tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

14/04/2015 : VERA CHYTILOVA - Fruit Of Paradise

VERA CHYTILOVA

Fruit Of Paradise

MovieMovie classics
Arthouse

[72/100]   

Second Run DVD
14/04/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Vera Chytilova’s Fruit of Paradise from 1970 begins with a prologue from the Bible. Right from the start it is clear that the Czech filmmaker choose a pervasive art form. Just as the whole film, the images are abstract,and Chytilová leaves it to the viewer to interpret her visual art. This film, which was honored at Cannes, is often compared to her masterpiece Daisies of 1966. At least with regard to style, because the story is completely different.

After Eve ate the forbidden fruit, we follow her with two men. On the one hand there is her husband who can’t get enough of the pleasures of earthly paradise, on the other hand there is the strange, almost dangerous Josef. Little by little Eva also has feelings for him.

It is very difficult to describe Fruit Of Paradise, and even harder to see a real story in it. This experimental film is primarily a visual gem that balances between the experimental and the burlesque. A strange mixture between psychedelica and slapstick. Sometimes it seems like Vera Chytilová works as an impressionist who is eager to use lots of colors, but who hardly wants to reveal her subject. The longer you look, the more you see, although it is a very individual experience. That is also true for to religious symbols. Vera Chytilová provides them, the viewer does with them what he wants. A feature that works for almost her entire oeuvre. This surrealist artist is quite often described as the epitome of feminist cinema. Although you can find that element in her work, she is more than that. If you are willing to experiment, you should give Fruit Of Paradise a chance, now out on DVD through Second Run DVD.

Didier BECU
14/04/2015


NL

Vera Chytilova's Fruit of Paradise uit 1970 begint met een proloog uit de Bijbel. Meteen vanaf de start wordt het duidelijk dat de Tsjechische cineaste voor een zeer eigenzinnige, weliswaar doordringende kunstvorm kiest. Net zoals de hele film, zijn haar beelden abstract en laat Chytilova het aan de kijker over om een interpretatie aan haar visuele kunst te geven. Deze film, die in Cannes werd gelauwerd, wordt vaak vergeleken met haar meesterwerk Daisies uit 1966. Ten minste wat de stijl betreft, want het verhaal is helemaal anders.

Nadat Eva van de verboden vrucht heeft gegeten, volgen we haar met twee mannen. Enerzijds is er haar echtgenoot die maar niet genoeg kan krijgen van de geneugten van het aardse paradijs, anderzijds heb je de vreemde, bijna gevaarlijke Josef. Beetje per beetje voelt Eva ook gevoelens voor hem.

Het is zeer moeilijk om Fruit Of Paradise te omschrijven, en nog moeilijker om er een echt verhaal in te zien. Deze experimentele film is in de eerste plaats een visuele parel, die balanceert tussen het experimentele en het burleske. Een vreemde mengeling tussen psychedelica en slapstick. Soms lijkt Vera Chytilova wel een impressionist die gretig is met het gebruik van kleuren, maar die nauwelijks haar subject prijs wil geven. Hoe langer je kijkt, hoe meer je ziet, alhoewel het uiteindelijk een zeer individuele beleving is. Dat is ook zo wat betreft de religieuze symbolen. Vera Chytilova reikt ze aan, de kijker doet ermee wat hij wil. Een kenmerk dat bijna voor heel haar oeuvre werkt. Deze surrealistische kunstenares wordt wel vaak omschreven als het toonbeeld van feministische cinema. Alhoewel je dat zonder twijfel in haar werk merkt, is ze echter meer dan dat. Wie bereid is om te experimenteren, moet Fruit Of Paradise eens proberen, nu uit op dvd via Second Run DVD.

Didier BECU
14/04/2015


14/04/2015 : VERA CHYTILOVA - Fruit Of Paradise 14/04/2015 : VERA CHYTILOVA - Fruit Of Paradise 14/04/2015 : VERA CHYTILOVA - Fruit Of Paradise 14/04/2015 : VERA CHYTILOVA - Fruit Of Paradise 14/04/2015 : VERA CHYTILOVA - Fruit Of Paradise 14/04/2015 : VERA CHYTILOVA - Fruit Of Paradise 14/04/2015 : VERA CHYTILOVA - Fruit Of Paradise 14/04/2015 : VERA CHYTILOVA - Fruit Of Paradise 14/04/2015 : VERA CHYTILOVA - Fruit Of Paradise 14/04/2015 : VERA CHYTILOVA - Fruit Of Paradise 14/04/2015 : VERA CHYTILOVA - Fruit Of Paradise 14/04/2015 : VERA CHYTILOVA - Fruit Of Paradise 14/04/2015 : VERA CHYTILOVA - Fruit Of Paradise 14/04/2015 : VERA CHYTILOVA - Fruit Of Paradise 14/04/2015 : VERA CHYTILOVA - Fruit Of Paradise

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
48 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
36 years of 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
22
05
41 years Spellbound!
19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
05
CONFLICT
Dont Panik Esssen
21
05
PUSSY RIOT
Depot Leuven
21
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Depot Leuven
21
05
HETZE
Depot Leuven
16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
LOVELESSLUST
Fashion - David Bowie tribute
25
05
CORPO-MENTE
Arsalein
24
05
ATARI TEENAGE RIOT
Adrenaline
23
05
MODEL DEPOSE
Nightwatch
22
05
MARBLE SOUNDS
Tout et Partout
21
05
MARISSA NADLER
All the Colors of the Dark
20
05
SYNDROME
Forever And A Day