tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

26/12/2014 : MARCO FERRERI - Storia Di Piera

MARCO FERRERI

Storia Di Piera

MovieMovie classics
ArthouseComing Of AgeDrama

[90/100]   

Homescreen
26/12/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Some time ago Homescreen released a remarkable film series about Italian cinematographic masterpieces.Thanks to modern classics as La Grande Bellezza or Il Capitale Umano Italian cinema is back (in the mid 80's it was stopped). A reason for us to get some old Italian masterpieces from the dusty basement. After City of Women by Federico Fellini, we take a look at Storia di Piera, that was directed three years later.

The creator of this very remarkable film is Marco Ferreri, a known director among connoisseurs. He is the man who is responsible for controversial classics as La Grande Bouffe or Tales Of Ordinary Madness, featuring a scene with Ornella Muti no one can forget. Storia di Piera is also a film cinephiles in the 80’s have talked about. We deliberately write the term cinephile, because this movie was clearly intended for the arthouse audience. Leading actress Hanna Schygulla (the muse of Fassbinder ) even won a Golden Palm for Best Actress.

The story is pretty confusing and so daring that today it would be impossible to release such a film without being exiled to Elba. In an unnamed village we follow the nymphomaniac Eugenia (Hanna Schygulla), who is married to Professor Lorenzo (Marcello Mastroianni). When she gives birth to Piera, she has little interest for her daughter. As a sort of revenge, she raises her daughter with her own dissolute standards.

There is a lot to say about this film adaptation of the autobiography of actress Piera Degli Esposti. There are frequent references to incest (both with mother and father), and it is far from normal that a teenage girl (Bettina Gruhn) plays such a role. And then of course there is Isabelle Huppert, who plays the adult Piera and is always prepared to provoke the audience.

Anyway, with provocations alone you do not make a good movie, but Ferreri is a decent filmmaker who was inspired by the Fellini films of the 70’s and that causes cinematic fireworks.

Not everyone will agree that a film like Storia di Piera should be made. Too bad for them, they do not know what they are missing !

Didier BECU
26/12/2014


NL

Een hele poos geleden verscheen bij Homescreen een opmerkelijke filmreeks met als titel De Italiaanse Magistralen: een vlag die de lading dekt. Dankzij moderne meesterwerken als La Grande Bellezza of Il Capitale Umano kwam recentelijk de Italiaanse cinema (die midden jaren 80 wat was stilgevallen) opnieuw in de schijnwerper, reden voor ons om wat oude Italiaanse meesterwerken uit de stoffige kelder te halen. Na La Città Delle Donne van Federico Fellini, willen we het eventjes hebben over Storia Di Piera, die drie jaar later is gedraaid.

De maker van deze zeer merkwaardige film is Marco Ferreri, een naam die kenners doet likkebaarden. Hij is immers de man die verantwoordelijk is voor controversiële klassiekers als La Grande Bouffe of de Charles Bukowski-verfilming Tales Of Ordinary Madness met een beeld van Ornella Muti dat geen mens kan vergeten. Ook Storia Di Piera is een film waarover cinefielen in de jaren 80 nog lang hebben nagepraat. We schrijven doelbewust het woord cinefiel, want deze film was overduidelijk voor het arthousepubliek bedoeld. Hoofdrolspeelster Hanna Schygulla (de muze van Fassbinder) hield er zelfs een Gouden Palm voor de beste actrice aan over.

Het verhaal is vrij verwarrend en zo gedurfd dat het vandaag onmogelijk zou zijn om deze film uit te brengen zonder naar Elba te worden verbannen. In een niet nader genoemd dorpje volgen we de nymfomane Eugenia (Hanna Schygulla) die getrouwd is met professor Lorenzo (Marcello Mastroianni). Als zij bevalt van Piera heeft zij maar weinig interesse voor haar dochtertje. Uit wraak voedt zij haar dochter op volgens haar eigen losbandige normen.

