tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

15/01/2016 : FRAGILE GODS - The Future Never Came

FRAGILE GODS

The Future Never Came

MusicCD (EP)
Electro PopElectro Wave

[70/100]   
15/01/2016, Peter HESELMANS

EN

A new year, brand new challenges and especially fresh projects. That’s exactly the idea behind Fragile Gods, the solo project of Frederick Frantz, that actually was set up in 2012, but now takes a real start with the release of this EP.

This New York artist has influences from new wave, EBM and industrial and merges them into his own electro pop sound that is characterized by minmimal synths and a monotonous voice that give each song something unique and a typical atmosphere.

The EP The Future Never Came contains four songs. Opener City Of The Dead sets the tone with dark beats and basses, all enriched with colourful and catchy synths. The strength of this song is definitely the appealing chorus. The tones are stuck in your eardrums and sizzle for hours in your brain afterwards. Maybe Frantz uses too many overdubs of his voice. Anyway, it surely reminds me of The City Sleeps by MC900 Ft Jesus.

All Systems Burn starts slow, but it quickly goes full speed, complemented with the necessary 80's influences, although there are plenty of modern impulses to make this track a real electro pop song.

We end with my favourite tune: The Digital Divine. It is a complex variable electronic track with a chorus that hits you and sticks. Frantz's voice is perfect, the dark husky voice fits perfectly with the synths and drum machines. Also the lyrics by Fragile Gods are more than good!

This is a nice debut, but perhaps Frantz needs to work on his own style some more as you clearly hear influences of Nitzer Ebb, Cabaret Voltaire and even Telex. Fact is that Fragile Gods has a bright future!

https://fragilegods.bandcamp.com/releases

Peter HESELMANS
15/01/2016


NL

Een nieuw jaar, gloednieuwe uitdagingen en vooral fonkelnieuwe projecten. Dat geldt ook voor Fragile Gods, het eenmansproject van Frantz Frederick dat eigenlijk al in 2012 is opgericht, maar nu pas een flinke start neemt met de release van deze ep.

Deze New Yorkse artiest laat invloeden uit new wave, EBM en industrial samenvloeien in zijn eigen elektropopgeluid dat wordt gekenmerkt door unieke minmimale synths en een monotone stem die elke song een eigen klank en atmosfeer geeft.

De ep The Future Never Came bevat 4 nummers. Opener City Of The Dead zet direct de toon met donkere beats en bassen, alles opgefrist met kleurrijke en catchy synths. De sterkte van dit nummer is zeker het attractieve refrein. De frisse innemende tonen bijten zich in je trommelvliezen vast en blijven nadien nog uren in je brein nazinderen. Misschien gebruikt Frantz net iets te veel overdubs van zijn stem, het doet me in ieder geval aan The City Sleeps van MC900 Ft Jesus denken.

All Systems Burn begint traag, maar komt snel op volle toeren, de nodige jaren-80-invloeden sijpelen langs alle kanten op deze track naar binnen, hoewel er genoeg moderne impulsen zijn om dit nummer tot een volwaardig elektropopnummer op te tillen.

We eindigen met mijn favoriete track van deze ep: The Digital Divine. Het is een complexloze elektronische track, en met een refrein dat je raakt en blijft plakken. De stem van Frantz komt hier perfect tot zijn recht, het donkere ietwat schorre geluid past perfect bij de synths en de drummachines. Ook qua teksten kan Fragile Gods zijn mannetje staan

Dit debuut mag er zeker zijn, maar misschien kan Frantz nog wat aan zijn eigen stijl werken. De invloeden van Nitzer Ebb of Cabaret Voltaire zijn zeer groot, en zelfs de Belgische Telex. Feit is dat Fragile Gods een mooie toekomst heeft!

https://fragilegods.bandcamp.com/releases

Peter HESELMANS
15/01/2016


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
07
1 year Rüdiger Frank of Printed At Bismarck's Death and The Tors Of Dartmoor passed away...
11
07
0 years of Computer Love by Kraftwerk
10
07
This month it’s 28 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
09
07
Dutch electro pioneers, Minny Pops announce the release of a brand new double A-Side single!
08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
07
PAGE HAMILTON (HELMET)
'I think in 2021 we’ll have a new album...'
09
07
DON GORDON (NUMB)
'In many ways the first Numb album was one of the ‘easiest’ to produce...'
06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
07
LAURIE ANDERSON
O Superman
11
07
SIRENIA
Once My Light
10
07
VIOLENT VICKIE
Dark Disorder
09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence