tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

12/01/2016 : UNIDENTIFIED MAN - Dissociative Identity

UNIDENTIFIED MAN

Dissociative Identity

MusicCassette
EBMMinimal

[84/100]   

Wool-E Tapes
12/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Actually, I still do not know if it was a wise move by Jurgen De Winter to name his musical alter ego Unidentified Man. Of course it is a fab name and even more than that, but many music fans will think that this is just another uninspired Front 242 clone. And that's not the case. At contrary: it even has little or nothing to do with the sound of the EBM-masters.

Jurgen De Winter is the creator of sublime minimal synth, somewhere between experimental (think Absolute Body Control in the early days) and the synthpop of say Xeno & Oaklander.

Previously Wool-E Tapes released the tape Remedy For Melancholy (indeed, what a title!) and now there is Dissociative Identity. By using all kinds of hardware, analogue synths and rhythm boxes, Jurgen Winter creates wonderful music that sounds both retro and contemporary. Despite the melancholic undertone, it remains quite danceable, just listen to the superb instrumental Outcast.

There are two covers on the tape (Baby Tonight by Snowy Red and Melting Away by Absolute Body Control) and both are sung by Kristal Ann, the female half of Paradox Obscur. Two covers that are more than just admiration for the musical heroes.

It's obvious where Jurgen’s musical inspiration comes from, but just as a consummate master he creates his own minimal art.

This tape contains 14 tracks and they all have one common factor: the more you play them, the greater the addiction. With Jurgen De Winter Belgium has another minimal baby to be proud of!

Didier BECU
12/01/2016


NL

Eigenlijk weet ik nog altijd niet of het een verstandige zet was van Jurgen De Winter om zijn muzikaal alter ego Unidentified Man te noemen. Het is natuurlijk wel een leuke naam en zelfs meer dan dat, toch zal menig muziekfan denken dat dit het zoveelste inspiratieloze Front 242-afkooksel is. En dat is Unidentified Man nou net niet, het heeft zelfs weinig of niets (op de elektronica na) met de EBM-meesters te maken.

Jurgen De Winter is de maker van (ondergewaardeerde) sublieme minimal synth die ergens het midden houdt tussen experiment (denk Absolute Body Control in de begindagen) en de synthpop van pakweg Xeno & Oaklander.

Eerder verscheen op Wool-E Tapes al de tape Remedy For Melancholy (inderdaad, wat een titel!) en nu is er Dissociative Identity. Met behulp van allerlei hardware, analoge synths en ritmeboxen, creëert Jurgen De Winter een heerlijk klanktapijt dat zowel retro als hedendaags klinkt. Ondanks de melancholische ondertoon blijft het uiterst dansbaar (luister bijv. naar de knappe instrumental Outcast).

Er staan twee covers op de tape (Baby Tonight van Snowy Red en Melting Away van Absolute Body Control) en die worden allebei ingezogen door Kristal Ann, de vrouwelijke helft van Paradox Obscur. Twee nummers die meer zijn dan zo maar bewondering voor de muzikale helden.

Het is overduidelijk waar je Jurgens muzikale inspiratie moet zoeken, maar als een volleerde meester creëert hij er zijn eigen minimale kunst mee.

Op deze tape staan 14 tracks en ze hebben allemaal één gemeenschappelijke factor: hoe meer je ze draait, hoe hoger de verslavingsfactor wordt. België heeft er met Jurgen De Winter meteen een minimal baby bij om trots op te zijn! 

Didier BECU
12/01/2016


 

Next reviews
SIEVEHEAD • Into the Blue
DAVID BOWIE • DAVID BOWIE WAS
DAVID BOWIE • David Bowie Is (Groningen, Groninger Museum, Until/tot 13.3.2016)
ADVANCED ART • Archive
PHILIP GLASS • Words Without Music/Woorden Zonder Muziek
DAVID BOWIE • The Unfolding Mystery? | A Fan Speaks...
ATARAXIA • Ena
SPOIL ENGINE • Stormsleeper
LES JUMEAUX DISCORDANTS • Les Chimères
MONEY • Suicide Songs

 

Other reviews from UNIDENTIFIED MAN
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Identify Yourself

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + MINIMAL
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
NO SLEEP BY THE MACHINE, IMPLANT, LESCURE 13, THE KLINIK, ARBEID ADELT! & GEISTFORM • BIM Fest, Trix, Antwerp, 20/12/2013
VARIOUS ARTISTS • _ever Alive: A Tribute to Snowy Red

 

Same genre: EBM
WULF7 • I don't want (Anymore)
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
ORANGE SECTOR • Alles wird Gold
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation