tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

28/01/2016 : LOWER DENS - Escape From evil

LOWER DENS

Escape From evil

MusicCD


[96/100]   

Ribbon Music
28/01/2016, Marija BULJETA

EN

Escape From Evil is the third album of Lower Dens, an American indie rock band from Baltimore, USA. It was produced by the band’s lead singer Jana Hunter and Chris Coady and was released in March 2015.

The album is a dreamy voyage for all indie music lovers who perhaps lost hope of hearing a solid indie album since the 90s. This album brings a touch of new millennium mixed with a nostalgic feel of some old 4-AD music like Cocteau Twins, This Mortal Coil or Throwing Muses.

The album starts with two mellow, floating songs, but then comes To Die in L.A., an utterly melodic, swinging, poppy song that can easily be played on a dance floor, with a very catchy chorus. However, the lyrics leave the main focus on the melody.

On the contrary, I am the Earth is a heavy and thoughtful song in every way, both lyrically and musically, and it surely deserves more than one listening. It provokes deeper thoughts and feelings about oneself and life and can leave you with the sense of heaviness that the world inside and around us brings. I consider the song to be the core of the general feel of the album.
Non Grata is yet another song to dance to, but a bit gloomier than Company that has a surprising twist from quite an innocent intro to the musically and vocally powerful chorus.

The album ends with another true indie hit: Societe Anonyme, which is again mellow and dreamy, but in a faster tempo, bringing back nice memories of the indie music era that brought us music I did not think I was going to hear again, but this album proves it can be heard in all its beauty again in 2016.

Marija BULJETA
28/01/2016


NL

Escape From Evil is het derde album van Lower Dens, een Amerikaanse indierockband uit Baltimore, USA. Het werd geproduceerd door de zanger Jana Hunter en Chris Coady, en verscheen vorig jaar in de winkels.

Het album is een dromerige trip en een echte aanrader voor alle muziekliefhebbers die alle hoop op een stevige indieplaat sinds de jaren 90 hebben opgegeven. Dit album heeft een nostalgische uitstraling die doet denken aan oude 4AD-bands zoals Cocteau Twins, This Mortal Coil of Throwing Muses.

 Het album begint met twee zachte nummers, maar dan komt plotseling To Die in LA,: een uiterst melodieus, swingend poppy nummer dat gemakkelijk op een dansvloer kan worden gedraaid en dat bovendien een zeer catchy refrein heeft. Ook de teksten zijn belangrijk voor Lower Dens. Luister bijv. naar het wel doordachte (en vrij zware) I Am The Earth dat zeker meer verdient dan één luisterbeurt. Het nummer veroorzaakt diepere gedachten en gevoelens over jezelf en hoe moeilijk de wereld rondom ons wel is. Voor mij is dit lied de kern van de sfeer van dit album. Non Grata is nog een ander nummer waarop je kan dansen, het is wat somberder dan Company dat pas een verrassende wending krijgt na de vrij onschuldige intro.

Escape From Evil eindigt met de indiehit Societe Anonyme dat opnieuw zacht en dromerig klinkt, maar dan wel in een sneller tempo. Dit album tovert mooie herinneringen tevoorschijn over de indiemuziek uit de jaren 90. Neen, ik had niet gedacht dat ik dit nog zou horen, maar Lower Dens bewijst dat het nog steeds kan.

Marija BULJETA
28/01/2016


Music reviews

26
01
FIX8:SED8
The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
01
On this day, 39 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
01
PALAIS IDEAL
Crossfade / Dissolve (Official Video)
26
01
CHICKS ON SPEED
Utopia
25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)