tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

16/10/2015 : FILMFEST GHENT 2015 - John Maclean: Slow West

FILMFEST GHENT 2015

John Maclean: Slow West

Movie


[74/100]   

Filmfest Gent
16/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

It's a bit strange to say, but the big winner at this year’s Sundance (the festival that is known for its indie films) was a western. Once you’ve seen Slow West, you will understand why, because the directing style of John Maclean is extremely refreshing. You notice the respect for the great masters such as John Ford, but through the many funny interludes the young filmmaker made something unique, and contemporary.

Thanks to an agent Maclean was befriended with, he could ask Michael Fassbender to star in his debut. The Hollywood star plays Silas, one of the most wanted men in Colorado, and on whose head a big sum of money is put. The sixteen-year-old Jay (Kodi Smit-McPhee), however, knows nothing about that and goes along with this guy on the road.

Slow West is not really a traditional western, but rather a road movie. Along the way, the two meet strange creatures who mostly are not to be trusted. Sometimes the humor is staggeringly brutal (without turning into a Tarantino), but it remains highly effective. We can’t write it that much these days, but Slow West is a great western.

Didier BECU
16/10/2015


NL

Het blijft een beetje vreemd, maar de grote winnaar op Sundance (het festival dat bekend staat wegens zijn indiefilms) was dit jaar een western. Eens je Slow Western hebt gezien, zal je wel snappen waarom, want de regiestijl van John Maclean is uiterst verfrissend. Je merkt z'n respect voor de grote meesters zoals John Ford, maar deze cineast maakt er door de vele grappige interludes ook iets eigentijds van. Dankzij een bevriende agent kon Maclean voor zijn debuut meteen Hollywoodster Michael Fassbender strikken die de rol van Silas vertolkt, één van de meest gezochte mannen uit Colorado en op wiens hoofd er een hele som geld staat. De zestienjarige Jay (Kodi Smit-McPhee) weet daar echter niets van en gaat samen met deze kerel op pad.

Slow West is niet echt een traditionele western, maar eerder een roadmovie. Onderweg komen de twee allerlei vreemde figuren tegen die vaak niet te vertrouwen zijn. Soms is de humor onthutsend brutaal (zonder dat het Tarantinoachtig wordt), maar het blijft wel uiterst effectief. We kunnen het tegenwoordig maar weinig schrijven, maar Slow West is een knappe western.

Didier BECU
16/10/2015


Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
08
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
19
08
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
18
08
MARY OCHER
The Android Sea
17
08
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
16
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless