tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

08/10/2017 : SPECIAL LOVE - Unloveable

SPECIAL LOVE

Unloveable

MusicCD (EP)


[85/100]   

Self-released
08/10/2017, Fred GADGET

EN

This CD was handed to me personally by Johnny Dave himself at the famous INFEST festival in Bradford (UK) but it is only now, some weeks later that I found the time to listen to it.

I must be honest and acknowledge that I have known the man involved for several years and regularly encountered him at events throughout Europe. Yet it was only recently that I heard of his musical outbursts by discovering a fun DIY Youtube video of 'Voyeurism', a song also present on this CDEP, yet another version and with the different title, Watching You. After a first listen it’s clear all 4 songs on this EP are more than nice. For example, the first track, Binoculars, makes me think of Soft Cell’s, or even Psyche’s Sex Dwarf, and the whole of the EP has a high Warm Leatherette feel with the necessary scraping, squealing and cracking of various electronic instruments. The name Absolute Body Control also spontaneously jumps my mind … No, it does not sound like an exact copy of the aforementioned bands but certainly sits the same minimal atmosphere. If I was already impressed with the Youtube video, well then I'm even more impressed with this EP!

Special Love seems to me to be one of those minimal Electro projects that we have to keep an eye on! Go contact him asap! He needs your love and he needs it NOW!


Facebook

Fred GADGET
08/10/2017


NL

Deze CD werd me persoonlijk overhandigd door Johnny Dave hemzelf op het befaamde INFEST festival in Bradford (UK) maar het was vandaag enkele weken later pas dat ik de gelegenheid vond hier naar te luisteren. Ik moet eerlijk bekennen dat ik de man al enkele jaren ken en regelmatig tegen kom op events over heel Europa en maar sinds kort van zijn muzikale uitspattingen gehoord had via een leuke DIY Youtube video van ‘Voyeurism’, een nummer dat op deze CD-EP in een andere versie een andere titel prijkt, namelijk Watching You. Maar na een eerste beluistering is het duidelijk dat alle nummers op deze EP-tje meer dan leuk te noemen zijn. Zo doet het eerste nummer Binoculars me ergens wat aan Sex Dwarf van Soft Cell of of zelfs Psyche denken en zweeft er door heel het EP-tje een hoog Warm Leatherette gehalte met het nodige gepiep, gekraak en gescheur van diverse elektronische instrumenten. De naam Absolute Body Control spring me ook spontaan te binnen. Neen, het klinkt zeker niet als een exacte copy van voorgenoemde bands maar zit wel in de zelfde Minimal sfeer. Was ik al onder de indruk van het Youtube videootje, dan ben ik nu nog meer onder de indruk van deze EP. Special Love lijkt me dan één van die minimal Electro projecten die we in de gaten moeten houden! Contacteer hem snel! Hij heeft jullie liefde nodig en wel NU!

https://www.facebook.com/speciallovejohnnydave/Facebook

Fred GADGET
08/10/2017


Music reviews

18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead
14
10
VLIMMER
Angststand
13
10
VENTENNER
Killing Jar

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018
16
10
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play - out on iTunes today!
15
10
PEEK-A-BOO MAGAZINE N° 31 - OUT NOW!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had
06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me
16
10
DOOMSQUAD
Pyramids On Mars
15
10
NITZER EBB
Let Your Body Learn