tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/01/2016 : THE SILENCE SET - Teeth Out

THE SILENCE SET

Teeth Out

MusicCD
DreampopIndiePost Rock

[79/100]   

Mini50 Records
29/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The Silence Set is a duo from Gothenburg: Dag Rosenqvist and Johan G Winther. Armed with an acoustic guitar, a harmonium, a banjo, a piano and some other instruments, the two made an album that eventually took three years to record.

It is a long time, but already from the opener We Will Die Enraged you realize that it was worthwhile to take such a long time. Everything sounds perfect to the smallest detail and sometimes it reminds us of the later TalkTalk days.

The song begins with a sound blast, but the rest (especially the splendour) returns after a few seconds. The music is beautiful alt-country in the style of Wilco and Lambchop. You’d swear that it is recorded in some American barn, but it all happened somewhere in Sweden. Even better is The Passing. The voice of Johan G Winther sounds thin and is frequently interrupted by distorted guitars. More strange sounds you hear in Words Meant To Harm, The best song is undoubtedly Worry, Glory, sung by Heather Woods Broderick and in which even Nils Frahm cooperates.

Deliverance is another knife that cuts both ways. On the one hand the track is bittersweet, on the other hand it cuts deep into your soul. All I Know Is All I Need is a pretty ballad, the kind of song that you play when you dream away and you think that you are happy for a moment. The piano on Little Hands is perfect for a chilly winter evening, while Johan’s tender voice is the fire that warms your heart. On Needles it feels like if a whole fanfare marches through your living room. The song is reminiscent of the pompous Belle & Sebastian, or just how pop always should sound!

You surely have heard the sound of The Silence Set before, but it's a debut that you definitely need to discover!

Didier BECU
29/01/2016


NL

The Silence Set is een duo uit Gothenburg: Dag Rosenqvist en Johan G Winther. Gewapend met een akoestische gitaar, een traporgel, een banjo, een piano en nog wat andere instrumenten, maakten de twee een plaat waarvan de opnames uiteindelijk drie jaar zouden duren.

Het is een hele poos, maar vanaf de opener We Will Die Enraged besef je dat het waard was om er zo veel tijd in te stoppen. Alles klinkt immers tot in de kleinste details op en top afgewerkt en herinnert ons soms aan de latere Talk Talk-dagen.

Het nummer begint met een geluidstoot, maar na een paar seconden keert de rust (en vooral de pracht) terug. De mooie alt-country ligt in de stijl van Wilco of Lambchop. Je denkt wel dat het in één of andere Amerikaanse schuur is opgenomen, maar het gebeurde wel degelijk ergens in Zweden. Nog mooier wordt het op The Passing. De stem van Johan G Winther klinkt ijl en wordt regelmatig onderbroken door vervormde gitaren. Nog meer vreemde geluiden hoor je in Words Meant To Harm, Het mooiste nummer is ongetwijfeld Worry, Glory dat wordt gezongen door Heather Woods Broderick en waar zelfs ook Nils Frahm aan meewerkt.

Deliverance is opnieuw een mes dat aan twee kanten snijdt. Enerzijds is de track bitterzoet, anderzijds snijdt het diep in je ziel. All I Know Is All I Need is een knappe ballade, het soort liedje dat je verzint als je wegdroomt en je denkt dat je voor een moment gelukkig bent. De pianoklanken op Little Hands zijn ideaal voor een kille winteravond, de tedere stem van Johan is het haardvuur dat je hart verwarmt. In Needles lijkt het zelfs alsof er plotseling een hele fanfare door je woonkamer trekt. Het nummer heeft inderdaad wel iets weg van de pompeuze Belle & Sebastian, of gewoon hoe pop altijd zou moeten klinken!

Je hebt het geluid van The Silence Set zeker al eens eerder gehoord, maar het is een debuut dat er gerust mag wezen!

Didier BECU
29/01/2016


Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain
20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death
17
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination
16
02
GERTRUD STEIN
The Void
15
02
MINISTRY
Same Old Madness