tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/01/2016 : ATARAXIA - Ena

ATARAXIA

Ena

MusicCD
Dark WaveNeoclassical

[85/100]   

Infinite Fog Productions
10/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Last year Ataraxia celebrated its thirtieth birthday with more than twenty releases. Francesca Nicoli, Vittorio Vandelli, Giovanni Pagliari and Riccardo Spaggiari surely can claim that they’re the pioneers of the Italian dark wave scene. Their beautiful music often sounds like a ritual. It's easy to digest and contains elements from diverse styles such as oriental music, baroque, medieval compositions, as well as some avant-garde.

Ena is a Greek word that means unity, and in the context of this CD it simply means that all people (despite the many differences) are interconnected. The best way to express this is through music.

The title track (and opener) is a prelude, an edited version of Kyrie Eleison, the supplication that is sung during the Roman Catholic mass. Roy Richart (Crusader Richard the Lionheart) has the well-known heroic sounds of Ataraxia and Francesca Nicoli’s beautiful vocals give it an almost sacred touch. Agnus Dei (Lamb of God) is ethereal wave at its best. The song sounds like the subject: a sacramental sacrifice, trying to achieve the ultimate in beauty, even if it is all very fragile.

La'awayiah was performed last year during the Black Easter festival. It's sung in Italian with a text by the Irish poet W.B. Yeats. In the poignant Magnificat the voice of Giovanni Pagliari dominates. It’s simple, but superb.

Where The Sea Turns Into Gold sounds a bit like Loreena McKennitt (only better and less commercial). The same atmosphere reigns in The Bleeding Truck, while the last song Le Nozze Di Yis is ethereal dark wave with a cosmic touch.

Ena is an album on which Ataraxia proves that it is still the best in the genre. It’s impossible not to fall in love. This release is available as a regular CD, but also as a deluxe version with a bonus DVD.

Didier BECU
10/01/2016


NL

Vorig jaar vierde Ataraxia nog zijn dertigste verjaardag, en na meer dan twintig releases mogen Francesca Nicoli, Vittorio Vandelli, Giovanni Pagliari en Riccardo Spaggiari zich de vaandeldragers van de Italiaanse darkwave noemen. Wie de pracht van deze band kent, weet ook dat de muziek bijna een ritueel is. Ze ligt nooit zwaar op de maag en bevat elementen uit zeer diverse stijlen zoals de oosterse muziek, barok, middeleeuwse composities, alsook wat avant-garde.

Ena is een Grieks woord dat eenheid betekent (denk aan Athena), en in de context van deze cd betekent het gewoon dat alle mensen (ondanks de vele verschillen) met elkaar verbonden zijn. De beste manier om dit uit te drukken is via de muziek.

Het titelnummer (en tevens opener) is een prelude, een bewerkte versie van het smeekgebed Kyrie Eleison dat tijdens de eredienst in de rooms-katholieke kerk wordt gezongen.

Het wordt meteen gevolgd door Roy Richart (de kruisvaarder Richard Leeuwenhart) met typische heroïsche klanken waarop Ataraxia al decennia lang een patent heeft en dat door de prachtige vocalen van Francesca Nicoli bijna sacraal wordt.

Agnus Dei (het Lam Gods) is ethereal wave op zijn best. Het nummer klinkt als het onderwerp: een sacramentele opoffering, het bereiken van de ultieme schoonheid, ook al is het zeer fragiel.

La’awayiah kon je vorig jaar al op het Black Easter festival horen. Het is een Italiaans gezongen nummer met een tekst van de Ierse dichter W.B. Yeats. In het aangrijpende Magnificat domineert vooral de stem van Giovanni Pagliari. Eenvoudig, maar bloedstollend mooi.

Indien je toch zou denken dat het allemaal net iets te bombastisch is, herneemt Francesca alle rust in Where The Sea Turns Into Gold, dat wat klinkt als Loreena McKennitt (alleen beter, en minder commercieel). De rustige oase kabbelt voort in The Bleeding Truck en de afsluiter Le Nozze Di Yis is ethereal darkwave met een kosmisch tintje.

Ena is een album waarop Ataraxia met verve bewijst dat het in zijn genre tot de allerbesten behoort. Onmogelijk om hier niet verliefd op te worden. Deze uitgave is als een reguliere cd beschikbaar, maar ook als luxeversie waarin je een dvd als bonus krijgt.

Didier BECU
10/01/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVENANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire