tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/01/2016 : MONEY - Suicide Songs

MONEY

Suicide Songs

MusicCD
FolkIndie

[85/100]   

Bella Union
08/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Judging the title and the cover, you might expect that Suicide Songs is a quite dark album. Well, it’s not exactly a happy one, but the darkness comes from the singing and the lyrics about desolation, death and other serious subjects.

I Am The Lord is the opener and lasts six minutes. In a way you can say it’s folk, but by using the dilruba (an Indian harp) the song also has some spiritual elements. Jamie's voice is at times reminiscent of Richard Ashcroft.

You Look Like A Sad Painting On Both Sides Of The Sky is indeed an awesome title. It’s rather cynical, although the cello and the violin give it a warm atmosphere.

During Night Came some parts seem to be improvised. But that's only for a while, as in other songs you hear the same atmosphere and groove of This is The Sea by ​​The Waterboys. Albeit from a different angle, just listen to Hopeless World and you’ll understand what I mean.

The album closes with a sort of Christmas song, although it’s a very ironic one! The title A Cocaine Christmas And An Alcoholic New Year speaks for itself. Through the use of the piano and the brass, Money transforms the feeling of a hangover in music. A superb release on Bella Union.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/01/2016


NL

Als je de titel leest en de cover ziet, dan verwacht je je aan een gitzwart album. Muzikaal valt het weliswaar mee. Het leed van deze indieband hoor je eerder in de zang en de teksten die over troosteloosheid, dood en andere zware onderwerpen gaan.

I Am The Lord is een opener van zes minuten die als folk klinkt, maar door het gebruik van de dilruba (een Indiaanse harp) ook wat spirituele elementen bevat. Jamies stem doet bij momenten wat aan die van Richard Ashcroft denken.

You Look Like A Sad Painting On Both Sides of the Sky is inderdaad een titel die tamelijk geweldig klinkt. Een beetje cynisch, maar dankzij de cello en de viool wordt het toch een warme song.

Op Night Came heb je het gevoel dat er wat geïmproviseerd wordt. Maar dat is maar voor eventjes. In andere nummers hoor je de sfeer en de groove van This is The Sea van The Waterboys. Weliswaar vanuit een andere invalshoek, luister gewoon naar Hopeless World en je zal wel begrijpen wat ik bedoel.

Het album sluit af met wat je een kerstnummer zou kunnen noemen. Maar dan wel zeer ironisch bedoeld, de titel A Cocaine Christmas And An Alcoholic New Year spreekt voor zich. Door het gebruik van piano en blazers transformeert Money het katergevoel na de feestdagen in muziek. Een schitterende release van Bella Union.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/01/2016


Music reviews

24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer
22
08
NAIROD YARG
Nairod Yarg
17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
08
SLEEPING PULSE
War
23
08
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
22
08
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy
18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo