tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

16/10/2015 : FILMFEST GHENT 2015 - John Maclean: Slow West

FILMFEST GHENT 2015

John Maclean: Slow West

Movie


[74/100]   

Filmfest Gent
16/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

It's a bit strange to say, but the big winner at this year’s Sundance (the festival that is known for its indie films) was a western. Once you’ve seen Slow West, you will understand why, because the directing style of John Maclean is extremely refreshing. You notice the respect for the great masters such as John Ford, but through the many funny interludes the young filmmaker made something unique, and contemporary.

Thanks to an agent Maclean was befriended with, he could ask Michael Fassbender to star in his debut. The Hollywood star plays Silas, one of the most wanted men in Colorado, and on whose head a big sum of money is put. The sixteen-year-old Jay (Kodi Smit-McPhee), however, knows nothing about that and goes along with this guy on the road.

Slow West is not really a traditional western, but rather a road movie. Along the way, the two meet strange creatures who mostly are not to be trusted. Sometimes the humor is staggeringly brutal (without turning into a Tarantino), but it remains highly effective. We can’t write it that much these days, but Slow West is a great western.

Didier BECU
16/10/2015


NL

Het blijft een beetje vreemd, maar de grote winnaar op Sundance (het festival dat bekend staat wegens zijn indiefilms) was dit jaar een western. Eens je Slow Western hebt gezien, zal je wel snappen waarom, want de regiestijl van John Maclean is uiterst verfrissend. Je merkt z'n respect voor de grote meesters zoals John Ford, maar deze cineast maakt er door de vele grappige interludes ook iets eigentijds van. Dankzij een bevriende agent kon Maclean voor zijn debuut meteen Hollywoodster Michael Fassbender strikken die de rol van Silas vertolkt, één van de meest gezochte mannen uit Colorado en op wiens hoofd er een hele som geld staat. De zestienjarige Jay (Kodi Smit-McPhee) weet daar echter niets van en gaat samen met deze kerel op pad.

Slow West is niet echt een traditionele western, maar eerder een roadmovie. Onderweg komen de twee allerlei vreemde figuren tegen die vaak niet te vertrouwen zijn. Soms is de humor onthutsend brutaal (zonder dat het Tarantinoachtig wordt), maar het blijft wel uiterst effectief. We kunnen het tegenwoordig maar weinig schrijven, maar Slow West is een knappe western.

Didier BECU
16/10/2015


Music reviews

18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies
16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you
16
04
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP3
15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
04
SECRET ZOO
Enslaved
18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald
17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl
16
04
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life