tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

22/01/2016 : ULTRANOIRE - Disclosure

ULTRANOIRE

Disclosure

MusicDigital
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[87/100]   

Self-released
22/01/2016, Marija BULJETA

EN

This interesting German-Hungarian duo consisting of two members, Josef Stapel (singer/songwriter) and Szilard Kun (musician, keyboardist), has recently released their debut album Disclosure. It consists of 11 tracks including 6 songs from their first and second EP’s and four tracks that were never released.

What Disclosure is all about can be heard right from the start. In The Darkroom is a perfectly chosen opening track for dark synth pleasure that awaits you further. It is dark, it is moody, it is slow and sticky and makes a statement: here is the dark side of synth music!

Leaving Sensoria is a bit more melancholic, but the feel of darkness you could sense on the first track is gone, so even though it is not an uplifting track, it is not as heavy. Bad Moon Rising continues with the ambiental feel, as you are in a perfect dream space of synthetic landscapes; the sounds are flowing and ethereal. A bit more daring beat line can be heard on Drowning Man, which is again a truly dark and, this time a bit minimalistic piece, leaving the listener following the voice and rhythm. And if you’re into a dancy rhythm, you may be able to find it on Lost (Shifting Realities 2012) along with a more uplifting tune this time, so the track immediately stands out, as this is the most danceable track on the album so far.

Even though we didn’t expect much of a dance material here, this song has that quality, good beats and catchy tune, but remaining melancholic and dark. Taste Me brings me a hint of some Depeche Mode vibe, but as a slow dancer. Desperation gets Ultranoire back on track of melancholia merged with rhythm again, so, another dance floor material is here, very melodic tune and beat that can get you move.

The closing track Singularity is again perfectly chosen, as it rounds up the whole story of Disclosure and closes the album in a dark melancholic way, as we could recognise that Ultranoire is about finding beauty in those darkly painted feelings and sounds.

Marija BULJETA
22/01/2016




NL

Het interessante Duits-Hongaarse duo Ultranoire bestaat uit twee leden: Josef Stapel (zanger/componist) en Szilard Kun (toetsen). De twee brachten onlangs hun debuutalbum Disclosure uit dat uit 11 tracks bestaat waarvan 6 ook al op hun eerste twee ep’s stonden, aangevuld met vier niet eerder uitgebrachte tracks.

Meteen vanaf het begin hoor je waar Disclosure voor staat. In The Dark Room is een perfect gekozen openingstrack die je donker synthplezier bezorgt. Hij is donker, humeurig, traag, plakkerig en er wordt een statement gemaakt: dit is de donkere kant van de synthmuziek!

Leaving Sensoria is een beetje melancholisch en wat minder zwaar, maar het duistere gevoel dat je op het eerste nummer hoorde is verdwenen. Bad Moon Rising heeft een ambientgevoel, net alsof je in een perfecte droom van synthetische landschappen met etherische geluiden vertoeft. Drowning Man is meer gedurfd, dit is echt donker en zelfs wat minimalistisch. Mocht je op zoek zijn naar wat dansbare ritmes, dan vind je die op Lost (Shifting Realities 2012), tot dusver is het de meest dansbare track op dit album. Hoewel we niet meteen dansmateriaal verwachten, heeft deze kwaliteitssong heel wat goede beats en een catchy melodie, maar het blijft vooral melancholisch en donker.

Het langzame dansnummer Taste Me heeft wat weg van Depeche Mode, maar op Desperation komt Ultranoire weer op de rails van de melancholie terecht, ofschoon je er ook lekker kan op dansen.

Singularity is alweer perfect gekozen, omdat het het hele verhaal van Disclosure op donkere melancholische manier afsluit.

Marija BULJETA
22/01/2016




Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem