tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd (ep) review

07/04/2015 : ETHAN FAWKES - War in my mind EP

ETHAN FAWKES

War in my mind EP

MusicCD (EP)
IndustrialNoise

[95/100]   

Club Poison
07/04/2015, Britta Tabrit

After his album “Symptom of Apocalypse”, the Belgian DJ, producer, remixer, writer and singer Ethan Fawkes batters us with a new EP called “War in my mind”.

The EP contains 5 tracks, of which 3 are remixes of the song “War for nothing”, mixed by Chris Collins, Pzylo and 2Junxion.

Track 1 “War for nothing” is the original version. It demonstrates Fawkes’ renowned way to combine TBM and Noise Industrial and to create an explosive mixture of the futility of war and his ability to transmit this via hard electronic strains.

Track 2 is called “Fire in my mind”. This song is another TBM crunch that somehow appears to be something like the prolongation of track 1. The rude sounds and the names unite the two songs, that form a monstrous hybrid.

The Chris Collins Propaganda Remix of “War for nothing” interrupts the unity of the first two tracks. Chris Collins pushes the song to a new dimension. More danceable, but not in the least unvicious. If you thought that after track 1 and 2 you deserved a break ,you are seriously mistaken. The martial jaunt continues.

The Pzylo Remix is clearly a dance track. The roaring elements are more or less removed, the main theme becomes pushy. Somehow this is the badly needed relief after the militant stomp of the previous strongholds. But don’t celebrate just yet…..

The last remix by 2Junxion is the acid reflux of this destructive meal.

The Acid/Techno combo switches completely to a different world, but never loses sight of Ethan Fawkes’ central statement of “War for nothing”. An interesting side trip to a congeneric music genre!

All in all Ethan Fawkes’ latest EP won’t let you down. Two songs that show his brute force once again, and 3 well compatible remixes grouped around the idea of war call into existence another sound-storm at its finest!

 

Check Ethan Fawkes on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ethanfawkes.official?fref=ts

HP: http://www.ethanfawkes.com/

Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/clubpoison/sets/ethan-fawkes-war-in-my-mind-club-poison-004

Britta Tabrit
07/04/2015


 

Next reviews
THE ELWINS • Play For Keeps
AUTODAFEH • Digital Citizens
DAKTARI • Oorlogstaal
IVAN KAVANAGH • The Canal
JASON MOMOA • Road To Paloma
• PENNY DREADFUL SEASON 1
CELLDWELLER • End Of An Empire - Dreams EP
NURIA GRAHAM • Bird Eyes
STEVE MCQUEEN • 12 Years A Slave
ADAN & ILSE • Cold Diamonds

 

Other reviews from ETHAN FAWKES
ETHAN FAWKES • Evil In Veins
ETHAN FAWKES • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
ETHAN FAWKES • Symptom of Apocalypse
ETHAN FAWKES • ALL YOUR LIES

 

Same combination of genres: INDUSTRIAL + NOISE
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Hands Label Sampler
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Bönen Germany, Festival (23/04/2016)
COLOSSLOTH • Outstretch Your Hand For The Impress Of Truth
CAUSTIC • Industrial Music
SEIJ MINUS AÇ • Black Acuity Suddenly Diagonal
LINGOUF • Oeuvre au Noir
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Seminar1sts, The Agnost1k Era

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
XTORT • Nothing is real
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)

 

Same genre: NOISE
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
ONEIROGEN • Convivium
LA MUERTE • Murder Machine
30,000 MONKIES • I Ate Myself To Grow Twice As Big

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem