tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this mp3/download review

16/10/2015 : THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE - Fake Blood From Real Wounds

THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE

Fake Blood From Real Wounds

MusicMP3/Download
FolkNeofolkSinger Songwriter

[80/100]   

Self-released
16/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Imaginary Suitcase is the name of the solo project of Laurent Leemans (the singer/guitar player of the folk and rock combo Ceili Moss). After a year of farewell concerts with Ceili Moss, Laurent thought the time had come to write some songs himself. Fake Blood From Real Wounds already is his fifth release in just two years. Musically it can best be described as a singer-songwriter material with some folk influences (Luka Bloom is a good reference).

Most of the songs float on a semi-acoustic guitar, with some nice details such as the sound of a violin or an autoharp. The lyrics are sung in Dutch, French or English, but always with a deep, warm voice, and with funny and meaningful lyrics. Listen for example to Het Dorp (The Village-ed.) or It's Not You, It's Me.

Those who love neofolk, certainly have to check out this band. The Imaginary Suitcase is a musical project that also would fit in theaters or at folk festivals. Listen for yourself to the songs via the link below.

https://theimaginarysuitcase.bandcamp.com/

Wim GUILLEMYN
16/10/2015


NL

The Imaginary Suitcase is de naam van het soloproject van Laurent Leemans (de zanger/gitaarspeler van het voormalig folk- en rockcombo Ceili Moss). Na een jaar van afscheidsconcerten met Ceili Moss, vond Laurent dat de tijd rijp was om zelf een stapel songs te schrijven. Fake Blood From Real Wounds is ondertussen zijn vijfde release in amper twee jaar. Muzikaal kan je het materiaal omschrijven als singer-songwriter met wat folk- en kleinkunst invloeden (denk bijv. aan Boudewijn De Groot of Luka Bloom).

Het zijn voornamelijk nummers die op een stemmige semi-akoestische gitaar drijven, met leuke details zoals een viool of een autoharp. Soms in het Nederlands, het Frans of het Engels gezongen, maar steeds met een diepe, warme stem, alsook met leuke en zinvolle teksten. Luister bijv. naar Het Dorp of It’s Not You, it’s Me. De percussie is spaarzaam, maar weldoordacht aanwezig.

Wie van neofolk of moderne kleinkunst houdt, zal hier zeker zijn hart aan kunnen ophalen. The Imaginary Suitcase is een muziekproject dat het ook in theaters of op folkfestivals goed kan doen. Luister zelf maar eens naar de nummers via de onderstaande link.

https://theimaginarysuitcase.bandcamp.com/

Wim GUILLEMYN
16/10/2015


 

Next reviews
BODYKOMPLEX • Karma
KLOOT PER W • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • B-Movie: Lust & Sound in West-Berlin 1979-1989
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Larry Clark: The Smell Of Us
MONA MUR • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
LUMINANCE • Sans Visage
MIRLAND • SLEEP DISORDER
MAFF • Maff
EDITORS • In Dream
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Cividino: Sleeping Giant

 

Other reviews from THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE • Here's to those we could not save

 

Same genre: FOLK
SEESAYLE • Stamina
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
MYRKUR • Mausoleum

 

Same genre: NEOFOLK
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
ROME • The Hyperion Machine
DEATH IN ROME • Hitparade
SOL INVICTUS • The Last Man
HAUTVILLE • Mater Dolorosa
SIEGFRIED • K
WOLJAGER • Van T Liewen Un Stiäwen
CAWATANA • Decline Of Privileges
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • Vision: Libertine - The Hangman's Triad's
LUPI GLADIUS • L’Armonia Del Buio

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind
SWEET BABOO • Dennis
KEVIN MORBY • Singing Saw
KRISTOFFER GILDENLöW • The Rain

Music reviews

25
04
RITUAL VEIL
Wolf In The Night
20
04
ABYSS X
Pleasures Of The Bull
19
04
APSURDE
See Me Coming
18
04
ANDERS MANGA
Perfectly Stranger
17
04
DARKNESS ON DEMAND
Back To Psychoburbia
16
04
VIKTOR KALIMA
Club Muscle

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
04
Dive releases Let Me In 12' vinyl on Out Of Line
25
04
Suicide Commando returns with a hard-hitting club EP release. “Death Will Find You”!
24
04
Rummelsnuff releases double album / best of - “Salzig schmeckt der Wind”
23
04
The Mexican-German band Rabia Sorda has recorded its hardest album to date “The World Ends Today
21
04
Christina Plays Viola teaser for upcoming EP
16
04
Hatchling release their new single 'Holly'

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’
20
04
ADAM USI
You know, art, music and visuals are the package, they are one big thing, they belong to each other. I try to find the jigsaw pieces to paint a all in all picture.
17
04
BYSENSES
We are Just 'People', Not A Superrace
26
03
MANINKARI
‘Sound Has Also A Place In A Process Of Spiritual Healing’
23
03
IRKLIS
‘INDUSTRIAL MUSIC WAS NEVER MADE TO PLEASE ANYBODY’

PHOTOS

16
04
SPARK!
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
LESCURE 13
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
ELM
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
DOGANOV
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
08
04
EVANESCENCE
Paleis 12 Brussel
08
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle
08
04
DARK POEM
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
04
GUNMAKER
Trust Me Or Lie
26
04
VIOLENCE
Illusions Vives
25
04
DIVE
Bloodmoney
24
04
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Lips Like Sugar
23
04
HOW TO DESTROY ANGELS
The Space In Between
22
04
NINE INCH NAILS
Only
21
04
HUMINOIDA
Ghosts on Photos