tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/01/2016 : MONEY - Suicide Songs

MONEY

Suicide Songs

MusicCD
FolkIndie

[85/100]   

Bella Union
08/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Judging the title and the cover, you might expect that Suicide Songs is a quite dark album. Well, it’s not exactly a happy one, but the darkness comes from the singing and the lyrics about desolation, death and other serious subjects.

I Am The Lord is the opener and lasts six minutes. In a way you can say it’s folk, but by using the dilruba (an Indian harp) the song also has some spiritual elements. Jamie's voice is at times reminiscent of Richard Ashcroft.

You Look Like A Sad Painting On Both Sides Of The Sky is indeed an awesome title. It’s rather cynical, although the cello and the violin give it a warm atmosphere.

During Night Came some parts seem to be improvised. But that's only for a while, as in other songs you hear the same atmosphere and groove of This is The Sea by ​​The Waterboys. Albeit from a different angle, just listen to Hopeless World and you’ll understand what I mean.

The album closes with a sort of Christmas song, although it’s a very ironic one! The title A Cocaine Christmas And An Alcoholic New Year speaks for itself. Through the use of the piano and the brass, Money transforms the feeling of a hangover in music. A superb release on Bella Union.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/01/2016


NL

Als je de titel leest en de cover ziet, dan verwacht je je aan een gitzwart album. Muzikaal valt het weliswaar mee. Het leed van deze indieband hoor je eerder in de zang en de teksten die over troosteloosheid, dood en andere zware onderwerpen gaan.

I Am The Lord is een opener van zes minuten die als folk klinkt, maar door het gebruik van de dilruba (een Indiaanse harp) ook wat spirituele elementen bevat. Jamies stem doet bij momenten wat aan die van Richard Ashcroft denken.

You Look Like A Sad Painting On Both Sides of the Sky is inderdaad een titel die tamelijk geweldig klinkt. Een beetje cynisch, maar dankzij de cello en de viool wordt het toch een warme song.

Op Night Came heb je het gevoel dat er wat geïmproviseerd wordt. Maar dat is maar voor eventjes. In andere nummers hoor je de sfeer en de groove van This is The Sea van The Waterboys. Weliswaar vanuit een andere invalshoek, luister gewoon naar Hopeless World en je zal wel begrijpen wat ik bedoel.

Het album sluit af met wat je een kerstnummer zou kunnen noemen. Maar dan wel zeer ironisch bedoeld, de titel A Cocaine Christmas And An Alcoholic New Year spreekt voor zich. Door het gebruik van piano en blazers transformeert Money het katergevoel na de feestdagen in muziek. Een schitterende release van Bella Union.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/01/2016


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide
18
06
JO QUAIL
Tu Florentine (Live 2013)