tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd (ep) review

07/04/2015 : ETHAN FAWKES - War in my mind EP

ETHAN FAWKES

War in my mind EP

MusicCD (EP)
IndustrialNoise

[95/100]   

Club Poison
07/04/2015, Britta Tabrit

After his album “Symptom of Apocalypse”, the Belgian DJ, producer, remixer, writer and singer Ethan Fawkes batters us with a new EP called “War in my mind”.

The EP contains 5 tracks, of which 3 are remixes of the song “War for nothing”, mixed by Chris Collins, Pzylo and 2Junxion.

Track 1 “War for nothing” is the original version. It demonstrates Fawkes’ renowned way to combine TBM and Noise Industrial and to create an explosive mixture of the futility of war and his ability to transmit this via hard electronic strains.

Track 2 is called “Fire in my mind”. This song is another TBM crunch that somehow appears to be something like the prolongation of track 1. The rude sounds and the names unite the two songs, that form a monstrous hybrid.

The Chris Collins Propaganda Remix of “War for nothing” interrupts the unity of the first two tracks. Chris Collins pushes the song to a new dimension. More danceable, but not in the least unvicious. If you thought that after track 1 and 2 you deserved a break ,you are seriously mistaken. The martial jaunt continues.

The Pzylo Remix is clearly a dance track. The roaring elements are more or less removed, the main theme becomes pushy. Somehow this is the badly needed relief after the militant stomp of the previous strongholds. But don’t celebrate just yet…..

The last remix by 2Junxion is the acid reflux of this destructive meal.

The Acid/Techno combo switches completely to a different world, but never loses sight of Ethan Fawkes’ central statement of “War for nothing”. An interesting side trip to a congeneric music genre!

All in all Ethan Fawkes’ latest EP won’t let you down. Two songs that show his brute force once again, and 3 well compatible remixes grouped around the idea of war call into existence another sound-storm at its finest!

 

Check Ethan Fawkes on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ethanfawkes.official?fref=ts

HP: http://www.ethanfawkes.com/

Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/clubpoison/sets/ethan-fawkes-war-in-my-mind-club-poison-004

Britta Tabrit
07/04/2015


 

Next reviews
THE ELWINS • Play For Keeps
AUTODAFEH • Digital Citizens
DAKTARI • Oorlogstaal
IVAN KAVANAGH • The Canal
JASON MOMOA • Road To Paloma
• PENNY DREADFUL SEASON 1
CELLDWELLER • End Of An Empire - Dreams EP
NURIA GRAHAM • Bird Eyes
STEVE MCQUEEN • 12 Years A Slave
ADAN & ILSE • Cold Diamonds

 

Other reviews from ETHAN FAWKES
ETHAN FAWKES • Evil In Veins
ETHAN FAWKES • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
ETHAN FAWKES • Symptom of Apocalypse
ETHAN FAWKES • ALL YOUR LIES

 

Same combination of genres: INDUSTRIAL + NOISE
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Hands Label Sampler
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Bönen Germany, Festival (23/04/2016)
COLOSSLOTH • Outstretch Your Hand For The Impress Of Truth
CAUSTIC • Industrial Music
SEIJ MINUS AÇ • Black Acuity Suddenly Diagonal
LINGOUF • Oeuvre au Noir
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Seminar1sts, The Agnost1k Era

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
JESU • When I Was Small
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
ALSO • Live in Celovec

 

Same genre: NOISE
THE HEAT INC. • EP
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
ONEIROGEN • Convivium
LA MUERTE • Murder Machine

Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection