tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

26/01/2016 : THE CHILLS - Silver Bullets

THE CHILLS

Silver Bullets

MusicCD
GaragerockIndie

[79/100]   

Fire records
26/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

How many bands from New Zealand do you know? No, Crowded House, Ladyhawke and (if you can remember them) Mi-Sex are excluded! Of course music connoisseurs will scream with a loud voice that they know Flying Nun Records, the label that was the flagship of the New Zealand indie scene during 15 years. One of the "superstars" on this label was The Chills. Albums like Brave Words, Submarine Bells and the compilation Kaleidoscope World belong in every self-respecting record collection. After nineteen years of silence, the band returns with a brand new album: Silver Bullets.

The intro of Father Time barely lasts half a minute and almost sounds sacred: bells and a Gregorian chant. But no worries, soon Warm Waveform brings back the pop sound of The Chills as you have known it for decades! The guitars sound melancholic, just think of what The Church did on Starfish or The Chameleons on Strange Times: simply beautiful!

Even if Martin Philipps had many dark days (heroin, antidepressants and infected with hepatitis C), this musician still has a patent on writing cheerful guitar pop songs. The title track Silver Bullets sounds as merry as the wonderful classic Heavenly Pop Hit.

Underwater Wasteland is delicious melancholic pop, and suddenly those two decades of absence disappear. The band gives the United States a huge slap in the angry up-tempo song American Says Hello.

Pyramid/When The Poor Can Reach The Moon is a schizophrenic track: on the one hand it is chamois sweet, on the other hand it sounds pissed. I Can Not Help You is a typical Chills-song, it has the characteristics of 60's garage rock, but it sounds very modern and above all timeless.

The slow track Tomboy includes a wonderful children's choir. Molten Gold is a touching end of a great album by a band we missed a lot. Nineteen years is an eternity, especially in Chills-terms!

Didier BECU
26/01/2016


NL

Hoeveel bands uit Nieuw-Zeeland ken je? Neen, Crowded House, Ladyhawke en (mocht je je ze nog herinneren) Mi-Sex tellen niet mee! Muziekkenners hebben natuurlijk altijd een streepje voor, en met luide stem zullen zij dan ook Flying Nun Records bulderen, het label dat bijna 15 jaar lang het uithangbord was van de Nieuw-Zeelandse indiescène. Eén van de “supersterren” op dit label was The Chills. Albums als Brave Words, Submarine Bells en de compilatie Kaleidoscope World horen thuis in ieder zichzelf respecterende platenkast. Na negentien jaar stilte is er nu plots hun laatste (Sunburnt) een splinternieuwe: Silver Bullets!

De intro van Father Time die amper een half minuutje duurt, is bijna sacraal: klokkengelui en Gregoriaanse gezang. Maar geen nood, met Warm Waveform knalt het geluid van The Chills uit de speakers zoals je het al decennia kent! De gitaartjes klinken heerlijk melancholisch. Denk aan wat The Church op Starfish deed of The Chameleons op Strange Times: gewoonweg prachtig!

Ook al kende zanger Martin Philipps heel wat donkere dagen (heroïnegebruik, antidepressiva en op de koop toe een hepatitis C-besmetting), heeft deze muzikant toch een patent op het schrijven van vrolijke gitaarpopnummers. Zo klinkt de titeltrack Silver Bullets even vrolijk als de klassieker Heavenly Pop Hit.

Underwater Wasteland is heerlijke melancholische pop waardoor de twee decennia afwezigheid in een mum van tijd zijn vergeten. In American Says Hello ontbindt de band al zijn duivels, een nijdige uptemposong die de Verenigde Staten een flinke veeg uit de pan geeft.

Pyramid/When The Poor Can Reach The Moon is een schizofreen nummer: enerzijds is het zeemzoet, anderzijds klinkt het pisnijdig. I Can’t Help You is een typisch Chills-nummer, het bezit wel wat de kenmerken van 60s-garagerock, maar het klinkt tegelijkertijd uiterst modern,en vooral tijdloos.

Het rustige nummer Tomboy heeft op het einde een prachtig kinderkoor. Molten Gold is een ontroerende afsluiter van een prima plaat van een band die we net iets te lang hebben gemist, negentien jaar is in Chills-termen een eeuwigheid!

Didier BECU
26/01/2016


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
02
35 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!
25
02
Today it's exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 2 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 43 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
This Charming Band | 37 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album
19
02
Gothic Industrial Band BATAVIA Unveils Remix Album, Batavia And Their Friends

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp
25
02
NEW ORDER
Regret
24
02
MANDIVULA
GHSTNG
23
02
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Nag Nag Nag
22
02
BEBORN BETON
Last Day On Earth