tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd single review

20/01/2016 : FORMSHIFT FT. NEON ELECTRONICS - Crash/Overtime

FORMSHIFT FT. NEON ELECTRONICS

Crash/Overtime

MusicCD single
Dark ElectroEBMElectro

[82/100]   

Dancedelic D
20/01/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Dirk Da Davo is one of the founders of The Neon Judgement and these days well known as one of the beat masters of Neon Electronics. With Formshift (the alter ego of Dutchman Gavin Bucktrout) he releases this new single on his label Dancedelic D, which contains two songs.

Already when he was 13, Gavin played vinyl records, and later he stood behind the turntables at big parties and festivals as D-Spirit. In those days he met Dirk Da Davo who immediately was keen on his electronic thumps. This meeting is now leading to a first collaboration.

Crash is somewhere between EBM and dance/techno. The drum beat comes from the old EBM days, tight and repetitive, with a solid pace, complemented with dance and techno elements.

The same monotonous drumbeat also forms the basis of Overtime. The vocals remind me of Apoptygma Berzerk and a bit of Praga Khan. The song has a quiet part, after which the drum rhythms take over again.

You feel that there is a musical chemistry between these two guys, and I think an album is an option!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
20/01/2016

https://soundcloud.com/the-neon-judgement/formshift-ft-neon-electronics-crash-overtime-preview-audio-sample

NL

Dirk Da Davo is één van de oprichters van The Neon Judgement en ondertussen ook meer dan bekend als één van de beatmasters van Neon Electronics. Samen met Formshift (het alter ego van de Nederlander Gavin Bucktrout) brengt hij op zijn label Dancedelic D deze single uit waarop twee songs staan.

Gavin draaide al vanaf zijn dertiende zijn eerste vinyl en op latere leeftijd speelde hij op grote fuiven en festivals onder de naam D-Spirit. In die dagen liep hij Dirk Da Davo tegen het lijf, die meteen weg was van het elektronische dreunwerk van Gavin. De ontmoeting heeft nu deze eerste single tot gevolg.

Crash houdt het midden tussen EBM en dance/techno-elementen. De drumbeat komt uit de oude EBM-doos, strak en repetitief en met een stevig tempo. Elementen uit dance en techno vloeien er mooi overheen.

Eenzelfde monotone droge drumbeat vormt ook de basis van Overtime. Vocaal doet de zang me wat aan Apoptygma Berzerk en flarden van Praga Khan denken. Het nummer heeft een rustige passage, om dan weer naar drumritmes terug te keren.

Het is duidelijk voelbaar dat er sprake is van een muzikale klik tussen deze twee mannen, en wat mij betreft mag dat ook in een album resulteren!

 

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
20/01/2016

https://soundcloud.com/the-neon-judgement/formshift-ft-neon-electronics-crash-overtime-preview-audio-sample

 

Next reviews
AN PIERLÉ & FULCO OTTERVANGER • Slumberland
RAINMODE • On
FRANK WEYZIG (BORN FOR BLISS) • Meeting A Starman (David Bowie)
PANKOW • Throw Out Rite
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ni D'Eve Ni D'Adam
EX-MACHINA • Transhuman
HARLOWE • Harlowe
MARC ALMOND • The Velvet Trail
THE GURU GURU • Diksmuide, 4AD (15/01/16)
METATRON OMEGA • Gnosis Dei

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + EBM + ELECTRO
MILDREDA • I was never really there
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)
HEDERA HELIX • Pastiche
DECODED FEEDBACK • Dark Passenger
HEIMATAERDE • Hick Hack Hackebeil
ENTRZELLE, STUDIO-X VS SIMON CARTER, THE PSYCHIC FORCE, XMH, ZOMBIE GIRL • EP
E-TROPOLIS FESTIVAL • Germany (2015)

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FIX8:SED8 • The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PLACEBO EFFECT • Shattered Souls
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • The Dread Files

 

Same genre: EBM
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE • Classic Chevrolet
PESCH • Melba
IN ABSENTIA • Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
AD:KEY • I can't feel you
FRONTMASCHINE • Wrong fate EP
ROUGE • Ultimatum
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Burn Forever
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
JIHAD • Retrospekt
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Shadow Of Fear
DIVE • Where do we go from here

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

21
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Hafensommer 21 Am Speicher 2 Osnabrück
12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)