tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/01/2016 : SPOIL ENGINE - Stormsleeper

SPOIL ENGINE

Stormsleeper

MusicCD
Metal

[90/100]   

Self-released
10/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Flemish-Dutch band Spoil Engine exists more than ten years, and during that time it achieved a lot of beautiful things. Their album Antimatter, the single Breathe that was a hit on Belgian radio, being the support act for Motörhead, Megadeth and Fear Factory and gigs at big festivals like Graspop, Masters At Rock, Pukkelpop and Suikerrock.

At the end of 2014 singer Niek announced that he would leave the band. Through auditions they found Iris Goessens. After listening to this self-released mini-CD, this appears to be a good move as Iris' voice sounds very masculine, especially when she grunts and growls, and her clean voice sounds great as well. We are curious how this will sound on stage, especially when she’ll do earlier work.

On Stormsleeper we hear six excellent, tight, sharp and fine songs. The rhythm section delivers a great job, especially because the songs get some surprising twists. The guitars sound good as well, and of course there are the beautiful vocals by Iris. Do not expect Epica, Nightwish or Doro. No, it's really something different!

Disconnect is a vicious opener that immediately strikes you to death. Stormsleeper begins with a fine guitar riff and is a melodious song. No, I'm not talking about the kind of songs that Powerwolf or Sabaton are known for, but just tracks with catchy choruses. Weightless starts with a melancholic intro and then explodes. Hollow Crown has a violent start with a great bass sound and some nice transitions. The Verdict is another fantastic song with greasy guitars, catchy vocals and (again) beautiful transitions. Singing Sirens is a beautifully constructed ballad which does not sound corny or predictable.

You read it, just at the end of the year, a CD ended up in my mailbox that impresses me. Those who like modern metal, definitely should give it a try! One of the best releases in the genre, and with an international sound!

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/01/2016


NL

De Vlaamse-Nederlandse band Spoil Engine bestaat meer dan tien jaar en in die tijd is al heel wat moois bereikt. Het album Antimatter, de single Breathe die in de Afrekening van Studio Brussel belandde, het voorprogramma spelen van bands als Motörhead, Megadeath en Fear Factory of optredens op festivals zoals Graspop, Masters At Rock, Pukkelpop en Suikerrock.

Eind 2014 kondigde zanger Niek zijn afscheid aan. Via audities kwam men bij Iris Goessens terecht. Na het beluisteren van deze mini-cd die in eigen beheer is opgenomen, blijkt dit een geslaagde keuze te zijn, want de stem van Iris klinkt heel mannelijk in de grunts en growls, maar ook haar cleane stem klinkt lekker. We zijn dan ook benieuwd hoe dit live klinkt, vooral wat betreft de vertolking van het oudere werk.

Op de nieuwe Stormsleeper horen we zes uitmuntende, strakke, scherpe en fijne nummers. De ritmesectie levert prachtig werk waardoor de liedjes soms een verrassende wendingen krijgen. De gitaren klinken goed, zowel het zware als het fijnere werk. En er zijn ook nog de schitterende vocals van Iris. Verwacht geen Epica, Nightwish of Doro. Neen, het is echt helemaal wat anders!

Disconnect is een venijnige opener en meteen een mokerslag. Stormsleeper begint met een fijne gitaarriff en is een vrij melodieuze song. Neen, ik heb het niet over een schlager of het soort nummers die we van bijv. Powerwolf of Sabaton kennen, maar gewoon meezingbare refreinen. Weightless begint met een melancholisch intro vooraleer er hard van leer wordt getrokken. Hollow Crown valt meteen met de deur in huis: een heftig begin met fijn baswerk en leuke overgangen met een mooi sfeervol middenstuk. The Verdict is een fantastische song met leuk en vet gitaarwerk, meeslepende zang en (alweer) mooie overgangen. De afsluiter Singing Sirens is een mooi opgebouwde ballade die helemaal niet melig klinkt en die zeker niet voorspelbaar is.

Je hoort het al, net op de valreep tussen oud en nieuw belandde er in mijn brievenbus een cd die indruk maakt. Wie van moderne metal houdt moet deze plaat zeker een kans geven! Een van de beste releases in het genre met internationale allure.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/01/2016


10/01/2016 : SPOIL ENGINE - Stormsleeper 10/01/2016 : SPOIL ENGINE - Stormsleeper

Music reviews

17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy
16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
11
Disorientations! New band, new single, new video!
14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

17
11
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
11
OAKTREE
La Fin
17
11
ALISON MOYET
Other
16
11
ROSARUBEA
A Blue Bird in a Scarlet Spring
15
11
DER KLINKE
My Frozen Heart
14
11
KELUAR
Volition
13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro