tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

08/10/2017 : SPECIAL LOVE - Unloveable

SPECIAL LOVE

Unloveable

MusicCD (EP)


[85/100]   

Self-released
08/10/2017, Fred GADGET

EN

This CD was handed to me personally by Johnny Dave himself at the famous INFEST festival in Bradford (UK) but it is only now, some weeks later that I found the time to listen to it.

I must be honest and acknowledge that I have known the man involved for several years and regularly encountered him at events throughout Europe. Yet it was only recently that I heard of his musical outbursts by discovering a fun DIY Youtube video of 'Voyeurism', a song also present on this CDEP, yet another version and with the different title, Watching You. After a first listen it’s clear all 4 songs on this EP are more than nice. For example, the first track, Binoculars, makes me think of Soft Cell’s, or even Psyche’s Sex Dwarf, and the whole of the EP has a high Warm Leatherette feel with the necessary scraping, squealing and cracking of various electronic instruments. The name Absolute Body Control also spontaneously jumps my mind … No, it does not sound like an exact copy of the aforementioned bands but certainly sits the same minimal atmosphere. If I was already impressed with the Youtube video, well then I'm even more impressed with this EP!

Special Love seems to me to be one of those minimal Electro projects that we have to keep an eye on! Go contact him asap! He needs your love and he needs it NOW!


Facebook

Fred GADGET
08/10/2017


NL

Deze CD werd me persoonlijk overhandigd door Johnny Dave hemzelf op het befaamde INFEST festival in Bradford (UK) maar het was vandaag enkele weken later pas dat ik de gelegenheid vond hier naar te luisteren. Ik moet eerlijk bekennen dat ik de man al enkele jaren ken en regelmatig tegen kom op events over heel Europa en maar sinds kort van zijn muzikale uitspattingen gehoord had via een leuke DIY Youtube video van ‘Voyeurism’, een nummer dat op deze CD-EP in een andere versie een andere titel prijkt, namelijk Watching You. Maar na een eerste beluistering is het duidelijk dat alle nummers op deze EP-tje meer dan leuk te noemen zijn. Zo doet het eerste nummer Binoculars me ergens wat aan Sex Dwarf van Soft Cell of of zelfs Psyche denken en zweeft er door heel het EP-tje een hoog Warm Leatherette gehalte met het nodige gepiep, gekraak en gescheur van diverse elektronische instrumenten. De naam Absolute Body Control spring me ook spontaan te binnen. Neen, het klinkt zeker niet als een exacte copy van voorgenoemde bands maar zit wel in de zelfde Minimal sfeer. Was ik al onder de indruk van het Youtube videootje, dan ben ik nu nog meer onder de indruk van deze EP. Special Love lijkt me dan één van die minimal Electro projecten die we in de gaten moeten houden! Contacteer hem snel! Hij heeft jullie liefde nodig en wel NU!

https://www.facebook.com/speciallovejohnnydave/Facebook

Fred GADGET
08/10/2017


Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books

PHOTOS

19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
URZON FEAT. ORRYELLE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
10
06
VV303
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
STRUGGLER
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
06
KONTRAVOID
Silent Visions
20
06
RED LORRY YELLOW LORRY
Talk About The Weather
19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On
16
06
GOLDFRAPP
Ocean Feat. Dave Gahan
15
06
THE KVB
Never Enough