tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

22/01/2016 : ULTRANOIRE - Disclosure

ULTRANOIRE

Disclosure

MusicDigital
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[87/100]   

Self-released
22/01/2016, Marija BULJETA

EN

This interesting German-Hungarian duo consisting of two members, Josef Stapel (singer/songwriter) and Szilard Kun (musician, keyboardist), has recently released their debut album Disclosure. It consists of 11 tracks including 6 songs from their first and second EP’s and four tracks that were never released.

What Disclosure is all about can be heard right from the start. In The Darkroom is a perfectly chosen opening track for dark synth pleasure that awaits you further. It is dark, it is moody, it is slow and sticky and makes a statement: here is the dark side of synth music!

Leaving Sensoria is a bit more melancholic, but the feel of darkness you could sense on the first track is gone, so even though it is not an uplifting track, it is not as heavy. Bad Moon Rising continues with the ambiental feel, as you are in a perfect dream space of synthetic landscapes; the sounds are flowing and ethereal. A bit more daring beat line can be heard on Drowning Man, which is again a truly dark and, this time a bit minimalistic piece, leaving the listener following the voice and rhythm. And if you’re into a dancy rhythm, you may be able to find it on Lost (Shifting Realities 2012) along with a more uplifting tune this time, so the track immediately stands out, as this is the most danceable track on the album so far.

Even though we didn’t expect much of a dance material here, this song has that quality, good beats and catchy tune, but remaining melancholic and dark. Taste Me brings me a hint of some Depeche Mode vibe, but as a slow dancer. Desperation gets Ultranoire back on track of melancholia merged with rhythm again, so, another dance floor material is here, very melodic tune and beat that can get you move.

The closing track Singularity is again perfectly chosen, as it rounds up the whole story of Disclosure and closes the album in a dark melancholic way, as we could recognise that Ultranoire is about finding beauty in those darkly painted feelings and sounds.

Marija BULJETA
22/01/2016




NL

Het interessante Duits-Hongaarse duo Ultranoire bestaat uit twee leden: Josef Stapel (zanger/componist) en Szilard Kun (toetsen). De twee brachten onlangs hun debuutalbum Disclosure uit dat uit 11 tracks bestaat waarvan 6 ook al op hun eerste twee ep’s stonden, aangevuld met vier niet eerder uitgebrachte tracks.

Meteen vanaf het begin hoor je waar Disclosure voor staat. In The Dark Room is een perfect gekozen openingstrack die je donker synthplezier bezorgt. Hij is donker, humeurig, traag, plakkerig en er wordt een statement gemaakt: dit is de donkere kant van de synthmuziek!

Leaving Sensoria is een beetje melancholisch en wat minder zwaar, maar het duistere gevoel dat je op het eerste nummer hoorde is verdwenen. Bad Moon Rising heeft een ambientgevoel, net alsof je in een perfecte droom van synthetische landschappen met etherische geluiden vertoeft. Drowning Man is meer gedurfd, dit is echt donker en zelfs wat minimalistisch. Mocht je op zoek zijn naar wat dansbare ritmes, dan vind je die op Lost (Shifting Realities 2012), tot dusver is het de meest dansbare track op dit album. Hoewel we niet meteen dansmateriaal verwachten, heeft deze kwaliteitssong heel wat goede beats en een catchy melodie, maar het blijft vooral melancholisch en donker.

Het langzame dansnummer Taste Me heeft wat weg van Depeche Mode, maar op Desperation komt Ultranoire weer op de rails van de melancholie terecht, ofschoon je er ook lekker kan op dansen.

Singularity is alweer perfect gekozen, omdat het het hele verhaal van Disclosure op donkere melancholische manier afsluit.

Marija BULJETA
22/01/2016




Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
12
40 Years Of 20 Jazz Funk Greats!
08
12
Today, 41 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
76 Years Ago JIM MORRISON WAS BORN!
07
12
27 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
43 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA (SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'

PHOTOS

06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany
03
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
08
12
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
Beer, Steers and Queers
07
12
VAST
Touched
07
12
MOTOR!K
Static
06
12
MASSIVE EGO
Let Go
05
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers
04
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Crime Passionel