tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

26/01/2016 : DARKWOOD - Flammenlieder

DARKWOOD

Flammenlieder

MusicCD
Neofolk

[88/100]   

HeidenVolk
26/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Since 1997, Darkwood is one of the best neofolk bands. Much has been written about this group, but founder Henryk Vogel describes his project as an opportunity to express his ideas and feelings about his beloved homeland. You can interpret this in different ways, and even though Henryk will have his own political beliefs, the most important issue for us is that since In The Fields, Darkwood makes wonderful, often moving music.

Darkwood became a real cult band and most of its records often were limited editions that are impossible to find these days. Henryk thought a compilation would be a good idea. Flammenlieder contains fourteen songs from the albums Notwendfeuer (2006), Schiksalsfahrt (2013), Weltenwende (2003), Flammende Welt (2001), Forseti lebt (2006), In The Fields (1999), Places (2014) and Ins Dunkle Land (2009).

Verlorenes Heer begins with the sound of Darkwood we know best: high-quality neo-folk with typical militaristic drums. We can invent a hundred words to describe this, in the end there is only one key word for it: "beautiful". A title as Lied Am Feuer needs little explanation, it just sounds like that. The music of Henryk Vogel can be associated with the love for his country, but also with ultimate beauty (Secret Places). Although many Darkwood songs are sung in German, there are also a few English titles included like Nightwind (with lyrics from a poem by Emily Brontë).

The best song undoubtedly is Weltenstürme with its beautiful violins. The sound you can link most to Darkwood is the late work of Death In June, just listen to the playful (but also tragic) Wintermärchen (on a text by the Hamburg poet Otto Ernst). Caucasian Tales is yet another song that perfectly sums up tragedy and that has an extra dimension because of the use of a melancholic accordion in the background.

During fourteen songs Henryk Vogel takes you on a wonderful trip. An absolute must for the neofolk fan, or for those who are open-minded enough.

Didier BECU
26/01/2016


NL

Al sinds 1997 is Darkwood één van de beste neofolkbands. Er is al veel over deze groep geschreven, maar zelf omschrijft Henryk Vogel zijn project als een middel om zijn gevoelens en ideeën over zijn geliefde vaderland uit te drukken. Je kan dit op verschillende manieren interpreteren, en ook al zal oprichter Henryk ongetwijfeld zijn eigen politieke overtuiging hebben, onthouden wij vooral dat Darkwood sinds In The Fields prachtige, vaak ontroerende muziek maakt.

Darkwood werd een echte cultband en de meeste van hun platen die vaak gelimiteerde uitgaven waren, zijn anno 2016 zo goed als onvindbaar. Henryk dacht dan ook dat de tijd rijp was voor een volwaardige compilatie. Je vindt op Flammenlieder veertien composities die eerder verschenen op Notwendfeuer (2006), Schiksalsfahrt (2013), Weltenwende (2003), Flammende Welt (2001), Forseti lebt (2006), In The Fields (1999), Places (2014) en Ins Dunkle Land (2009).

Verlorenes Heer begint meteen zoals we Darkwood het beste kennen: kwaliteitsvolle neofolk met de typische militaristische drums. We kunnen wel honderd zinnen over dit nummer verzinnen, uiteindelijk is er maar één kernwoord voor: “prachtig”. Aan een titel als Lied Am Feuer valt weinig toe te voegen, het klinkt gewoon zo. De muziek van Henryk Vogel kan je met de liefde voor zijn vaderland associëren, maar ook met ultieme schoonheid (Secret Places). Hoewel heel wat nummers van Darkwood in het Duits zijn gezongen, zijn er ook een paar Engelstalige zoals Nightwind (met de teksten van een gedicht van Emily Brontë) dat automatisch in de buurt van Death In June komt.

Het mooiste nummer is ongetwijfeld Weltenstürme met prachtige violen. Zoals gezegd is het latere werk van Death In June het geluid dat je het meest met Darkwood kan linken en dat is ook het geval op het speelse (maar tevens tragische) Wintermärchen (op een tekst van de Hamburgse dichter Otto Ernst). Caucasian Tales is alweer zo’n nummer dat perfect de tragiek opsomt die met een melancholische accordeon op de achtergrond wordt aangedikt.

Veertien nummers lang neemt Henryk Vogel je mee op een wondermooie trip. Een absolute aanrader voor de neofolkfan, of voor wie ruimdenkend genoeg is.

Didier BECU
26/01/2016


Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi