tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

26/10/2017 : STRUGGLER - The Gap

STRUGGLER

The Gap

MusicCD
Alternative RockPost PunkPunk

[85/100]   

Vitarka Records
26/10/2017, Marija BULJETA

After the Struggler's live performance at BimFest in 2016 I became quite intrigued by them. The raw noise-punk-rock and alternative sound they delivered on stage was a good introduction to the band.

It was a bit difficult to dig out more facts about the band; there isn't too much you can find on the internet. However, I was really happy when I received their latest release in the form of the new album The Gap. The Gap is released on vinyl and cd and it contains old re-written and new material. You can hear what this band is all about right from the start; “Obstacles” is a pure noise-rock/alternative music experience. Noisy guitar riffs and solo parts, heavy bass line and intriguing vocal tell a story of somewhat punkish yet fresh expression. The up tempo beat and the raw sound should keep you dancing, however they slow it down with “The Gap”. The track feels more like indie/alternative rock than the first one. The third track “The Past Won't Burn” was taken from their LP It Was A Very Long Conversation But At The End We Didn't Shake Hands, which was released in 1982. The rock sound is prominent on this one. However, there is a darker twist to their music tales. “The Perfect End” has also been taken from the same LP. Even though it was released in 1982, the re-released track sounds as relevant as it was back then; the song's structure is concrete, solid, with a beautiful twist which can serve as a refrain. “Recrudesce” was released first as a single in 1984, but you can catch up on their previous work listening to this album. This track is yet another musical gem with a punchy chorus and amazing guitar improvisations; you can feel a pinch of nostalgia for the good old punk days. “Key 17” made me focus more on the societal lyrical content. Another old track “Obligation” saw the light of the day again. According to the information I could find on Discogs, it was released on Memo On A Demo self-released cassette in 1981. “Shrapnel” begins innocently but soon it unfolds in a punk-rock manner; ideal for all the noise punk rock fans. “Wanted”, taken from the same title single released in 1980, takes you even further back to the original punk sound combined with brilliant rock guitar solos. “Don't Care” follows in a similar manner; it was originally recorded as the B side of the previously mentioned single. They keep “Black Age” and cover of the Pere Ubu's “Final Solution” for the end. Many of us are familiar with Peter Murphy's version of the song. However, Struggler's cover flirts with the original to the greater extent; it comes closer to the raw and distinguishable Pere Ubu's sound. If you missed hearing this great band, who have been active since 1979, now is the right time to get yourself a copy of The Gap and discover the new and the old stories they surely know how to tell.

Marija BULJETA
26/10/2017


 

Next reviews
GARY NUMAN • Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better
STACIAN • Person L
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
LA GRAZIA OBLIQUA • La Grazia Obliqua (EP)
AMORPHOUS • Shapeshifting
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
TEARFUL MOON • Evocation
SPECIAL LOVE • Unloveable
ASTARI NITE • Dreams Of Majesty

 

Other reviews from STRUGGLER
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
G.U.S.T. • Gust of wind
LAPECHE • Blood In The Water
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
THE HEAT INC. • EP
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DARK • Nightmare
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
SJOBLOM • Tape
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time

 

Same genre: PUNK
THE PULSEBEATS • LOOKIN’ OUT
SONNY VINCENT • Shake Pit Therapy
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE SPECIALS • Encore
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
RAT SCABIES • Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

28
06
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
THE MISSION
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
IAMX
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
W.H. LUNG
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
FORCED TO MODE
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
TORUL
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
ATMOSPHERE
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete