tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

25/06/2015 : ALBERT SERRA - Story Of My Death (Historia De La Meva Mort)

ALBERT SERRA

Story Of My Death (Historia De La Meva Mort)

MusicCD
ArthouseDrama

[68/100]   

Second Run DVD
25/06/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Albert Serra is a typical name that is often cited by critics, while the average movie fan has never heard of this Catalan. The big reason is because his cinema is aimed at the cinephile. Serra is not the kind of artist who makes many concessions, for instance he’s keen on the fact that his actors are unknowns. Even the story doesn’t interest him. If it has no value, than images should suffice. Because there is not always a distributor for his films, they are rarely shown in regular cinemas, but they often get a viewing during retrospectives at cultural centers. And not the small ones only, recently there was a tribute about him in both the Pompidou Centre and the Cinematek in Brussels. If that does not convince you, maybe we can add that Les Cahiers du Cinema listed his second film Honor de Cavalleria in their top 10 list in 2007. And then there is of course the triumph of Historia De La Mort Meva that won in 2013 at the Locarno Film Festival the Golden Leopard.

It is not easy to tell the story, simply because there is no real story. Serra pictures Casanova as we have never seen before. The title of the film is not coincidentally named The Story Of My Death, because the Casanova biography is titled Story of My Life. Casanova (Vincente Altaió) is not the kind of womanizer as we know from the Heath Ledger films, but rather the one of the Federico Fellini version. A fiend that only loves himself and uses his fellow man. Casanova is a real dandy. He knows all about the philosophical writings of the 18th century, but the real world goes completely past him, just because he no longer understands it. We'll see frenzied scenes in which Casanova is seeking the pleasures of flesh, but his white powdered face betrays his doubts. His life changes even more when he meets Dracula (Eliseu Huertas) who symbolizes death. The Serra films are extremely slow and are mainly focused on the images (it is obvious that the Taviani brothers and Passolini were an inspiration for him). At first sight you think the films of this Catalan artist require much effort from the viewer, but on the other hand they are easy because Serra links the mystical thoughts with everyday life that makes everything extremely recognizable.

As a bonus you'll find the short film Cuba Libre which is a his homage to his idol Rainer Werner Fassbinder.

Those who are keen on Taviani and Passolini better give Historia De La Mort Meva a chance. Out now on Second Run DVD.

Didier BECU
25/06/2015


NL

Albert Serra is zo’n typische naam die je eigenlijk alleen maar uit de monden van critici hoort vallen, terwijl de doorsnee filmliefhebber nog nooit van deze Catalaan heeft gehoord. De grote reden daarvan is ontgetwijfeld omdat zijn filmkunst specifiek op de cinefiel is gericht. Serra is niet het soort kunstenaar dat vlug toegevingen doet. Zo wil hij bijv. niet weten van digitale opnames of staat hij erop dat zijn acteurs onbekenden zijn. Zelfs het verhaal interesseert hem weinig of niet. Als dat geen meerwaarde heeft, dan moeten beelden volstaan, aldus Serra. Omdat er niet altijd een distributeur voor zijn films beschikbaar is, worden die bij ons zelden of nooit in de reguliere bioscopen vertoond, maar krijgen ze een viewing tijdens één of ander retrospectief in een cultureel centra. Niet dat we het meteen over de parochiezaal achter de kerk hebben, recent nog liep er een hommage over hem in zowel de Centre Pompidou als in de Cinematek van Brussel. Mocht dat je niet overtuigen, kunnen we er misschien aan toevoegen dat Les Cahiers Du Cinema zijn tweede film Honor De Cavallería een plaatsje in hun top 10 lijstje van 2007 gaf. En dan is er natuurlijk de triomftocht van Historia De La Meva Mort die in 2013 op het Filmfestival van Locarno de Gouden Luipaard won.

