tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd single review

20/01/2016 : FORMSHIFT FT. NEON ELECTRONICS - Crash/Overtime

FORMSHIFT FT. NEON ELECTRONICS

Crash/Overtime

MusicCD single
Dark ElectroEBMElectro

[82/100]   

Dancedelic D
20/01/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Dirk Da Davo is one of the founders of The Neon Judgement and these days well known as one of the beat masters of Neon Electronics. With Formshift (the alter ego of Dutchman Gavin Bucktrout) he releases this new single on his label Dancedelic D, which contains two songs.

Already when he was 13, Gavin played vinyl records, and later he stood behind the turntables at big parties and festivals as D-Spirit. In those days he met Dirk Da Davo who immediately was keen on his electronic thumps. This meeting is now leading to a first collaboration.

Crash is somewhere between EBM and dance/techno. The drum beat comes from the old EBM days, tight and repetitive, with a solid pace, complemented with dance and techno elements.

The same monotonous drumbeat also forms the basis of Overtime. The vocals remind me of Apoptygma Berzerk and a bit of Praga Khan. The song has a quiet part, after which the drum rhythms take over again.

You feel that there is a musical chemistry between these two guys, and I think an album is an option!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
20/01/2016

https://soundcloud.com/the-neon-judgement/formshift-ft-neon-electronics-crash-overtime-preview-audio-sample

NL

Dirk Da Davo is één van de oprichters van The Neon Judgement en ondertussen ook meer dan bekend als één van de beatmasters van Neon Electronics. Samen met Formshift (het alter ego van de Nederlander Gavin Bucktrout) brengt hij op zijn label Dancedelic D deze single uit waarop twee songs staan.

Gavin draaide al vanaf zijn dertiende zijn eerste vinyl en op latere leeftijd speelde hij op grote fuiven en festivals onder de naam D-Spirit. In die dagen liep hij Dirk Da Davo tegen het lijf, die meteen weg was van het elektronische dreunwerk van Gavin. De ontmoeting heeft nu deze eerste single tot gevolg.

Crash houdt het midden tussen EBM en dance/techno-elementen. De drumbeat komt uit de oude EBM-doos, strak en repetitief en met een stevig tempo. Elementen uit dance en techno vloeien er mooi overheen.

Eenzelfde monotone droge drumbeat vormt ook de basis van Overtime. Vocaal doet de zang me wat aan Apoptygma Berzerk en flarden van Praga Khan denken. Het nummer heeft een rustige passage, om dan weer naar drumritmes terug te keren.

Het is duidelijk voelbaar dat er sprake is van een muzikale klik tussen deze twee mannen, en wat mij betreft mag dat ook in een album resulteren!

 

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
20/01/2016

https://soundcloud.com/the-neon-judgement/formshift-ft-neon-electronics-crash-overtime-preview-audio-sample

 

Next reviews
AN PIERLÉ & FULCO OTTERVANGER • Slumberland
RAINMODE • On
FRANK WEYZIG (BORN FOR BLISS) • Meeting A Starman (David Bowie)
PANKOW • Throw Out Rite
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ni D'Eve Ni D'Adam
EX-MACHINA • Transhuman
HARLOWE • Harlowe
MARC ALMOND • The Velvet Trail
THE GURU GURU • Diksmuide, 4AD (15/01/16)
METATRON OMEGA • Gnosis Dei

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + EBM + ELECTRO
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)
HEDERA HELIX • Pastiche
DECODED FEEDBACK • Dark Passenger
HEIMATAERDE • Hick Hack Hackebeil
ENTRZELLE, STUDIO-X VS SIMON CARTER, THE PSYCHIC FORCE, XMH, ZOMBIE GIRL • EP
E-TROPOLIS FESTIVAL • Germany (2015)
PRETTY ADDICTED • It All Stems From Childhood

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PLACEBO EFFECT • Shattered Souls
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • The Dread Files
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
DREADFOOL • Atoms for peace
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
FEU FOLLET • Le champ des morts

 

Same genre: EBM
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
AD:KEY • Resonanz
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
TUKT • Tukt

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Shadow Of Fear
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE • Sharpening The Axe
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Heut Nacht
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes

Music reviews

16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear
09
01
HA:PEOPLE.3.55
El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
08
01
RUE OBERKAMPF
Negativraum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 3 Year Anniversary
14
01
On this night, 42 years ago, Joy Division played at King Kong, Antwerp (B)!
14
01
Today, 42 years ago, the Sex Pistols played their historic 'last' show! Watch it here!!
12
01
Happy Birthday Rob Zombie! (56)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down
14
01
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE
Enfermedad
13
01
MOLLY NILSSON
1995
12
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
11
01
SURGICAL METH MACHINE
I'm Invisible
10
01
DAVID BOWIE
Modern Love