tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

28/01/2016 : LOWER DENS - Escape From evil

LOWER DENS

Escape From evil

MusicCD


[96/100]   

Ribbon Music
28/01/2016, Marija BULJETA

EN

Escape From Evil is the third album of Lower Dens, an American indie rock band from Baltimore, USA. It was produced by the band’s lead singer Jana Hunter and Chris Coady and was released in March 2015.

The album is a dreamy voyage for all indie music lovers who perhaps lost hope of hearing a solid indie album since the 90s. This album brings a touch of new millennium mixed with a nostalgic feel of some old 4-AD music like Cocteau Twins, This Mortal Coil or Throwing Muses.

The album starts with two mellow, floating songs, but then comes To Die in L.A., an utterly melodic, swinging, poppy song that can easily be played on a dance floor, with a very catchy chorus. However, the lyrics leave the main focus on the melody.

On the contrary, I am the Earth is a heavy and thoughtful song in every way, both lyrically and musically, and it surely deserves more than one listening. It provokes deeper thoughts and feelings about oneself and life and can leave you with the sense of heaviness that the world inside and around us brings. I consider the song to be the core of the general feel of the album.
Non Grata is yet another song to dance to, but a bit gloomier than Company that has a surprising twist from quite an innocent intro to the musically and vocally powerful chorus.

The album ends with another true indie hit: Societe Anonyme, which is again mellow and dreamy, but in a faster tempo, bringing back nice memories of the indie music era that brought us music I did not think I was going to hear again, but this album proves it can be heard in all its beauty again in 2016.

Marija BULJETA
28/01/2016


NL

Escape From Evil is het derde album van Lower Dens, een Amerikaanse indierockband uit Baltimore, USA. Het werd geproduceerd door de zanger Jana Hunter en Chris Coady, en verscheen vorig jaar in de winkels.

Het album is een dromerige trip en een echte aanrader voor alle muziekliefhebbers die alle hoop op een stevige indieplaat sinds de jaren 90 hebben opgegeven. Dit album heeft een nostalgische uitstraling die doet denken aan oude 4AD-bands zoals Cocteau Twins, This Mortal Coil of Throwing Muses.

 Het album begint met twee zachte nummers, maar dan komt plotseling To Die in LA,: een uiterst melodieus, swingend poppy nummer dat gemakkelijk op een dansvloer kan worden gedraaid en dat bovendien een zeer catchy refrein heeft. Ook de teksten zijn belangrijk voor Lower Dens. Luister bijv. naar het wel doordachte (en vrij zware) I Am The Earth dat zeker meer verdient dan één luisterbeurt. Het nummer veroorzaakt diepere gedachten en gevoelens over jezelf en hoe moeilijk de wereld rondom ons wel is. Voor mij is dit lied de kern van de sfeer van dit album. Non Grata is nog een ander nummer waarop je kan dansen, het is wat somberder dan Company dat pas een verrassende wending krijgt na de vrij onschuldige intro.

Escape From Evil eindigt met de indiehit Societe Anonyme dat opnieuw zacht en dromerig klinkt, maar dan wel in een sneller tempo. Dit album tovert mooie herinneringen tevoorschijn over de indiemuziek uit de jaren 90. Neen, ik had niet gedacht dat ik dit nog zou horen, maar Lower Dens bewijst dat het nog steeds kan.

Marija BULJETA
28/01/2016


Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books
25
05
ERIC BILITCH
'I WOULD NEVER WANT TO MAKE A MOVIE FOR EVERYONE!'

PHOTOS

19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
URZON FEAT. ORRYELLE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
10
06
VV303
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
STRUGGLER
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
06
RED LORRY YELLOW LORRY
Talk About The Weather
19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On
16
06
GOLDFRAPP
Ocean Feat. Dave Gahan
15
06
THE KVB
Never Enough
14
06
ADULT.
Nite Life