tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/04/2015 : DAKTARI - Oorlogstaal

DAKTARI

Oorlogstaal

MusicCD
PopRock

[75/100]   

ConSouling Sounds
07/04/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

The Flemish band Daktari sings in Dutch, or better in its mother tongue Flemish, with a clear Limburg accent. Reportedly, Oorlogstaal (War Rhetoric) would initially be an English-language album, but after jokingly translating the text of one of the songs into Dutch, the choice was easy. Is Daktari the new Noordkaap or De Mens? Hard to say, because the band sounds louder, with darker guitars than Noordkaap, but a song like Oorlogstaal is unmistakably influenced by Stijn Meuris, and Meegaand - with its advanced vocals - is an excellent rock song. Rand van de Aarde floats on loud guitars with a panting pace in the style of Héroes del Silencio, but the vocals are too far into the background to understand the text and to perfectly define the overall sound. Dief in de Nacht slides past at mid-tempo, while the singing and the harmonies go crescendo and create an attractive rock ballad.

Did we hear Black Sabbath in Aasgier? The composition has at least the hectic pace of a BS-song, although the less fluent Flemish text slows the momentum. Vergif sounds like De Brassers, with similar guitars and a strong text, which is excellently sung. Lijden, with a very special drum tempo during the intro, is reminiscent to Henny Vrienten, but the song then ignites as a steaming rock song, and in De Rover you hear a beautiful acoustic guitar, a nice drum part and a beautiful vocal line.

Brandstichter pulls out all the stops and Atmosfeer sounds possibly even meaner with a screeching Jan Bloemen as a Meuris in his better days. That is a compliment, not a criticism!

Flemish rock is rare these days. Noordkaap en De Mens - both bands from the early 90s - have no real successors. When you want to make money with music, you sing in English, because that language ensures easier access to foreign stages. It is brave of Daktari to meet the challenge. Their album Oorlogstaal is promising. With some benevolent radio promotion Oorlogstaal, Meegaand or Dief in de Nacht would certainly be successful.

William LIÉNARD
07/04/2015


NL

De Genkse band Daktari zingt in het Nederlands of beter gezegd in z’n moedertaal, in het Vlaams dus, met een licht Limburgs accent. Naar verluidt zou Oorlogstaal aanvankelijk een Engelstalige plaat worden, maar na een voor de grap naar het Nederlands vertaalde tekst van één van de songs, was de keuze snel gemaakt. Is Daktari daarmee de nieuwe Noordkaap of de nieuwe De Mens? Moeilijk te zeggen, want de band klinkt harder, met donkerder gitaarwerk dan bijv. Noordkaap, maar in een nummer als Oorlogstaal is de Meuris-invloed onmiskenbaar, en ook Meegaand – met zijn vooruitgeschoven vocalen – ligt uitstekend in het oor. Rand van de Aarde – het nummer waarmee het album begint – dobbert op snoeiharde gitaren à la Héroes del Silencio en een hijgend tempo, maar de zanglijn zit te ver in de achtergrond om de tekst te begrijpen én om het totaalgeluid perfect te definiëren. Dief in de Nacht schuifelt tegen mid-tempo voorbij, maar de zangstem en het koortje gaan crescendo en ze maken van de song – samen met de aanstekelijke melodie van het refrein - een aantrekkelijke rockballade.

Horen we daar Black Sabbath passeren in Aasgier? De compositie heeft in elk geval het jachtige tempo van een BS-song, zij het dat de minder vlotte Vlaamse tekst de vaart remt. Vergif zou van De Brassers kunnen zijn, met gelijksoortig gitaarwerk en een sterke tekst, die bovendien uitstekend wordt gezongen. Lijden, met een zeer apart drumtempo, doet tijdens het intro even aan Henny Vrienten denken, maar ontbrandt vervolgens als een stomende rocksong en in De Rover – met als toevoeging ‘akoestisch’ – hoor je een prachtige akoestische gitaar, een leuke drumpartij en een mooie zanglijn.

In Brandstichtster wordt alles nog een keer uit de kast gehaald en afsluiter Atmosfeer klinkt zo mogelijk nog gemener met een gierende Jan Bloemen als een Meuris in z’n beste periode. Dat is een compliment, geen kritiek!

(Belgisch-)Nederlandstalige rock stelt niet veel meer voor. Noordkaap en De Mens – allebei bands uit het begin van de jaren 90 – hebben geen echte opvolgers. Wie met muziek maken geld wil verdienen, die kiest voor het Engels, want die taal garandeert makkelijker de toegang tot buitenlandse podia. Het is moedig van Daktari om de uitdaging aan te gaan. Hun eersteling Oorlogstaal is veelbelovend. Met wat welwillende radiopromotie zouden Oorlogstaal, Meegaand of Dief in de Nacht beslist een succes worden.

William LIÉNARD
07/04/2015


07/04/2015 : DAKTARI - Oorlogstaal 07/04/2015 : DAKTARI - Oorlogstaal 07/04/2015 : DAKTARI - Oorlogstaal 07/04/2015 : DAKTARI - Oorlogstaal

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)