tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

28/01/2016 : LOWER DENS - Escape From evil

LOWER DENS

Escape From evil

MusicCD


[96/100]   

Ribbon Music
28/01/2016, Marija BULJETA

EN

Escape From Evil is the third album of Lower Dens, an American indie rock band from Baltimore, USA. It was produced by the band’s lead singer Jana Hunter and Chris Coady and was released in March 2015.

The album is a dreamy voyage for all indie music lovers who perhaps lost hope of hearing a solid indie album since the 90s. This album brings a touch of new millennium mixed with a nostalgic feel of some old 4-AD music like Cocteau Twins, This Mortal Coil or Throwing Muses.

The album starts with two mellow, floating songs, but then comes To Die in L.A., an utterly melodic, swinging, poppy song that can easily be played on a dance floor, with a very catchy chorus. However, the lyrics leave the main focus on the melody.

On the contrary, I am the Earth is a heavy and thoughtful song in every way, both lyrically and musically, and it surely deserves more than one listening. It provokes deeper thoughts and feelings about oneself and life and can leave you with the sense of heaviness that the world inside and around us brings. I consider the song to be the core of the general feel of the album.
Non Grata is yet another song to dance to, but a bit gloomier than Company that has a surprising twist from quite an innocent intro to the musically and vocally powerful chorus.

The album ends with another true indie hit: Societe Anonyme, which is again mellow and dreamy, but in a faster tempo, bringing back nice memories of the indie music era that brought us music I did not think I was going to hear again, but this album proves it can be heard in all its beauty again in 2016.

Marija BULJETA
28/01/2016


NL

Escape From Evil is het derde album van Lower Dens, een Amerikaanse indierockband uit Baltimore, USA. Het werd geproduceerd door de zanger Jana Hunter en Chris Coady, en verscheen vorig jaar in de winkels.

Het album is een dromerige trip en een echte aanrader voor alle muziekliefhebbers die alle hoop op een stevige indieplaat sinds de jaren 90 hebben opgegeven. Dit album heeft een nostalgische uitstraling die doet denken aan oude 4AD-bands zoals Cocteau Twins, This Mortal Coil of Throwing Muses.

 Het album begint met twee zachte nummers, maar dan komt plotseling To Die in LA,: een uiterst melodieus, swingend poppy nummer dat gemakkelijk op een dansvloer kan worden gedraaid en dat bovendien een zeer catchy refrein heeft. Ook de teksten zijn belangrijk voor Lower Dens. Luister bijv. naar het wel doordachte (en vrij zware) I Am The Earth dat zeker meer verdient dan één luisterbeurt. Het nummer veroorzaakt diepere gedachten en gevoelens over jezelf en hoe moeilijk de wereld rondom ons wel is. Voor mij is dit lied de kern van de sfeer van dit album. Non Grata is nog een ander nummer waarop je kan dansen, het is wat somberder dan Company dat pas een verrassende wending krijgt na de vrij onschuldige intro.

Escape From Evil eindigt met de indiehit Societe Anonyme dat opnieuw zacht en dromerig klinkt, maar dan wel in een sneller tempo. Dit album tovert mooie herinneringen tevoorschijn over de indiemuziek uit de jaren 90. Neen, ik had niet gedacht dat ik dit nog zou horen, maar Lower Dens bewijst dat het nog steeds kan.

Marija BULJETA
28/01/2016


Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
09
First new Empirion material in almost a decade - I Am Electronic / Red Noise (12'/CD)
23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
24
09
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway