tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

16/10/2015 : FILMFEST GHENT 2015 - John Maclean: Slow West

FILMFEST GHENT 2015

John Maclean: Slow West

Movie


[74/100]   

Filmfest Gent
16/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

It's a bit strange to say, but the big winner at this year’s Sundance (the festival that is known for its indie films) was a western. Once you’ve seen Slow West, you will understand why, because the directing style of John Maclean is extremely refreshing. You notice the respect for the great masters such as John Ford, but through the many funny interludes the young filmmaker made something unique, and contemporary.

Thanks to an agent Maclean was befriended with, he could ask Michael Fassbender to star in his debut. The Hollywood star plays Silas, one of the most wanted men in Colorado, and on whose head a big sum of money is put. The sixteen-year-old Jay (Kodi Smit-McPhee), however, knows nothing about that and goes along with this guy on the road.

Slow West is not really a traditional western, but rather a road movie. Along the way, the two meet strange creatures who mostly are not to be trusted. Sometimes the humor is staggeringly brutal (without turning into a Tarantino), but it remains highly effective. We can’t write it that much these days, but Slow West is a great western.

Didier BECU
16/10/2015


NL

Het blijft een beetje vreemd, maar de grote winnaar op Sundance (het festival dat bekend staat wegens zijn indiefilms) was dit jaar een western. Eens je Slow Western hebt gezien, zal je wel snappen waarom, want de regiestijl van John Maclean is uiterst verfrissend. Je merkt z'n respect voor de grote meesters zoals John Ford, maar deze cineast maakt er door de vele grappige interludes ook iets eigentijds van. Dankzij een bevriende agent kon Maclean voor zijn debuut meteen Hollywoodster Michael Fassbender strikken die de rol van Silas vertolkt, één van de meest gezochte mannen uit Colorado en op wiens hoofd er een hele som geld staat. De zestienjarige Jay (Kodi Smit-McPhee) weet daar echter niets van en gaat samen met deze kerel op pad.

Slow West is niet echt een traditionele western, maar eerder een roadmovie. Onderweg komen de twee allerlei vreemde figuren tegen die vaak niet te vertrouwen zijn. Soms is de humor onthutsend brutaal (zonder dat het Tarantinoachtig wordt), maar het blijft wel uiterst effectief. We kunnen het tegenwoordig maar weinig schrijven, maar Slow West is een knappe western.

Didier BECU
16/10/2015


Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books
25
05
ERIC BILITCH
'I WOULD NEVER WANT TO MAKE A MOVIE FOR EVERYONE!'

PHOTOS

19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
URZON FEAT. ORRYELLE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
10
06
VV303
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
STRUGGLER
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On
16
06
GOLDFRAPP
Ocean Feat. Dave Gahan
15
06
THE KVB
Never Enough
14
06
ADULT.
Nite Life
13
06
HA;PEOPLE 3 55
Infierno