05
NEL & JP
Desinterersse
07
05
DARKEST NIGHT 2024
30
04
ATTRITION
The Black Maria
26
04
HYBRYDS
Mythopia, the sequel
25
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Elysium

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
46 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 45 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
12
06
Darkwave Band DICHRO Unveils The Soulful New Single & Video: “Mercy”
11
06
REVISER Addresses Internal & External Struggles Of Power With Two New Singles
11
06
33 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
10
06
EMPTY - PLEASE USE FIRST

Concert reviews

15
04
FAD GADGET
***FLASHBACK REVIEW***The Return of FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REVIEW***
16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
SCREAMING DEAD
“In a dream of yesterday, off the forest and the glade, I remember yesterday“ They are the Creatures of the Night. The Legion of the Dead. Peek-A-Boo presents … Screaming Dead!
29
05
LIVERNOIS
An Interview With Industrial Band, Livernois
27
05
AUSGANG
“This crushing, slamming, heavy strife …” It is 1982. In and around Birmingham a band arises from the ashes of various Post-Punk acts.
11
05
XTR HUMAN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist, XTR Human
09
05
THE RED MOON MACABRE
Resurrected after 32 years in 2021, now very active again. Interview with Renzo Tellez, founder of the classic Goth Rock band ‘The Red Moon Macabre’.

PHOTOS

21
06
TOOL
Graspop Dessel
19
06
KEBU
db2flectuation - cc Gasthuis Aarschot
19
06
HYPERKUBE
db2flectuation - cc Gasthuis Aarschot
19
06
BYSENSES
db2flectuation - cc Gasthuis Aarschot
19
06
BYSENSES
db2flectuation - cc Gasthuis Aarschot
19
06
DANIEL.B
db2flectuation - cc Gasthuis Aarschot
11
06
THEN COMES SILENCE
Darkmas Fest II Haus Witten

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
06
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Ewige Nacht
23
06
NEW ORDER
People On The High Line
22
06
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
21
06
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Slammer
21
06
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
20
06
ASHES AT DAWN
Monster
19
06
NITZER EBB
Let Your Body Learn