tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

26/01/2016 : THE CHILLS - Silver Bullets

THE CHILLS

Silver Bullets

MusicCD
GaragerockIndie

[79/100]   

Fire records
26/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

How many bands from New Zealand do you know? No, Crowded House, Ladyhawke and (if you can remember them) Mi-Sex are excluded! Of course music connoisseurs will scream with a loud voice that they know Flying Nun Records, the label that was the flagship of the New Zealand indie scene during 15 years. One of the "superstars" on this label was The Chills. Albums like Brave Words, Submarine Bells and the compilation Kaleidoscope World belong in every self-respecting record collection. After nineteen years of silence, the band returns with a brand new album: Silver Bullets.

The intro of Father Time barely lasts half a minute and almost sounds sacred: bells and a Gregorian chant. But no worries, soon Warm Waveform brings back the pop sound of The Chills as you have known it for decades! The guitars sound melancholic, just think of what The Church did on Starfish or The Chameleons on Strange Times: simply beautiful!

Even if Martin Philipps had many dark days (heroin, antidepressants and infected with hepatitis C), this musician still has a patent on writing cheerful guitar pop songs. The title track Silver Bullets sounds as merry as the wonderful classic Heavenly Pop Hit.

Underwater Wasteland is delicious melancholic pop, and suddenly those two decades of absence disappear. The band gives the United States a huge slap in the angry up-tempo song American Says Hello.

Pyramid/When The Poor Can Reach The Moon is a schizophrenic track: on the one hand it is chamois sweet, on the other hand it sounds pissed. I Can Not Help You is a typical Chills-song, it has the characteristics of 60's garage rock, but it sounds very modern and above all timeless.

The slow track Tomboy includes a wonderful children's choir. Molten Gold is a touching end of a great album by a band we missed a lot. Nineteen years is an eternity, especially in Chills-terms!

Didier BECU
26/01/2016


NL

Hoeveel bands uit Nieuw-Zeeland ken je? Neen, Crowded House, Ladyhawke en (mocht je je ze nog herinneren) Mi-Sex tellen niet mee! Muziekkenners hebben natuurlijk altijd een streepje voor, en met luide stem zullen zij dan ook Flying Nun Records bulderen, het label dat bijna 15 jaar lang het uithangbord was van de Nieuw-Zeelandse indiescène. Eén van de “supersterren” op dit label was The Chills. Albums als Brave Words, Submarine Bells en de compilatie Kaleidoscope World horen thuis in ieder zichzelf respecterende platenkast. Na negentien jaar stilte is er nu plots hun laatste (Sunburnt) een splinternieuwe: Silver Bullets!

De intro van Father Time die amper een half minuutje duurt, is bijna sacraal: klokkengelui en Gregoriaanse gezang. Maar geen nood, met Warm Waveform knalt het geluid van The Chills uit de speakers zoals je het al decennia kent! De gitaartjes klinken heerlijk melancholisch. Denk aan wat The Church op Starfish deed of The Chameleons op Strange Times: gewoonweg prachtig!

Ook al kende zanger Martin Philipps heel wat donkere dagen (heroïnegebruik, antidepressiva en op de koop toe een hepatitis C-besmetting), heeft deze muzikant toch een patent op het schrijven van vrolijke gitaarpopnummers. Zo klinkt de titeltrack Silver Bullets even vrolijk als de klassieker Heavenly Pop Hit.

Underwater Wasteland is heerlijke melancholische pop waardoor de twee decennia afwezigheid in een mum van tijd zijn vergeten. In American Says Hello ontbindt de band al zijn duivels, een nijdige uptemposong die de Verenigde Staten een flinke veeg uit de pan geeft.

Pyramid/When The Poor Can Reach The Moon is een schizofreen nummer: enerzijds is het zeemzoet, anderzijds klinkt het pisnijdig. I Can’t Help You is een typisch Chills-nummer, het bezit wel wat de kenmerken van 60s-garagerock, maar het klinkt tegelijkertijd uiterst modern,en vooral tijdloos.

Het rustige nummer Tomboy heeft op het einde een prachtig kinderkoor. Molten Gold is een ontroerende afsluiter van een prima plaat van een band die we net iets te lang hebben gemist, negentien jaar is in Chills-termen een eeuwigheid!

Didier BECU
26/01/2016


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!
06
12
'Write When You Get Work': L.A. opening with special Q&A on December 7, 2018!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked