tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

25/06/2015 : ALBERT SERRA - Story Of My Death (Historia De La Meva Mort)

ALBERT SERRA

Story Of My Death (Historia De La Meva Mort)

MusicCD
ArthouseDrama

[68/100]   

Second Run DVD
25/06/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Albert Serra is a typical name that is often cited by critics, while the average movie fan has never heard of this Catalan. The big reason is because his cinema is aimed at the cinephile. Serra is not the kind of artist who makes many concessions, for instance he’s keen on the fact that his actors are unknowns. Even the story doesn’t interest him. If it has no value, than images should suffice. Because there is not always a distributor for his films, they are rarely shown in regular cinemas, but they often get a viewing during retrospectives at cultural centers. And not the small ones only, recently there was a tribute about him in both the Pompidou Centre and the Cinematek in Brussels. If that does not convince you, maybe we can add that Les Cahiers du Cinema listed his second film Honor de Cavalleria in their top 10 list in 2007. And then there is of course the triumph of Historia De La Mort Meva that won in 2013 at the Locarno Film Festival the Golden Leopard.

It is not easy to tell the story, simply because there is no real story. Serra pictures Casanova as we have never seen before. The title of the film is not coincidentally named The Story Of My Death, because the Casanova biography is titled Story of My Life. Casanova (Vincente Altaió) is not the kind of womanizer as we know from the Heath Ledger films, but rather the one of the Federico Fellini version. A fiend that only loves himself and uses his fellow man. Casanova is a real dandy. He knows all about the philosophical writings of the 18th century, but the real world goes completely past him, just because he no longer understands it. We'll see frenzied scenes in which Casanova is seeking the pleasures of flesh, but his white powdered face betrays his doubts. His life changes even more when he meets Dracula (Eliseu Huertas) who symbolizes death. The Serra films are extremely slow and are mainly focused on the images (it is obvious that the Taviani brothers and Passolini were an inspiration for him). At first sight you think the films of this Catalan artist require much effort from the viewer, but on the other hand they are easy because Serra links the mystical thoughts with everyday life that makes everything extremely recognizable.

As a bonus you'll find the short film Cuba Libre which is a his homage to his idol Rainer Werner Fassbinder.

Those who are keen on Taviani and Passolini better give Historia De La Mort Meva a chance. Out now on Second Run DVD.

Didier BECU
25/06/2015


NL

Albert Serra is zo’n typische naam die je eigenlijk alleen maar uit de monden van critici hoort vallen, terwijl de doorsnee filmliefhebber nog nooit van deze Catalaan heeft gehoord. De grote reden daarvan is ontgetwijfeld omdat zijn filmkunst specifiek op de cinefiel is gericht. Serra is niet het soort kunstenaar dat vlug toegevingen doet. Zo wil hij bijv. niet weten van digitale opnames of staat hij erop dat zijn acteurs onbekenden zijn. Zelfs het verhaal interesseert hem weinig of niet. Als dat geen meerwaarde heeft, dan moeten beelden volstaan, aldus Serra. Omdat er niet altijd een distributeur voor zijn films beschikbaar is, worden die bij ons zelden of nooit in de reguliere bioscopen vertoond, maar krijgen ze een viewing tijdens één of ander retrospectief in een cultureel centra. Niet dat we het meteen over de parochiezaal achter de kerk hebben, recent nog liep er een hommage over hem in zowel de Centre Pompidou als in de Cinematek van Brussel. Mocht dat je niet overtuigen, kunnen we er misschien aan toevoegen dat Les Cahiers Du Cinema zijn tweede film Honor De Cavallería een plaatsje in hun top 10 lijstje van 2007 gaf. En dan is er natuurlijk de triomftocht van Historia De La Meva Mort die in 2013 op het Filmfestival van Locarno de Gouden Luipaard won.

Het verhaal navertellen is niet gemakkelijk, gewoonweg omdat er geen echt verhaal is. Serra brengt een Casanova in beeld zoals we nog nooit hebben gezien. De film van de titel is niet voor niets The Story Of My Death, want de Casanova-biografie heeft de titel Story of My Life. Casanova (Vicenç Altaió) is geen vrouwenveroveraar zoals we die uit de Heath Ledger-films kennen, maar eerder die uit de Federico Fellini-versie. Een onmens die alleen van zichzelf houdt en zijn medemens gewoon gebruikt. Casanova is een echte dandy. Hij weet alles over de filosofische geschriften uit de achttiende eeuw, toch gaat de wereld volledig aan hem voorbij, gewoon omdat hij die niet meer begrijpt. We zien wel uitzinnige scènes waarin Casanova zich overgeeft aan de lusten van het vlees, zijn wit gepoederd gezicht daarentegen straalt alleen maar twijfel uit. Zijn leven verandert nog meer wanneer hij samen met zijn knecht Dracula (Eliseu Huertas) ontmoet. Deze Dracula heeft wel vampiertanden, meer moet je van hem niet verwachten, eigenlijk staat hij symbool voor de dood. De films van Serra zijn uiterst traag en concentreren zich vooral op de beelden (het is overduidelijk dat de broertjes Taviani en Passolini een inspiratiebron voor hem zijn). Enerzijds vergen de films van deze Catalaanse kunstenaar veel inspanningen van de kijker, anderzijds is het eenvoudig omdat Serra het mystieke met het alledaagse leven linkt waardoor alles uiterst herkenbaar wordt.

Als bonus vind je hier de kortfilm Cuba Libre wat Serra als zijn ode aan zijn idool Rainer Werner Fassbinder beschouwt. De cineast doet er trouwens alles aan om ook fysiek op hem te gelijken. Veel gebeurt er niet. We zien een zanger wat nummertjes opvoeren terwijl cafégasten het “spektakel” bekijken.

Het aantal mensen dat bereid is om deze pil te slikken zal wellicht op één hand te tellen zijn. Ieder zijn meug, maar wie van Taviani en Passolini houdt kan maar beter Historia De La Meva Mort een kans geven, de kans is inderdaad zeer groot…

Didier BECU
25/06/2015


25/06/2015 : ALBERT SERRA - Story Of My Death (Historia De La Meva Mort) 25/06/2015 : ALBERT SERRA - Story Of My Death (Historia De La Meva Mort) 25/06/2015 : ALBERT SERRA - Story Of My Death (Historia De La Meva Mort) 25/06/2015 : ALBERT SERRA - Story Of My Death (Historia De La Meva Mort) 25/06/2015 : ALBERT SERRA - Story Of My Death (Historia De La Meva Mort) 25/06/2015 : ALBERT SERRA - Story Of My Death (Historia De La Meva Mort) 25/06/2015 : ALBERT SERRA - Story Of My Death (Historia De La Meva Mort) 25/06/2015 : ALBERT SERRA - Story Of My Death (Historia De La Meva Mort) 25/06/2015 : ALBERT SERRA - Story Of My Death (Historia De La Meva Mort) 25/06/2015 : ALBERT SERRA - Story Of My Death (Historia De La Meva Mort) 25/06/2015 : ALBERT SERRA - Story Of My Death (Historia De La Meva Mort) 25/06/2015 : ALBERT SERRA - Story Of My Death (Historia De La Meva Mort)

 

Next reviews
JEAN-MARC LEDERMAN • Ten albums that changed my life.
FFS • Franz Ferdinand & Sparks
RABBIT AT WAR • A Band to Discover
• MAJOR CRIMES SEASON 2
ATARAXIE • Slow Transcending Agony (10 year anniversary release)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Dependence 2015 (next level electronics)
PETE DOCTOR • Inside Out
PETER STRICKLAND • The Duke Of Burgundy
KARSTEN PFLUM • Dode
• HAPPY VALLEY SEASON 1

 

Same combination of genres: ARTHOUSE + DRAMA
BERTRAND BONELLO • L'Apollonide (Souvenirs de la maison close)
NURI BILGE CEYLAN • Winter Sleep
SOPHIE SCHOUKENS • Marieke, Marieke
RYAN GOSLING • Lost River
PAUL WRIGHT • For Those In Peril
STEPHANE DUMOUSTIER • Terre Battue
KARIM ANOUIZ • Praia Do Futuro
ALIX DELAPORTE • Angèle Et Tony
PHILIP GRONING • Die Frau Des Polizisten
CATHERINE BREILLAT • Romance

 

Same genre: ARTHOUSE
FRED ABONG • Pulsing Ep
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
FEDERICO FELLINI • Il Casanova
PETER GREENAWAY • Eisenstein In Guanajuato
REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI • Belle Epine
KORNEL MUNDRUCZO • White God
JAFAR PANAHI • Taxi Teheran
VERA CHYTILOVA • Fruit Of Paradise
STEFAN HAUPT • Sagrada, Il Misteri de la Creació

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amenábar: Regression

Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu