tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

19/01/2016 : PANKOW - Throw Out Rite

PANKOW

Throw Out Rite

MusicCD


[90/100]   

Artoffact
19/01/2016, Erik VAN DAMME

EN

When Throw Out Rite by Pankow was send to my digital mailbox, a bell was ringing. After some research, I found out that this album by this Italian EBM artist already was released on cassette in 1983. Pankow is not an unknown act. Not that it conquered the world or so, but in the underground scene the band managed to build up a cult status. Sometimes we wonder what’s the use of re-releasing old albums. Does it add anything new? It is indeed quite interesting for those who do not know the band, but is there another value? This aside, Throw Out Rite is out on vinyl in both a white and black version, as well as on CD. Pankow’s music is often compared to Einstürzende Neubauten and Clock DVA, a comparison that is completely correct.

Pankow is experimental EBM. It’s made in 1983, but the sound still stands in 2016. And so, we simply can forget our sceptical thoughts about re-releasing old records. Pankow sets the standard quite high, and it is beyond me why this band was not more popular during the 80s, simply because it is at the same high level of Einstürzende Neubauten.

Rendez-Vous Dans un Bois is a collaboration with (yes!) Blixa. The masterful approach has startling sounds that gives the listener all kinds of different emotions. It is something that still can surprise in 2016, especially in days when most music has been made. Throw Out Rite sounds downright innovative. It’s difficult to categorize it all, both instrumentally and vocally, but it is dark, frightening and even imminent! You read that right, just as the music our head is twisting!

Pankow doesn’t make easy music, but it is very varied! We definitely hear some EBM like in Zz Walhalla that has typical dark, icy beats. It is exactly the reason why we became fans of this genre. This song is a typical example of how EBM has to sound!

Every song has a very different dimension. As said it’s sometimes EBM, but Destiny has a touch of ambient. And there is always a lot of experiment and that is exactly what makes Pankow so interesting.

Voce is yet another example of typical EBM that give us chills. Again Pankow demonstrates that it is a master in experimenting with electronic music.

Erik VAN DAMME
19/01/2016


NL

Toen we de cd Throw Out Rite van Pankow in onze digitale brievenbus kregen, ging er plots een belletje rinkelen. Na enig opzoekwerk bleek inderdaad dat deze Italiaanse EBM-artiest dit album reeds in 1983 op cassette heeft uitgebracht. Een totaal onbekende is Pankow overigens niet. Niet dat hij de wereld heeft veroverd of zo, maar in de undergroundscène wist deze band toch door te breken en een cultstatus te verwerven. We vroegen ons meteen ook af wat de zin is van het heruitbrengen van vroegere albums. Voegt het iets toe? Het is best interessant voor de mensen die de band nog niet kennen, maar wat is de meerwaarde ervan? Het ontgaat ons vaak een beetje. Dit terzijde, komt Throw Out of Ride nu op vinyl uit, zowel in een witte als zwarte versie, alsook op cd. Pankows muziek wordt vaak vergeleken met Einstürzende Neubauten en Clock DVA, een vergelijking die overigens compleet juist is.

Pankow staat garant voor een potje experimenteren met EBM en aanverwanten, net zoals de eerder genoemde bands dat ook doen. Het gebeurde wel in 1983, maar de sound staat anno 2016 wel nog steeds als een huis. Meteen kunnen we onze sceptische kijk op het heruitbrengen van oude platen overboord gooien. Pankow legt de lat hier heel hoog, het is me een raadsel waarom de band niet is doorgebroken bij een groter publiek in de jaren 80. Want neen, dit is geen band die in het verlengde ligt van Einstürzende Neubauten, hij ligt gewoon op datzelfde hoge niveau.

Rendez-Vous Dans un Bois, met (jawel) de medewerking van Blixa doet daar zelfs nog een schepje bovenop. De meesterlijke aanpak met bevreemdende geluiden halen allerlei uiteenlopende emoties bij de luisteraar naar boven. Het is iets dat ons in 2016 nog steeds kan verwonderen. In tijden waarin alles al eens is gedaan, klinkt Throw Out Rite zelfs ronduit vernieuwend. Zowel instrumentaal als vocaal kan je sommige geluiden niet echt thuis brengen, ze leunen dicht aan bij noise, maar het klinkt donker en angstaanjagend. Om niet te zeggen dreigend! Je leest het goed, net zoals de muziek begint ook ons hoofd er een beetje van te tollen!

Verwacht je niet aan gemakkelijk in het gehoor liggende muziek, daarvoor verwijzen we je graag door naar de nieuwste K3. Bij Pankow krijgen we muziek die alle kanten van de aardbol uitgaat. Binnen dit kader horen we inderdaad EBM, zoals in Zz Walhalla, dat die typische donkere, ijskoude beats bevat waardoor we fan zijn geworden van deze muziekstijl. Deze song is een typisch voorbeeld van hoe EBM moet klinken. Kil, het moet je kriebelingen bezorgen en ons dreigend tegen de muur kwakken. 

Ieder nummer lijkt naar een heel andere uiteenlopende dimensie uit te stijgen. Zaten we bij de vorige song nog in een EBM-sfeer, dan lijkt Destiny een streepje ambient te bevatten. Maar ook hier komt die zin voor experiment weer boven drijven en het is net dat wat Pankow zo interessant maakt.

Voce is weer zo een voorbeeld van typische EBM met klanken die ons rillingen bezorgen. Pankow demonstreert ook hier hoe het een meester is in het experimenteren met elektronische muziek.

Erik VAN DAMME
19/01/2016


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
07
This month it’s 28 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
09
07
Dutch electro pioneers, Minny Pops announce the release of a brand new double A-Side single!
08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
07
DON GORDON (NUMB)
'In many ways the first Numb album was one of the ‘easiest’ to produce...'
06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland