tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

18/10/2015 : KRAMIES - Forêts Antiques (live EP)

KRAMIES

Forêts Antiques (live EP)

MusicDigital
DreampopFolkIndie

[85/100]   

Hidden Shoal
18/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

It's always great to discover an unknown gem. Kramies is a Dutch-American singer-songwriter who lives in Colorado, and gained some fame through his well-received EP The Wooden Heart, which was produced by Jason Lytle of Grandaddy. On his new EP, he plays at the Grand Théâtre in the Angers (France) in front of seven hundred fans.

With just an acoustic guitar and his voice, Kramies performs intimate, dreamy songs. With only a guitar and a voice, it is of course not possible to hide behind all sorts of sounds and effects. The result is quite naked, but because of this his class floats upwards. Kramies has a warm and mature voice that catches your attention. Sometimes he reminds me of The Waterboys, Sophia or Jasper Erkens. This musician brings five songs on this EP, only The Wooden Heart is less impressive, but the other four tracks are top songs!

A fine EP for people who love folk or dreampop and it’s even free on Bandcamp: https://kramies.bandcamp.com/

Wim GUILLEMYN
18/10/2015


NL

Het is altijd heerlijk om een onbekende ruwe diamant te ontdekken. Kramies, is een Nederlands-Amerikaanse singer-songwriter die in Colorado leeft en die enige bekendheid verwierf door zijn goed ontvangen ep The Wooden Heart, die door Jason Lytle van Grandaddy werd geproducet. Op deze nieuwe ep speelt hij in het Grand Théâtre in het Franse Angers voor zevenhonderd man.

Met alleen maar een akoestische gitaar en zijn stem brengt Kramies intieme, dromerige liedjes. Met zo’n minimale bezetting kan je je natuurlijk niet achter allerlei geluiden en effecten verstoppen. Het resultaat is vrij naakt, maar het is net daardoor dat de klasse boven drijft. Kramies heeft een aangename en volwassen stem die je aandacht trekt. Het doet me soms wat denken aan The Waterboys, Sophia of onze eigen Jasper Erkens. Deze muzikant brengt op deze ep vijf nummers, alleen The Wooden Heart overtuigt mij minder, maar de andere vier tracks zijn top.

Een fijne ep voor mensen die van folk of dreampop houden.

Gratis af te halen op Bandcamp: https://kramies.bandcamp.com/

Wim GUILLEMYN
18/10/2015


18/10/2015 : KRAMIES - Forêts Antiques (live EP) 18/10/2015 : KRAMIES - Forêts Antiques (live EP)

 

Next reviews
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Julian Jarrold: A Royal Night Out
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Eli Roth : The Green Inferno
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Dito Montiel: Boulevard
BRUNO BAVOTA • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • John Maclean: Slow West
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Adil El Arbi & Bilall Fallah: Black
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Rufus Norris : London Road
SOFT RIOT • You Never Know What Might Come Next
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Manu Riche: Problemski Hotel
BENJAMIN FINGER • Amorosa Sensitiva

 

Same combination of genres: DREAMPOP + FOLK + INDIE
CONSTANCE • One

 

Same genre: DREAMPOP
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
SUNDAECRUSH • A Real Sensation
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
FRAGRANCE • Dust & Disorders
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
NEWMOON • Space

 

Same genre: FOLK
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
WALTER CELI • Blend
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
SEESAYLE • Stamina
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach

 

Same genre: INDIE
SJOBLOM • Tape
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
10
Goth/Post-Punk Band THE FUNERAL MARCH Presents The End Times With New EP, 'Flood'
28
10
44 years Never Mind The Bollocks!
28
10
On this day, 33 years ago, Front 242 released Front By Front!
27
10
Gothic Rock Band OCTOBER NOIR Drops New Album, 'Fate, Wine & Wisteria'
26
10
Alternative/Darkwave Artist BESS(Of WhiteCauldron) Documents Traumatic Journey With 'No Cover'
25
10
Struggles And Dreams With Darkwave Band THE BLUE HOUR's New LP, 'Lore'

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

25
10
WINTERSTILLE
There are two contradicting aspects of individualism: the promise that you can achieve anything and the blaming of the individual for not achieving it.
04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK

PHOTOS

23
10
FRONT 242
Depot Leuven
23
10
RADICAL G
Depot Leuven
03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
10
AGNES OBEL
Familiar
27
10
NO!ON
7
26
10
YAZOO
Situation
25
10
MY CRUEL GORO
Lost E
24
10
LACRIMOSA
Die Unbekannte Farbe
23
10
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
22
10
AFTER ABSENCE
Collide