Er valt heel wat te vertellen over deze verfilming van de autobiografie van actrice Piera Degli Esposti. Er zijn regelmatig verwijzingen naar incest (zowel met de moeder als de vader), en het is allesbehalve vanzelfsprekend om een tienermeisje (in dit geval Bettina Grühn) een degelijke rol te laten spelen. En dan is er natuurlijk ook Isabelle Huppert, die de volwassen Piera vertolkt en zelf nooitte verlegen is om te provoceren.

Maar goed, met provocaties alleen maak je nog geen goede film. Gelukkig is Ferreri een degelijke cineast die overduidelijk de mosterd haalt bij de Fellini-films uit de jaren 70, wat natuurlijk cinematografisch vuurwerk oplevert.

Niet iedereen zal vinden dat een film als Storia Di Piera kan. Jammer voor hen, ze weten niet wat ze missen!

Didier BECU
26/12/2014


26/12/2014 : MARCO FERRERI - Storia Di Piera 26/12/2014 : MARCO FERRERI - Storia Di Piera 26/12/2014 : MARCO FERRERI - Storia Di Piera 26/12/2014 : MARCO FERRERI - Storia Di Piera 26/12/2014 : MARCO FERRERI - Storia Di Piera 26/12/2014 : MARCO FERRERI - Storia Di Piera 26/12/2014 : MARCO FERRERI - Storia Di Piera 26/12/2014 : MARCO FERRERI - Storia Di Piera 26/12/2014 : MARCO FERRERI - Storia Di Piera 26/12/2014 : MARCO FERRERI - Storia Di Piera 26/12/2014 : MARCO FERRERI - Storia Di Piera 26/12/2014 : MARCO FERRERI - Storia Di Piera 26/12/2014 : MARCO FERRERI - Storia Di Piera 26/12/2014 : MARCO FERRERI - Storia Di Piera 26/12/2014 : MARCO FERRERI - Storia Di Piera 26/12/2014 : MARCO FERRERI - Storia Di Piera

 

Next reviews
ADAM WINGARD • A Horrible Way To Die
BORIS BLANK • Electrified
FUTURE OLD PEOPLE ARE WIZARDS • Fauxpaw
HARRY MERRY • Orama A-Delic Palooza O-Matic
• PEAKY BLINDERS
RICHARD STARZAK • SHAUN THE SHEEP - WINTER FUN
JIM ABRAHAMS • Welcome Home Roxy Carmichael
WALTER HILL • 48 Hrs.
BIG COUNTRY • Steeltown (Deluxe)
• BIMFEST 2014 DAY 1 FT. AGENT SIDE GRINDER, GAYTRON & BORGHESIA

 

Other reviews from MARCO FERRERI
MARCO FERRERI • La Grande Bouffe

 

Same combination of genres: ARTHOUSE + COMING OF AGE + DRAMA
LARS VON TRIER • Nymphomaniac
GREGG ARAKI • Nowhere

 

Same genre: ARTHOUSE
FRED ABONG • Pulsing Ep
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
BERTRAND BONELLO • L'Apollonide (Souvenirs de la maison close)
NURI BILGE CEYLAN • Winter Sleep
FEDERICO FELLINI • Il Casanova
SOPHIE SCHOUKENS • Marieke, Marieke
RYAN GOSLING • Lost River
PETER GREENAWAY • Eisenstein In Guanajuato
ALBERT SERRA • Story Of My Death (Historia De La Meva Mort)

 

Same genre: COMING OF AGE
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Marielle Heller: The Diary Of A Teenage Girl
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Larry Clark: The Smell Of Us
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Cividino: Sleeping Giant
REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI • Belle Epine
LUKAS MOODYSSON • We Are The Best
LONE SCHERFIG • THe Riot Club
RICHARD BENJAMIN • Mermaids
DANIEL BORGMAN • The Weight Of Elephants
FERNANDO EIMBCKE • Club Sandwich

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amenábar: Regression
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Thomas Bidegain: Les Cowboys

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVENANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire