tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

15/01/2016 : FRAGILE GODS - The Future Never Came

FRAGILE GODS

The Future Never Came

MusicCD (EP)
Electro PopElectro Wave

[70/100]   
15/01/2016, Peter HESELMANS

EN

A new year, brand new challenges and especially fresh projects. That’s exactly the idea behind Fragile Gods, the solo project of Frederick Frantz, that actually was set up in 2012, but now takes a real start with the release of this EP.

This New York artist has influences from new wave, EBM and industrial and merges them into his own electro pop sound that is characterized by minmimal synths and a monotonous voice that give each song something unique and a typical atmosphere.

The EP The Future Never Came contains four songs. Opener City Of The Dead sets the tone with dark beats and basses, all enriched with colourful and catchy synths. The strength of this song is definitely the appealing chorus. The tones are stuck in your eardrums and sizzle for hours in your brain afterwards. Maybe Frantz uses too many overdubs of his voice. Anyway, it surely reminds me of The City Sleeps by MC900 Ft Jesus.

All Systems Burn starts slow, but it quickly goes full speed, complemented with the necessary 80's influences, although there are plenty of modern impulses to make this track a real electro pop song.

We end with my favourite tune: The Digital Divine. It is a complex variable electronic track with a chorus that hits you and sticks. Frantz's voice is perfect, the dark husky voice fits perfectly with the synths and drum machines. Also the lyrics by Fragile Gods are more than good!

This is a nice debut, but perhaps Frantz needs to work on his own style some more as you clearly hear influences of Nitzer Ebb, Cabaret Voltaire and even Telex. Fact is that Fragile Gods has a bright future!

https://fragilegods.bandcamp.com/releases

Peter HESELMANS
15/01/2016


NL

Een nieuw jaar, gloednieuwe uitdagingen en vooral fonkelnieuwe projecten. Dat geldt ook voor Fragile Gods, het eenmansproject van Frantz Frederick dat eigenlijk al in 2012 is opgericht, maar nu pas een flinke start neemt met de release van deze ep.

Deze New Yorkse artiest laat invloeden uit new wave, EBM en industrial samenvloeien in zijn eigen elektropopgeluid dat wordt gekenmerkt door unieke minmimale synths en een monotone stem die elke song een eigen klank en atmosfeer geeft.

De ep The Future Never Came bevat 4 nummers. Opener City Of The Dead zet direct de toon met donkere beats en bassen, alles opgefrist met kleurrijke en catchy synths. De sterkte van dit nummer is zeker het attractieve refrein. De frisse innemende tonen bijten zich in je trommelvliezen vast en blijven nadien nog uren in je brein nazinderen. Misschien gebruikt Frantz net iets te veel overdubs van zijn stem, het doet me in ieder geval aan The City Sleeps van MC900 Ft Jesus denken.

All Systems Burn begint traag, maar komt snel op volle toeren, de nodige jaren-80-invloeden sijpelen langs alle kanten op deze track naar binnen, hoewel er genoeg moderne impulsen zijn om dit nummer tot een volwaardig elektropopnummer op te tillen.

We eindigen met mijn favoriete track van deze ep: The Digital Divine. Het is een complexloze elektronische track, en met een refrein dat je raakt en blijft plakken. De stem van Frantz komt hier perfect tot zijn recht, het donkere ietwat schorre geluid past perfect bij de synths en de drummachines. Ook qua teksten kan Fragile Gods zijn mannetje staan

Dit debuut mag er zeker zijn, maar misschien kan Frantz nog wat aan zijn eigen stijl werken. De invloeden van Nitzer Ebb of Cabaret Voltaire zijn zeer groot, en zelfs de Belgische Telex. Feit is dat Fragile Gods een mooie toekomst heeft!

https://fragilegods.bandcamp.com/releases

Peter HESELMANS
15/01/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
TOOL
Schism
26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots