tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

26/01/2016 : DARKWOOD - Flammenlieder

DARKWOOD

Flammenlieder

MusicCD
Neofolk

[88/100]   

HeidenVolk
26/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Since 1997, Darkwood is one of the best neofolk bands. Much has been written about this group, but founder Henryk Vogel describes his project as an opportunity to express his ideas and feelings about his beloved homeland. You can interpret this in different ways, and even though Henryk will have his own political beliefs, the most important issue for us is that since In The Fields, Darkwood makes wonderful, often moving music.

Darkwood became a real cult band and most of its records often were limited editions that are impossible to find these days. Henryk thought a compilation would be a good idea. Flammenlieder contains fourteen songs from the albums Notwendfeuer (2006), Schiksalsfahrt (2013), Weltenwende (2003), Flammende Welt (2001), Forseti lebt (2006), In The Fields (1999), Places (2014) and Ins Dunkle Land (2009).

Verlorenes Heer begins with the sound of Darkwood we know best: high-quality neo-folk with typical militaristic drums. We can invent a hundred words to describe this, in the end there is only one key word for it: "beautiful". A title as Lied Am Feuer needs little explanation, it just sounds like that. The music of Henryk Vogel can be associated with the love for his country, but also with ultimate beauty (Secret Places). Although many Darkwood songs are sung in German, there are also a few English titles included like Nightwind (with lyrics from a poem by Emily Brontë).

The best song undoubtedly is Weltenstürme with its beautiful violins. The sound you can link most to Darkwood is the late work of Death In June, just listen to the playful (but also tragic) Wintermärchen (on a text by the Hamburg poet Otto Ernst). Caucasian Tales is yet another song that perfectly sums up tragedy and that has an extra dimension because of the use of a melancholic accordion in the background.

During fourteen songs Henryk Vogel takes you on a wonderful trip. An absolute must for the neofolk fan, or for those who are open-minded enough.

Didier BECU
26/01/2016


NL

Al sinds 1997 is Darkwood één van de beste neofolkbands. Er is al veel over deze groep geschreven, maar zelf omschrijft Henryk Vogel zijn project als een middel om zijn gevoelens en ideeën over zijn geliefde vaderland uit te drukken. Je kan dit op verschillende manieren interpreteren, en ook al zal oprichter Henryk ongetwijfeld zijn eigen politieke overtuiging hebben, onthouden wij vooral dat Darkwood sinds In The Fields prachtige, vaak ontroerende muziek maakt.

Darkwood werd een echte cultband en de meeste van hun platen die vaak gelimiteerde uitgaven waren, zijn anno 2016 zo goed als onvindbaar. Henryk dacht dan ook dat de tijd rijp was voor een volwaardige compilatie. Je vindt op Flammenlieder veertien composities die eerder verschenen op Notwendfeuer (2006), Schiksalsfahrt (2013), Weltenwende (2003), Flammende Welt (2001), Forseti lebt (2006), In The Fields (1999), Places (2014) en Ins Dunkle Land (2009).

Verlorenes Heer begint meteen zoals we Darkwood het beste kennen: kwaliteitsvolle neofolk met de typische militaristische drums. We kunnen wel honderd zinnen over dit nummer verzinnen, uiteindelijk is er maar één kernwoord voor: “prachtig”. Aan een titel als Lied Am Feuer valt weinig toe te voegen, het klinkt gewoon zo. De muziek van Henryk Vogel kan je met de liefde voor zijn vaderland associëren, maar ook met ultieme schoonheid (Secret Places). Hoewel heel wat nummers van Darkwood in het Duits zijn gezongen, zijn er ook een paar Engelstalige zoals Nightwind (met de teksten van een gedicht van Emily Brontë) dat automatisch in de buurt van Death In June komt.

Het mooiste nummer is ongetwijfeld Weltenstürme met prachtige violen. Zoals gezegd is het latere werk van Death In June het geluid dat je het meest met Darkwood kan linken en dat is ook het geval op het speelse (maar tevens tragische) Wintermärchen (op een tekst van de Hamburgse dichter Otto Ernst). Caucasian Tales is alweer zo’n nummer dat perfect de tragiek opsomt die met een melancholische accordeon op de achtergrond wordt aangedikt.

Veertien nummers lang neemt Henryk Vogel je mee op een wondermooie trip. Een absolute aanrader voor de neofolkfan, of voor wie ruimdenkend genoeg is.

Didier BECU
26/01/2016


Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!
01
04
On this day, 31 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Gashed Senses & Crossfire!
29
03
UK Electro-Industrial band BIOMECHANIMAL announces the release of 'Waves': split single with MECHANICAL VEIN
29
03
On this day, 40 years ago, Kraftwerk performed Das Model on German TV.
28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single
27
03
Electro-Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Reveals Latest Video: 'Motion (SKOLD Remix)'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

01
04
ILLUMININE
Dear, Eulogy (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
31
03
DIVE
Underneath
30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR
29
03
MAYFLOWER MADAME
Vultures (official video)
28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)