tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

19/01/2016 : EX-MACHINA - Transhuman

EX-MACHINA

Transhuman

MusicCD
MinimalSynth Pop / Electro PopSynth WaveSynthpop

[68/100]   

Werkstatt Recordings
19/01/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Ex Machina is a project of Dan Kenyon. The CD (and download) Transhuman is released on Werkstatt Recordings, although the legendary tape form is sold out already.

By seeing the cover, we immediately know that Dan Kenyon takes his inspiration from dark science fiction films of the 70s and 80s. With Ex-Machina, Dan offers a mixture of synth pop, electro, chill wave and retro futuristic soundscapes. The songs are extremely varied, usually with some vocals, and stylistically they can be categorized as synth pop or minimal.

Vanguard could have come straight out of an 80's series such as Miami Vice: a typical disco rhythm with in between a guitar solo. Europe Station In Deep Cold is very trance, cosmic, minimal and Zen. The title song Transhuman spins a web of 8 minutes of repetitive drum beats and dreamy synths. Unfortunately, it is too long to keep the interest going.

Full Combat Chassis reminds me of Jean Michel Jarre. In fact, it is a name that often springs to mind when I listen to this release. Lovers of dark minimal sounds might like Malicious Hardware. Dark beats and a menacing atmosphere. The song even has a modern EBM-touch, but in a gentle way.

No, you can’t argue about colours and flavours, however I’m sure that this CD will only reach a limited audience. Technically, the songs are okay, but they don’t haunt you…

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
19/01/2016

http://synthesizer.bandcamp.com/album/234-ex-machina-transhuman

NL

Ex-Machina is een project van Dan Kenyon. De cd (en download) Transhuman verschijnt op Werkstatt Recordings, maar de legendarische cassette is ondertussen al uitverkocht.

De hoes laat al vermoeden dat Dan Kenyon zijn inspiratie uit donkere sciencefictionfilms uit de jaren 70 en 80 haalt. Met Ex-Machina brengt hij een mix van synthpop, electro, chillwave en heel nadrukkelijke retrofuturistische soundscapes. De songs zijn enorm gevarieerd, meestal met weinig vocalen, en qua stijl synthpop en minimal.

Vanguard kan zo uit een 80s-serie zoals Miami Vice komen: een typerend discoachtig ritme met daardoor een gitaarsolo. Europa Station In Deep Cold is dan weer heel trancy, kosmisch, minimal en klinkt zo zen dat het niet zou misstaan tijdens één of andere therapeutisch onderonsje. De titelsong Transhuman spint een web van zo’n dikke 8 minuten dat uit zweverige en repetitieve drumbeat en synths bestaat. Helaas is het te lang om boeiend te blijven. Full Combat Chassis leunt dan weer dicht bij Jean-Michel Jarre aan. Het is trouwens een naam die me bij verschillende nummers te binnen schiet. Er doemen beelden op van op elkaar gestapelde keyboards en waar één man het voor het zeggen heeft. De liefhebbers van de echt donkere minimal vinden hun gading in Malicious Hardware. Donkere beats en een dreigend sfeertje. Het nummer bezit wel een hedendaags EBM-tintje, maar dan wel op een brave manier.

Neen, over kleuren en smaken valt niet te twisten, toch is dit een cd die maar een niche van de liefhebbers zal bereiken. De nummers zijn qua opbouw wel technisch goed, maar ze beklijven te weinig.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
19/01/2016

http://synthesizer.bandcamp.com/album/234-ex-machina-transhuman

 

Next reviews
HARLOWE • Harlowe
MARC ALMOND • The Velvet Trail
THE GURU GURU • Diksmuide, 4AD (15/01/16)
METATRON OMEGA • Gnosis Dei
MARCHE FUNèBRE • Lost
(((S))) • Welcome to the Heartland
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
CENTIPEDE • Sarnath
FRAGILE GODS • The Future Never Came
PARA NORMAL • The Cold Room

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP + SYNTH WAVE + SYNTHPOP
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Tales Of A Fragile Mind

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
ERASURE • THE NEON
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
COLD IN MAY • Koma:Redux
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
RINGFINGER • Pressure
ENZO KREFT • Control
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
TUKT • Tukt
COLD IN MAY • Isolation songs
DARK-O-MATIC • A cage with the door wide open
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
ART DIKTATOR • Isola

Music reviews

15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear
09
01
HA:PEOPLE.3.55
El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
08
01
RUE OBERKAMPF
Negativraum
04
01
PLACEBO EFFECT
Shattered Souls

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 3 Year Anniversary
14
01
On this night, 42 years ago, Joy Division played at King Kong, Antwerp (B)!
14
01
Today, 42 years ago, the Sex Pistols played their historic 'last' show! Watch it here!!
12
01
Happy Birthday Rob Zombie! (56)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down
14
01
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE
Enfermedad
13
01
MOLLY NILSSON
1995
12
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
11
01
SURGICAL METH MACHINE
I'm Invisible
10
01
DAVID BOWIE
Modern Love