tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

28/01/2016 : LOWER DENS - Escape From evil

LOWER DENS

Escape From evil

MusicCD


[96/100]   

Ribbon Music
28/01/2016, Marija BULJETA

EN

Escape From Evil is the third album of Lower Dens, an American indie rock band from Baltimore, USA. It was produced by the band’s lead singer Jana Hunter and Chris Coady and was released in March 2015.

The album is a dreamy voyage for all indie music lovers who perhaps lost hope of hearing a solid indie album since the 90s. This album brings a touch of new millennium mixed with a nostalgic feel of some old 4-AD music like Cocteau Twins, This Mortal Coil or Throwing Muses.

The album starts with two mellow, floating songs, but then comes To Die in L.A., an utterly melodic, swinging, poppy song that can easily be played on a dance floor, with a very catchy chorus. However, the lyrics leave the main focus on the melody.

On the contrary, I am the Earth is a heavy and thoughtful song in every way, both lyrically and musically, and it surely deserves more than one listening. It provokes deeper thoughts and feelings about oneself and life and can leave you with the sense of heaviness that the world inside and around us brings. I consider the song to be the core of the general feel of the album.
Non Grata is yet another song to dance to, but a bit gloomier than Company that has a surprising twist from quite an innocent intro to the musically and vocally powerful chorus.

The album ends with another true indie hit: Societe Anonyme, which is again mellow and dreamy, but in a faster tempo, bringing back nice memories of the indie music era that brought us music I did not think I was going to hear again, but this album proves it can be heard in all its beauty again in 2016.

Marija BULJETA
28/01/2016


NL

Escape From Evil is het derde album van Lower Dens, een Amerikaanse indierockband uit Baltimore, USA. Het werd geproduceerd door de zanger Jana Hunter en Chris Coady, en verscheen vorig jaar in de winkels.

Het album is een dromerige trip en een echte aanrader voor alle muziekliefhebbers die alle hoop op een stevige indieplaat sinds de jaren 90 hebben opgegeven. Dit album heeft een nostalgische uitstraling die doet denken aan oude 4AD-bands zoals Cocteau Twins, This Mortal Coil of Throwing Muses.

 Het album begint met twee zachte nummers, maar dan komt plotseling To Die in LA,: een uiterst melodieus, swingend poppy nummer dat gemakkelijk op een dansvloer kan worden gedraaid en dat bovendien een zeer catchy refrein heeft. Ook de teksten zijn belangrijk voor Lower Dens. Luister bijv. naar het wel doordachte (en vrij zware) I Am The Earth dat zeker meer verdient dan één luisterbeurt. Het nummer veroorzaakt diepere gedachten en gevoelens over jezelf en hoe moeilijk de wereld rondom ons wel is. Voor mij is dit lied de kern van de sfeer van dit album. Non Grata is nog een ander nummer waarop je kan dansen, het is wat somberder dan Company dat pas een verrassende wending krijgt na de vrij onschuldige intro.

Escape From Evil eindigt met de indiehit Societe Anonyme dat opnieuw zacht en dromerig klinkt, maar dan wel in een sneller tempo. Dit album tovert mooie herinneringen tevoorschijn over de indiemuziek uit de jaren 90. Neen, ik had niet gedacht dat ik dit nog zou horen, maar Lower Dens bewijst dat het nog steeds kan.

Marija BULJETA
28/01/2016


Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline