tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

16/10/2015 : FILMFEST GHENT 2015 - John Maclean: Slow West

FILMFEST GHENT 2015

John Maclean: Slow West

Movie


[74/100]   

Filmfest Gent
16/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

It's a bit strange to say, but the big winner at this year’s Sundance (the festival that is known for its indie films) was a western. Once you’ve seen Slow West, you will understand why, because the directing style of John Maclean is extremely refreshing. You notice the respect for the great masters such as John Ford, but through the many funny interludes the young filmmaker made something unique, and contemporary.

Thanks to an agent Maclean was befriended with, he could ask Michael Fassbender to star in his debut. The Hollywood star plays Silas, one of the most wanted men in Colorado, and on whose head a big sum of money is put. The sixteen-year-old Jay (Kodi Smit-McPhee), however, knows nothing about that and goes along with this guy on the road.

Slow West is not really a traditional western, but rather a road movie. Along the way, the two meet strange creatures who mostly are not to be trusted. Sometimes the humor is staggeringly brutal (without turning into a Tarantino), but it remains highly effective. We can’t write it that much these days, but Slow West is a great western.

Didier BECU
16/10/2015


NL

Het blijft een beetje vreemd, maar de grote winnaar op Sundance (het festival dat bekend staat wegens zijn indiefilms) was dit jaar een western. Eens je Slow Western hebt gezien, zal je wel snappen waarom, want de regiestijl van John Maclean is uiterst verfrissend. Je merkt z'n respect voor de grote meesters zoals John Ford, maar deze cineast maakt er door de vele grappige interludes ook iets eigentijds van. Dankzij een bevriende agent kon Maclean voor zijn debuut meteen Hollywoodster Michael Fassbender strikken die de rol van Silas vertolkt, één van de meest gezochte mannen uit Colorado en op wiens hoofd er een hele som geld staat. De zestienjarige Jay (Kodi Smit-McPhee) weet daar echter niets van en gaat samen met deze kerel op pad.

Slow West is niet echt een traditionele western, maar eerder een roadmovie. Onderweg komen de twee allerlei vreemde figuren tegen die vaak niet te vertrouwen zijn. Soms is de humor onthutsend brutaal (zonder dat het Tarantinoachtig wordt), maar het blijft wel uiterst effectief. We kunnen het tegenwoordig maar weinig schrijven, maar Slow West is een knappe western.

Didier BECU
16/10/2015


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked