tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this article review

29/01/2016 : ELVYA DULCIMER - BLACK EASTER 2016

ELVYA DULCIMER

BLACK EASTER 2016

Article
29/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Besides post punk, the Black Easter festival in Antwerp also hosts the best of dark wave. The first artist in this genre we’d like to present in our series is Elvya, or Elvya Dulcimer, because the Belgian musician uses the hammered dulcimer.

Maybe, the name means nothing to you, but it is a stringed instrument that is similar to the zither. Therefore, this ancient Slavic instrument is ideally suited for creating music for daydreamers.

If we say that Elvya is inspired by artists such as Faun, Two Steps From Hell, Arjen Anthony Lucassen and Enya, then you also know that her compositions fit the medieval atmosphere. Elvya is also an artist who is often asked by other musicians, she regularly is on stage with Leaves Eyes (the band of Liv Kristine) and Ayreon.

Last year Elvya’s first album Untold Stories was released and awarded on our pages with 90 to 100.

Elvya plays on Saturday, 26th March at the Zappa on Black Easter in Antwerp. An act to discover!

Facebook
YouTube
Soundcloud
Bandcamp 

Didier BECU
29/01/2016


NL

Naast postpunk bevat de affiche van Black Easter ook heel wat namen uit de darkwavewereld. De eerste artiest uit dat genre die we je in onze reeks voorstellen is Elvya, ofwel Elvya Dulcimer, omdat deze Limburgse muzikante de hammered dulcimer gebruikt.

De naam zegt je misschien niets, maar het is een snaarinstrument dat op de citer of het hakkebord lijkt. Dit oude Slavische instrument is dan ook ideaal geschikt voor het creëren van muziek voor dagdromers. Als we je vertellen dat Elvya wordt geïnspireerd door artiesten zoals Faun, Two Steps From Hell, Arjen Anthony Lucassen en Enya, dan weet je ook dat haar composities in de medievalsfeer passen. Ze is trouwens tevens een artieste die vaak door andere muzikanten wordt gevraagd; zo staat ze regelmatig op het podium met Leaves Eyes (met Liv Kristine) en Ayreon.

Verleden jaar verscheen Elvyas eerste plaat Untold Stories, die op onze pagina’s met een 90 op 100 werd bekroond.

Elvya staat zaterdag 26 maart in de Antwerpse Zappa op Black Easter. Een act om te ontdekken!

Facebook
YouTube
Soundcloud
Bandcamp 

Didier BECU
29/01/2016


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!
21
01
Today, exactly 27 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS 40th ANNIVERSARY EUROPEAN TOUR
20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty