tempobet yeni adresi

26/10/2017 : STRUGGLER - The Gap

STRUGGLER

The Gap

MusicCD
Alternative RockPost PunkPunk

[85/100]   

Vitarka Records
26/10/2017, Marija BULJETA

After the Struggler's live performance at BimFest in 2016 I became quite intrigued by them. The raw noise-punk-rock and alternative sound they delivered on stage was a good introduction to the band.

It was a bit difficult to dig out more facts about the band; there isn't too much you can find on the internet. However, I was really happy when I received their latest release in the form of the new album The Gap. The Gap is released on vinyl and cd and it contains old re-written and new material. You can hear what this band is all about right from the start; “Obstacles” is a pure noise-rock/alternative music experience. Noisy guitar riffs and solo parts, heavy bass line and intriguing vocal tell a story of somewhat punkish yet fresh expression. The up tempo beat and the raw sound should keep you dancing, however they slow it down with “The Gap”. The track feels more like indie/alternative rock than the first one. The third track “The Past Won't Burn” was taken from their LP It Was A Very Long Conversation But At The End We Didn't Shake Hands, which was released in 1982. The rock sound is prominent on this one. However, there is a darker twist to their music tales. “The Perfect End” has also been taken from the same LP. Even though it was released in 1982, the re-released track sounds as relevant as it was back then; the song's structure is concrete, solid, with a beautiful twist which can serve as a refrain. “Recrudesce” was released first as a single in 1984, but you can catch up on their previous work listening to this album. This track is yet another musical gem with a punchy chorus and amazing guitar improvisations; you can feel a pinch of nostalgia for the good old punk days. “Key 17” made me focus more on the societal lyrical content. Another old track “Obligation” saw the light of the day again. According to the information I could find on Discogs, it was released on Memo On A Demo self-released cassette in 1981. “Shrapnel” begins innocently but soon it unfolds in a punk-rock manner; ideal for all the noise punk rock fans. “Wanted”, taken from the same title single released in 1980, takes you even further back to the original punk sound combined with brilliant rock guitar solos. “Don't Care” follows in a similar manner; it was originally recorded as the B side of the previously mentioned single. They keep “Black Age” and cover of the Pere Ubu's “Final Solution” for the end. Many of us are familiar with Peter Murphy's version of the song. However, Struggler's cover flirts with the original to the greater extent; it comes closer to the raw and distinguishable Pere Ubu's sound. If you missed hearing this great band, who have been active since 1979, now is the right time to get yourself a copy of The Gap and discover the new and the old stories they surely know how to tell.

Marija BULJETA
26/10/2017


 

Next reviews
GARY NUMAN • Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better
STACIAN • Person L
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
LA GRAZIA OBLIQUA • La Grazia Obliqua (EP)
AMORPHOUS • Shapeshifting
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
TEARFUL MOON • Evocation
SPECIAL LOVE • Unloveable
ASTARI NITE • Dreams Of Majesty

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction
RULE OF THUMB • Rule Of Thumb
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
MOANING CITIES • D Klein
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Minor Sun
PIXIES • Head Carrier
SEVEN EYED CROW • Dark Ways to the Sun
STENDAL BLAST • Ein Abschied - Das Letzte Konzert
SEED FROM THE GEISHA • Point Nemo

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
DISCO INFERNO • In Debt 91/92
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
RAZORLINE • Razorline
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)

 

Same genre: PUNK
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
CULTURE SHOCK • Attention Span
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
COCAINE PISS/SPLIT V/A • Cosmic Bullshit + Sex Weirdo’s
COCAINE PISS • Sex Weirdos
TACOCAT • Lost Time
LAVVI EBBEL • Wir Schaffen Das!
BLONDIE • Parallel Lines
THE STRANGLERS, THE ALARM • O2 Academy, Bristol (19/03/16)
KOTZE IM EINKAUFSWAGEN • Wunderschön und Unverfälscht

Music reviews

17
12
STRONG PRODUCT
Product III
11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
12
North American Industrial/Metal band Ministry announce new album with new single & video!
15
12
Black Needle Noise releases SyStem Bi feat. Fakeba single and video
14
12
This Friday the renowned Belgian Independent Music Festival 2017 (BIMFEST XVI) will kick-Off!
13
12
Brand new video by Crash Course In Science!
12
12
In Strict Confidence releases HERZ & FROZEN KISSES, a two-in-one single release with remixes and more!
11
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE to release entire catalogue remastered on EROMEDA RECORDS

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

08
12
EUFORIC EXCISTENCE
Euforic Existence: We like to be put under the heading of EBM, but realize that we are an outsider. I would not want anything else.
09
11
EIRIKURA
'Music can be an uniting and uplifting force and very much a redemptive one for all mankind'
05
11
GENE LOVES JEZEBEL
About their brand new album Dance Underwater and more...
25
10
SWEET WILLIAM
FOR ME MUSIC IS GOOD WHEN IT LEAVES YOU ROOM FOR YOUR OWN ILLUSIONS AND OF COURSE A CERTAIN DEPTH’
23
10
STURM CAFE
‘WE DO ENJOY THE 100% CONTROL BUT IT COMES WITH GREAT FINANCIAL RISKS’

PHOTOS

18
12
KIRLIAN CAMERA
De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
18
12
THE HORRORIST
De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
18
12
XOTOX
De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
18
12
ELM
De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
11
12
LACUNA COIL
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
11
12
CELLAR DARLING
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
05
12
FRONT 242
Ab Brussel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

18
12
FRONT 242
Headhunter (Live @ AB, Brussels 01.12.2017)
17
12
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
16
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE
Sunset Beach
15
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Crossfade / Dissolve (Official Video)
14
12
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
13
12
BLANCMANGE
Blind Vision (HD)
12
12
THEN COMES SILENCE
The Dead Cry For No One