tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

03/07/2015 : REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI - Belle Epine

REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI

Belle Epine

MovieMovie classics
ArthouseComing Of Age

[80/100]   

Filmfreaks
03/07/2015, Didier BECU

EN

It is hard to keep up the number of French films that are screened at the filmfestival of Cannes every year. Anyone who makes a movie in France and chooses to escape the commercial circuit, will do everything to get noticed on the Croisette. Belle Epine by Rebecca Zlotowski from 2010 was selected for the Semaine de la Critique. It wasn’t an earthquake, but still another confirmation that the young Léa Seydoux, who earlier starred in Lourdes, is an actress to keep in mind. In five years time a lot has happened. A film that won the Golden Palm (La Vie D'Adele) and a place alongside James Bond (Spectre) can’t be called nothing. Just as in the award-winning gem of Abdellatif Kechiche, Seydoux plays a girl in search of herself.

The mother of Prudence (Léa Seydoux) has suddenly deceased. The family Friedmann completely falls apart. Her niece Sonia (Anaïs Demoustier) tries to keep her on track by giving the youngster some good advice, but Prudence is on her own. She envisions questions about life, and just like any young girl she thinks about sexuality. Some claim that our behaviour depends on the kind of friends we choose, a statement that certainly applies to Prudence when she starts hanging out with Maryline (Agathe Schenkler). She starts shoplifting and feels attracted to a gang of young bikers. As Prudence feels that there is no place for her in her own family, she wants to be part of the motorcycle gang. The only way to do that is (according to her) to sleep with one of the boys.

Maybe it's because of the races, but I had Spetters in mind when I saw Belle Epine. Just like in Paul Verhoeven’s masterpiece we see a young woman who draws all the attention to herself. Léa Seydoux is not only a beauty, her face also radiates a certain sadness that is simply created for the big screen. Belle Epine is certainly not her best movie, because the story is just too short (80 minutes), but also a tad too shallow. Zlotowski portrays a beautiful picture of a young girl who is at odds with herself. At the end of the film you can hardly claim that she found a solution to her problems, but the cinephile who loves French movies has another pearl in his hands.

Didier BECU
03/07/2015


NL

In Cannes is het aantal Franse films dat je er jaarlijks kan zien nauwelijks bij te houden. Iedereen die een film draait in Frankrijk en het commerciële circuit wil omzeilen, doet er alles aan om op de Croisette te worden opgemerkt. Belle Epine van Rebecca Zlotowski uit 2010, die in het kader van de Semaine De La Critique werd vertoond, veroorzaakte wel geen aardverschuiving, maar was nog maar eens de bevestiging van het feit dat de jonge Léa Seydoux, die eerder al in Lourdes schitterde, een actrice is die men in het oog moet houden. Op vijf jaar tijd is er veel gebeurd. Een film die de Gouden Palm wegkaapte (La Vie D’Adèle) en een plaatsje naast James Bond (Spectre) is niet bepaald niks te noemen. Net als in de bekroonde parel van Abdellatif Kechiche, vertolkt Seydoux ook in Belle Epine een meisje dat op zoek is naar zichzelf.

De moeder van Prudence (Léa Seydoux) is plotseling overleden waardoor het gezin Friedmann volledig uit elkaar valt. Haar nichtje Sonia (Anaïs Demoustier) probeert haar op het rechte spoor te houden door haar geregeld wat goede raad te geven, maar eigenlijk moet Prudence het zelf zien te rooien. Ze stelt zich niet alleen vragen over het leven, maar net als ieder jong meisje denkt ze na over seksualiteit. Soms beweert men wel eens dat je eigen gedrag afhankelijk is van het soort vrienden dat je kiest, en deze stelling geldt zeker voor Prudence als ze met Maryline (Agathe Schenkler) begint op te trekken. Ze raakt betrokken bij winkeldiefstallen, maar voelt zich ook aangetrokken door een bende jongelui die met hun motors de straten van Rungis onveilig maken. Omdat Prudence voelt dat er in haar eigen familie (als die nog bestaat) geen plek voor haar is, wil ze deel uitmaken van de motorbende. De enige manier om dat te doen is (volgens haar) naar bed gaan met één van de jongens.

Misschien ligt het wel aan de motorraces, maar ik kon niet anders dan denken aan Spetters van Paul Verhoeven toen ik Belle Epine zag. Het zijn niet alleen de brullende motoren waardoor ik de vergelijking maak, ook is er de zoektocht naar de eigen seksualiteit en natuurlijk speelt er ook een jonge vrouw in mee die zonder enige moeite alle aandacht naar zich toetrekt. Léa Seydoux is niet alleen bloedstollend mooi, haar gezicht, dat een zekere tristesse uitstraalt, is gewoon geschapen voor het witte doek. Belle Epine is zeker niet haar beste, want daarvoor is het verhaal net iets te kort (80 minuten), maar tevens een tikkeltje te oppervlakkig. Wel schetst Zlotowski een prachtig beeld van de moderne jeugd die met zichzelf overhoop ligt.

Belle Epine van Rebecca Zlotowski schetst een mooi (misschien soms te oppervlakkig) portret van een jong meisje dat door de dood van haar moeder op zoek gaat naar zichzelf. Je kan op het einde van de film moeilijk beweren dat ze heeft gevonden wat ze zocht, maar de cinefiel die van Franse film houdt is er wel een kleine parel rijker mee.

Didier BECU
03/07/2015


03/07/2015 : REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI - Belle Epine 03/07/2015 : REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI - Belle Epine 03/07/2015 : REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI - Belle Epine 03/07/2015 : REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI - Belle Epine 03/07/2015 : REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI - Belle Epine 03/07/2015 : REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI - Belle Epine 03/07/2015 : REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI - Belle Epine 03/07/2015 : REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI - Belle Epine 03/07/2015 : REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI - Belle Epine 03/07/2015 : REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI - Belle Epine 03/07/2015 : REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI - Belle Epine 03/07/2015 : REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI - Belle Epine

 

Next reviews
METALTECH • Burn Your Planet
VITA NOCTIS • No Place For You
DRP • Peace Offensive
JOHAN VAN ROY (SUICIDE COMMANDO) • Ten albums that changed my life
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Dependence 2015
UMANZUKI • Porta
SIN DNA • Iconoclast
PAUL THOMAS ANDERSON • Inherent Vice
ALAN TAYLOR • TERMINATOR GENISYS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The Happier Hunting Ground / Dance of The Guilty

 

Same combination of genres: ARTHOUSE + COMING OF AGE
DANIEL BORGMAN • The Weight Of Elephants
FERNANDO EIMBCKE • Club Sandwich
MARCO FERRERI • Storia Di Piera
GREGG ARAKI • White Bird In A Blizzard (FilmFest Ghent 2014)
LARS VON TRIER • Nymphomaniac
GREGG ARAKI • Nowhere
GREGG ARAKI • The Doom Generation

 

Same genre: ARTHOUSE
FRED ABONG • Pulsing Ep
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
BERTRAND BONELLO • L'Apollonide (Souvenirs de la maison close)
NURI BILGE CEYLAN • Winter Sleep
FEDERICO FELLINI • Il Casanova
SOPHIE SCHOUKENS • Marieke, Marieke
RYAN GOSLING • Lost River
PETER GREENAWAY • Eisenstein In Guanajuato
ALBERT SERRA • Story Of My Death (Historia De La Meva Mort)

 

Same genre: COMING OF AGE
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Marielle Heller: The Diary Of A Teenage Girl
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Larry Clark: The Smell Of Us
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Cividino: Sleeping Giant
LUKAS MOODYSSON • We Are The Best
LONE SCHERFIG • THe Riot Club
RICHARD BENJAMIN • Mermaids
JERZY SKOLIMOWSKI • Deep end
DAVID WNENDT • Feuchtgebiete
JIM ABRAHAMS • Welcome Home Roxy Carmichael

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
NOISE
Quiet
25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis