tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

26/01/2016 : DARKWOOD - Flammenlieder

DARKWOOD

Flammenlieder

MusicCD
Neofolk

[88/100]   

HeidenVolk
26/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Since 1997, Darkwood is one of the best neofolk bands. Much has been written about this group, but founder Henryk Vogel describes his project as an opportunity to express his ideas and feelings about his beloved homeland. You can interpret this in different ways, and even though Henryk will have his own political beliefs, the most important issue for us is that since In The Fields, Darkwood makes wonderful, often moving music.

Darkwood became a real cult band and most of its records often were limited editions that are impossible to find these days. Henryk thought a compilation would be a good idea. Flammenlieder contains fourteen songs from the albums Notwendfeuer (2006), Schiksalsfahrt (2013), Weltenwende (2003), Flammende Welt (2001), Forseti lebt (2006), In The Fields (1999), Places (2014) and Ins Dunkle Land (2009).

Verlorenes Heer begins with the sound of Darkwood we know best: high-quality neo-folk with typical militaristic drums. We can invent a hundred words to describe this, in the end there is only one key word for it: "beautiful". A title as Lied Am Feuer needs little explanation, it just sounds like that. The music of Henryk Vogel can be associated with the love for his country, but also with ultimate beauty (Secret Places). Although many Darkwood songs are sung in German, there are also a few English titles included like Nightwind (with lyrics from a poem by Emily Brontë).

The best song undoubtedly is Weltenstürme with its beautiful violins. The sound you can link most to Darkwood is the late work of Death In June, just listen to the playful (but also tragic) Wintermärchen (on a text by the Hamburg poet Otto Ernst). Caucasian Tales is yet another song that perfectly sums up tragedy and that has an extra dimension because of the use of a melancholic accordion in the background.

During fourteen songs Henryk Vogel takes you on a wonderful trip. An absolute must for the neofolk fan, or for those who are open-minded enough.

Didier BECU
26/01/2016


NL

Al sinds 1997 is Darkwood één van de beste neofolkbands. Er is al veel over deze groep geschreven, maar zelf omschrijft Henryk Vogel zijn project als een middel om zijn gevoelens en ideeën over zijn geliefde vaderland uit te drukken. Je kan dit op verschillende manieren interpreteren, en ook al zal oprichter Henryk ongetwijfeld zijn eigen politieke overtuiging hebben, onthouden wij vooral dat Darkwood sinds In The Fields prachtige, vaak ontroerende muziek maakt.

Darkwood werd een echte cultband en de meeste van hun platen die vaak gelimiteerde uitgaven waren, zijn anno 2016 zo goed als onvindbaar. Henryk dacht dan ook dat de tijd rijp was voor een volwaardige compilatie. Je vindt op Flammenlieder veertien composities die eerder verschenen op Notwendfeuer (2006), Schiksalsfahrt (2013), Weltenwende (2003), Flammende Welt (2001), Forseti lebt (2006), In The Fields (1999), Places (2014) en Ins Dunkle Land (2009).

Verlorenes Heer begint meteen zoals we Darkwood het beste kennen: kwaliteitsvolle neofolk met de typische militaristische drums. We kunnen wel honderd zinnen over dit nummer verzinnen, uiteindelijk is er maar één kernwoord voor: “prachtig”. Aan een titel als Lied Am Feuer valt weinig toe te voegen, het klinkt gewoon zo. De muziek van Henryk Vogel kan je met de liefde voor zijn vaderland associëren, maar ook met ultieme schoonheid (Secret Places). Hoewel heel wat nummers van Darkwood in het Duits zijn gezongen, zijn er ook een paar Engelstalige zoals Nightwind (met de teksten van een gedicht van Emily Brontë) dat automatisch in de buurt van Death In June komt.

Het mooiste nummer is ongetwijfeld Weltenstürme met prachtige violen. Zoals gezegd is het latere werk van Death In June het geluid dat je het meest met Darkwood kan linken en dat is ook het geval op het speelse (maar tevens tragische) Wintermärchen (op een tekst van de Hamburgse dichter Otto Ernst). Caucasian Tales is alweer zo’n nummer dat perfect de tragiek opsomt die met een melancholische accordeon op de achtergrond wordt aangedikt.

Veertien nummers lang neemt Henryk Vogel je mee op een wondermooie trip. Een absolute aanrader voor de neofolkfan, of voor wie ruimdenkend genoeg is.

Didier BECU
26/01/2016


Music reviews

10
05
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Fear And Cufre
09
05
NEL & JP
Desinterersse
07
05
Various
DARKEST NIGHT 2024
30
04
ATTRITION
The Black Maria
26
04
HYBRYDS
Mythopia, the sequel
25
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Elysium

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today, exactly 44 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
18
07
Today it’s 36 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo!
17
07
43 years of Tainted Love by Soft Cell!
16
07
42 Years of 'Revelations' by Killing Joke!
15
07
On this day, 13 years ago, the Phoenix arose!
15
07
43 of Party Mix! by The B52's

Concert reviews

15
04
FAD GADGET
***FLASHBACK REVIEW***The Return of FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REVIEW***
16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
07
MORTAL REALM
An Interview With Mortal Realm's Adam Jones
16
07
LOCKJAW
An Interview With Industrial Metal Band, LOCKJAW
15
07
MALICE MACHINE
An Interview With Cyber-Punk Band, Malice Machine
21
06
SCREAMING DEAD
“In a dream of yesterday, off the forest and the glade, I remember yesterday“ They are the Creatures of the Night. The Legion of the Dead. Peek-A-Boo presents … Screaming Dead!
29
05
LIVERNOIS
An Interview With Industrial Band, Livernois

PHOTOS

17
07
BURN SUPPORT THE MISSION
Live Musik Hall Cologne
14
07
THE MISSION
Tivoli Vredenburg Utrecht
21
06
TOOL
Graspop Dessel
19
06
KEBU
db2flectuation - cc Gasthuis Aarschot
19
06
HYPERKUBE
db2flectuation - cc Gasthuis Aarschot
19
06
BYSENSES
db2flectuation - cc Gasthuis Aarschot
19
06
BYSENSES
db2flectuation - cc Gasthuis Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
07
DAVEY SUICIDE
Rise Above
17
07
FRONT 242
Headhunter (Live @ AB, Brussels 01.12.2017)
16
07
DAS ICH
Kannibale
15
07
ALLES
My
14
07
LOBBY
Violence In Your Eyes
13
07
NILE ON WAX
Rhapsody
12
07
THE SPECTORS
Clyde & Bonnie