tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

16/10/2015 : THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE - Fake Blood From Real Wounds

THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE

Fake Blood From Real Wounds

MusicDigital
FolkNeofolkSinger Songwriter

[80/100]   

Self-released
16/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Imaginary Suitcase is the name of the solo project of Laurent Leemans (the singer/guitar player of the folk and rock combo Ceili Moss). After a year of farewell concerts with Ceili Moss, Laurent thought the time had come to write some songs himself. Fake Blood From Real Wounds already is his fifth release in just two years. Musically it can best be described as a singer-songwriter material with some folk influences (Luka Bloom is a good reference).

Most of the songs float on a semi-acoustic guitar, with some nice details such as the sound of a violin or an autoharp. The lyrics are sung in Dutch, French or English, but always with a deep, warm voice, and with funny and meaningful lyrics. Listen for example to Het Dorp (The Village-ed.) or It's Not You, It's Me.

Those who love neofolk, certainly have to check out this band. The Imaginary Suitcase is a musical project that also would fit in theaters or at folk festivals. Listen for yourself to the songs via the link below.

https://theimaginarysuitcase.bandcamp.com/

Wim GUILLEMYN
16/10/2015


NL

The Imaginary Suitcase is de naam van het soloproject van Laurent Leemans (de zanger/gitaarspeler van het voormalig folk- en rockcombo Ceili Moss). Na een jaar van afscheidsconcerten met Ceili Moss, vond Laurent dat de tijd rijp was om zelf een stapel songs te schrijven. Fake Blood From Real Wounds is ondertussen zijn vijfde release in amper twee jaar. Muzikaal kan je het materiaal omschrijven als singer-songwriter met wat folk- en kleinkunst invloeden (denk bijv. aan Boudewijn De Groot of Luka Bloom).

Het zijn voornamelijk nummers die op een stemmige semi-akoestische gitaar drijven, met leuke details zoals een viool of een autoharp. Soms in het Nederlands, het Frans of het Engels gezongen, maar steeds met een diepe, warme stem, alsook met leuke en zinvolle teksten. Luister bijv. naar Het Dorp of It’s Not You, it’s Me. De percussie is spaarzaam, maar weldoordacht aanwezig.

Wie van neofolk of moderne kleinkunst houdt, zal hier zeker zijn hart aan kunnen ophalen. The Imaginary Suitcase is een muziekproject dat het ook in theaters of op folkfestivals goed kan doen. Luister zelf maar eens naar de nummers via de onderstaande link.

https://theimaginarysuitcase.bandcamp.com/

Wim GUILLEMYN
16/10/2015


 

Next reviews
BODYKOMPLEX • Karma
KLOOT PER W • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • B-Movie: Lust & Sound in West-Berlin 1979-1989
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Larry Clark: The Smell Of Us
MONA MUR • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
LUMINANCE • Sans Visage
MIRLAND • SLEEP DISORDER
MAFF • Maff
EDITORS • In Dream
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Cividino: Sleeping Giant

 

Other reviews from THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE • Here's to those we could not save

 

Same genre: FOLK
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
SEESAYLE • Stamina
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här

 

Same genre: NEOFOLK
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
ROME • The Hyperion Machine
DEATH IN ROME • Hitparade
SOL INVICTUS • The Last Man
HAUTVILLE • Mater Dolorosa
SIEGFRIED • K
WOLJAGER • Van T Liewen Un Stiäwen
CAWATANA • Decline Of Privileges
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • Vision: Libertine - The Hangman's Triad's

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind
SWEET BABOO • Dennis
KEVIN MORBY • Singing Saw
KRISTOFFER GILDENLöW • The Rain

Music reviews

22
02
ERNEST MOON
Ba-Jesus
20
02
UNIDENTIFIED MAN
Memento Mori
17
02
NEON ELECTRONICS
Mondriaan
15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
02
HOT PINK SATAN Release Official Music Video for 'Breathe'
22
02
Blutengel releases new album UN:GOT!
18
02
Damned, Damned, Damned - At 42, 42, 42!
18
02
Today, exactly 16 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Mechanical Man | Remembering Bob Casale - The Devo Legend
15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
02
MICHAEL CIRAVOLO - BEAUTY IN CHAOS
'I am forever indebted to everyone involved in Beauty In Chaos. We are friends, and now family with what we all created'.
19
02
ADRIANO CANZIAN
Almost Everything That Is Produced Today Makes Me Sick
16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot

PHOTOS

17
02
KAELAN MIKLA
Magasin 4
17
02
SOME EMBER
Magasin 4
17
02
TURQUOISE
Magasin 4
10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
02
MIND & FLESH
Krigserklæring
21
02
AGNES OBEL
Familiar
20
02
MIREXXX
Nine angles
19
02
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
18
02
WARHAUS
The Good Lie
17
02
HYBRYDS
I hear you calling
16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!