tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd (ep) review

07/04/2015 : ETHAN FAWKES - War in my mind EP

ETHAN FAWKES

War in my mind EP

MusicCD (EP)
IndustrialNoise

[95/100]   

Club Poison
07/04/2015, Britta Tabrit

After his album “Symptom of Apocalypse”, the Belgian DJ, producer, remixer, writer and singer Ethan Fawkes batters us with a new EP called “War in my mind”.

The EP contains 5 tracks, of which 3 are remixes of the song “War for nothing”, mixed by Chris Collins, Pzylo and 2Junxion.

Track 1 “War for nothing” is the original version. It demonstrates Fawkes’ renowned way to combine TBM and Noise Industrial and to create an explosive mixture of the futility of war and his ability to transmit this via hard electronic strains.

Track 2 is called “Fire in my mind”. This song is another TBM crunch that somehow appears to be something like the prolongation of track 1. The rude sounds and the names unite the two songs, that form a monstrous hybrid.

The Chris Collins Propaganda Remix of “War for nothing” interrupts the unity of the first two tracks. Chris Collins pushes the song to a new dimension. More danceable, but not in the least unvicious. If you thought that after track 1 and 2 you deserved a break ,you are seriously mistaken. The martial jaunt continues.

The Pzylo Remix is clearly a dance track. The roaring elements are more or less removed, the main theme becomes pushy. Somehow this is the badly needed relief after the militant stomp of the previous strongholds. But don’t celebrate just yet…..

The last remix by 2Junxion is the acid reflux of this destructive meal.

The Acid/Techno combo switches completely to a different world, but never loses sight of Ethan Fawkes’ central statement of “War for nothing”. An interesting side trip to a congeneric music genre!

All in all Ethan Fawkes’ latest EP won’t let you down. Two songs that show his brute force once again, and 3 well compatible remixes grouped around the idea of war call into existence another sound-storm at its finest!

 

Check Ethan Fawkes on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ethanfawkes.official?fref=ts

HP: http://www.ethanfawkes.com/

Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/clubpoison/sets/ethan-fawkes-war-in-my-mind-club-poison-004

Britta Tabrit
07/04/2015


 

Next reviews
THE ELWINS • Play For Keeps
AUTODAFEH • Digital Citizens
DAKTARI • Oorlogstaal
IVAN KAVANAGH • The Canal
JASON MOMOA • Road To Paloma
• PENNY DREADFUL SEASON 1
CELLDWELLER • End Of An Empire - Dreams EP
NURIA GRAHAM • Bird Eyes
STEVE MCQUEEN • 12 Years A Slave
ADAN & ILSE • Cold Diamonds

 

Other reviews from ETHAN FAWKES
ETHAN FAWKES • Evil In Veins
ETHAN FAWKES • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
ETHAN FAWKES • Symptom of Apocalypse
ETHAN FAWKES • ALL YOUR LIES

 

Same combination of genres: INDUSTRIAL + NOISE
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Hands Label Sampler
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Bönen Germany, Festival (23/04/2016)
COLOSSLOTH • Outstretch Your Hand For The Impress Of Truth
CAUSTIC • Industrial Music
SEIJ MINUS AÇ • Black Acuity Suddenly Diagonal
LINGOUF • Oeuvre au Noir
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Seminar1sts, The Agnost1k Era

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
JESU • When I Was Small

 

Same genre: NOISE
THE HEAT INC. • EP
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
ONEIROGEN • Convivium
LA MUERTE • Murder Machine

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
13
09
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)
12
09
SPANKRAGHT
N16
11
09
TETROLUGOSI
All The Monsters