tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/01/2016 : MONEY - Suicide Songs

MONEY

Suicide Songs

MusicCD
FolkIndie

[85/100]   

Bella Union
08/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Judging the title and the cover, you might expect that Suicide Songs is a quite dark album. Well, it’s not exactly a happy one, but the darkness comes from the singing and the lyrics about desolation, death and other serious subjects.

I Am The Lord is the opener and lasts six minutes. In a way you can say it’s folk, but by using the dilruba (an Indian harp) the song also has some spiritual elements. Jamie's voice is at times reminiscent of Richard Ashcroft.

You Look Like A Sad Painting On Both Sides Of The Sky is indeed an awesome title. It’s rather cynical, although the cello and the violin give it a warm atmosphere.

During Night Came some parts seem to be improvised. But that's only for a while, as in other songs you hear the same atmosphere and groove of This is The Sea by ​​The Waterboys. Albeit from a different angle, just listen to Hopeless World and you’ll understand what I mean.

The album closes with a sort of Christmas song, although it’s a very ironic one! The title A Cocaine Christmas And An Alcoholic New Year speaks for itself. Through the use of the piano and the brass, Money transforms the feeling of a hangover in music. A superb release on Bella Union.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/01/2016


NL

Als je de titel leest en de cover ziet, dan verwacht je je aan een gitzwart album. Muzikaal valt het weliswaar mee. Het leed van deze indieband hoor je eerder in de zang en de teksten die over troosteloosheid, dood en andere zware onderwerpen gaan.

I Am The Lord is een opener van zes minuten die als folk klinkt, maar door het gebruik van de dilruba (een Indiaanse harp) ook wat spirituele elementen bevat. Jamies stem doet bij momenten wat aan die van Richard Ashcroft denken.

You Look Like A Sad Painting On Both Sides of the Sky is inderdaad een titel die tamelijk geweldig klinkt. Een beetje cynisch, maar dankzij de cello en de viool wordt het toch een warme song.

Op Night Came heb je het gevoel dat er wat geïmproviseerd wordt. Maar dat is maar voor eventjes. In andere nummers hoor je de sfeer en de groove van This is The Sea van The Waterboys. Weliswaar vanuit een andere invalshoek, luister gewoon naar Hopeless World en je zal wel begrijpen wat ik bedoel.

Het album sluit af met wat je een kerstnummer zou kunnen noemen. Maar dan wel zeer ironisch bedoeld, de titel A Cocaine Christmas And An Alcoholic New Year spreekt voor zich. Door het gebruik van piano en blazers transformeert Money het katergevoel na de feestdagen in muziek. Een schitterende release van Bella Union.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/01/2016


Music reviews

12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

14
11
KELUAR
Volition
13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains
09
11
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
08
11
MUSCLE AND MARROW
Ritual