tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

16/10/2015 : THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE - Fake Blood From Real Wounds

THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE

Fake Blood From Real Wounds

MusicDigital
FolkNeofolkSinger Songwriter

[80/100]   

Self-released
16/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Imaginary Suitcase is the name of the solo project of Laurent Leemans (the singer/guitar player of the folk and rock combo Ceili Moss). After a year of farewell concerts with Ceili Moss, Laurent thought the time had come to write some songs himself. Fake Blood From Real Wounds already is his fifth release in just two years. Musically it can best be described as a singer-songwriter material with some folk influences (Luka Bloom is a good reference).

Most of the songs float on a semi-acoustic guitar, with some nice details such as the sound of a violin or an autoharp. The lyrics are sung in Dutch, French or English, but always with a deep, warm voice, and with funny and meaningful lyrics. Listen for example to Het Dorp (The Village-ed.) or It's Not You, It's Me.

Those who love neofolk, certainly have to check out this band. The Imaginary Suitcase is a musical project that also would fit in theaters or at folk festivals. Listen for yourself to the songs via the link below.

https://theimaginarysuitcase.bandcamp.com/

Wim GUILLEMYN
16/10/2015


NL

The Imaginary Suitcase is de naam van het soloproject van Laurent Leemans (de zanger/gitaarspeler van het voormalig folk- en rockcombo Ceili Moss). Na een jaar van afscheidsconcerten met Ceili Moss, vond Laurent dat de tijd rijp was om zelf een stapel songs te schrijven. Fake Blood From Real Wounds is ondertussen zijn vijfde release in amper twee jaar. Muzikaal kan je het materiaal omschrijven als singer-songwriter met wat folk- en kleinkunst invloeden (denk bijv. aan Boudewijn De Groot of Luka Bloom).

Het zijn voornamelijk nummers die op een stemmige semi-akoestische gitaar drijven, met leuke details zoals een viool of een autoharp. Soms in het Nederlands, het Frans of het Engels gezongen, maar steeds met een diepe, warme stem, alsook met leuke en zinvolle teksten. Luister bijv. naar Het Dorp of It’s Not You, it’s Me. De percussie is spaarzaam, maar weldoordacht aanwezig.

Wie van neofolk of moderne kleinkunst houdt, zal hier zeker zijn hart aan kunnen ophalen. The Imaginary Suitcase is een muziekproject dat het ook in theaters of op folkfestivals goed kan doen. Luister zelf maar eens naar de nummers via de onderstaande link.

https://theimaginarysuitcase.bandcamp.com/

Wim GUILLEMYN
16/10/2015


 

Next reviews
BODYKOMPLEX • Karma
KLOOT PER W • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • B-Movie: Lust & Sound in West-Berlin 1979-1989
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Larry Clark: The Smell Of Us
MONA MUR • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
LUMINANCE • Sans Visage
MIRLAND • SLEEP DISORDER
MAFF • Maff
EDITORS • In Dream
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Cividino: Sleeping Giant

 

Other reviews from THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE • Here's to those we could not save

 

Same genre: FOLK
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
WALTER CELI • Blend
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
SEESAYLE • Stamina
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach

 

Same genre: NEOFOLK
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
DEATH IN JUNE • THE CORN YEARS
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • Ménage à quatre
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
ROME • The Hyperion Machine
DEATH IN ROME • Hitparade

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind
SWEET BABOO • Dennis

Music reviews

14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection