tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

21/01/2016 : THEN THEY FLEW - Stable As The Earth Stops Spinning

THEN THEY FLEW

Stable As The Earth Stops Spinning

MusicCD
AmbientPost Rock

[90/100]   
21/01/2016, Ruben SAEY

EN

Then They Flew is a five-piece instrumental rock band from Lisbon. Their music floats between ambient-rock and post-rock. The album Stable As The Earth Stops Spinning contains long compositions with a great sense of drama. Typical for this genre is the lack of vocals. Well, they are not there, but you don’t miss them! They are perfectly completed by the different patterns that are created by the three guitarists, the bass player and the drummer. You won’t find the usual melody and chorus pattern here of most rock acts but instrumental compositions that are composed like a solid unit.

The alternation between the quiet (almost) ambient-like passages and the rougher sound walls is very typical for this genre, and it creates real voltage. The album contains five energetic, often compelling tracks that are composed straight from the heart.

Do not be fooled by the limited number of tracks, the total playing time is 36 minutes pure listening pleasure. All five songs stand as a house, and if I would pick out one, it would be An Enemy Will Bring Us Together.

During the very quiet intro you notice something menacing, as if you are chased during a walk. You accelerate, and when the threat becomes real and you are overwhelmed by panic and chaos, you run, you fight... The sound wall perfectly creates this anxiety, quiet parts change into energetic passages. You end up between threat and liberation, and it finally ends with a quiet melody of strings. It gives me goose bumps. The closing number Owls is a very strong piece of craftsmanship. This record is a discovery for those who are not familiar with the genre, and a recommendation for the post-rock enthusiast.

Ruben SAEY
21/01/2016

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YXBI6oKH9Gc

NL

Then They Flew is een vijfkoppige instrumentale rockband uit Lissabon. Hun muziek zweeft ergens tussen ambientrock en postrock. Het album Stable As The Earth Stops Spinning bevat lang uitgesponnen composities met veel gevoel voor drama. Typisch voor dit genre is het ontbreken van vocalen. Nou ja, ze ontbreken wel, maar worden niet gemist. Ze worden perfect ingevuld door de verschillende patronen die de 3 gitaristen, de bassist en drummer spelen. Je hebt hier niet het melodie- en refreinpatroon zoals bij de meeste rockacts, maar echt instrumentale composities die zodanig over elkaar geweven worden dat ze toch een stevig geheel vormen.

De bij momenten verrassende afwisseling tussen de rustige (bijna) ambientachtige passages en de ruigere geluidsmuren is heel kenmerkend voor dit genre, maar zorgt wel voor de nodige spanning. Het album bevat vijf energieke, vaak meeslepende, recht uit het hart gespeelde rocknummers.

Laat je niet door het beperkte aantal nummers misleiden, want de totale speelduur komt net iets boven de 36 minuten puur luistergenot uit. Alle vijf nummers staan als een huis, en als ik er toch één moet uitpikken, dan ga ik voor An Enemy Will Bring Us Together.

In de heel rustige intro merk je dat er iets dreigends insluipt, net alsof je tijdens een wandeling plots wordt achtervolgd. Je versnelt, tot plots de dreiging reëel wordt en je overmand wordt door paniek en chaos, je rent, je vecht… Deze geluidsmuur creëert perfect deze angstgevoelens, het steeds wisselen van heel rustige naar enorm energieke passages. Je laten inleven in de situatie die zich tussen bedreiging en bevrijding bevindt, om dan uiteindelijk te eindigen met een rustige melodie van strijkers. Ik krijg er kippenvel van. Ook het slotnummer Owls is een heel sterk staaltje vakmanschap. Een aangename ontdekking voor wie niet zo met het genre bekend is, en natuurlijk een heel sterke aanrader voor de postrockliefhebber.

Ruben SAEY
21/01/2016

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YXBI6oKH9Gc

Music reviews

22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola
20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron
19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)