Het verhaal navertellen is niet gemakkelijk, gewoonweg omdat er geen echt verhaal is. Serra brengt een Casanova in beeld zoals we nog nooit hebben gezien. De film van de titel is niet voor niets The Story Of My Death, want de Casanova-biografie heeft de titel Story of My Life. Casanova (Vicenç Altaió) is geen vrouwenveroveraar zoals we die uit de Heath Ledger-films kennen, maar eerder die uit de Federico Fellini-versie. Een onmens die alleen van zichzelf houdt en zijn medemens gewoon gebruikt. Casanova is een echte dandy. Hij weet alles over de filosofische geschriften uit de achttiende eeuw, toch gaat de wereld volledig aan hem voorbij, gewoon omdat hij die niet meer begrijpt. We zien wel uitzinnige scènes waarin Casanova zich overgeeft aan de lusten van het vlees, zijn wit gepoederd gezicht daarentegen straalt alleen maar twijfel uit. Zijn leven verandert nog meer wanneer hij samen met zijn knecht Dracula (Eliseu Huertas) ontmoet. Deze Dracula heeft wel vampiertanden, meer moet je van hem niet verwachten, eigenlijk staat hij symbool voor de dood. De films van Serra zijn uiterst traag en concentreren zich vooral op de beelden (het is overduidelijk dat de broertjes Taviani en Passolini een inspiratiebron voor hem zijn). Enerzijds vergen de films van deze Catalaanse kunstenaar veel inspanningen van de kijker, anderzijds is het eenvoudig omdat Serra het mystieke met het alledaagse leven linkt waardoor alles uiterst herkenbaar wordt.

Als bonus vind je hier de kortfilm Cuba Libre wat Serra als zijn ode aan zijn idool Rainer Werner Fassbinder beschouwt. De cineast doet er trouwens alles aan om ook fysiek op hem te gelijken. Veel gebeurt er niet. We zien een zanger wat nummertjes opvoeren terwijl cafégasten het “spektakel” bekijken.

Het aantal mensen dat bereid is om deze pil te slikken zal wellicht op één hand te tellen zijn. Ieder zijn meug, maar wie van Taviani en Passolini houdt kan maar beter Historia De La Meva Mort een kans geven, de kans is inderdaad zeer groot…

Didier BECU
25/06/2015


25/06/2015 : ALBERT SERRA - Story Of My Death (Historia De La Meva Mort) 25/06/2015 : ALBERT SERRA - Story Of My Death (Historia De La Meva Mort) 25/06/2015 : ALBERT SERRA - Story Of My Death (Historia De La Meva Mort) 25/06/2015 : ALBERT SERRA - Story Of My Death (Historia De La Meva Mort) 25/06/2015 : ALBERT SERRA - Story Of My Death (Historia De La Meva Mort) 25/06/2015 : ALBERT SERRA - Story Of My Death (Historia De La Meva Mort) 25/06/2015 : ALBERT SERRA - Story Of My Death (Historia De La Meva Mort) 25/06/2015 : ALBERT SERRA - Story Of My Death (Historia De La Meva Mort) 25/06/2015 : ALBERT SERRA - Story Of My Death (Historia De La Meva Mort) 25/06/2015 : ALBERT SERRA - Story Of My Death (Historia De La Meva Mort) 25/06/2015 : ALBERT SERRA - Story Of My Death (Historia De La Meva Mort) 25/06/2015 : ALBERT SERRA - Story Of My Death (Historia De La Meva Mort)

 

Next reviews
JEAN-MARC LEDERMAN • Ten albums that changed my life.
FFS • Franz Ferdinand & Sparks
RABBIT AT WAR • A Band to Discover
• MAJOR CRIMES SEASON 2
ATARAXIE • Slow Transcending Agony (10 year anniversary release)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Dependence 2015 (next level electronics)
PETE DOCTOR • Inside Out
PETER STRICKLAND • The Duke Of Burgundy
KARSTEN PFLUM • Dode
• HAPPY VALLEY SEASON 1

 

Same combination of genres: ARTHOUSE + DRAMA
BERTRAND BONELLO • L'Apollonide (Souvenirs de la maison close)
NURI BILGE CEYLAN • Winter Sleep
SOPHIE SCHOUKENS • Marieke, Marieke
RYAN GOSLING • Lost River
PAUL WRIGHT • For Those In Peril
STEPHANE DUMOUSTIER • Terre Battue
KARIM ANOUIZ • Praia Do Futuro
ALIX DELAPORTE • Angèle Et Tony
PHILIP GRONING • Die Frau Des Polizisten
CATHERINE BREILLAT • Romance

 

Same genre: ARTHOUSE
FRED ABONG • Pulsing Ep
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
FEDERICO FELLINI • Il Casanova
PETER GREENAWAY • Eisenstein In Guanajuato
REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI • Belle Epine
KORNEL MUNDRUCZO • White God
JAFAR PANAHI • Taxi Teheran
VERA CHYTILOVA • Fruit Of Paradise
STEFAN HAUPT • Sagrada, Il Misteri de la Creació

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amenábar: Regression

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover