tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

15/01/2016 : FRAGILE GODS - The Future Never Came

FRAGILE GODS

The Future Never Came

MusicCD (EP)
Electro PopElectro Wave

[70/100]   
15/01/2016, Peter HESELMANS

EN

A new year, brand new challenges and especially fresh projects. That’s exactly the idea behind Fragile Gods, the solo project of Frederick Frantz, that actually was set up in 2012, but now takes a real start with the release of this EP.

This New York artist has influences from new wave, EBM and industrial and merges them into his own electro pop sound that is characterized by minmimal synths and a monotonous voice that give each song something unique and a typical atmosphere.

The EP The Future Never Came contains four songs. Opener City Of The Dead sets the tone with dark beats and basses, all enriched with colourful and catchy synths. The strength of this song is definitely the appealing chorus. The tones are stuck in your eardrums and sizzle for hours in your brain afterwards. Maybe Frantz uses too many overdubs of his voice. Anyway, it surely reminds me of The City Sleeps by MC900 Ft Jesus.

All Systems Burn starts slow, but it quickly goes full speed, complemented with the necessary 80's influences, although there are plenty of modern impulses to make this track a real electro pop song.

We end with my favourite tune: The Digital Divine. It is a complex variable electronic track with a chorus that hits you and sticks. Frantz's voice is perfect, the dark husky voice fits perfectly with the synths and drum machines. Also the lyrics by Fragile Gods are more than good!

This is a nice debut, but perhaps Frantz needs to work on his own style some more as you clearly hear influences of Nitzer Ebb, Cabaret Voltaire and even Telex. Fact is that Fragile Gods has a bright future!

https://fragilegods.bandcamp.com/releases

Peter HESELMANS
15/01/2016


NL

Een nieuw jaar, gloednieuwe uitdagingen en vooral fonkelnieuwe projecten. Dat geldt ook voor Fragile Gods, het eenmansproject van Frantz Frederick dat eigenlijk al in 2012 is opgericht, maar nu pas een flinke start neemt met de release van deze ep.

Deze New Yorkse artiest laat invloeden uit new wave, EBM en industrial samenvloeien in zijn eigen elektropopgeluid dat wordt gekenmerkt door unieke minmimale synths en een monotone stem die elke song een eigen klank en atmosfeer geeft.

De ep The Future Never Came bevat 4 nummers. Opener City Of The Dead zet direct de toon met donkere beats en bassen, alles opgefrist met kleurrijke en catchy synths. De sterkte van dit nummer is zeker het attractieve refrein. De frisse innemende tonen bijten zich in je trommelvliezen vast en blijven nadien nog uren in je brein nazinderen. Misschien gebruikt Frantz net iets te veel overdubs van zijn stem, het doet me in ieder geval aan The City Sleeps van MC900 Ft Jesus denken.

All Systems Burn begint traag, maar komt snel op volle toeren, de nodige jaren-80-invloeden sijpelen langs alle kanten op deze track naar binnen, hoewel er genoeg moderne impulsen zijn om dit nummer tot een volwaardig elektropopnummer op te tillen.

We eindigen met mijn favoriete track van deze ep: The Digital Divine. Het is een complexloze elektronische track, en met een refrein dat je raakt en blijft plakken. De stem van Frantz komt hier perfect tot zijn recht, het donkere ietwat schorre geluid past perfect bij de synths en de drummachines. Ook qua teksten kan Fragile Gods zijn mannetje staan

Dit debuut mag er zeker zijn, maar misschien kan Frantz nog wat aan zijn eigen stijl werken. De invloeden van Nitzer Ebb of Cabaret Voltaire zijn zeer groot, en zelfs de Belgische Telex. Feit is dat Fragile Gods een mooie toekomst heeft!

https://fragilegods.bandcamp.com/releases

Peter HESELMANS
15/01/2016


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?