tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

22/01/2016 : ULTRANOIRE - Disclosure

ULTRANOIRE

Disclosure

MusicDigital
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[87/100]   

Self-released
22/01/2016, Marija BULJETA

EN

This interesting German-Hungarian duo consisting of two members, Josef Stapel (singer/songwriter) and Szilard Kun (musician, keyboardist), has recently released their debut album Disclosure. It consists of 11 tracks including 6 songs from their first and second EP’s and four tracks that were never released.

What Disclosure is all about can be heard right from the start. In The Darkroom is a perfectly chosen opening track for dark synth pleasure that awaits you further. It is dark, it is moody, it is slow and sticky and makes a statement: here is the dark side of synth music!

Leaving Sensoria is a bit more melancholic, but the feel of darkness you could sense on the first track is gone, so even though it is not an uplifting track, it is not as heavy. Bad Moon Rising continues with the ambiental feel, as you are in a perfect dream space of synthetic landscapes; the sounds are flowing and ethereal. A bit more daring beat line can be heard on Drowning Man, which is again a truly dark and, this time a bit minimalistic piece, leaving the listener following the voice and rhythm. And if you’re into a dancy rhythm, you may be able to find it on Lost (Shifting Realities 2012) along with a more uplifting tune this time, so the track immediately stands out, as this is the most danceable track on the album so far.

Even though we didn’t expect much of a dance material here, this song has that quality, good beats and catchy tune, but remaining melancholic and dark. Taste Me brings me a hint of some Depeche Mode vibe, but as a slow dancer. Desperation gets Ultranoire back on track of melancholia merged with rhythm again, so, another dance floor material is here, very melodic tune and beat that can get you move.

The closing track Singularity is again perfectly chosen, as it rounds up the whole story of Disclosure and closes the album in a dark melancholic way, as we could recognise that Ultranoire is about finding beauty in those darkly painted feelings and sounds.

Marija BULJETA
22/01/2016




NL

Het interessante Duits-Hongaarse duo Ultranoire bestaat uit twee leden: Josef Stapel (zanger/componist) en Szilard Kun (toetsen). De twee brachten onlangs hun debuutalbum Disclosure uit dat uit 11 tracks bestaat waarvan 6 ook al op hun eerste twee ep’s stonden, aangevuld met vier niet eerder uitgebrachte tracks.

Meteen vanaf het begin hoor je waar Disclosure voor staat. In The Dark Room is een perfect gekozen openingstrack die je donker synthplezier bezorgt. Hij is donker, humeurig, traag, plakkerig en er wordt een statement gemaakt: dit is de donkere kant van de synthmuziek!

Leaving Sensoria is een beetje melancholisch en wat minder zwaar, maar het duistere gevoel dat je op het eerste nummer hoorde is verdwenen. Bad Moon Rising heeft een ambientgevoel, net alsof je in een perfecte droom van synthetische landschappen met etherische geluiden vertoeft. Drowning Man is meer gedurfd, dit is echt donker en zelfs wat minimalistisch. Mocht je op zoek zijn naar wat dansbare ritmes, dan vind je die op Lost (Shifting Realities 2012), tot dusver is het de meest dansbare track op dit album. Hoewel we niet meteen dansmateriaal verwachten, heeft deze kwaliteitssong heel wat goede beats en een catchy melodie, maar het blijft vooral melancholisch en donker.

Het langzame dansnummer Taste Me heeft wat weg van Depeche Mode, maar op Desperation komt Ultranoire weer op de rails van de melancholie terecht, ofschoon je er ook lekker kan op dansen.

Singularity is alweer perfect gekozen, omdat het het hele verhaal van Disclosure op donkere melancholische manier afsluit.

Marija BULJETA
22/01/2016




Music reviews

16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you
16
04
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP3
15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl
16
04
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall