tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

03/07/2015 : REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI - Belle Epine

REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI

Belle Epine

MovieMovie classics
ArthouseComing Of Age

[80/100]   

Filmfreaks
03/07/2015, Didier BECU

EN

It is hard to keep up the number of French films that are screened at the filmfestival of Cannes every year. Anyone who makes a movie in France and chooses to escape the commercial circuit, will do everything to get noticed on the Croisette. Belle Epine by Rebecca Zlotowski from 2010 was selected for the Semaine de la Critique. It wasn’t an earthquake, but still another confirmation that the young Léa Seydoux, who earlier starred in Lourdes, is an actress to keep in mind. In five years time a lot has happened. A film that won the Golden Palm (La Vie D'Adele) and a place alongside James Bond (Spectre) can’t be called nothing. Just as in the award-winning gem of Abdellatif Kechiche, Seydoux plays a girl in search of herself.

The mother of Prudence (Léa Seydoux) has suddenly deceased. The family Friedmann completely falls apart. Her niece Sonia (Anaïs Demoustier) tries to keep her on track by giving the youngster some good advice, but Prudence is on her own. She envisions questions about life, and just like any young girl she thinks about sexuality. Some claim that our behaviour depends on the kind of friends we choose, a statement that certainly applies to Prudence when she starts hanging out with Maryline (Agathe Schenkler). She starts shoplifting and feels attracted to a gang of young bikers. As Prudence feels that there is no place for her in her own family, she wants to be part of the motorcycle gang. The only way to do that is (according to her) to sleep with one of the boys.

Maybe it's because of the races, but I had Spetters in mind when I saw Belle Epine. Just like in Paul Verhoeven’s masterpiece we see a young woman who draws all the attention to herself. Léa Seydoux is not only a beauty, her face also radiates a certain sadness that is simply created for the big screen. Belle Epine is certainly not her best movie, because the story is just too short (80 minutes), but also a tad too shallow. Zlotowski portrays a beautiful picture of a young girl who is at odds with herself. At the end of the film you can hardly claim that she found a solution to her problems, but the cinephile who loves French movies has another pearl in his hands.

Didier BECU
03/07/2015


NL

In Cannes is het aantal Franse films dat je er jaarlijks kan zien nauwelijks bij te houden. Iedereen die een film draait in Frankrijk en het commerciële circuit wil omzeilen, doet er alles aan om op de Croisette te worden opgemerkt. Belle Epine van Rebecca Zlotowski uit 2010, die in het kader van de Semaine De La Critique werd vertoond, veroorzaakte wel geen aardverschuiving, maar was nog maar eens de bevestiging van het feit dat de jonge Léa Seydoux, die eerder al in Lourdes schitterde, een actrice is die men in het oog moet houden. Op vijf jaar tijd is er veel gebeurd. Een film die de Gouden Palm wegkaapte (La Vie D’Adèle) en een plaatsje naast James Bond (Spectre) is niet bepaald niks te noemen. Net als in de bekroonde parel van Abdellatif Kechiche, vertolkt Seydoux ook in Belle Epine een meisje dat op zoek is naar zichzelf.

De moeder van Prudence (Léa Seydoux) is plotseling overleden waardoor het gezin Friedmann volledig uit elkaar valt. Haar nichtje Sonia (Anaïs Demoustier) probeert haar op het rechte spoor te houden door haar geregeld wat goede raad te geven, maar eigenlijk moet Prudence het zelf zien te rooien. Ze stelt zich niet alleen vragen over het leven, maar net als ieder jong meisje denkt ze na over seksualiteit. Soms beweert men wel eens dat je eigen gedrag afhankelijk is van het soort vrienden dat je kiest, en deze stelling geldt zeker voor Prudence als ze met Maryline (Agathe Schenkler) begint op te trekken. Ze raakt betrokken bij winkeldiefstallen, maar voelt zich ook aangetrokken door een bende jongelui die met hun motors de straten van Rungis onveilig maken. Omdat Prudence voelt dat er in haar eigen familie (als die nog bestaat) geen plek voor haar is, wil ze deel uitmaken van de motorbende. De enige manier om dat te doen is (volgens haar) naar bed gaan met één van de jongens.

Misschien ligt het wel aan de motorraces, maar ik kon niet anders dan denken aan Spetters van Paul Verhoeven toen ik Belle Epine zag. Het zijn niet alleen de brullende motoren waardoor ik de vergelijking maak, ook is er de zoektocht naar de eigen seksualiteit en natuurlijk speelt er ook een jonge vrouw in mee die zonder enige moeite alle aandacht naar zich toetrekt. Léa Seydoux is niet alleen bloedstollend mooi, haar gezicht, dat een zekere tristesse uitstraalt, is gewoon geschapen voor het witte doek. Belle Epine is zeker niet haar beste, want daarvoor is het verhaal net iets te kort (80 minuten), maar tevens een tikkeltje te oppervlakkig. Wel schetst Zlotowski een prachtig beeld van de moderne jeugd die met zichzelf overhoop ligt.

Belle Epine van Rebecca Zlotowski schetst een mooi (misschien soms te oppervlakkig) portret van een jong meisje dat door de dood van haar moeder op zoek gaat naar zichzelf. Je kan op het einde van de film moeilijk beweren dat ze heeft gevonden wat ze zocht, maar de cinefiel die van Franse film houdt is er wel een kleine parel rijker mee.

Didier BECU
03/07/2015


03/07/2015 : REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI - Belle Epine 03/07/2015 : REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI - Belle Epine 03/07/2015 : REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI - Belle Epine 03/07/2015 : REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI - Belle Epine 03/07/2015 : REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI - Belle Epine 03/07/2015 : REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI - Belle Epine 03/07/2015 : REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI - Belle Epine 03/07/2015 : REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI - Belle Epine 03/07/2015 : REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI - Belle Epine 03/07/2015 : REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI - Belle Epine 03/07/2015 : REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI - Belle Epine 03/07/2015 : REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI - Belle Epine

 

Next reviews
METALTECH • Burn Your Planet
VITA NOCTIS • No Place For You
DRP • Peace Offensive
JOHAN VAN ROY (SUICIDE COMMANDO) • Ten albums that changed my life
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Dependence 2015
UMANZUKI • Porta
SIN DNA • Iconoclast
PAUL THOMAS ANDERSON • Inherent Vice
ALAN TAYLOR • TERMINATOR GENISYS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The Happier Hunting Ground / Dance of The Guilty

 

Same combination of genres: ARTHOUSE + COMING OF AGE
DANIEL BORGMAN • The Weight Of Elephants
FERNANDO EIMBCKE • Club Sandwich
MARCO FERRERI • Storia Di Piera
GREGG ARAKI • White Bird In A Blizzard (FilmFest Ghent 2014)
LARS VON TRIER • Nymphomaniac
GREGG ARAKI • Nowhere
GREGG ARAKI • The Doom Generation

 

Same genre: ARTHOUSE
BERTRAND BONELLO • L'Apollonide (Souvenirs de la maison close)
NURI BILGE CEYLAN • Winter Sleep
FEDERICO FELLINI • Il Casanova
SOPHIE SCHOUKENS • Marieke, Marieke
RYAN GOSLING • Lost River
PETER GREENAWAY • Eisenstein In Guanajuato
ALBERT SERRA • Story Of My Death (Historia De La Meva Mort)
KORNEL MUNDRUCZO • White God
JAFAR PANAHI • Taxi Teheran
PAUL WRIGHT • For Those In Peril

 

Same genre: COMING OF AGE
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Marielle Heller: The Diary Of A Teenage Girl
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Larry Clark: The Smell Of Us
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Cividino: Sleeping Giant
LUKAS MOODYSSON • We Are The Best
LONE SCHERFIG • THe Riot Club
RICHARD BENJAMIN • Mermaids
JERZY SKOLIMOWSKI • Deep end
DAVID WNENDT • Feuchtgebiete
JIM ABRAHAMS • Welcome Home Roxy Carmichael

Music reviews

20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
10
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me