tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

08/04/2015 : THE SOFT MOON - Deeper

THE SOFT MOON

Deeper

MusicCD
Dark WaveIndieIndustrialPost PunkShoegaze

[88/100]   

Captured Tracks
08/04/2015, Benny CALUWE

The Soft Moon is the one man project of Luis Vasquez. The Soft Moon’s music covers a wide range of genres including dark wave, EBM, industrial, post-punk, psychedelia, shoegaze and synthpop. For his third LP Deeper, Vasquez moved from Oakland, CA, to Venice where he worked together with producer Maurizio Baggio. Deeper is an applicable title as it is The Soft Moon’s most introspective and emotional album. The music used to sound rather minimal, but now it is richer and more complex with an increased vocal presence. 

After the short sullen soundscape Inward, the mechanical sounding Black kicks in with its throbbing industrial beat. The next track, Far, is my favourite. It starts with a pulsing bass and haunting synths – sounding as creepy as In Death It Ends. Then sparkling melodic guitars set in. It is a bleak but catchy song. “It kills me inside. Take me far away, to escape myself.”

The dense atmospheric Wasting is slow and dark with vocals reminiscent of Depeche Mode. Wrong sounds totally different with its hammering synths and strident beats. Try is a suicide song with a propulsive bass, hovering synths and guitars that remind me of The Cure’s Pornography period. Desertion is a danceable track with droning synths and desperate vocals. Whithout is a slow, sinister sounding dirge with a plunked piano. The existentional Feel is a bleak but accessible track with post punk guitars. The compelling title track starts with tribal drum patterns and becomes hypnotic. Being builds up to a noisy climax.

Some tracks on Deeper I liked immediately, but not all of them. Some tracks felt too bleak and too intricate. They needed time to grow on me. Or maybe I needed time to find my way through the sonic fog. But once you do, you discover a varied and vibrant album. Luis Vasquez understands the art of combining an eighties feel with a contemporary crispiness. 

Benny CALUWE
08/04/2015


 

Next reviews
STENDAL BLAST • Wir Ergeben Uns / Das Beste Zum Schluss
TI CHI NG & HERMAN YAU • The Second Coming
• ELEMENTARY SEASON 2
MARTIN BREST • Midnight Run
ETHAN FAWKES • War in my mind EP
THE ELWINS • Play For Keeps
AUTODAFEH • Digital Citizens
DAKTARI • Oorlogstaal
IVAN KAVANAGH • The Canal
JASON MOMOA • Road To Paloma

 

Other reviews from THE SOFT MOON
THE SOFT MOON • Zeros
THE SOFT MOON • The Soft Moon

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
JESU • When I Was Small
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
ALSO • Live in Celovec
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
03
No Time To Cry since 36 years!
08
03
Today, exactly 1 years ago, American industrial band Nine Inch Nails released The Downward Spiral!
07
03
Electronic Act IMBUED VAGARY Releases 6 CD Project – “Hexalogy”
07
03
33 years ago the Drag Queen of the 20th Century, Divine, passed away!
07
03
41 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released the single 'Happy House'!
05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
03
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
07
03
MARSHEAUX
Eyes Without A Face
06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You