tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

08/10/2017 : SPECIAL LOVE - Unloveable

SPECIAL LOVE

Unloveable

MusicCD (EP)


[85/100]   

Self-released
08/10/2017, Fred GADGET

EN

This CD was handed to me personally by Johnny Dave himself at the famous INFEST festival in Bradford (UK) but it is only now, some weeks later that I found the time to listen to it.

I must be honest and acknowledge that I have known the man involved for several years and regularly encountered him at events throughout Europe. Yet it was only recently that I heard of his musical outbursts by discovering a fun DIY Youtube video of 'Voyeurism', a song also present on this CDEP, yet another version and with the different title, Watching You. After a first listen it’s clear all 4 songs on this EP are more than nice. For example, the first track, Binoculars, makes me think of Soft Cell’s, or even Psyche’s Sex Dwarf, and the whole of the EP has a high Warm Leatherette feel with the necessary scraping, squealing and cracking of various electronic instruments. The name Absolute Body Control also spontaneously jumps my mind … No, it does not sound like an exact copy of the aforementioned bands but certainly sits the same minimal atmosphere. If I was already impressed with the Youtube video, well then I'm even more impressed with this EP!

Special Love seems to me to be one of those minimal Electro projects that we have to keep an eye on! Go contact him asap! He needs your love and he needs it NOW!


Facebook

Fred GADGET
08/10/2017


NL

Deze CD werd me persoonlijk overhandigd door Johnny Dave hemzelf op het befaamde INFEST festival in Bradford (UK) maar het was vandaag enkele weken later pas dat ik de gelegenheid vond hier naar te luisteren. Ik moet eerlijk bekennen dat ik de man al enkele jaren ken en regelmatig tegen kom op events over heel Europa en maar sinds kort van zijn muzikale uitspattingen gehoord had via een leuke DIY Youtube video van ‘Voyeurism’, een nummer dat op deze CD-EP in een andere versie een andere titel prijkt, namelijk Watching You. Maar na een eerste beluistering is het duidelijk dat alle nummers op deze EP-tje meer dan leuk te noemen zijn. Zo doet het eerste nummer Binoculars me ergens wat aan Sex Dwarf van Soft Cell of of zelfs Psyche denken en zweeft er door heel het EP-tje een hoog Warm Leatherette gehalte met het nodige gepiep, gekraak en gescheur van diverse elektronische instrumenten. De naam Absolute Body Control spring me ook spontaan te binnen. Neen, het klinkt zeker niet als een exacte copy van voorgenoemde bands maar zit wel in de zelfde Minimal sfeer. Was ik al onder de indruk van het Youtube videootje, dan ben ik nu nog meer onder de indruk van deze EP. Special Love lijkt me dan één van die minimal Electro projecten die we in de gaten moeten houden! Contacteer hem snel! Hij heeft jullie liefde nodig en wel NU!

https://www.facebook.com/speciallovejohnnydave/Facebook

Fred GADGET
08/10/2017


Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg
10
07
ALIENARE
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
07
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus
13
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Anabasis