tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/01/2016 : SPOIL ENGINE - Stormsleeper

SPOIL ENGINE

Stormsleeper

MusicCD
Metal

[90/100]   

Self-released
10/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Flemish-Dutch band Spoil Engine exists more than ten years, and during that time it achieved a lot of beautiful things. Their album Antimatter, the single Breathe that was a hit on Belgian radio, being the support act for Motörhead, Megadeth and Fear Factory and gigs at big festivals like Graspop, Masters At Rock, Pukkelpop and Suikerrock.

At the end of 2014 singer Niek announced that he would leave the band. Through auditions they found Iris Goessens. After listening to this self-released mini-CD, this appears to be a good move as Iris' voice sounds very masculine, especially when she grunts and growls, and her clean voice sounds great as well. We are curious how this will sound on stage, especially when she’ll do earlier work.

On Stormsleeper we hear six excellent, tight, sharp and fine songs. The rhythm section delivers a great job, especially because the songs get some surprising twists. The guitars sound good as well, and of course there are the beautiful vocals by Iris. Do not expect Epica, Nightwish or Doro. No, it's really something different!

Disconnect is a vicious opener that immediately strikes you to death. Stormsleeper begins with a fine guitar riff and is a melodious song. No, I'm not talking about the kind of songs that Powerwolf or Sabaton are known for, but just tracks with catchy choruses. Weightless starts with a melancholic intro and then explodes. Hollow Crown has a violent start with a great bass sound and some nice transitions. The Verdict is another fantastic song with greasy guitars, catchy vocals and (again) beautiful transitions. Singing Sirens is a beautifully constructed ballad which does not sound corny or predictable.

You read it, just at the end of the year, a CD ended up in my mailbox that impresses me. Those who like modern metal, definitely should give it a try! One of the best releases in the genre, and with an international sound!

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/01/2016


NL

De Vlaamse-Nederlandse band Spoil Engine bestaat meer dan tien jaar en in die tijd is al heel wat moois bereikt. Het album Antimatter, de single Breathe die in de Afrekening van Studio Brussel belandde, het voorprogramma spelen van bands als Motörhead, Megadeath en Fear Factory of optredens op festivals zoals Graspop, Masters At Rock, Pukkelpop en Suikerrock.

Eind 2014 kondigde zanger Niek zijn afscheid aan. Via audities kwam men bij Iris Goessens terecht. Na het beluisteren van deze mini-cd die in eigen beheer is opgenomen, blijkt dit een geslaagde keuze te zijn, want de stem van Iris klinkt heel mannelijk in de grunts en growls, maar ook haar cleane stem klinkt lekker. We zijn dan ook benieuwd hoe dit live klinkt, vooral wat betreft de vertolking van het oudere werk.

Op de nieuwe Stormsleeper horen we zes uitmuntende, strakke, scherpe en fijne nummers. De ritmesectie levert prachtig werk waardoor de liedjes soms een verrassende wendingen krijgen. De gitaren klinken goed, zowel het zware als het fijnere werk. En er zijn ook nog de schitterende vocals van Iris. Verwacht geen Epica, Nightwish of Doro. Neen, het is echt helemaal wat anders!

Disconnect is een venijnige opener en meteen een mokerslag. Stormsleeper begint met een fijne gitaarriff en is een vrij melodieuze song. Neen, ik heb het niet over een schlager of het soort nummers die we van bijv. Powerwolf of Sabaton kennen, maar gewoon meezingbare refreinen. Weightless begint met een melancholisch intro vooraleer er hard van leer wordt getrokken. Hollow Crown valt meteen met de deur in huis: een heftig begin met fijn baswerk en leuke overgangen met een mooi sfeervol middenstuk. The Verdict is een fantastische song met leuk en vet gitaarwerk, meeslepende zang en (alweer) mooie overgangen. De afsluiter Singing Sirens is een mooi opgebouwde ballade die helemaal niet melig klinkt en die zeker niet voorspelbaar is.

Je hoort het al, net op de valreep tussen oud en nieuw belandde er in mijn brievenbus een cd die indruk maakt. Wie van moderne metal houdt moet deze plaat zeker een kans geven! Een van de beste releases in het genre met internationale allure.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/01/2016


10/01/2016 : SPOIL ENGINE - Stormsleeper 10/01/2016 : SPOIL ENGINE - Stormsleeper

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
02
Today it's exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 2 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 43 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
This Charming Band | 37 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album
19
02
Gothic Industrial Band BATAVIA Unveils Remix Album, Batavia And Their Friends
18
02
Dissonance's New Single, 'Damage: First Assault' Ft. Melodywhore out NOW

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp
25
02
NEW ORDER
Regret
24
02
MANDIVULA
GHSTNG
23
02
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Nag Nag Nag
22
02
BEBORN BETON
Last Day On Earth
21
02
SCHWEFELGELB
Zu Zweit
20
02
COLD CAVE
People Are Poison