tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

15/10/2015 : FILMFEST GHENT 2015 - Larry Clark: The Smell Of Us

FILMFEST GHENT 2015

Larry Clark: The Smell Of Us

Movie
Coming Of Age

[75/100]   

Filmfest Gent
15/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The now 72-year-old punk of American cinema (Larry Clark) has it hard nowadays. Because of his controversial movies (Kids, Bully or Ken Park) he was maligned by everyone in America, and so the filmmaker went to France to direct a new movie.

Despite his age, Clark threw himself again on the life of riotous teenagers who only worry about sex and drugs. And yes, just like in his controversial classics, there is a lot of sex in The Smell Of Us too and many scenes will make the moralists crazy. Clark plays the role of a pervert who sucks the toes of a teenage boy. Well, anyone who thought that Clark would show the beautiful side of the skaters of Le Dome, is wrong.

If you wanted to accuse Clark of something, then certainly of the fact that he did it before, and maybe a tad better (but nobody expected him ever to do better than with Kids). However, it remains incredible that an old man can come up with such a confrontational film. Because yes, you can fill pages about scenes that might make parents disconcerting, but maybe they better watch The Smell Of Us, as once again Clark exposes the inner soul of today's youth.

Didier BECU
15/10/2015


NL

De ondertussen 72-jarige punker van de Amerikaanse cinema (Larry Clark) heeft het tegenwoordig hard te verduren. Omdat zijn pittige prenten (Kids, Ken Park en Bully) zowat door heel Amerika werden verguisd, zocht de filmmaker zijn heil in Frankrijk om daar een nieuwe film op te nemen.

Ondanks zijn hoge leeftijd kon Clark het wederom niet laten en hij stortte zich voluit op het leven van losbandige tieners die zich alleen maar druk maken om seks en drugs. En jawel, net zoals in zijn spraakmakende klassiekers wordt er ook in The Smell Of Us heel wat afgeneukt en bezit de film massa’s scènes die ongetwijfeld vele moraalridders in de gordijnen zullen jagen. Clark zelf speelt de rol van een hoerenloper die de tenen van een tienerjongen afzuigt. Tja, wie dacht dat Clark het mooiste van de skaters van Le Dome zou laten zien, die is eraan voor de moeite.

Als je Clark van iets kan beschuldigen dan is dat het feit dat hij het al eens eerder heeft gedaan, en misschien een tikkeltje beter (maar niemand die verwacht dat hij ooit beter zou doen dan met Kids). Wel blijft het ongelooflijk dat een hoogbejaarde man nog met zo’n confronterende film op de proppen komt. Want ja, je kan pagina’s vullen over scènes die ouders kunnen verontrusten, maar misschien kijken die maar beter naar The Smell Of Us. Clark legt immers nog maar eens de ziel van de hedendaagse jeugd bloot.

Didier BECU
15/10/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'
05
08
Darkwave Duo Sever The Servants Drop Apocalyptic Debut LP

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation