tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/01/2016 : THE SILENCE SET - Teeth Out

THE SILENCE SET

Teeth Out

MusicCD
DreampopIndiePost Rock

[79/100]   

Mini50 Records
29/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The Silence Set is a duo from Gothenburg: Dag Rosenqvist and Johan G Winther. Armed with an acoustic guitar, a harmonium, a banjo, a piano and some other instruments, the two made an album that eventually took three years to record.

It is a long time, but already from the opener We Will Die Enraged you realize that it was worthwhile to take such a long time. Everything sounds perfect to the smallest detail and sometimes it reminds us of the later TalkTalk days.

The song begins with a sound blast, but the rest (especially the splendour) returns after a few seconds. The music is beautiful alt-country in the style of Wilco and Lambchop. You’d swear that it is recorded in some American barn, but it all happened somewhere in Sweden. Even better is The Passing. The voice of Johan G Winther sounds thin and is frequently interrupted by distorted guitars. More strange sounds you hear in Words Meant To Harm, The best song is undoubtedly Worry, Glory, sung by Heather Woods Broderick and in which even Nils Frahm cooperates.

Deliverance is another knife that cuts both ways. On the one hand the track is bittersweet, on the other hand it cuts deep into your soul. All I Know Is All I Need is a pretty ballad, the kind of song that you play when you dream away and you think that you are happy for a moment. The piano on Little Hands is perfect for a chilly winter evening, while Johan’s tender voice is the fire that warms your heart. On Needles it feels like if a whole fanfare marches through your living room. The song is reminiscent of the pompous Belle & Sebastian, or just how pop always should sound!

You surely have heard the sound of The Silence Set before, but it's a debut that you definitely need to discover!

Didier BECU
29/01/2016


NL

The Silence Set is een duo uit Gothenburg: Dag Rosenqvist en Johan G Winther. Gewapend met een akoestische gitaar, een traporgel, een banjo, een piano en nog wat andere instrumenten, maakten de twee een plaat waarvan de opnames uiteindelijk drie jaar zouden duren.

Het is een hele poos, maar vanaf de opener We Will Die Enraged besef je dat het waard was om er zo veel tijd in te stoppen. Alles klinkt immers tot in de kleinste details op en top afgewerkt en herinnert ons soms aan de latere Talk Talk-dagen.

Het nummer begint met een geluidstoot, maar na een paar seconden keert de rust (en vooral de pracht) terug. De mooie alt-country ligt in de stijl van Wilco of Lambchop. Je denkt wel dat het in één of andere Amerikaanse schuur is opgenomen, maar het gebeurde wel degelijk ergens in Zweden. Nog mooier wordt het op The Passing. De stem van Johan G Winther klinkt ijl en wordt regelmatig onderbroken door vervormde gitaren. Nog meer vreemde geluiden hoor je in Words Meant To Harm, Het mooiste nummer is ongetwijfeld Worry, Glory dat wordt gezongen door Heather Woods Broderick en waar zelfs ook Nils Frahm aan meewerkt.

Deliverance is opnieuw een mes dat aan twee kanten snijdt. Enerzijds is de track bitterzoet, anderzijds snijdt het diep in je ziel. All I Know Is All I Need is een knappe ballade, het soort liedje dat je verzint als je wegdroomt en je denkt dat je voor een moment gelukkig bent. De pianoklanken op Little Hands zijn ideaal voor een kille winteravond, de tedere stem van Johan is het haardvuur dat je hart verwarmt. In Needles lijkt het zelfs alsof er plotseling een hele fanfare door je woonkamer trekt. Het nummer heeft inderdaad wel iets weg van de pompeuze Belle & Sebastian, of gewoon hoe pop altijd zou moeten klinken!

Je hebt het geluid van The Silence Set zeker al eens eerder gehoord, maar het is een debuut dat er gerust mag wezen!

Didier BECU
29/01/2016


Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR
04
09
Two new DAFT RECORDS releases upcoming!
29
08
41 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
09
SCHWEFELGELB
Bis zum Nächsten Tag
15
09
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Die Interimsliebenden