tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

08/04/2015 : THE SOFT MOON - Deeper

THE SOFT MOON

Deeper

MusicCD
Dark WaveIndieIndustrialPost PunkShoegaze

[88/100]   

Captured Tracks
08/04/2015, Benny CALUWE

The Soft Moon is the one man project of Luis Vasquez. The Soft Moon’s music covers a wide range of genres including dark wave, EBM, industrial, post-punk, psychedelia, shoegaze and synthpop. For his third LP Deeper, Vasquez moved from Oakland, CA, to Venice where he worked together with producer Maurizio Baggio. Deeper is an applicable title as it is The Soft Moon’s most introspective and emotional album. The music used to sound rather minimal, but now it is richer and more complex with an increased vocal presence. 

After the short sullen soundscape Inward, the mechanical sounding Black kicks in with its throbbing industrial beat. The next track, Far, is my favourite. It starts with a pulsing bass and haunting synths – sounding as creepy as In Death It Ends. Then sparkling melodic guitars set in. It is a bleak but catchy song. “It kills me inside. Take me far away, to escape myself.”

The dense atmospheric Wasting is slow and dark with vocals reminiscent of Depeche Mode. Wrong sounds totally different with its hammering synths and strident beats. Try is a suicide song with a propulsive bass, hovering synths and guitars that remind me of The Cure’s Pornography period. Desertion is a danceable track with droning synths and desperate vocals. Whithout is a slow, sinister sounding dirge with a plunked piano. The existentional Feel is a bleak but accessible track with post punk guitars. The compelling title track starts with tribal drum patterns and becomes hypnotic. Being builds up to a noisy climax.

Some tracks on Deeper I liked immediately, but not all of them. Some tracks felt too bleak and too intricate. They needed time to grow on me. Or maybe I needed time to find my way through the sonic fog. But once you do, you discover a varied and vibrant album. Luis Vasquez understands the art of combining an eighties feel with a contemporary crispiness. 

Benny CALUWE
08/04/2015


 

Next reviews
STENDAL BLAST • Wir Ergeben Uns / Das Beste Zum Schluss
TI CHI NG & HERMAN YAU • The Second Coming
• ELEMENTARY SEASON 2
MARTIN BREST • Midnight Run
ETHAN FAWKES • War in my mind EP
THE ELWINS • Play For Keeps
AUTODAFEH • Digital Citizens
DAKTARI • Oorlogstaal
IVAN KAVANAGH • The Canal
JASON MOMOA • Road To Paloma

 

Other reviews from THE SOFT MOON
THE SOFT MOON • Zeros
THE SOFT MOON • The Soft Moon

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
PARTIKUL • Having Gone
THIS VALE OF TEARS • This Vale Of Tears
KILL SHELTER • Asylum
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
MOVMENT • Transformation
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park

 

Same genre: INDIE
WHISPERING SONS • The Great Calm
DEZ MONA • LOOSE ENDS
SJOBLOM • Tape
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
DARKVOLT • Electric Angel
BHPL • II
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
AGENT SIDE GRINDER • Jack Vegas
AGENT SIDE GRINDER • Jack Vegas
CUT • Dead City Nights
NEL & JP • Zelfbeeld van Denaldie
THE GODFATHERS • ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
FEATHER TRADE • Dead Boy
A SLICE OF LIFE • Tabula Rasa
SYGO CRIES • In Outside Places
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS

Music reviews

27
02
WHISPERING SONS
The Great Calm
22
02
YOUR ENEMY
Broken Toys
21
02
XTORT
Zwart
03
02
MERCIFUL NUNS
Oneironauts
02
02
ANTLER RECORDS
Early Years Vol 1
01
02
YELWORC
The Ghosts I Called

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
02
38 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!
25
02
Today it's exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 5 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 46 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
24.2.24 International EBM day is coming closer!
20
02
This Charming Band | 40 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album

Concert reviews

16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023
06
05
SIOUXSIE
The glorious resurrection after ten years of silence.

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
ELEKTRIKILL
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Band, Elektrikill
03
02
HAMMERSHOI
French works well with these musical genres. It’s not like rock’n roll in French! It sucks, no ?
27
01
PAS MUSIQUE
An Interview With Pas Musique
26
01
TRAGIC VISIONS
An Interview With EBM/Industrial Band, Tragic Visions
22
01
CAT RAPES DOG
'We will try to put as much energy as possible into our performance. There will be no power ballads!'

PHOTOS

19
02
EKLIPSE FORCED TO MODE ONE CARESS TOUR
Christuskirche Bochum
18
02
LA MUERTE
Bélvèdere Namen
18
02
STIN SCATZOR
Bélvèdere Namen
18
02
GOETHES ERBEN
Cc De Schakel Waregem
18
02
THE ARCH
Cc De Schakel Waregem
18
02
LEBANON HANOVER
Christuskirche Bochum
11
02
SELOFAN
JunkYard Dortmund

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
02
VIOLENT VICKIE
Cicle Square
27
02
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
26
02
MONICA RICHARDS
Into My Own
25
02
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
24
02
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
23
02
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
22
02
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies