tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

16/10/2015 : THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE - Fake Blood From Real Wounds

THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE

Fake Blood From Real Wounds

MusicDigital
FolkNeofolkSinger Songwriter

[80/100]   

Self-released
16/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Imaginary Suitcase is the name of the solo project of Laurent Leemans (the singer/guitar player of the folk and rock combo Ceili Moss). After a year of farewell concerts with Ceili Moss, Laurent thought the time had come to write some songs himself. Fake Blood From Real Wounds already is his fifth release in just two years. Musically it can best be described as a singer-songwriter material with some folk influences (Luka Bloom is a good reference).

Most of the songs float on a semi-acoustic guitar, with some nice details such as the sound of a violin or an autoharp. The lyrics are sung in Dutch, French or English, but always with a deep, warm voice, and with funny and meaningful lyrics. Listen for example to Het Dorp (The Village-ed.) or It's Not You, It's Me.

Those who love neofolk, certainly have to check out this band. The Imaginary Suitcase is a musical project that also would fit in theaters or at folk festivals. Listen for yourself to the songs via the link below.

https://theimaginarysuitcase.bandcamp.com/

Wim GUILLEMYN
16/10/2015


NL

The Imaginary Suitcase is de naam van het soloproject van Laurent Leemans (de zanger/gitaarspeler van het voormalig folk- en rockcombo Ceili Moss). Na een jaar van afscheidsconcerten met Ceili Moss, vond Laurent dat de tijd rijp was om zelf een stapel songs te schrijven. Fake Blood From Real Wounds is ondertussen zijn vijfde release in amper twee jaar. Muzikaal kan je het materiaal omschrijven als singer-songwriter met wat folk- en kleinkunst invloeden (denk bijv. aan Boudewijn De Groot of Luka Bloom).

Het zijn voornamelijk nummers die op een stemmige semi-akoestische gitaar drijven, met leuke details zoals een viool of een autoharp. Soms in het Nederlands, het Frans of het Engels gezongen, maar steeds met een diepe, warme stem, alsook met leuke en zinvolle teksten. Luister bijv. naar Het Dorp of It’s Not You, it’s Me. De percussie is spaarzaam, maar weldoordacht aanwezig.

Wie van neofolk of moderne kleinkunst houdt, zal hier zeker zijn hart aan kunnen ophalen. The Imaginary Suitcase is een muziekproject dat het ook in theaters of op folkfestivals goed kan doen. Luister zelf maar eens naar de nummers via de onderstaande link.

https://theimaginarysuitcase.bandcamp.com/

Wim GUILLEMYN
16/10/2015


 

Next reviews
BODYKOMPLEX • Karma
KLOOT PER W • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • B-Movie: Lust & Sound in West-Berlin 1979-1989
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Larry Clark: The Smell Of Us
MONA MUR • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
LUMINANCE • Sans Visage
MIRLAND • SLEEP DISORDER
MAFF • Maff
EDITORS • In Dream
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Cividino: Sleeping Giant

 

Other reviews from THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE • Here's to those we could not save

 

Same genre: FOLK
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
WALTER CELI • Blend
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
SEESAYLE • Stamina
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach

 

Same genre: NEOFOLK
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
DEATH IN JUNE • THE CORN YEARS
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • Ménage à quatre
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
ROME • The Hyperion Machine
DEATH IN ROME • Hitparade

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind
SWEET BABOO • Dennis

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa