tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

05/04/2015 : BREAKING FUEL - More More More

BREAKING FUEL

More More More

MusicCD
Alternative RockPost Punk

[72/100]   

Diptyque Records
05/04/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Some bands have a certain craziness or playfulness in their music ,like the B52’s, Fischer Z… Just like the French Breaking Fuel does on his first album. On the promo sheet they proudly announce the the contribution of Adrian Terrazas Gonzales ( saxophone) on ‘Spycolors’, as well as a dude called M (OPA) and Ludovic Tranier (La Republik, Buscavida), who both do the vocals on ‘Islands’.

Their music sounds a bit like The Rapture, Franz Ferdinand or the early Police. A bit of post punk and punk pop. The guitar playing is sometimes borrowed from ska and reggae (see also The Clash…). It does not sound innovative and sometimes clichéd. However, they succeed in constructing a few nice songs with these limited elements, especially the songs‘Lady, Spycolor, Stoner, Chainsmoker’.

Mainly sung in English with a French accent. Only the last song ‘Island’ is largerly sung in French and sounds in the beginning a little too much like ‘Spirits in the Sky (Norman Greenbaum).

I imagine that this band can be a party on stage. Also the artwork is a nice eye catcher. As a debut album amusing and for the next one, I expect them to grow musically.

Wim GUILLEMYN
05/04/2015


NL

Sommige bands hebben een zekere gekte of speelsheid in zich. Ik denk dan aan B52’s, Fischer Z… Dat geldt ook een beetje voor deze Franse Breaking Fuel op hun eerste full album: soms wat speelsheid in de muziek en soms ook in de teksten. Er wordt in de promosheet en op hun site flink gestrooid met de inbreng van Adrian Terrazas-Gonzales die op ‘Spycolors’ saxofoon speelt, alsook ene M. (OPA) en Ludovic Tranier (LA Républik, Buscavida), die op ‘Islands’ de vocals verzorgen.

Muzikaal zitten ze wat in de richting van The Rapture, Franz Ferdinand, het vroege werk van The Police etc… Een beetje post-punk, punk pop. Gitaarspel dat bij momenten ontleend is aan ska en reggae (zie ook The Clash). Het geheel klinkt niet vernieuwend en soms clichématig. Ze slagen er echter wel in om het met volle overgave en enthousiasme te brengen. Zo maken ze met deze bouwstenen enkele leuke songs zoals ‘Lady, Spycolors , Stoner, Chainsmoker.’

Hoofdzakelijk in het Engels gezongen met een duidelijke hoorbaar Frans accent. Alleen de afsluiter ‘Island’ is in het Frans gezongen en heeft in de beginfase wat van ‘Spirits in the Sky’ van Norman Greenbaum. Zoals ik ze hier hoor, vermoed ik dat dit live wel een feestje kan opleveren. Het artwork vind ik zeer geslaagd en het trekt de aandacht. Als debuut aardig en nu nog wat groeien.

Wim GUILLEMYN
05/04/2015


Music reviews

09
08
TRANSPORT AERIAN
Big Heart
08
08
VIOLENT VICKIE
Blame
07
08
FAUST PROJECT
The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
05
08
TECHNOLORGY
Carnivore
03
08
OST+FRONT
Ikarus
15
07
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Melancholic Maniac

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'
03
08
Gothic Rock Band BLACK ANGEL Crafts Stories Of Love With New Album: Kiss Of Death
01
08
This month, 37 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
31
07
PROVISION Breaks Seven Year Silence With 'Hearts Turn Dark'
30
07
Electronic Act VEXILLARY Examines Surveillance Culture With New EP

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
08
BILL LASWELL
'Sometimes thing sort of “follow a path”...'
08
08
BLIXA BARGELD
'The way we work is so…traditional'
06
08
SUBJECT.2
'Love, Betrayal, Deceit' - A conversation with Subject:2 on their new album
04
08
STEVE VON TILL (NEUROSIS)
'The greatest sentence in prose would have no place in a song...'
02
08
VELVET KILLS
Velvet Kills Is A Paradox, Wrapped In A Mystery, Inside Of An Enigma…

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
08
RED QUEEN
Insidious
09
08
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
08
08
BLACK FOREST
GREED
07
08
SUPERNOVA 1006
Dope
06
08
SIXTH JUNE
Nebo
05
08
ANNE CLARK
Our Darkness
04
08
PIL
Rise