tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

13/04/2015 : FATAL CASUALTIES - Psalm

FATAL CASUALTIES

Psalm

MusicCD
EBMIndustrialSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[90/100]   

Seja Records
13/04/2015, Britta Tabrit

Sometimes band histories start already early, right from the artists’ childhood. This time it all began in the late 70’s in Stockholm, Sweden, where Stefan Ljungdahl and Ivan Hirvonen grew up. Being friends from the playground times, they are now a quite well-known underground project.

Influenced by Depeche Mode, Skinny Puppy, Front 242 or The Cure, Fatal Casualties has developed its very own style throughout the early years until they split in 1991.

In 2010 the band and its spirits revived more or less by chance. The EP “Paria” was released in 2012. Lyrics in English, Swedish and also in Finnish make this project even more a self creation of two guys from a colorful and multicultural nation that nowadays forms the Swedish society.

The Psalm LP is a 9-tracks album. “Misanthropik Filth” is the opener. A calm, melodic song, varying in tempo. The lyrics become a bit stronger towards the end. You have to find the doorway to this kind of music first. It can take a few songs, but it makes you want to hear more for sure! “Död Man” is more an EBM song than an Industrial one. On the other hand the beat is really monotone. The vocals are minimalistic and whispered. Somehow an interesting sound moment and easier to catch than the first track.

“Skirk Tyst” can be called a “clear” EBM track what the beats are concerned. When it comes to the vocals, I have to say that it is once again not easy to keep the track playing. Somehow I get the feeling something is shady about it but I can’t figure it out. Maybe the whispering voices in the back create kind of a chaos in my ears. But not bad at all. I always accept new challenges!

“Laica” is the next one. A really calm song and believe it or not, this time it is not that hard to find. The song has a recognizable flow, the vocals are gentle and relaxing. One of my favorites!

“Somewhere In The Middle” might, at first hear, seem to be another dare. But after some time you find out that there is a great idea behind it. And in fact, this song is “somewhere in the middle” between the dark world and the bright shades of music. I really enjoyed this one as well!

“Jag Ar Slowburn” is a bit more difficult again for me. Hard to describe what kind of styles unite here. Something like EBM and instrumental atmospheric electro. Later the song becomes more fluent. But again Fatal Casualties shows that you can’t classify their music.

“New” can be categorized as an oldschool EBM track. It reminds me of Skinny Puppy’s early days. The Swedes manage to create a world around sparsely used vocals. I had to listen several times until I found the words for it. Something that seem to happen quite often when listening to their works for the first time.

Track 8 is called “Missfostret”. It follows track 7 as I would call it “oldschool” as well. Maybe also because the musical bow sounds like an old demo tape. I’m not sure if this happened accidentally or intentionally. But I don’t mind and leave this out of account here. I love this song. For me it is the best one on this record! Maybe because I’m an oldschool fan? Or because it offers you something that became rare these days. Simple and concise EBM music.

The last track has the expressive name “Slut”. I expected something wild and untamed. But I was completely wrong. A catchy rhythm, organ elements, mostly instrumental. My first thought was: that is the wrong end! There has to be something else here instead. But I think this fits Fatal Casualties and their unmistakable anarchy.

Thinking back on what I have just listened to, I come to the conclusion that you have to accept music the way it is. You have to free yourself from the given paths. If you succeed doing this you will surely get along with this LP even if it takes you some time to feel comfortable. But for me it was an irresistible adventure and I guess after some time I will re-play this record and I’m curious about my feelings then.

Britta Tabrit
13/04/2015


 

Next reviews
ALEXANDRE VOLKOFF • The House Of Mystery
RICHARD GLATZER & WASH WESTMORELAND • The Last Of Robin Hood
THURISAZ, DYSCORDIA, ITCHILIEN, VERMILION • Thurisaz releaseparty 3 april 2015, JH Den Tap Kuurne.
• A Band to Discover
EKCA LIENA • Graduals
NILS FRAHM • Solo
XAVIER DOLAN • Mommy
DEAN FRANCIS • Drown
KARIM ANOUIZ • Praia Do Futuro
BLACK EASTER FESTIVAL • Day 1, 4/4/2015 - Romance and profundity

 

Other reviews from FATAL CASUALTIES
FATAL CASUALTIES • SITM remixes
FATAL CASUALTIES • Paria

 

Same genre: EBM
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
ZWEITE JUGEND • Elektronische Körpermusik

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
XTORT • Nothing is real
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
HELIOPHILE • Permeate

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout