tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

05/04/2015 : THE OCTOBER SOLUTION - Axis Swim Scar

THE OCTOBER SOLUTION

Axis Swim Scar

MusicDigital
DreampopElectro Rock

[88/100]   

Hidden Shoal
05/04/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The band consists of Drew Sullivan (Slow Dancing Society and City of Satellites) and Jarod Manuel (City of Satellites). They have already made two EP’s under the name EO, before they changed their name into The October Solution. The one works from Australia and the other is based in America.

You can hear their love for shoegaze en electronic popmusic from the 80’s and 90’s. They make dreamy, melodic poptunes with floating guitars, polyphonic keys and slightly etherical vocals from Drew. As to the songs, you can think of Crowded House or SX.

Each song is build up well, has a nice production and a lot of variation. Let's listen to 1984 for example, a song that starts with a beautiful key in which you can hear an etheric voice. Then we get the drums, bass and a demure guitar. And finally the warm vocals of Drew are added and some synth sounds that make the song perfect.

With all these elements, they create their own universum. A beautifull release!

Wim GUILLEMYN
05/04/2015


NL

Dit duo bestaat uit Drew Sullivan (Slow Dancing Society en City of Satellites) en Jarod Manuel (City of Satellites). Ze hadden al twee ep’s uit onder de naam EO. De ene werkt vanuit Australie, de andere vanuit Amerika.

Hun voorliefde voor shoegaze en jaren 80- en 90-popmuziek is lichtjes hoorbaar. Ze maken dromerige melodieuze popmuziek met zweverige gitaren, stemmige keys en licht etherische zang. De mooie en aangename zangstem van Drew maakt het plaatje compleet. Denk een beetje aan Crowded House of SX.

Elk nummer is zorgvuldig opgebouwd, heeft een puike productie en bezit afwisseling. Neem nu bijv. opener 1984. Deze song heeft mooi keywork waar je een ijle stem door hoort. Daarna vallen de drum, de bas en een stemmige gitaar in. Daarboven komt de warme stem van Drew en komen synth sounds die de song afmaken.

Ze weten met deze elementen een eigen universum op te wekken waar het goed vertoeven is. Een mooie release.

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
05/04/2015


Music reviews

02
12
DIVE
Where do we go from here
01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover
27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights