tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

19/01/2016 : PANKOW - Throw Out Rite

PANKOW

Throw Out Rite

MusicCD


[90/100]   

Artoffact
19/01/2016, Erik VAN DAMME

EN

When Throw Out Rite by Pankow was send to my digital mailbox, a bell was ringing. After some research, I found out that this album by this Italian EBM artist already was released on cassette in 1983. Pankow is not an unknown act. Not that it conquered the world or so, but in the underground scene the band managed to build up a cult status. Sometimes we wonder what’s the use of re-releasing old albums. Does it add anything new? It is indeed quite interesting for those who do not know the band, but is there another value? This aside, Throw Out Rite is out on vinyl in both a white and black version, as well as on CD. Pankow’s music is often compared to Einstürzende Neubauten and Clock DVA, a comparison that is completely correct.

Pankow is experimental EBM. It’s made in 1983, but the sound still stands in 2016. And so, we simply can forget our sceptical thoughts about re-releasing old records. Pankow sets the standard quite high, and it is beyond me why this band was not more popular during the 80s, simply because it is at the same high level of Einstürzende Neubauten.

Rendez-Vous Dans un Bois is a collaboration with (yes!) Blixa. The masterful approach has startling sounds that gives the listener all kinds of different emotions. It is something that still can surprise in 2016, especially in days when most music has been made. Throw Out Rite sounds downright innovative. It’s difficult to categorize it all, both instrumentally and vocally, but it is dark, frightening and even imminent! You read that right, just as the music our head is twisting!

Pankow doesn’t make easy music, but it is very varied! We definitely hear some EBM like in Zz Walhalla that has typical dark, icy beats. It is exactly the reason why we became fans of this genre. This song is a typical example of how EBM has to sound!

Every song has a very different dimension. As said it’s sometimes EBM, but Destiny has a touch of ambient. And there is always a lot of experiment and that is exactly what makes Pankow so interesting.

Voce is yet another example of typical EBM that give us chills. Again Pankow demonstrates that it is a master in experimenting with electronic music.

Erik VAN DAMME
19/01/2016


NL

Toen we de cd Throw Out Rite van Pankow in onze digitale brievenbus kregen, ging er plots een belletje rinkelen. Na enig opzoekwerk bleek inderdaad dat deze Italiaanse EBM-artiest dit album reeds in 1983 op cassette heeft uitgebracht. Een totaal onbekende is Pankow overigens niet. Niet dat hij de wereld heeft veroverd of zo, maar in de undergroundscène wist deze band toch door te breken en een cultstatus te verwerven. We vroegen ons meteen ook af wat de zin is van het heruitbrengen van vroegere albums. Voegt het iets toe? Het is best interessant voor de mensen die de band nog niet kennen, maar wat is de meerwaarde ervan? Het ontgaat ons vaak een beetje. Dit terzijde, komt Throw Out of Ride nu op vinyl uit, zowel in een witte als zwarte versie, alsook op cd. Pankows muziek wordt vaak vergeleken met Einstürzende Neubauten en Clock DVA, een vergelijking die overigens compleet juist is.

Pankow staat garant voor een potje experimenteren met EBM en aanverwanten, net zoals de eerder genoemde bands dat ook doen. Het gebeurde wel in 1983, maar de sound staat anno 2016 wel nog steeds als een huis. Meteen kunnen we onze sceptische kijk op het heruitbrengen van oude platen overboord gooien. Pankow legt de lat hier heel hoog, het is me een raadsel waarom de band niet is doorgebroken bij een groter publiek in de jaren 80. Want neen, dit is geen band die in het verlengde ligt van Einstürzende Neubauten, hij ligt gewoon op datzelfde hoge niveau.

Rendez-Vous Dans un Bois, met (jawel) de medewerking van Blixa doet daar zelfs nog een schepje bovenop. De meesterlijke aanpak met bevreemdende geluiden halen allerlei uiteenlopende emoties bij de luisteraar naar boven. Het is iets dat ons in 2016 nog steeds kan verwonderen. In tijden waarin alles al eens is gedaan, klinkt Throw Out Rite zelfs ronduit vernieuwend. Zowel instrumentaal als vocaal kan je sommige geluiden niet echt thuis brengen, ze leunen dicht aan bij noise, maar het klinkt donker en angstaanjagend. Om niet te zeggen dreigend! Je leest het goed, net zoals de muziek begint ook ons hoofd er een beetje van te tollen!

Verwacht je niet aan gemakkelijk in het gehoor liggende muziek, daarvoor verwijzen we je graag door naar de nieuwste K3. Bij Pankow krijgen we muziek die alle kanten van de aardbol uitgaat. Binnen dit kader horen we inderdaad EBM, zoals in Zz Walhalla, dat die typische donkere, ijskoude beats bevat waardoor we fan zijn geworden van deze muziekstijl. Deze song is een typisch voorbeeld van hoe EBM moet klinken. Kil, het moet je kriebelingen bezorgen en ons dreigend tegen de muur kwakken. 

Ieder nummer lijkt naar een heel andere uiteenlopende dimensie uit te stijgen. Zaten we bij de vorige song nog in een EBM-sfeer, dan lijkt Destiny een streepje ambient te bevatten. Maar ook hier komt die zin voor experiment weer boven drijven en het is net dat wat Pankow zo interessant maakt.

Voce is weer zo een voorbeeld van typische EBM met klanken die ons rillingen bezorgen. Pankow demonstreert ook hier hoe het een meester is in het experimenteren met elektronische muziek.

Erik VAN DAMME
19/01/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'
05
08
Darkwave Duo Sever The Servants Drop Apocalyptic Debut LP

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation