tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

21/01/2016 : THEN THEY FLEW - Stable As The Earth Stops Spinning

THEN THEY FLEW

Stable As The Earth Stops Spinning

MusicCD
AmbientPost Rock

[90/100]   
21/01/2016, Ruben SAEY

EN

Then They Flew is a five-piece instrumental rock band from Lisbon. Their music floats between ambient-rock and post-rock. The album Stable As The Earth Stops Spinning contains long compositions with a great sense of drama. Typical for this genre is the lack of vocals. Well, they are not there, but you don’t miss them! They are perfectly completed by the different patterns that are created by the three guitarists, the bass player and the drummer. You won’t find the usual melody and chorus pattern here of most rock acts but instrumental compositions that are composed like a solid unit.

The alternation between the quiet (almost) ambient-like passages and the rougher sound walls is very typical for this genre, and it creates real voltage. The album contains five energetic, often compelling tracks that are composed straight from the heart.

Do not be fooled by the limited number of tracks, the total playing time is 36 minutes pure listening pleasure. All five songs stand as a house, and if I would pick out one, it would be An Enemy Will Bring Us Together.

During the very quiet intro you notice something menacing, as if you are chased during a walk. You accelerate, and when the threat becomes real and you are overwhelmed by panic and chaos, you run, you fight... The sound wall perfectly creates this anxiety, quiet parts change into energetic passages. You end up between threat and liberation, and it finally ends with a quiet melody of strings. It gives me goose bumps. The closing number Owls is a very strong piece of craftsmanship. This record is a discovery for those who are not familiar with the genre, and a recommendation for the post-rock enthusiast.

Ruben SAEY
21/01/2016

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YXBI6oKH9Gc

NL

Then They Flew is een vijfkoppige instrumentale rockband uit Lissabon. Hun muziek zweeft ergens tussen ambientrock en postrock. Het album Stable As The Earth Stops Spinning bevat lang uitgesponnen composities met veel gevoel voor drama. Typisch voor dit genre is het ontbreken van vocalen. Nou ja, ze ontbreken wel, maar worden niet gemist. Ze worden perfect ingevuld door de verschillende patronen die de 3 gitaristen, de bassist en drummer spelen. Je hebt hier niet het melodie- en refreinpatroon zoals bij de meeste rockacts, maar echt instrumentale composities die zodanig over elkaar geweven worden dat ze toch een stevig geheel vormen.

De bij momenten verrassende afwisseling tussen de rustige (bijna) ambientachtige passages en de ruigere geluidsmuren is heel kenmerkend voor dit genre, maar zorgt wel voor de nodige spanning. Het album bevat vijf energieke, vaak meeslepende, recht uit het hart gespeelde rocknummers.

Laat je niet door het beperkte aantal nummers misleiden, want de totale speelduur komt net iets boven de 36 minuten puur luistergenot uit. Alle vijf nummers staan als een huis, en als ik er toch één moet uitpikken, dan ga ik voor An Enemy Will Bring Us Together.

In de heel rustige intro merk je dat er iets dreigends insluipt, net alsof je tijdens een wandeling plots wordt achtervolgd. Je versnelt, tot plots de dreiging reëel wordt en je overmand wordt door paniek en chaos, je rent, je vecht… Deze geluidsmuur creëert perfect deze angstgevoelens, het steeds wisselen van heel rustige naar enorm energieke passages. Je laten inleven in de situatie die zich tussen bedreiging en bevrijding bevindt, om dan uiteindelijk te eindigen met een rustige melodie van strijkers. Ik krijg er kippenvel van. Ook het slotnummer Owls is een heel sterk staaltje vakmanschap. Een aangename ontdekking voor wie niet zo met het genre bekend is, en natuurlijk een heel sterke aanrader voor de postrockliefhebber.

Ruben SAEY
21/01/2016

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YXBI6oKH9Gc

Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books
25
05
ERIC BILITCH
'I WOULD NEVER WANT TO MAKE A MOVIE FOR EVERYONE!'

PHOTOS

10
06
VV303
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
STRUGGLER
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
10
06
O VEUX
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
APPARAAT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ENZO KREFT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ROSA PARKS
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On
16
06
GOLDFRAPP
Ocean Feat. Dave Gahan
15
06
THE KVB
Never Enough
14
06
ADULT.
Nite Life
13
06
HA;PEOPLE 3 55
Infierno