tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

21/01/2016 : KOLFSKOP - halfMAN, halfWOLF, halfBOAR

KOLFSKOP

halfMAN, halfWOLF, halfBOAR

MusicCD (EP)


[77/100]   
21/01/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

"Do you know where the sun is father? I'm in the forest my son. In the middle... of the NIGHT ". That is the opening line of Raving Knights, perhaps the most conventional song on the EP halfMAN, halfWOLF, halfBOAR by Kolfskop. According to the bio, the trio comes from Ghent, but if they told us they were from Absurdistan or some strange planet, we would believe it!

The EP features five songs: Raving Knights, Het Zwijn uit de Schaamstreek, Wolfbane's Doom, Verloren Kinderjaren and Drowned Sailor.

Kolfskop’s world is build with cabaret, post rock, avant-garde punk, Dada and absolute nonsense. Musically, you can compare them to The Butthole Sufers, Slint or Perverted (By Desire)*. but you also can add Aroma Di Amore (Belgian postpunkband-ed.) and even Virgin Prunes during their most experimental days. Oh, and Frank Zappa!

Raving Knights is driven by a distorted and deep bass, frantic drums and great guitar work. It could be a B-side by Slint, but a flipside that deserves better. You can compare Wolfbane’s Doom to Slint too, because of the very loud bass, powerful drums and lingering character.

Het Zwijn uit de Schaamstreek is reminiscent of Aroma Di Amore, although the acoustic guitar has a touch of Kiss The Anus Of A Black Cat. The story is about a man who fell to earth and became a wolf, the guitar and the percussion are the guide of the story. "Wolfie, wolfie, what time is it?", actually, it almost sounds like a lovely nursery rhyme. Don’t come up with strange ideas now!

Verloren Kinderjaren starts with a primal scream, followed by a Dutch children’s song, complemented with some tribal drums. The song has an enchanting atmosphere and you start thinking of voodoo dolls.

The drums are important in Drowing Sailor, complemented with meandering guitars and almost desperate vocals. At the end, everything explodes with a hyper-tight, hard percussion and guitar violence. Sometimes the voice is reminiscent to Nick Cave when he was with The Birthday Party.

Kolfskop is Jelle Vanderbeken, Nicolas Roose and Ruben De Waele. halfMAN, halfWOLF, halfBOAR was released on 6th November. it is the successor of the EP The Birth of a Ham. I’m sure that this is a band you have to experience on stage, and I’m also convinced that we will hear a lot more of them.

In case you don’t speak any Dutch, you can skip those two Dutch songs as there are three compact post-rock moments to enjoy. These three 'conventional' songs alone are a reason to buy this EP. Enter the strange world of Kolfskop. A band with potential, and surely one to follow!

 * Now Perverted formerly: Perverted By Desire

Mark VAN MULLEM
21/01/2016


NL

Do you know where the sun is father? I'm in the forest my son. In the middle... of the NIGHT”. Dat is de openingszin van Raving Knights, de misschien nog meest conventionele song waarmee de ep halfMAN, halfWOLF, halfBOAR van Kolfskop opent. Het drietal komt uit Gent, zo lezen we in de bio. Maar mocht daar staan Absurdistan of een of andere vreemde planeet, hadden we dat ook geloofd!

De 5-track-ep bestaat uit songs met titels zoals: Raving Knights, Het Zwijn uit de Schaamstreek, Wolfbane's Doom, Verloren Kinderjaren en Drowned Sailor.

In de wereld van Kolfskop vinden cabaret, postrock, avant-garde punk, dadaïsme en absolute onzin elkaar moeiteloos. Muzikaal ligt het nog het meest in het straatje van The Butthole Sufers, Slint, of Perverted (By Desire)*. Maar je kan er evengoed Aroma Di Amore en zelfs Virgin Prunes in hun meest experimentele periode aan linken. Oh, en Frank Zappa!

Raving Knights wordt gedreven door een overstuurde diepe bas, hectische drums en geweldig gitaarwerk. Het zou een afleggertje van Slint kunnen zijn, of een b-kantje. Maar dan wel het soort b-kant dat beter verdient. Ook voor Wolfbane's Doom, met zijn erg luide bas, krachtige drums en zijn slepende karakter, gaat de vergelijking met Slint op.

Het Zwijn uit de Schaamstreek doet qua muzikale stijl nog het meeste denken aan Aroma Di Amore, al zou je dat akoestische gitaargeluid ook bij Kiss The Anus Of A Black Cat kunnen plaatsen. Met de begeleiding van gitaar en percussie wordt het verhaal verteld over de man die op de aarde viel en wolf werd. Of was het toch een zwijn uit de schaamstreek? “Wolfje, wolfje, hoe laat is het?”. Eigenlijk klinkt het bijna als een liefelijk kinderliedje. Maar laat dit je nu niet op rare ideeën brengen!

Verloren Kinderjaren start met enkele oerkreten waarop vervolgens de melodie van 'al die willen te kaap'ren varen' weerklinkt. “Al die willen voor vader varen moeten ontaarde mannen zijn”, begeleid door tribale drums heeft dit iets bezwerends en je kan je zo inbeelden dat er ergens voodoopopjes rondslingeren.

Ook in Drowing Sailor zijn de drums belangrijk, met voorts breed meanderende gitaren en haast wanhopige vocalen. op het einde ontploft het beetje bij beetje met hyperstrakke en harde percussie en een festijn van gitaargeweld. De stem op deze track doet soms aan Nick Cave ten tijde van The Birthday Party denken.

Kolfskop zijn Jelle Vanderbeken, Nicolas Roose en Ruben De Waele. halfMAN, halfWOLF, halfBOAR verscheen op 6 november en is de opvolger van de ep The Birth of a Ham. Iets laat vermoeden dat je dit drietal vooral live moet beleven. Een ander vermoeden is dat we hier nog veel van zullen horen. En dat mag!

Postrockers voor wie Absurdistan net iets te ver is, sla gerust de twee Nederlandstalige songs over en geniet van de drie compacte postrockmomenten. Deze drie 'conventionele' songs zijn alvast reden genoeg om tot de aanschaf van de ep over te gaan. Voor alle andere melomanen: dompel je onder in de vreemde wereld van Kolfskop. Veel potentieel heeft dit bandje, te volgen! 

*nu Perverted, vroeger: Perverted By Desire

Mark VAN MULLEM
21/01/2016


Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
12
A Date In Camden | On this day 41 ago The Fall recorded Live At The Witch Trials!
14
12
On this day, 42 years ago, Joy Division recorded their very first EP, 'An Ideal for Living'!
14
12
London Calling | The Clash Masterpiece Is 40 Today!
11
12
The Mission - The United European Party Tour 2020
10
12
Postpunk pioneers The Membranes and Kitty Lectro team up for stunning 'Nocturnal' EP
10
12
Los Angeles Synth Act More Ephemerol Debuts New Single, 'Cult Classics'

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
12
FIX8:SED8
I Could Talk About The Wonder That Is Skinny Puppy For Hours
29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!

PHOTOS

09
12
MARK E MOON
Sportkafee Waregem
06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
12
TAINA
Seelenfresser
14
12
ME THE TIGER
Hollow
13
12
THE HUMAN LEAGUE
Open Your heart
12
12
AN PIERLE
The Golden Dawn
11
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE
Death by completion
10
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
Mambo Witch
09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes