tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

21/01/2016 : THEN THEY FLEW - Stable As The Earth Stops Spinning

THEN THEY FLEW

Stable As The Earth Stops Spinning

MusicCD
AmbientPost Rock

[90/100]   
21/01/2016, Ruben SAEY

EN

Then They Flew is a five-piece instrumental rock band from Lisbon. Their music floats between ambient-rock and post-rock. The album Stable As The Earth Stops Spinning contains long compositions with a great sense of drama. Typical for this genre is the lack of vocals. Well, they are not there, but you don’t miss them! They are perfectly completed by the different patterns that are created by the three guitarists, the bass player and the drummer. You won’t find the usual melody and chorus pattern here of most rock acts but instrumental compositions that are composed like a solid unit.

The alternation between the quiet (almost) ambient-like passages and the rougher sound walls is very typical for this genre, and it creates real voltage. The album contains five energetic, often compelling tracks that are composed straight from the heart.

Do not be fooled by the limited number of tracks, the total playing time is 36 minutes pure listening pleasure. All five songs stand as a house, and if I would pick out one, it would be An Enemy Will Bring Us Together.

During the very quiet intro you notice something menacing, as if you are chased during a walk. You accelerate, and when the threat becomes real and you are overwhelmed by panic and chaos, you run, you fight... The sound wall perfectly creates this anxiety, quiet parts change into energetic passages. You end up between threat and liberation, and it finally ends with a quiet melody of strings. It gives me goose bumps. The closing number Owls is a very strong piece of craftsmanship. This record is a discovery for those who are not familiar with the genre, and a recommendation for the post-rock enthusiast.

Ruben SAEY
21/01/2016

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YXBI6oKH9Gc

NL

Then They Flew is een vijfkoppige instrumentale rockband uit Lissabon. Hun muziek zweeft ergens tussen ambientrock en postrock. Het album Stable As The Earth Stops Spinning bevat lang uitgesponnen composities met veel gevoel voor drama. Typisch voor dit genre is het ontbreken van vocalen. Nou ja, ze ontbreken wel, maar worden niet gemist. Ze worden perfect ingevuld door de verschillende patronen die de 3 gitaristen, de bassist en drummer spelen. Je hebt hier niet het melodie- en refreinpatroon zoals bij de meeste rockacts, maar echt instrumentale composities die zodanig over elkaar geweven worden dat ze toch een stevig geheel vormen.

De bij momenten verrassende afwisseling tussen de rustige (bijna) ambientachtige passages en de ruigere geluidsmuren is heel kenmerkend voor dit genre, maar zorgt wel voor de nodige spanning. Het album bevat vijf energieke, vaak meeslepende, recht uit het hart gespeelde rocknummers.

Laat je niet door het beperkte aantal nummers misleiden, want de totale speelduur komt net iets boven de 36 minuten puur luistergenot uit. Alle vijf nummers staan als een huis, en als ik er toch één moet uitpikken, dan ga ik voor An Enemy Will Bring Us Together.

In de heel rustige intro merk je dat er iets dreigends insluipt, net alsof je tijdens een wandeling plots wordt achtervolgd. Je versnelt, tot plots de dreiging reëel wordt en je overmand wordt door paniek en chaos, je rent, je vecht… Deze geluidsmuur creëert perfect deze angstgevoelens, het steeds wisselen van heel rustige naar enorm energieke passages. Je laten inleven in de situatie die zich tussen bedreiging en bevrijding bevindt, om dan uiteindelijk te eindigen met een rustige melodie van strijkers. Ik krijg er kippenvel van. Ook het slotnummer Owls is een heel sterk staaltje vakmanschap. Een aangename ontdekking voor wie niet zo met het genre bekend is, en natuurlijk een heel sterke aanrader voor de postrockliefhebber.

Ruben SAEY
21/01/2016

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YXBI6oKH9Gc

Music reviews

05
06
GOOD CO
So Pretty
30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
06
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE
CONTROL
04
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Second Life
03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017