tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

16/10/2015 : FILMFEST GHENT 2015 - John Maclean: Slow West

FILMFEST GHENT 2015

John Maclean: Slow West

Movie


[74/100]   

Filmfest Gent
16/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

It's a bit strange to say, but the big winner at this year’s Sundance (the festival that is known for its indie films) was a western. Once you’ve seen Slow West, you will understand why, because the directing style of John Maclean is extremely refreshing. You notice the respect for the great masters such as John Ford, but through the many funny interludes the young filmmaker made something unique, and contemporary.

Thanks to an agent Maclean was befriended with, he could ask Michael Fassbender to star in his debut. The Hollywood star plays Silas, one of the most wanted men in Colorado, and on whose head a big sum of money is put. The sixteen-year-old Jay (Kodi Smit-McPhee), however, knows nothing about that and goes along with this guy on the road.

Slow West is not really a traditional western, but rather a road movie. Along the way, the two meet strange creatures who mostly are not to be trusted. Sometimes the humor is staggeringly brutal (without turning into a Tarantino), but it remains highly effective. We can’t write it that much these days, but Slow West is a great western.

Didier BECU
16/10/2015


NL

Het blijft een beetje vreemd, maar de grote winnaar op Sundance (het festival dat bekend staat wegens zijn indiefilms) was dit jaar een western. Eens je Slow Western hebt gezien, zal je wel snappen waarom, want de regiestijl van John Maclean is uiterst verfrissend. Je merkt z'n respect voor de grote meesters zoals John Ford, maar deze cineast maakt er door de vele grappige interludes ook iets eigentijds van. Dankzij een bevriende agent kon Maclean voor zijn debuut meteen Hollywoodster Michael Fassbender strikken die de rol van Silas vertolkt, één van de meest gezochte mannen uit Colorado en op wiens hoofd er een hele som geld staat. De zestienjarige Jay (Kodi Smit-McPhee) weet daar echter niets van en gaat samen met deze kerel op pad.

Slow West is niet echt een traditionele western, maar eerder een roadmovie. Onderweg komen de twee allerlei vreemde figuren tegen die vaak niet te vertrouwen zijn. Soms is de humor onthutsend brutaal (zonder dat het Tarantinoachtig wordt), maar het blijft wel uiterst effectief. We kunnen het tegenwoordig maar weinig schrijven, maar Slow West is een knappe western.

Didier BECU
16/10/2015


Music reviews

20
04
ABYSS X
Pleasures Of The Bull
19
04
APSURDE
See Me Coming
18
04
ANDERS MANGA
Perfectly Stranger
17
04
DARKNESS ON DEMAND
Back To Psychoburbia
16
04
VIKTOR KALIMA
Club Muscle
15
04
PSY'AVIAH
Lightflare

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
04
Rummelsnuff releases double album / best of - “Salzig schmeckt der Wind”
23
04
The Mexican-German band Rabia Sorda has recorded its hardest album to date “The World Ends Today
21
04
Christina Plays Viola teaser for upcoming EP
16
04
Hatchling release their new single 'Holly'
15
04
Vogue.Noir release Strange.Days
14
04
Mourners release their first songs!

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’
20
04
ADAM USI
You know, art, music and visuals are the package, they are one big thing, they belong to each other. I try to find the jigsaw pieces to paint a all in all picture.
17
04
BYSENSES
We are Just 'People', Not A Superrace
26
03
MANINKARI
‘Sound Has Also A Place In A Process Of Spiritual Healing’
23
03
IRKLIS
‘INDUSTRIAL MUSIC WAS NEVER MADE TO PLEASE ANYBODY’

PHOTOS

16
04
SPARK!
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
LESCURE 13
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
ELM
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
DOGANOV
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
08
04
EVANESCENCE
Paleis 12 Brussel
08
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle
08
04
DARK POEM
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
04
DIVE
Bloodmoney
24
04
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Lips Like Sugar
23
04
HOW TO DESTROY ANGELS
The Space In Between
22
04
NINE INCH NAILS
Only
21
04
HUMINOIDA
Ghosts on Photos
21
04
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
20
04
MIDAS FALL
Glue