tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

08/10/2017 : SPECIAL LOVE - Unloveable

SPECIAL LOVE

Unloveable

MusicCD (EP)


[85/100]   

Self-released
08/10/2017, Fred GADGET

EN

This CD was handed to me personally by Johnny Dave himself at the famous INFEST festival in Bradford (UK) but it is only now, some weeks later that I found the time to listen to it.

I must be honest and acknowledge that I have known the man involved for several years and regularly encountered him at events throughout Europe. Yet it was only recently that I heard of his musical outbursts by discovering a fun DIY Youtube video of 'Voyeurism', a song also present on this CDEP, yet another version and with the different title, Watching You. After a first listen it’s clear all 4 songs on this EP are more than nice. For example, the first track, Binoculars, makes me think of Soft Cell’s, or even Psyche’s Sex Dwarf, and the whole of the EP has a high Warm Leatherette feel with the necessary scraping, squealing and cracking of various electronic instruments. The name Absolute Body Control also spontaneously jumps my mind … No, it does not sound like an exact copy of the aforementioned bands but certainly sits the same minimal atmosphere. If I was already impressed with the Youtube video, well then I'm even more impressed with this EP!

Special Love seems to me to be one of those minimal Electro projects that we have to keep an eye on! Go contact him asap! He needs your love and he needs it NOW!


Facebook

Fred GADGET
08/10/2017


NL

Deze CD werd me persoonlijk overhandigd door Johnny Dave hemzelf op het befaamde INFEST festival in Bradford (UK) maar het was vandaag enkele weken later pas dat ik de gelegenheid vond hier naar te luisteren. Ik moet eerlijk bekennen dat ik de man al enkele jaren ken en regelmatig tegen kom op events over heel Europa en maar sinds kort van zijn muzikale uitspattingen gehoord had via een leuke DIY Youtube video van ‘Voyeurism’, een nummer dat op deze CD-EP in een andere versie een andere titel prijkt, namelijk Watching You. Maar na een eerste beluistering is het duidelijk dat alle nummers op deze EP-tje meer dan leuk te noemen zijn. Zo doet het eerste nummer Binoculars me ergens wat aan Sex Dwarf van Soft Cell of of zelfs Psyche denken en zweeft er door heel het EP-tje een hoog Warm Leatherette gehalte met het nodige gepiep, gekraak en gescheur van diverse elektronische instrumenten. De naam Absolute Body Control spring me ook spontaan te binnen. Neen, het klinkt zeker niet als een exacte copy van voorgenoemde bands maar zit wel in de zelfde Minimal sfeer. Was ik al onder de indruk van het Youtube videootje, dan ben ik nu nog meer onder de indruk van deze EP. Special Love lijkt me dan één van die minimal Electro projecten die we in de gaten moeten houden! Contacteer hem snel! Hij heeft jullie liefde nodig en wel NU!

https://www.facebook.com/speciallovejohnnydave/Facebook

Fred GADGET
08/10/2017


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!
06
12
'Write When You Get Work': L.A. opening with special Q&A on December 7, 2018!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.
17
11
DAVE INOX
I Am Never One Hundred Percent Happy With The Result Of My Works

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
04
12
BLUTENGEL
Soul Of Ice