tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/01/2016 : SPOIL ENGINE - Stormsleeper

SPOIL ENGINE

Stormsleeper

MusicCD
Metal

[90/100]   

Self-released
10/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Flemish-Dutch band Spoil Engine exists more than ten years, and during that time it achieved a lot of beautiful things. Their album Antimatter, the single Breathe that was a hit on Belgian radio, being the support act for Motörhead, Megadeth and Fear Factory and gigs at big festivals like Graspop, Masters At Rock, Pukkelpop and Suikerrock.

At the end of 2014 singer Niek announced that he would leave the band. Through auditions they found Iris Goessens. After listening to this self-released mini-CD, this appears to be a good move as Iris' voice sounds very masculine, especially when she grunts and growls, and her clean voice sounds great as well. We are curious how this will sound on stage, especially when she’ll do earlier work.

On Stormsleeper we hear six excellent, tight, sharp and fine songs. The rhythm section delivers a great job, especially because the songs get some surprising twists. The guitars sound good as well, and of course there are the beautiful vocals by Iris. Do not expect Epica, Nightwish or Doro. No, it's really something different!

Disconnect is a vicious opener that immediately strikes you to death. Stormsleeper begins with a fine guitar riff and is a melodious song. No, I'm not talking about the kind of songs that Powerwolf or Sabaton are known for, but just tracks with catchy choruses. Weightless starts with a melancholic intro and then explodes. Hollow Crown has a violent start with a great bass sound and some nice transitions. The Verdict is another fantastic song with greasy guitars, catchy vocals and (again) beautiful transitions. Singing Sirens is a beautifully constructed ballad which does not sound corny or predictable.

You read it, just at the end of the year, a CD ended up in my mailbox that impresses me. Those who like modern metal, definitely should give it a try! One of the best releases in the genre, and with an international sound!

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/01/2016


NL

De Vlaamse-Nederlandse band Spoil Engine bestaat meer dan tien jaar en in die tijd is al heel wat moois bereikt. Het album Antimatter, de single Breathe die in de Afrekening van Studio Brussel belandde, het voorprogramma spelen van bands als Motörhead, Megadeath en Fear Factory of optredens op festivals zoals Graspop, Masters At Rock, Pukkelpop en Suikerrock.

Eind 2014 kondigde zanger Niek zijn afscheid aan. Via audities kwam men bij Iris Goessens terecht. Na het beluisteren van deze mini-cd die in eigen beheer is opgenomen, blijkt dit een geslaagde keuze te zijn, want de stem van Iris klinkt heel mannelijk in de grunts en growls, maar ook haar cleane stem klinkt lekker. We zijn dan ook benieuwd hoe dit live klinkt, vooral wat betreft de vertolking van het oudere werk.

Op de nieuwe Stormsleeper horen we zes uitmuntende, strakke, scherpe en fijne nummers. De ritmesectie levert prachtig werk waardoor de liedjes soms een verrassende wendingen krijgen. De gitaren klinken goed, zowel het zware als het fijnere werk. En er zijn ook nog de schitterende vocals van Iris. Verwacht geen Epica, Nightwish of Doro. Neen, het is echt helemaal wat anders!

Disconnect is een venijnige opener en meteen een mokerslag. Stormsleeper begint met een fijne gitaarriff en is een vrij melodieuze song. Neen, ik heb het niet over een schlager of het soort nummers die we van bijv. Powerwolf of Sabaton kennen, maar gewoon meezingbare refreinen. Weightless begint met een melancholisch intro vooraleer er hard van leer wordt getrokken. Hollow Crown valt meteen met de deur in huis: een heftig begin met fijn baswerk en leuke overgangen met een mooi sfeervol middenstuk. The Verdict is een fantastische song met leuk en vet gitaarwerk, meeslepende zang en (alweer) mooie overgangen. De afsluiter Singing Sirens is een mooi opgebouwde ballade die helemaal niet melig klinkt en die zeker niet voorspelbaar is.

Je hoort het al, net op de valreep tussen oud en nieuw belandde er in mijn brievenbus een cd die indruk maakt. Wie van moderne metal houdt moet deze plaat zeker een kans geven! Een van de beste releases in het genre met internationale allure.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/01/2016


10/01/2016 : SPOIL ENGINE - Stormsleeper 10/01/2016 : SPOIL ENGINE - Stormsleeper

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete