tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/01/2016 : THE SILENCE SET - Teeth Out

THE SILENCE SET

Teeth Out

MusicCD
DreampopIndiePost Rock

[79/100]   

Mini50 Records
29/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The Silence Set is a duo from Gothenburg: Dag Rosenqvist and Johan G Winther. Armed with an acoustic guitar, a harmonium, a banjo, a piano and some other instruments, the two made an album that eventually took three years to record.

It is a long time, but already from the opener We Will Die Enraged you realize that it was worthwhile to take such a long time. Everything sounds perfect to the smallest detail and sometimes it reminds us of the later TalkTalk days.

The song begins with a sound blast, but the rest (especially the splendour) returns after a few seconds. The music is beautiful alt-country in the style of Wilco and Lambchop. You’d swear that it is recorded in some American barn, but it all happened somewhere in Sweden. Even better is The Passing. The voice of Johan G Winther sounds thin and is frequently interrupted by distorted guitars. More strange sounds you hear in Words Meant To Harm, The best song is undoubtedly Worry, Glory, sung by Heather Woods Broderick and in which even Nils Frahm cooperates.

Deliverance is another knife that cuts both ways. On the one hand the track is bittersweet, on the other hand it cuts deep into your soul. All I Know Is All I Need is a pretty ballad, the kind of song that you play when you dream away and you think that you are happy for a moment. The piano on Little Hands is perfect for a chilly winter evening, while Johan’s tender voice is the fire that warms your heart. On Needles it feels like if a whole fanfare marches through your living room. The song is reminiscent of the pompous Belle & Sebastian, or just how pop always should sound!

You surely have heard the sound of The Silence Set before, but it's a debut that you definitely need to discover!

Didier BECU
29/01/2016


NL

The Silence Set is een duo uit Gothenburg: Dag Rosenqvist en Johan G Winther. Gewapend met een akoestische gitaar, een traporgel, een banjo, een piano en nog wat andere instrumenten, maakten de twee een plaat waarvan de opnames uiteindelijk drie jaar zouden duren.

Het is een hele poos, maar vanaf de opener We Will Die Enraged besef je dat het waard was om er zo veel tijd in te stoppen. Alles klinkt immers tot in de kleinste details op en top afgewerkt en herinnert ons soms aan de latere Talk Talk-dagen.

Het nummer begint met een geluidstoot, maar na een paar seconden keert de rust (en vooral de pracht) terug. De mooie alt-country ligt in de stijl van Wilco of Lambchop. Je denkt wel dat het in één of andere Amerikaanse schuur is opgenomen, maar het gebeurde wel degelijk ergens in Zweden. Nog mooier wordt het op The Passing. De stem van Johan G Winther klinkt ijl en wordt regelmatig onderbroken door vervormde gitaren. Nog meer vreemde geluiden hoor je in Words Meant To Harm, Het mooiste nummer is ongetwijfeld Worry, Glory dat wordt gezongen door Heather Woods Broderick en waar zelfs ook Nils Frahm aan meewerkt.

Deliverance is opnieuw een mes dat aan twee kanten snijdt. Enerzijds is de track bitterzoet, anderzijds snijdt het diep in je ziel. All I Know Is All I Need is een knappe ballade, het soort liedje dat je verzint als je wegdroomt en je denkt dat je voor een moment gelukkig bent. De pianoklanken op Little Hands zijn ideaal voor een kille winteravond, de tedere stem van Johan is het haardvuur dat je hart verwarmt. In Needles lijkt het zelfs alsof er plotseling een hele fanfare door je woonkamer trekt. Het nummer heeft inderdaad wel iets weg van de pompeuze Belle & Sebastian, of gewoon hoe pop altijd zou moeten klinken!

Je hebt het geluid van The Silence Set zeker al eens eerder gehoord, maar het is een debuut dat er gerust mag wezen!

Didier BECU
29/01/2016


Music reviews

01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover
27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights