tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

21/01/2016 : THEN THEY FLEW - Stable As The Earth Stops Spinning

THEN THEY FLEW

Stable As The Earth Stops Spinning

MusicCD
AmbientPost Rock

[90/100]   
21/01/2016, Ruben SAEY

EN

Then They Flew is a five-piece instrumental rock band from Lisbon. Their music floats between ambient-rock and post-rock. The album Stable As The Earth Stops Spinning contains long compositions with a great sense of drama. Typical for this genre is the lack of vocals. Well, they are not there, but you don’t miss them! They are perfectly completed by the different patterns that are created by the three guitarists, the bass player and the drummer. You won’t find the usual melody and chorus pattern here of most rock acts but instrumental compositions that are composed like a solid unit.

The alternation between the quiet (almost) ambient-like passages and the rougher sound walls is very typical for this genre, and it creates real voltage. The album contains five energetic, often compelling tracks that are composed straight from the heart.

Do not be fooled by the limited number of tracks, the total playing time is 36 minutes pure listening pleasure. All five songs stand as a house, and if I would pick out one, it would be An Enemy Will Bring Us Together.

During the very quiet intro you notice something menacing, as if you are chased during a walk. You accelerate, and when the threat becomes real and you are overwhelmed by panic and chaos, you run, you fight... The sound wall perfectly creates this anxiety, quiet parts change into energetic passages. You end up between threat and liberation, and it finally ends with a quiet melody of strings. It gives me goose bumps. The closing number Owls is a very strong piece of craftsmanship. This record is a discovery for those who are not familiar with the genre, and a recommendation for the post-rock enthusiast.

Ruben SAEY
21/01/2016

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YXBI6oKH9Gc

NL

Then They Flew is een vijfkoppige instrumentale rockband uit Lissabon. Hun muziek zweeft ergens tussen ambientrock en postrock. Het album Stable As The Earth Stops Spinning bevat lang uitgesponnen composities met veel gevoel voor drama. Typisch voor dit genre is het ontbreken van vocalen. Nou ja, ze ontbreken wel, maar worden niet gemist. Ze worden perfect ingevuld door de verschillende patronen die de 3 gitaristen, de bassist en drummer spelen. Je hebt hier niet het melodie- en refreinpatroon zoals bij de meeste rockacts, maar echt instrumentale composities die zodanig over elkaar geweven worden dat ze toch een stevig geheel vormen.

De bij momenten verrassende afwisseling tussen de rustige (bijna) ambientachtige passages en de ruigere geluidsmuren is heel kenmerkend voor dit genre, maar zorgt wel voor de nodige spanning. Het album bevat vijf energieke, vaak meeslepende, recht uit het hart gespeelde rocknummers.

Laat je niet door het beperkte aantal nummers misleiden, want de totale speelduur komt net iets boven de 36 minuten puur luistergenot uit. Alle vijf nummers staan als een huis, en als ik er toch één moet uitpikken, dan ga ik voor An Enemy Will Bring Us Together.

In de heel rustige intro merk je dat er iets dreigends insluipt, net alsof je tijdens een wandeling plots wordt achtervolgd. Je versnelt, tot plots de dreiging reëel wordt en je overmand wordt door paniek en chaos, je rent, je vecht… Deze geluidsmuur creëert perfect deze angstgevoelens, het steeds wisselen van heel rustige naar enorm energieke passages. Je laten inleven in de situatie die zich tussen bedreiging en bevrijding bevindt, om dan uiteindelijk te eindigen met een rustige melodie van strijkers. Ik krijg er kippenvel van. Ook het slotnummer Owls is een heel sterk staaltje vakmanschap. Een aangename ontdekking voor wie niet zo met het genre bekend is, en natuurlijk een heel sterke aanrader voor de postrockliefhebber.

Ruben SAEY
21/01/2016

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YXBI6oKH9Gc

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)