tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this article review

29/01/2016 : ELVYA DULCIMER - BLACK EASTER 2016

ELVYA DULCIMER

BLACK EASTER 2016

Article
29/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Besides post punk, the Black Easter festival in Antwerp also hosts the best of dark wave. The first artist in this genre we’d like to present in our series is Elvya, or Elvya Dulcimer, because the Belgian musician uses the hammered dulcimer.

Maybe, the name means nothing to you, but it is a stringed instrument that is similar to the zither. Therefore, this ancient Slavic instrument is ideally suited for creating music for daydreamers.

If we say that Elvya is inspired by artists such as Faun, Two Steps From Hell, Arjen Anthony Lucassen and Enya, then you also know that her compositions fit the medieval atmosphere. Elvya is also an artist who is often asked by other musicians, she regularly is on stage with Leaves Eyes (the band of Liv Kristine) and Ayreon.

Last year Elvya’s first album Untold Stories was released and awarded on our pages with 90 to 100.

Elvya plays on Saturday, 26th March at the Zappa on Black Easter in Antwerp. An act to discover!

Facebook
YouTube
Soundcloud
Bandcamp 

Didier BECU
29/01/2016


NL

Naast postpunk bevat de affiche van Black Easter ook heel wat namen uit de darkwavewereld. De eerste artiest uit dat genre die we je in onze reeks voorstellen is Elvya, ofwel Elvya Dulcimer, omdat deze Limburgse muzikante de hammered dulcimer gebruikt.

De naam zegt je misschien niets, maar het is een snaarinstrument dat op de citer of het hakkebord lijkt. Dit oude Slavische instrument is dan ook ideaal geschikt voor het creëren van muziek voor dagdromers. Als we je vertellen dat Elvya wordt geïnspireerd door artiesten zoals Faun, Two Steps From Hell, Arjen Anthony Lucassen en Enya, dan weet je ook dat haar composities in de medievalsfeer passen. Ze is trouwens tevens een artieste die vaak door andere muzikanten wordt gevraagd; zo staat ze regelmatig op het podium met Leaves Eyes (met Liv Kristine) en Ayreon.

Verleden jaar verscheen Elvyas eerste plaat Untold Stories, die op onze pagina’s met een 90 op 100 werd bekroond.

Elvya staat zaterdag 26 maart in de Antwerpse Zappa op Black Easter. Een act om te ontdekken!

Facebook
YouTube
Soundcloud
Bandcamp 

Didier BECU
29/01/2016


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!
04
03
Electro/Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Unleashes New Single & Video, 'Out Of Order'
04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)