tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

10/04/2015 : BLACK EASTER FESTIVAL - Day 2, 5/4/2015 - Teutonic, creative and outstanding

BLACK EASTER FESTIVAL

Day 2, 5/4/2015 - Teutonic, creative and outstanding

Concert
10/04/2015

EN

Antwerp received some homegrown talent during Black Easter. On the first day we had Dark Poem, and on the second day we welcomed Lizard Smile. If you know them, then you are aware that they play bass, guitar and drummachine. Singer Beatnick doesn’t force his voice as low as he can. The melodic and danceable electronic touch gives the band a personal sound. They have released three CDs, on which they grow every time... When you are into goth rock, you surely should have their last release ‘State of Void’. Live they rock and the alternation between atmospheric pieces and songs makes them the perfect band to start the second day with.

Grausame Töchter – It literally means “cruel daughters”- they did everything they could to bring honor to theirt name. They brought a show with visual shocks by using sex, SM, murder and other symbolic acts. The most shocking things were for me and many others the pee- and sigaret scene. Musically, their set was alright but not all the songs were of the same level. The choreography was sometimes too overwhelming (dance, lights, screens…), but it was for sure a performance we won’ t easily forget. There were plenty of people around for the naked signing session as well.

The Breath of Life was more the band for idyllic atmospheres. They played a very pleasant set. From song 3 mockingbird Isabelle De Keyser came better through the sound installation. A beautiful and balanced set with songs from almost every album. Songs like the classic ‘Taste Of Sorrow’ and ‘Last Children’ to the recent ‘Whisphering Fields’ prove that they were a perfect name for the festival. We also heard The Valley, Down, Shining, Waiting the Shades, The Last Four Days, Naomina and of course Nasty Cloud.

Schneewittchen is a special case. The seven dwarfs stayed home, so we got a duo on stage. Marianne Iser has an impressive voice, especially live. At the beginning she was very open to the audience and tried to pull it into her world. After an hour I got the sense that the attention of the audience decreased slightly. But a good performance after all.

QNTAL has something to say. They released their first CD in seven years, VII. Dr. Michael Popp and Sigrid Hausen have also a lot of side projects: Estampie (more pure medieval folk), Al Andaluz Project (about the multicultural Spain in the middle ages) and Voca Me (women voices and Byzantian songs). So QNTAL, with its electronic processing of medieval songs,was on hold for some time. But after that little hiatus they returned with a brilliant CD. The reinforcement of violist and singer Mariko and keyboardplayer-producer Leon Rodt is an asset for the band. So we mostly got the newest songs, interspersed with classics like ‘Palestinasong’,’Veni Veni’ and the obligate valve ‘Ad Mortem Festinamus’.

After QNTAL we finally got the band most people came for. After the performance of Henke in 2013, the question arose as to a gig with the renewed Goethes Erben and so the organisers built a two days festival. Mindy Kumbalek already told us that she wasn't keen on playing live with the band again, so Henke collected nine people around him, part veterans and part new faces like eg. Sonja Kraushofer of L’ Ame Immortelle. This time Henke does more with the legacy of Goethes Erben. The band works on a music theatre piece ( Menschenstille, that will be performed in October) and already he has included several pieces of the performance in the setlist. Besides that they rearranged classics into new sounding songs. As a result this appearance was more than just a nostalgic trip. Goethes Erben is again a creative band that dares to deviate from the standard.

The day seemed pretty Teutonic, and with together with the bands of the first day, we may concvlude that Germany provided many good bands in the genre of profound and more experimental gothic. It adorns the organisators that they give some Belgian talent a place on stage, with a few Italian, French and English bands: an international line-up. Black Easter was pretty daring because these bands weren’ t that accessible. The festival was a success and we look forward to the second edition

Tekst: Xavier Kruth & Wim Guillemyn

Foto's: Marquis(pi)X


10/04/2015


NL

Nederlandstalige bespreking op www.darkentries.be


10/04/2015


10/04/2015 : BLACK EASTER FESTIVAL - Day 2, 5/4/2015 - Teutonic, creative and outstanding 10/04/2015 : BLACK EASTER FESTIVAL - Day 2, 5/4/2015 - Teutonic, creative and outstanding 10/04/2015 : BLACK EASTER FESTIVAL - Day 2, 5/4/2015 - Teutonic, creative and outstanding 10/04/2015 : BLACK EASTER FESTIVAL - Day 2, 5/4/2015 - Teutonic, creative and outstanding 10/04/2015 : BLACK EASTER FESTIVAL - Day 2, 5/4/2015 - Teutonic, creative and outstanding 10/04/2015 : BLACK EASTER FESTIVAL - Day 2, 5/4/2015 - Teutonic, creative and outstanding 10/04/2015 : BLACK EASTER FESTIVAL - Day 2, 5/4/2015 - Teutonic, creative and outstanding

Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
12
A Date In Camden | On this day 41 ago The Fall recorded Live At The Witch Trials!
14
12
On this day, 42 years ago, Joy Division recorded their very first EP, 'An Ideal for Living'!
14
12
London Calling | The Clash Masterpiece Is 40 Today!
11
12
The Mission - The United European Party Tour 2020
10
12
Postpunk pioneers The Membranes and Kitty Lectro team up for stunning 'Nocturnal' EP
10
12
Los Angeles Synth Act More Ephemerol Debuts New Single, 'Cult Classics'

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
12
FIX8:SED8
I Could Talk About The Wonder That Is Skinny Puppy For Hours
29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!

PHOTOS

09
12
MARK E MOON
Sportkafee Waregem
06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
12
TAINA
Seelenfresser
14
12
ME THE TIGER
Hollow
13
12
THE HUMAN LEAGUE
Open Your heart
12
12
AN PIERLE
The Golden Dawn
11
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE
Death by completion
10
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
Mambo Witch
09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes