tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

15/01/2016 : FRAGILE GODS - The Future Never Came

FRAGILE GODS

The Future Never Came

MusicCD (EP)
Electro PopElectro Wave

[70/100]   
15/01/2016, Peter HESELMANS

EN

A new year, brand new challenges and especially fresh projects. That’s exactly the idea behind Fragile Gods, the solo project of Frederick Frantz, that actually was set up in 2012, but now takes a real start with the release of this EP.

This New York artist has influences from new wave, EBM and industrial and merges them into his own electro pop sound that is characterized by minmimal synths and a monotonous voice that give each song something unique and a typical atmosphere.

The EP The Future Never Came contains four songs. Opener City Of The Dead sets the tone with dark beats and basses, all enriched with colourful and catchy synths. The strength of this song is definitely the appealing chorus. The tones are stuck in your eardrums and sizzle for hours in your brain afterwards. Maybe Frantz uses too many overdubs of his voice. Anyway, it surely reminds me of The City Sleeps by MC900 Ft Jesus.

All Systems Burn starts slow, but it quickly goes full speed, complemented with the necessary 80's influences, although there are plenty of modern impulses to make this track a real electro pop song.

We end with my favourite tune: The Digital Divine. It is a complex variable electronic track with a chorus that hits you and sticks. Frantz's voice is perfect, the dark husky voice fits perfectly with the synths and drum machines. Also the lyrics by Fragile Gods are more than good!

This is a nice debut, but perhaps Frantz needs to work on his own style some more as you clearly hear influences of Nitzer Ebb, Cabaret Voltaire and even Telex. Fact is that Fragile Gods has a bright future!

https://fragilegods.bandcamp.com/releases

Peter HESELMANS
15/01/2016


NL

Een nieuw jaar, gloednieuwe uitdagingen en vooral fonkelnieuwe projecten. Dat geldt ook voor Fragile Gods, het eenmansproject van Frantz Frederick dat eigenlijk al in 2012 is opgericht, maar nu pas een flinke start neemt met de release van deze ep.

Deze New Yorkse artiest laat invloeden uit new wave, EBM en industrial samenvloeien in zijn eigen elektropopgeluid dat wordt gekenmerkt door unieke minmimale synths en een monotone stem die elke song een eigen klank en atmosfeer geeft.

De ep The Future Never Came bevat 4 nummers. Opener City Of The Dead zet direct de toon met donkere beats en bassen, alles opgefrist met kleurrijke en catchy synths. De sterkte van dit nummer is zeker het attractieve refrein. De frisse innemende tonen bijten zich in je trommelvliezen vast en blijven nadien nog uren in je brein nazinderen. Misschien gebruikt Frantz net iets te veel overdubs van zijn stem, het doet me in ieder geval aan The City Sleeps van MC900 Ft Jesus denken.

All Systems Burn begint traag, maar komt snel op volle toeren, de nodige jaren-80-invloeden sijpelen langs alle kanten op deze track naar binnen, hoewel er genoeg moderne impulsen zijn om dit nummer tot een volwaardig elektropopnummer op te tillen.

We eindigen met mijn favoriete track van deze ep: The Digital Divine. Het is een complexloze elektronische track, en met een refrein dat je raakt en blijft plakken. De stem van Frantz komt hier perfect tot zijn recht, het donkere ietwat schorre geluid past perfect bij de synths en de drummachines. Ook qua teksten kan Fragile Gods zijn mannetje staan

Dit debuut mag er zeker zijn, maar misschien kan Frantz nog wat aan zijn eigen stijl werken. De invloeden van Nitzer Ebb of Cabaret Voltaire zijn zeer groot, en zelfs de Belgische Telex. Feit is dat Fragile Gods een mooie toekomst heeft!

https://fragilegods.bandcamp.com/releases

Peter HESELMANS
15/01/2016


Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!
01
04
On this day, 31 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Gashed Senses & Crossfire!
29
03
UK Electro-Industrial band BIOMECHANIMAL announces the release of 'Waves': split single with MECHANICAL VEIN
29
03
On this day, 40 years ago, Kraftwerk performed Das Model on German TV.
28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single
27
03
Electro-Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Reveals Latest Video: 'Motion (SKOLD Remix)'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

01
04
ILLUMININE
Dear, Eulogy (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
31
03
DIVE
Underneath
30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR
29
03
MAYFLOWER MADAME
Vultures (official video)
28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)