tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

22/01/2016 : ULTRANOIRE - Disclosure

ULTRANOIRE

Disclosure

MusicDigital
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[87/100]   

Self-released
22/01/2016, Marija BULJETA

EN

This interesting German-Hungarian duo consisting of two members, Josef Stapel (singer/songwriter) and Szilard Kun (musician, keyboardist), has recently released their debut album Disclosure. It consists of 11 tracks including 6 songs from their first and second EP’s and four tracks that were never released.

What Disclosure is all about can be heard right from the start. In The Darkroom is a perfectly chosen opening track for dark synth pleasure that awaits you further. It is dark, it is moody, it is slow and sticky and makes a statement: here is the dark side of synth music!

Leaving Sensoria is a bit more melancholic, but the feel of darkness you could sense on the first track is gone, so even though it is not an uplifting track, it is not as heavy. Bad Moon Rising continues with the ambiental feel, as you are in a perfect dream space of synthetic landscapes; the sounds are flowing and ethereal. A bit more daring beat line can be heard on Drowning Man, which is again a truly dark and, this time a bit minimalistic piece, leaving the listener following the voice and rhythm. And if you’re into a dancy rhythm, you may be able to find it on Lost (Shifting Realities 2012) along with a more uplifting tune this time, so the track immediately stands out, as this is the most danceable track on the album so far.

Even though we didn’t expect much of a dance material here, this song has that quality, good beats and catchy tune, but remaining melancholic and dark. Taste Me brings me a hint of some Depeche Mode vibe, but as a slow dancer. Desperation gets Ultranoire back on track of melancholia merged with rhythm again, so, another dance floor material is here, very melodic tune and beat that can get you move.

The closing track Singularity is again perfectly chosen, as it rounds up the whole story of Disclosure and closes the album in a dark melancholic way, as we could recognise that Ultranoire is about finding beauty in those darkly painted feelings and sounds.

Marija BULJETA
22/01/2016




NL

Het interessante Duits-Hongaarse duo Ultranoire bestaat uit twee leden: Josef Stapel (zanger/componist) en Szilard Kun (toetsen). De twee brachten onlangs hun debuutalbum Disclosure uit dat uit 11 tracks bestaat waarvan 6 ook al op hun eerste twee ep’s stonden, aangevuld met vier niet eerder uitgebrachte tracks.

Meteen vanaf het begin hoor je waar Disclosure voor staat. In The Dark Room is een perfect gekozen openingstrack die je donker synthplezier bezorgt. Hij is donker, humeurig, traag, plakkerig en er wordt een statement gemaakt: dit is de donkere kant van de synthmuziek!

Leaving Sensoria is een beetje melancholisch en wat minder zwaar, maar het duistere gevoel dat je op het eerste nummer hoorde is verdwenen. Bad Moon Rising heeft een ambientgevoel, net alsof je in een perfecte droom van synthetische landschappen met etherische geluiden vertoeft. Drowning Man is meer gedurfd, dit is echt donker en zelfs wat minimalistisch. Mocht je op zoek zijn naar wat dansbare ritmes, dan vind je die op Lost (Shifting Realities 2012), tot dusver is het de meest dansbare track op dit album. Hoewel we niet meteen dansmateriaal verwachten, heeft deze kwaliteitssong heel wat goede beats en een catchy melodie, maar het blijft vooral melancholisch en donker.

Het langzame dansnummer Taste Me heeft wat weg van Depeche Mode, maar op Desperation komt Ultranoire weer op de rails van de melancholie terecht, ofschoon je er ook lekker kan op dansen.

Singularity is alweer perfect gekozen, omdat het het hele verhaal van Disclosure op donkere melancholische manier afsluit.

Marija BULJETA
22/01/2016




Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
04
14 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 18 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
41 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!
01
04
On this day, 31 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Gashed Senses & Crossfire!
31
03
Red Zebra releases new single!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

07
04
HAUSCHKA
My Kids Live On Mars
06
04
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
05
04
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
04
04
UNKNOWN LAND
CATHEDRAL
03
04
GOLDFRAPP
Strict Machine (Live at Glastonbury) [2017]
02
04
DIE KRUPPS
Chinese Black Die Krupps feat. Jyrki69 (Official Music Video)
02
04
DIESEIN
You