tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

26/01/2016 : DARKWOOD - Flammenlieder

DARKWOOD

Flammenlieder

MusicCD
Neofolk

[88/100]   

HeidenVolk
26/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Since 1997, Darkwood is one of the best neofolk bands. Much has been written about this group, but founder Henryk Vogel describes his project as an opportunity to express his ideas and feelings about his beloved homeland. You can interpret this in different ways, and even though Henryk will have his own political beliefs, the most important issue for us is that since In The Fields, Darkwood makes wonderful, often moving music.

Darkwood became a real cult band and most of its records often were limited editions that are impossible to find these days. Henryk thought a compilation would be a good idea. Flammenlieder contains fourteen songs from the albums Notwendfeuer (2006), Schiksalsfahrt (2013), Weltenwende (2003), Flammende Welt (2001), Forseti lebt (2006), In The Fields (1999), Places (2014) and Ins Dunkle Land (2009).

Verlorenes Heer begins with the sound of Darkwood we know best: high-quality neo-folk with typical militaristic drums. We can invent a hundred words to describe this, in the end there is only one key word for it: "beautiful". A title as Lied Am Feuer needs little explanation, it just sounds like that. The music of Henryk Vogel can be associated with the love for his country, but also with ultimate beauty (Secret Places). Although many Darkwood songs are sung in German, there are also a few English titles included like Nightwind (with lyrics from a poem by Emily Brontë).

The best song undoubtedly is Weltenstürme with its beautiful violins. The sound you can link most to Darkwood is the late work of Death In June, just listen to the playful (but also tragic) Wintermärchen (on a text by the Hamburg poet Otto Ernst). Caucasian Tales is yet another song that perfectly sums up tragedy and that has an extra dimension because of the use of a melancholic accordion in the background.

During fourteen songs Henryk Vogel takes you on a wonderful trip. An absolute must for the neofolk fan, or for those who are open-minded enough.

Didier BECU
26/01/2016


NL

Al sinds 1997 is Darkwood één van de beste neofolkbands. Er is al veel over deze groep geschreven, maar zelf omschrijft Henryk Vogel zijn project als een middel om zijn gevoelens en ideeën over zijn geliefde vaderland uit te drukken. Je kan dit op verschillende manieren interpreteren, en ook al zal oprichter Henryk ongetwijfeld zijn eigen politieke overtuiging hebben, onthouden wij vooral dat Darkwood sinds In The Fields prachtige, vaak ontroerende muziek maakt.

Darkwood werd een echte cultband en de meeste van hun platen die vaak gelimiteerde uitgaven waren, zijn anno 2016 zo goed als onvindbaar. Henryk dacht dan ook dat de tijd rijp was voor een volwaardige compilatie. Je vindt op Flammenlieder veertien composities die eerder verschenen op Notwendfeuer (2006), Schiksalsfahrt (2013), Weltenwende (2003), Flammende Welt (2001), Forseti lebt (2006), In The Fields (1999), Places (2014) en Ins Dunkle Land (2009).

Verlorenes Heer begint meteen zoals we Darkwood het beste kennen: kwaliteitsvolle neofolk met de typische militaristische drums. We kunnen wel honderd zinnen over dit nummer verzinnen, uiteindelijk is er maar één kernwoord voor: “prachtig”. Aan een titel als Lied Am Feuer valt weinig toe te voegen, het klinkt gewoon zo. De muziek van Henryk Vogel kan je met de liefde voor zijn vaderland associëren, maar ook met ultieme schoonheid (Secret Places). Hoewel heel wat nummers van Darkwood in het Duits zijn gezongen, zijn er ook een paar Engelstalige zoals Nightwind (met de teksten van een gedicht van Emily Brontë) dat automatisch in de buurt van Death In June komt.

Het mooiste nummer is ongetwijfeld Weltenstürme met prachtige violen. Zoals gezegd is het latere werk van Death In June het geluid dat je het meest met Darkwood kan linken en dat is ook het geval op het speelse (maar tevens tragische) Wintermärchen (op een tekst van de Hamburgse dichter Otto Ernst). Caucasian Tales is alweer zo’n nummer dat perfect de tragiek opsomt die met een melancholische accordeon op de achtergrond wordt aangedikt.

Veertien nummers lang neemt Henryk Vogel je mee op een wondermooie trip. Een absolute aanrader voor de neofolkfan, of voor wie ruimdenkend genoeg is.

Didier BECU
26/01/2016


Music reviews

28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil
17
06
DEATH IN JUNE
THE CORN YEARS
16
06
AUGER
Insurgence

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination
27
06
BOY HARSHER
Motion
26
06
NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS
The Mercy Seat