tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

08/10/2017 : SPECIAL LOVE - Unloveable

SPECIAL LOVE

Unloveable

MusicCD (EP)


[85/100]   

Self-released
08/10/2017, Fred GADGET

EN

This CD was handed to me personally by Johnny Dave himself at the famous INFEST festival in Bradford (UK) but it is only now, some weeks later that I found the time to listen to it.

I must be honest and acknowledge that I have known the man involved for several years and regularly encountered him at events throughout Europe. Yet it was only recently that I heard of his musical outbursts by discovering a fun DIY Youtube video of 'Voyeurism', a song also present on this CDEP, yet another version and with the different title, Watching You. After a first listen it’s clear all 4 songs on this EP are more than nice. For example, the first track, Binoculars, makes me think of Soft Cell’s, or even Psyche’s Sex Dwarf, and the whole of the EP has a high Warm Leatherette feel with the necessary scraping, squealing and cracking of various electronic instruments. The name Absolute Body Control also spontaneously jumps my mind … No, it does not sound like an exact copy of the aforementioned bands but certainly sits the same minimal atmosphere. If I was already impressed with the Youtube video, well then I'm even more impressed with this EP!

Special Love seems to me to be one of those minimal Electro projects that we have to keep an eye on! Go contact him asap! He needs your love and he needs it NOW!


Facebook

Fred GADGET
08/10/2017


NL

Deze CD werd me persoonlijk overhandigd door Johnny Dave hemzelf op het befaamde INFEST festival in Bradford (UK) maar het was vandaag enkele weken later pas dat ik de gelegenheid vond hier naar te luisteren. Ik moet eerlijk bekennen dat ik de man al enkele jaren ken en regelmatig tegen kom op events over heel Europa en maar sinds kort van zijn muzikale uitspattingen gehoord had via een leuke DIY Youtube video van ‘Voyeurism’, een nummer dat op deze CD-EP in een andere versie een andere titel prijkt, namelijk Watching You. Maar na een eerste beluistering is het duidelijk dat alle nummers op deze EP-tje meer dan leuk te noemen zijn. Zo doet het eerste nummer Binoculars me ergens wat aan Sex Dwarf van Soft Cell of of zelfs Psyche denken en zweeft er door heel het EP-tje een hoog Warm Leatherette gehalte met het nodige gepiep, gekraak en gescheur van diverse elektronische instrumenten. De naam Absolute Body Control spring me ook spontaan te binnen. Neen, het klinkt zeker niet als een exacte copy van voorgenoemde bands maar zit wel in de zelfde Minimal sfeer. Was ik al onder de indruk van het Youtube videootje, dan ben ik nu nog meer onder de indruk van deze EP. Special Love lijkt me dan één van die minimal Electro projecten die we in de gaten moeten houden! Contacteer hem snel! Hij heeft jullie liefde nodig en wel NU!

https://www.facebook.com/speciallovejohnnydave/Facebook

Fred GADGET
08/10/2017


Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
08
MARY OCHER
The Android Sea
17
08
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
16
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless
15
08
JO QUAIL
Gold (live)
15
08
SIXTH JUNE
Drowning