tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/01/2016 : MONEY - Suicide Songs

MONEY

Suicide Songs

MusicCD
FolkIndie

[85/100]   

Bella Union
08/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Judging the title and the cover, you might expect that Suicide Songs is a quite dark album. Well, it’s not exactly a happy one, but the darkness comes from the singing and the lyrics about desolation, death and other serious subjects.

I Am The Lord is the opener and lasts six minutes. In a way you can say it’s folk, but by using the dilruba (an Indian harp) the song also has some spiritual elements. Jamie's voice is at times reminiscent of Richard Ashcroft.

You Look Like A Sad Painting On Both Sides Of The Sky is indeed an awesome title. It’s rather cynical, although the cello and the violin give it a warm atmosphere.

During Night Came some parts seem to be improvised. But that's only for a while, as in other songs you hear the same atmosphere and groove of This is The Sea by ​​The Waterboys. Albeit from a different angle, just listen to Hopeless World and you’ll understand what I mean.

The album closes with a sort of Christmas song, although it’s a very ironic one! The title A Cocaine Christmas And An Alcoholic New Year speaks for itself. Through the use of the piano and the brass, Money transforms the feeling of a hangover in music. A superb release on Bella Union.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/01/2016


NL

Als je de titel leest en de cover ziet, dan verwacht je je aan een gitzwart album. Muzikaal valt het weliswaar mee. Het leed van deze indieband hoor je eerder in de zang en de teksten die over troosteloosheid, dood en andere zware onderwerpen gaan.

I Am The Lord is een opener van zes minuten die als folk klinkt, maar door het gebruik van de dilruba (een Indiaanse harp) ook wat spirituele elementen bevat. Jamies stem doet bij momenten wat aan die van Richard Ashcroft denken.

You Look Like A Sad Painting On Both Sides of the Sky is inderdaad een titel die tamelijk geweldig klinkt. Een beetje cynisch, maar dankzij de cello en de viool wordt het toch een warme song.

Op Night Came heb je het gevoel dat er wat geïmproviseerd wordt. Maar dat is maar voor eventjes. In andere nummers hoor je de sfeer en de groove van This is The Sea van The Waterboys. Weliswaar vanuit een andere invalshoek, luister gewoon naar Hopeless World en je zal wel begrijpen wat ik bedoel.

Het album sluit af met wat je een kerstnummer zou kunnen noemen. Maar dan wel zeer ironisch bedoeld, de titel A Cocaine Christmas And An Alcoholic New Year spreekt voor zich. Door het gebruik van piano en blazers transformeert Money het katergevoel na de feestdagen in muziek. Een schitterende release van Bella Union.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/01/2016


Music reviews

28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
29
09
MYSTERY ART ORCHESTRA
Enjoy The Violence
28
09
BLANCMANGE
Don't Tell Me
27
09
DOWNLOAD
Glassblower (Official music video)
26
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser