tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

08/04/2015 : THE SOFT MOON - Deeper

THE SOFT MOON

Deeper

MusicCD
Dark WaveIndieIndustrialPost PunkShoegaze

[88/100]   

Captured Tracks
08/04/2015, Benny CALUWE

The Soft Moon is the one man project of Luis Vasquez. The Soft Moon’s music covers a wide range of genres including dark wave, EBM, industrial, post-punk, psychedelia, shoegaze and synthpop. For his third LP Deeper, Vasquez moved from Oakland, CA, to Venice where he worked together with producer Maurizio Baggio. Deeper is an applicable title as it is The Soft Moon’s most introspective and emotional album. The music used to sound rather minimal, but now it is richer and more complex with an increased vocal presence. 

After the short sullen soundscape Inward, the mechanical sounding Black kicks in with its throbbing industrial beat. The next track, Far, is my favourite. It starts with a pulsing bass and haunting synths – sounding as creepy as In Death It Ends. Then sparkling melodic guitars set in. It is a bleak but catchy song. “It kills me inside. Take me far away, to escape myself.”

The dense atmospheric Wasting is slow and dark with vocals reminiscent of Depeche Mode. Wrong sounds totally different with its hammering synths and strident beats. Try is a suicide song with a propulsive bass, hovering synths and guitars that remind me of The Cure’s Pornography period. Desertion is a danceable track with droning synths and desperate vocals. Whithout is a slow, sinister sounding dirge with a plunked piano. The existentional Feel is a bleak but accessible track with post punk guitars. The compelling title track starts with tribal drum patterns and becomes hypnotic. Being builds up to a noisy climax.

Some tracks on Deeper I liked immediately, but not all of them. Some tracks felt too bleak and too intricate. They needed time to grow on me. Or maybe I needed time to find my way through the sonic fog. But once you do, you discover a varied and vibrant album. Luis Vasquez understands the art of combining an eighties feel with a contemporary crispiness. 

Benny CALUWE
08/04/2015


 

Next reviews
STENDAL BLAST • Wir Ergeben Uns / Das Beste Zum Schluss
TI CHI NG & HERMAN YAU • The Second Coming
• ELEMENTARY SEASON 2
MARTIN BREST • Midnight Run
ETHAN FAWKES • War in my mind EP
THE ELWINS • Play For Keeps
AUTODAFEH • Digital Citizens
DAKTARI • Oorlogstaal
IVAN KAVANAGH • The Canal
JASON MOMOA • Road To Paloma

 

Other reviews from THE SOFT MOON
THE SOFT MOON • Zeros
THE SOFT MOON • The Soft Moon

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
XTORT • Nothing is real
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
07
0 years of Computer Love by Kraftwerk
10
07
This month it’s 28 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
09
07
Dutch electro pioneers, Minny Pops announce the release of a brand new double A-Side single!
08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
07
DON GORDON (NUMB)
'In many ways the first Numb album was one of the ‘easiest’ to produce...'
06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
07
SIRENIA
Once My Light
10
07
VIOLENT VICKIE
Dark Disorder
09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine