tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

21/01/2016 : THEN THEY FLEW - Stable As The Earth Stops Spinning

THEN THEY FLEW

Stable As The Earth Stops Spinning

MusicCD
AmbientPost Rock

[90/100]   
21/01/2016, Ruben SAEY

EN

Then They Flew is a five-piece instrumental rock band from Lisbon. Their music floats between ambient-rock and post-rock. The album Stable As The Earth Stops Spinning contains long compositions with a great sense of drama. Typical for this genre is the lack of vocals. Well, they are not there, but you don’t miss them! They are perfectly completed by the different patterns that are created by the three guitarists, the bass player and the drummer. You won’t find the usual melody and chorus pattern here of most rock acts but instrumental compositions that are composed like a solid unit.

The alternation between the quiet (almost) ambient-like passages and the rougher sound walls is very typical for this genre, and it creates real voltage. The album contains five energetic, often compelling tracks that are composed straight from the heart.

Do not be fooled by the limited number of tracks, the total playing time is 36 minutes pure listening pleasure. All five songs stand as a house, and if I would pick out one, it would be An Enemy Will Bring Us Together.

During the very quiet intro you notice something menacing, as if you are chased during a walk. You accelerate, and when the threat becomes real and you are overwhelmed by panic and chaos, you run, you fight... The sound wall perfectly creates this anxiety, quiet parts change into energetic passages. You end up between threat and liberation, and it finally ends with a quiet melody of strings. It gives me goose bumps. The closing number Owls is a very strong piece of craftsmanship. This record is a discovery for those who are not familiar with the genre, and a recommendation for the post-rock enthusiast.

Ruben SAEY
21/01/2016

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YXBI6oKH9Gc

NL

Then They Flew is een vijfkoppige instrumentale rockband uit Lissabon. Hun muziek zweeft ergens tussen ambientrock en postrock. Het album Stable As The Earth Stops Spinning bevat lang uitgesponnen composities met veel gevoel voor drama. Typisch voor dit genre is het ontbreken van vocalen. Nou ja, ze ontbreken wel, maar worden niet gemist. Ze worden perfect ingevuld door de verschillende patronen die de 3 gitaristen, de bassist en drummer spelen. Je hebt hier niet het melodie- en refreinpatroon zoals bij de meeste rockacts, maar echt instrumentale composities die zodanig over elkaar geweven worden dat ze toch een stevig geheel vormen.

De bij momenten verrassende afwisseling tussen de rustige (bijna) ambientachtige passages en de ruigere geluidsmuren is heel kenmerkend voor dit genre, maar zorgt wel voor de nodige spanning. Het album bevat vijf energieke, vaak meeslepende, recht uit het hart gespeelde rocknummers.

Laat je niet door het beperkte aantal nummers misleiden, want de totale speelduur komt net iets boven de 36 minuten puur luistergenot uit. Alle vijf nummers staan als een huis, en als ik er toch één moet uitpikken, dan ga ik voor An Enemy Will Bring Us Together.

In de heel rustige intro merk je dat er iets dreigends insluipt, net alsof je tijdens een wandeling plots wordt achtervolgd. Je versnelt, tot plots de dreiging reëel wordt en je overmand wordt door paniek en chaos, je rent, je vecht… Deze geluidsmuur creëert perfect deze angstgevoelens, het steeds wisselen van heel rustige naar enorm energieke passages. Je laten inleven in de situatie die zich tussen bedreiging en bevrijding bevindt, om dan uiteindelijk te eindigen met een rustige melodie van strijkers. Ik krijg er kippenvel van. Ook het slotnummer Owls is een heel sterk staaltje vakmanschap. Een aangename ontdekking voor wie niet zo met het genre bekend is, en natuurlijk een heel sterke aanrader voor de postrockliefhebber.

Ruben SAEY
21/01/2016

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YXBI6oKH9Gc

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real