tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

28/02/2015 : THE LILAC TIME - No Sad Songs

THE LILAC TIME

No Sad Songs

MusicCD
FolkIndie

[85/100]   

Tapete Records
28/02/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

No Sad Songs is the tenth album of The Lilac Time, the band that is fronted by Stephen Duffy, the songwriter who worked in 2004 with Robbie Williams and wrote one of his singles that made it to N°1. You can almost be sure that The Lilac Time will never make it to the charts, but their folky/indie/country-music with personal lyrics about universal themes, is definitely worth your attention.

The First Song Of Spring sounds a bit like the early work of Arcade Fire. More quality (and great lyrics) can be found on Babylon Revisted or the title track No Sad Songs. When hearing The Western Greyhound, you tend to think that Stephen Duffy is a modern troubadour who performs his song by the open fire. Lyrics that need your time and an album that needs to be heard.

Wim GUILLEMYN
28/02/2015


NL

No Sad Songs is ondertussen het tiende album van The Lilac Time, een band waarvan Stephen Duffy de voornaamste songschrijver is, en die in 2004 ook met Robbie Williams heeft samengewerkt. Eén van die singles die ze samen schreven haalde trouwens een top 1-notering.

Met The Lilac Time lijkt een tophit echter niet echt haalbaar, ofschoon ze warme folky/indie/country klinkende songs maken die met allerlei instrumenten zijn opgebouwd: gitaar, keys, strings, banjo, accordeon, etc. In de teksten gaat het over universele thema’s zoals liefde, dromen, hunkeren, hopen en dit met een persoonlijk tintje.

The First Song Of Spring klinkt een beetje als het vroegere werk van Arcade Fire. Op Babylon Revisted hoor je mooie samenzang. No Sad Songs heeft een mooie zanglijn en een gevoelig gezongen tekst. Op The Western Greyhound klinkt Stephen Duffy als een moderne troubadour die bij het warme haardvuur zijn verhaaltje zingt. A Cat on the Longwave is een sterke, sfeervolle afsluiter.

Dit album is je aandacht waard: vol met warme, stemmige songs en mooie teksten waarvoor je wel je tijd dient te nemen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
28/02/2015


 

Next reviews
RAPHAEL FRYDMAN • N'importe qui
JEMAINE CLEMENT & TAIKA WAITITI • What We Do In The Shadows
CASEY LA SCALA • The Remaining
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The Broken Window Theory
MARTIN CALLINGHAM • Folding
NOEL GALLAGHER'S HIGH FLYING BIRDS • Ballad Of The Mighty I
ANGELS & AGONY • Monument
HOT CHIP • Huarache Lights
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Deadfall Artist/Band Management: The Dark Secret Compilation Volume 3
UNZYME • Override

 

Other reviews from THE LILAC TIME
THE LILAC TIME • Prussian Blue EP
THE LILAC TIME • No Sad Songs

 

Same combination of genres: FOLK + INDIE
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow
EDWARD SHARPE AND THE MAGNETIC ZEROS • Person A
MOHAWK • A.la.li
MONEY • Suicide Songs
KRAMIES • Forêts Antiques (live EP)
CECILIA MEADOWS • Cerulean Blue
CONSTANCE • One
SAINT SAVIOUR • In the Seams

 

Same genre: FOLK
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
SEESAYLE • Stamina
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här

 

Same genre: INDIE
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real