tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/01/2016 : SPOIL ENGINE - Stormsleeper

SPOIL ENGINE

Stormsleeper

MusicCD
Metal

[90/100]   

Self-released
10/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Flemish-Dutch band Spoil Engine exists more than ten years, and during that time it achieved a lot of beautiful things. Their album Antimatter, the single Breathe that was a hit on Belgian radio, being the support act for Motörhead, Megadeth and Fear Factory and gigs at big festivals like Graspop, Masters At Rock, Pukkelpop and Suikerrock.

At the end of 2014 singer Niek announced that he would leave the band. Through auditions they found Iris Goessens. After listening to this self-released mini-CD, this appears to be a good move as Iris' voice sounds very masculine, especially when she grunts and growls, and her clean voice sounds great as well. We are curious how this will sound on stage, especially when she’ll do earlier work.

On Stormsleeper we hear six excellent, tight, sharp and fine songs. The rhythm section delivers a great job, especially because the songs get some surprising twists. The guitars sound good as well, and of course there are the beautiful vocals by Iris. Do not expect Epica, Nightwish or Doro. No, it's really something different!

Disconnect is a vicious opener that immediately strikes you to death. Stormsleeper begins with a fine guitar riff and is a melodious song. No, I'm not talking about the kind of songs that Powerwolf or Sabaton are known for, but just tracks with catchy choruses. Weightless starts with a melancholic intro and then explodes. Hollow Crown has a violent start with a great bass sound and some nice transitions. The Verdict is another fantastic song with greasy guitars, catchy vocals and (again) beautiful transitions. Singing Sirens is a beautifully constructed ballad which does not sound corny or predictable.

You read it, just at the end of the year, a CD ended up in my mailbox that impresses me. Those who like modern metal, definitely should give it a try! One of the best releases in the genre, and with an international sound!

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/01/2016


NL

De Vlaamse-Nederlandse band Spoil Engine bestaat meer dan tien jaar en in die tijd is al heel wat moois bereikt. Het album Antimatter, de single Breathe die in de Afrekening van Studio Brussel belandde, het voorprogramma spelen van bands als Motörhead, Megadeath en Fear Factory of optredens op festivals zoals Graspop, Masters At Rock, Pukkelpop en Suikerrock.

Eind 2014 kondigde zanger Niek zijn afscheid aan. Via audities kwam men bij Iris Goessens terecht. Na het beluisteren van deze mini-cd die in eigen beheer is opgenomen, blijkt dit een geslaagde keuze te zijn, want de stem van Iris klinkt heel mannelijk in de grunts en growls, maar ook haar cleane stem klinkt lekker. We zijn dan ook benieuwd hoe dit live klinkt, vooral wat betreft de vertolking van het oudere werk.

Op de nieuwe Stormsleeper horen we zes uitmuntende, strakke, scherpe en fijne nummers. De ritmesectie levert prachtig werk waardoor de liedjes soms een verrassende wendingen krijgen. De gitaren klinken goed, zowel het zware als het fijnere werk. En er zijn ook nog de schitterende vocals van Iris. Verwacht geen Epica, Nightwish of Doro. Neen, het is echt helemaal wat anders!

Disconnect is een venijnige opener en meteen een mokerslag. Stormsleeper begint met een fijne gitaarriff en is een vrij melodieuze song. Neen, ik heb het niet over een schlager of het soort nummers die we van bijv. Powerwolf of Sabaton kennen, maar gewoon meezingbare refreinen. Weightless begint met een melancholisch intro vooraleer er hard van leer wordt getrokken. Hollow Crown valt meteen met de deur in huis: een heftig begin met fijn baswerk en leuke overgangen met een mooi sfeervol middenstuk. The Verdict is een fantastische song met leuk en vet gitaarwerk, meeslepende zang en (alweer) mooie overgangen. De afsluiter Singing Sirens is een mooi opgebouwde ballade die helemaal niet melig klinkt en die zeker niet voorspelbaar is.

Je hoort het al, net op de valreep tussen oud en nieuw belandde er in mijn brievenbus een cd die indruk maakt. Wie van moderne metal houdt moet deze plaat zeker een kans geven! Een van de beste releases in het genre met internationale allure.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/01/2016


10/01/2016 : SPOIL ENGINE - Stormsleeper 10/01/2016 : SPOIL ENGINE - Stormsleeper

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
10
41 of Subhuman and Adrenalin!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!
29
09
Canadian Industrial Act DI AUGER Takes Raw Anger To Government Tyranny with 'Piss & Vinegar'

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

23
10
FRONT 242
Depot Leuven
23
10
RADICAL G
Depot Leuven
03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
10
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
22
10
AFTER ABSENCE
Collide
21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
18
10
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
17
10
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi