tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this article review

29/01/2016 : ELVYA DULCIMER - BLACK EASTER 2016

ELVYA DULCIMER

BLACK EASTER 2016

Article
29/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Besides post punk, the Black Easter festival in Antwerp also hosts the best of dark wave. The first artist in this genre we’d like to present in our series is Elvya, or Elvya Dulcimer, because the Belgian musician uses the hammered dulcimer.

Maybe, the name means nothing to you, but it is a stringed instrument that is similar to the zither. Therefore, this ancient Slavic instrument is ideally suited for creating music for daydreamers.

If we say that Elvya is inspired by artists such as Faun, Two Steps From Hell, Arjen Anthony Lucassen and Enya, then you also know that her compositions fit the medieval atmosphere. Elvya is also an artist who is often asked by other musicians, she regularly is on stage with Leaves Eyes (the band of Liv Kristine) and Ayreon.

Last year Elvya’s first album Untold Stories was released and awarded on our pages with 90 to 100.

Elvya plays on Saturday, 26th March at the Zappa on Black Easter in Antwerp. An act to discover!

Facebook
YouTube
Soundcloud
Bandcamp 

Didier BECU
29/01/2016


NL

Naast postpunk bevat de affiche van Black Easter ook heel wat namen uit de darkwavewereld. De eerste artiest uit dat genre die we je in onze reeks voorstellen is Elvya, ofwel Elvya Dulcimer, omdat deze Limburgse muzikante de hammered dulcimer gebruikt.

De naam zegt je misschien niets, maar het is een snaarinstrument dat op de citer of het hakkebord lijkt. Dit oude Slavische instrument is dan ook ideaal geschikt voor het creëren van muziek voor dagdromers. Als we je vertellen dat Elvya wordt geïnspireerd door artiesten zoals Faun, Two Steps From Hell, Arjen Anthony Lucassen en Enya, dan weet je ook dat haar composities in de medievalsfeer passen. Ze is trouwens tevens een artieste die vaak door andere muzikanten wordt gevraagd; zo staat ze regelmatig op het podium met Leaves Eyes (met Liv Kristine) en Ayreon.

Verleden jaar verscheen Elvyas eerste plaat Untold Stories, die op onze pagina’s met een 90 op 100 werd bekroond.

Elvya staat zaterdag 26 maart in de Antwerpse Zappa op Black Easter. Een act om te ontdekken!

Facebook
YouTube
Soundcloud
Bandcamp 

Didier BECU
29/01/2016


Music reviews

13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!
10
07
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
10
07
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' opens this Friday followed by a cast and director Q&A!
04
07
'Locating Silver Lake' celebrates its international premiere at Edinburgh Film Festival!
29
06
Tonight! Dark Entries Night @ Kinky Star with Dead Man's Hill & Causenation!
18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
07
JO QUAIL
Laurus
14
07
PIG
The Revelation
13
07
KLAMMER
Spiral Girl
12
07
SOFT RIOT
Waiting For Something Terrible To Happen
11
07
EUROPEAN GHOST
Suspended in the void
10
07
BLACK NAIL CABARET
Bête Noire
09
07
PSY'AVIAH FT MARIEKE LIGHTBAND
The Great Disconnect