tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

15/01/2016 : FRAGILE GODS - The Future Never Came

FRAGILE GODS

The Future Never Came

MusicCD (EP)
Electro PopElectro Wave

[70/100]   
15/01/2016, Peter HESELMANS

EN

A new year, brand new challenges and especially fresh projects. That’s exactly the idea behind Fragile Gods, the solo project of Frederick Frantz, that actually was set up in 2012, but now takes a real start with the release of this EP.

This New York artist has influences from new wave, EBM and industrial and merges them into his own electro pop sound that is characterized by minmimal synths and a monotonous voice that give each song something unique and a typical atmosphere.

The EP The Future Never Came contains four songs. Opener City Of The Dead sets the tone with dark beats and basses, all enriched with colourful and catchy synths. The strength of this song is definitely the appealing chorus. The tones are stuck in your eardrums and sizzle for hours in your brain afterwards. Maybe Frantz uses too many overdubs of his voice. Anyway, it surely reminds me of The City Sleeps by MC900 Ft Jesus.

All Systems Burn starts slow, but it quickly goes full speed, complemented with the necessary 80's influences, although there are plenty of modern impulses to make this track a real electro pop song.

We end with my favourite tune: The Digital Divine. It is a complex variable electronic track with a chorus that hits you and sticks. Frantz's voice is perfect, the dark husky voice fits perfectly with the synths and drum machines. Also the lyrics by Fragile Gods are more than good!

This is a nice debut, but perhaps Frantz needs to work on his own style some more as you clearly hear influences of Nitzer Ebb, Cabaret Voltaire and even Telex. Fact is that Fragile Gods has a bright future!

https://fragilegods.bandcamp.com/releases

Peter HESELMANS
15/01/2016


NL

Een nieuw jaar, gloednieuwe uitdagingen en vooral fonkelnieuwe projecten. Dat geldt ook voor Fragile Gods, het eenmansproject van Frantz Frederick dat eigenlijk al in 2012 is opgericht, maar nu pas een flinke start neemt met de release van deze ep.

Deze New Yorkse artiest laat invloeden uit new wave, EBM en industrial samenvloeien in zijn eigen elektropopgeluid dat wordt gekenmerkt door unieke minmimale synths en een monotone stem die elke song een eigen klank en atmosfeer geeft.

De ep The Future Never Came bevat 4 nummers. Opener City Of The Dead zet direct de toon met donkere beats en bassen, alles opgefrist met kleurrijke en catchy synths. De sterkte van dit nummer is zeker het attractieve refrein. De frisse innemende tonen bijten zich in je trommelvliezen vast en blijven nadien nog uren in je brein nazinderen. Misschien gebruikt Frantz net iets te veel overdubs van zijn stem, het doet me in ieder geval aan The City Sleeps van MC900 Ft Jesus denken.

All Systems Burn begint traag, maar komt snel op volle toeren, de nodige jaren-80-invloeden sijpelen langs alle kanten op deze track naar binnen, hoewel er genoeg moderne impulsen zijn om dit nummer tot een volwaardig elektropopnummer op te tillen.

We eindigen met mijn favoriete track van deze ep: The Digital Divine. Het is een complexloze elektronische track, en met een refrein dat je raakt en blijft plakken. De stem van Frantz komt hier perfect tot zijn recht, het donkere ietwat schorre geluid past perfect bij de synths en de drummachines. Ook qua teksten kan Fragile Gods zijn mannetje staan

Dit debuut mag er zeker zijn, maar misschien kan Frantz nog wat aan zijn eigen stijl werken. De invloeden van Nitzer Ebb of Cabaret Voltaire zijn zeer groot, en zelfs de Belgische Telex. Feit is dat Fragile Gods een mooie toekomst heeft!

https://fragilegods.bandcamp.com/releases

Peter HESELMANS
15/01/2016


Music reviews

02
12
DIVE
Where do we go from here
01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
12
This month, 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.
02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
Russian Dark Community in search of new blood
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
12
ORKESTRA OBSOLETE
Blue Monday
02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover