tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/01/2016 : MONEY - Suicide Songs

MONEY

Suicide Songs

MusicCD
FolkIndie

[85/100]   

Bella Union
08/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Judging the title and the cover, you might expect that Suicide Songs is a quite dark album. Well, it’s not exactly a happy one, but the darkness comes from the singing and the lyrics about desolation, death and other serious subjects.

I Am The Lord is the opener and lasts six minutes. In a way you can say it’s folk, but by using the dilruba (an Indian harp) the song also has some spiritual elements. Jamie's voice is at times reminiscent of Richard Ashcroft.

You Look Like A Sad Painting On Both Sides Of The Sky is indeed an awesome title. It’s rather cynical, although the cello and the violin give it a warm atmosphere.

During Night Came some parts seem to be improvised. But that's only for a while, as in other songs you hear the same atmosphere and groove of This is The Sea by ​​The Waterboys. Albeit from a different angle, just listen to Hopeless World and you’ll understand what I mean.

The album closes with a sort of Christmas song, although it’s a very ironic one! The title A Cocaine Christmas And An Alcoholic New Year speaks for itself. Through the use of the piano and the brass, Money transforms the feeling of a hangover in music. A superb release on Bella Union.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/01/2016


NL

Als je de titel leest en de cover ziet, dan verwacht je je aan een gitzwart album. Muzikaal valt het weliswaar mee. Het leed van deze indieband hoor je eerder in de zang en de teksten die over troosteloosheid, dood en andere zware onderwerpen gaan.

I Am The Lord is een opener van zes minuten die als folk klinkt, maar door het gebruik van de dilruba (een Indiaanse harp) ook wat spirituele elementen bevat. Jamies stem doet bij momenten wat aan die van Richard Ashcroft denken.

You Look Like A Sad Painting On Both Sides of the Sky is inderdaad een titel die tamelijk geweldig klinkt. Een beetje cynisch, maar dankzij de cello en de viool wordt het toch een warme song.

Op Night Came heb je het gevoel dat er wat geïmproviseerd wordt. Maar dat is maar voor eventjes. In andere nummers hoor je de sfeer en de groove van This is The Sea van The Waterboys. Weliswaar vanuit een andere invalshoek, luister gewoon naar Hopeless World en je zal wel begrijpen wat ik bedoel.

Het album sluit af met wat je een kerstnummer zou kunnen noemen. Maar dan wel zeer ironisch bedoeld, de titel A Cocaine Christmas And An Alcoholic New Year spreekt voor zich. Door het gebruik van piano en blazers transformeert Money het katergevoel na de feestdagen in muziek. Een schitterende release van Bella Union.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/01/2016


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
01
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS 40th ANNIVERSARY EUROPEAN TOUR
20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!
19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams