tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

15/01/2016 : THE SWEETEST CONDITION - Edge Of The World

THE SWEETEST CONDITION

Edge Of The World

MusicCD
Electro PopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[77/100]   

Self-released
15/01/2016, Didier BECU

Forget the clichés for a while. When we mention Nashville, you immediately think of country music and not synthpop with an industrial touch, right? Jason Reed Milner and Leslie I. Benson change that with The Sweetest Condition. Perhaps it is a bit unfortunate to choose a song by Depeche Mode as a band’s name, because The Sweetest Condition makes synthpop, but they don’t sound that much like Dave Gahan’s band.

Founder Jason used to play some harder stuff with his former band Form 30 that supported acts like Haujobb, Razed In Black and My Life With The Thrill Kill Kult. Although The Sweetest Condition sounds pretty poppy, you hear these influences on their album Edge Of The World.

The eleven songs have a clear link with the 80s. The opener Beyond The Blue even sounds a bit like Pat Benatar, and that’s not bad at all. In Control you hear some Depeche Mode influences, but in Fall In Line it becomes clear that the guitars play a prominent role in The Sweetest Condition, all complemented by the almost perfect voice of Leslie. Miles Away could be a radio hit, but it is unlikely. That is not due to the gothic atmosphere, but to radio makers who are too narrow minded these days.

Now sounds more like rock, but Secret reminds us of that other synthpop act on Out Of Line: Dear Strange. This Poison is the slowest song on this record, but that's only for a while, Watch You Fall is almost Eurythmics with an EBM beat

Edge Of The World is indeed a synth pop album, but much more than that!

Didier BECU
15/01/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design