tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

16/10/2015 : THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE - Fake Blood From Real Wounds

THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE

Fake Blood From Real Wounds

MusicMP3/Download
FolkNeofolkSinger Songwriter

[80/100]   

Self-released
16/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Imaginary Suitcase is the name of the solo project of Laurent Leemans (the singer/guitar player of the folk and rock combo Ceili Moss). After a year of farewell concerts with Ceili Moss, Laurent thought the time had come to write some songs himself. Fake Blood From Real Wounds already is his fifth release in just two years. Musically it can best be described as a singer-songwriter material with some folk influences (Luka Bloom is a good reference).

Most of the songs float on a semi-acoustic guitar, with some nice details such as the sound of a violin or an autoharp. The lyrics are sung in Dutch, French or English, but always with a deep, warm voice, and with funny and meaningful lyrics. Listen for example to Het Dorp (The Village-ed.) or It's Not You, It's Me.

Those who love neofolk, certainly have to check out this band. The Imaginary Suitcase is a musical project that also would fit in theaters or at folk festivals. Listen for yourself to the songs via the link below.

https://theimaginarysuitcase.bandcamp.com/

Wim GUILLEMYN
16/10/2015


NL

The Imaginary Suitcase is de naam van het soloproject van Laurent Leemans (de zanger/gitaarspeler van het voormalig folk- en rockcombo Ceili Moss). Na een jaar van afscheidsconcerten met Ceili Moss, vond Laurent dat de tijd rijp was om zelf een stapel songs te schrijven. Fake Blood From Real Wounds is ondertussen zijn vijfde release in amper twee jaar. Muzikaal kan je het materiaal omschrijven als singer-songwriter met wat folk- en kleinkunst invloeden (denk bijv. aan Boudewijn De Groot of Luka Bloom).

Het zijn voornamelijk nummers die op een stemmige semi-akoestische gitaar drijven, met leuke details zoals een viool of een autoharp. Soms in het Nederlands, het Frans of het Engels gezongen, maar steeds met een diepe, warme stem, alsook met leuke en zinvolle teksten. Luister bijv. naar Het Dorp of It’s Not You, it’s Me. De percussie is spaarzaam, maar weldoordacht aanwezig.

Wie van neofolk of moderne kleinkunst houdt, zal hier zeker zijn hart aan kunnen ophalen. The Imaginary Suitcase is een muziekproject dat het ook in theaters of op folkfestivals goed kan doen. Luister zelf maar eens naar de nummers via de onderstaande link.

https://theimaginarysuitcase.bandcamp.com/

Wim GUILLEMYN
16/10/2015


 

Next reviews
BODYKOMPLEX • Karma
KLOOT PER W • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • B-Movie: Lust & Sound in West-Berlin 1979-1989
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Larry Clark: The Smell Of Us
MONA MUR • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
LUMINANCE • Sans Visage
MIRLAND • SLEEP DISORDER
MAFF • Maff
EDITORS • In Dream
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Cividino: Sleeping Giant

 

Other reviews from THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE • Here's to those we could not save

 

Same genre: FOLK
SEESAYLE • Stamina
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
MYRKUR • Mausoleum

 

Same genre: NEOFOLK
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
ROME • The Hyperion Machine
DEATH IN ROME • Hitparade
SOL INVICTUS • The Last Man
HAUTVILLE • Mater Dolorosa
SIEGFRIED • K
WOLJAGER • Van T Liewen Un Stiäwen
CAWATANA • Decline Of Privileges
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • Vision: Libertine - The Hangman's Triad's
LUPI GLADIUS • L’Armonia Del Buio

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind
SWEET BABOO • Dennis
KEVIN MORBY • Singing Saw
KRISTOFFER GILDENLöW • The Rain

Music reviews

20
11
ELEZORIA
Astray
16
11
STAATSEINDE
Neue Zyklus
11
11
AM TIERPARK
Trashy Luxury
08
11
BOY HARSHER
Country Girl
07
11
OUR BANSHEE
4200
06
11
IMPLANT
The Phone Call (EP)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
11
Then Comes Silence kick off tour today!
11
11
MORTIIS has reissued 'Ånden som Gjorde Opprør', 'Keiser av en Dimensjon Ukjent' and “Født til å Herske” (LP/CD/digital)
08
11
Blutengel releases new video and album 'Black'.
04
11
New band confirmations for the Out Of Line Weekender in Berlin!
02
11
Line-up International EBM Day @ De Casino, St-Niklaas (B) complete!
29
10
New album of FUTURE FUNK SQUAD

Concert reviews

19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017
27
08
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
11
EIRIKURA
'Music can be an uniting and uplifting force and very much a redemptive one for all mankind'
05
11
GENE LOVES JEZEBEL
About their brand new album Dance Underwater and more...
25
10
SWEET WILLIAM
FOR ME MUSIC IS GOOD WHEN IT LEAVES YOU ROOM FOR YOUR OWN ILLUSIONS AND OF COURSE A CERTAIN DEPTH’
23
10
STURM CAFE
‘WE DO ENJOY THE 100% CONTROL BUT IT COMES WITH GREAT FINANCIAL RISKS’
19
10
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
'When you see that some chords that you have composed become a song, it's a very special feeling.'

PHOTOS

19
11
TINY MAGNETIC PETS
G Live, Guildrofrd, UK
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
G Live, Guildrofrd, UK
13
11
RED ZEBRA
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
THE BOLLOCK BROTHERS
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
KISS THE ANUS OF A BLACK CAT
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
STRUGGLER
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
DONDER, HEL & HAGEL
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

24
11
THE SOUND
Sense Of Purpose
23
11
ECHO BEATTY
Hunger Hunger
22
11
SIRENIA
Once My Light
21
11
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
20
11
BAUHAUS
Ziggy Stardust
19
11
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
18
11
MIIKE SNOW
Genghis Khan