tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

19/01/2016 : EX-MACHINA - Transhuman

EX-MACHINA

Transhuman

MusicCD
MinimalSynth Pop / Electro PopSynth WaveSynthpop

[68/100]   

Werkstatt Recordings
19/01/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Ex Machina is a project of Dan Kenyon. The CD (and download) Transhuman is released on Werkstatt Recordings, although the legendary tape form is sold out already.

By seeing the cover, we immediately know that Dan Kenyon takes his inspiration from dark science fiction films of the 70s and 80s. With Ex-Machina, Dan offers a mixture of synth pop, electro, chill wave and retro futuristic soundscapes. The songs are extremely varied, usually with some vocals, and stylistically they can be categorized as synth pop or minimal.

Vanguard could have come straight out of an 80's series such as Miami Vice: a typical disco rhythm with in between a guitar solo. Europe Station In Deep Cold is very trance, cosmic, minimal and Zen. The title song Transhuman spins a web of 8 minutes of repetitive drum beats and dreamy synths. Unfortunately, it is too long to keep the interest going.

Full Combat Chassis reminds me of Jean Michel Jarre. In fact, it is a name that often springs to mind when I listen to this release. Lovers of dark minimal sounds might like Malicious Hardware. Dark beats and a menacing atmosphere. The song even has a modern EBM-touch, but in a gentle way.

No, you can’t argue about colours and flavours, however I’m sure that this CD will only reach a limited audience. Technically, the songs are okay, but they don’t haunt you…

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
19/01/2016

http://synthesizer.bandcamp.com/album/234-ex-machina-transhuman

NL

Ex-Machina is een project van Dan Kenyon. De cd (en download) Transhuman verschijnt op Werkstatt Recordings, maar de legendarische cassette is ondertussen al uitverkocht.

De hoes laat al vermoeden dat Dan Kenyon zijn inspiratie uit donkere sciencefictionfilms uit de jaren 70 en 80 haalt. Met Ex-Machina brengt hij een mix van synthpop, electro, chillwave en heel nadrukkelijke retrofuturistische soundscapes. De songs zijn enorm gevarieerd, meestal met weinig vocalen, en qua stijl synthpop en minimal.

Vanguard kan zo uit een 80s-serie zoals Miami Vice komen: een typerend discoachtig ritme met daardoor een gitaarsolo. Europa Station In Deep Cold is dan weer heel trancy, kosmisch, minimal en klinkt zo zen dat het niet zou misstaan tijdens één of andere therapeutisch onderonsje. De titelsong Transhuman spint een web van zo’n dikke 8 minuten dat uit zweverige en repetitieve drumbeat en synths bestaat. Helaas is het te lang om boeiend te blijven. Full Combat Chassis leunt dan weer dicht bij Jean-Michel Jarre aan. Het is trouwens een naam die me bij verschillende nummers te binnen schiet. Er doemen beelden op van op elkaar gestapelde keyboards en waar één man het voor het zeggen heeft. De liefhebbers van de echt donkere minimal vinden hun gading in Malicious Hardware. Donkere beats en een dreigend sfeertje. Het nummer bezit wel een hedendaags EBM-tintje, maar dan wel op een brave manier.

Neen, over kleuren en smaken valt niet te twisten, toch is dit een cd die maar een niche van de liefhebbers zal bereiken. De nummers zijn qua opbouw wel technisch goed, maar ze beklijven te weinig.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
19/01/2016

http://synthesizer.bandcamp.com/album/234-ex-machina-transhuman

 

Next reviews
HARLOWE • Harlowe
MARC ALMOND • The Velvet Trail
THE GURU GURU • Diksmuide, 4AD (15/01/16)
METATRON OMEGA • Gnosis Dei
MARCHE FUNèBRE • Lost
(((S))) • Welcome to the Heartland
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
CENTIPEDE • Sarnath
FRAGILE GODS • The Future Never Came
PARA NORMAL • The Cold Room

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP + SYNTH WAVE + SYNTHPOP
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Tales Of A Fragile Mind

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Space and time
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
ERASURE • THE NEON
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
AUGER • Insurgence

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
MAGNETIC RUST • Multicolor
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
RINGFINGER • Pressure

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
TUKT • Tukt
COLD IN MAY • Isolation songs
DARK-O-MATIC • A cage with the door wide open
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)