tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

27/09/2017 : FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY - Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY

Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

Concert
27/09/2017, Marija BULJETA

London was one of the cities on the Front Line Assembly European tour. This 24 August I had the opportunity to see FLA for the fourth time and, based on my previous experience, I expected a brilliant show. I came a bit early, listened a bit to the sound check and chatted with a few friends.

Although FLA went on this tour as a three member band, which meant electronic all the way, there was a guitar based support act, and that surprised me. I can't say I remember much about Der Rest, apart from the fact that they were really loud and sounded like alternative rock.
Since Infest was starting the day after, I expected fewer people but the show had good attendance, which only showed that nothing could divert the FLA fans, and there were many of those indeed. I was also curious about the set list, which I already predicted to be all electronic sound oriented.
I was right: it was Rhys on synths and all the buttons, switches and cables you can probably imagine. I don't know what they're for but he sure knows since he's the master of making good sounds when he uses them. There was Bill with his familiar voice and gestures and Jason on drums, who was occasionally supported by Bill's and Rhys's drumming.

Although the venue is rather big, the band immediately created an intimate atmosphere which lasted for the entire evening. After “The Chair” as an intro, they hit us heavily with “Resist”. FLA demonstrated their power on stage; Jason was accompanied by Bill and Rhys on drums, before Bill took the microphone and Rhys returned to his electronic gear. They continued in the same up beat tempo with “Killing Grounds”, which instantly reminded me why I loved Echogenetic so much. They returned to their 90s material with “Neologic Spasm”. Just when I thought their set list couldn't be better, they played “Blood”, another of my favourites from Echogenetic. You wouldn't be able to tag “emotional” to FLA, but they really went in that direction with this one.

There were a few surprises this evening and “Plasticity” was the first one for me. I am really a big fan of the song and to hear so many cleverly chosen numbers one after another felt great. I felt privileged, like I was just listening to my favourite FLA playlist. After returning to Echogenetic with “Exhale”, another surprise came. I don't remember hearing Civilization material played on any of the previous shows I visited, so hearing “Vanished” was really quite a surprise. I remember listening to Civilization on repeat for days when it was released and I thought it was a great album.
The next surprise came right after. It was “Remorse” from Tactical Neural Implant. I really like the stripped electronic sound of the album and this track is the perfect example. It surely wasn't chosen for the set list by chance. If going back to basics is the new direction FLA is taking, it will be very interesting to hear the new material. They obviously wanted to send us a message that night.

I remember Bill's question on Facebook. Before the tour he asked us to choose between “Prophecy” and “Deadened” and I voted, like so many of us. However, the band made everyone happy by playing both. They left the stage after “Prophecy” only to return shortly after. They had to, of course. The London audience greeted them back warmly and two more songs from Tactical were played: “Gun” and “Mindphaser”, which became a must. It doesn’t matter how many times I've heard the song, it's one of those hits you can never get tired of, somewhat like New Order's Blue Monday. But the last and the most (and now excuse me for using the word I generally try to avoid, but can't think of a better one) AWESOME surprise was left for the very end; their second encore. I can't describe the atmosphere before or after it was played and it gave me goosebumps. They played “Iceolate”! Why did they choose to play it this time? It might have to do with the sentimental reasons and all the beautiful memories which will forever connect them to London. Bill thanked the lovely people and friends from this city, and I assume I know a small part of the story they kindly shared with us this evening.

Marija BULJETA
27/09/2017


27/09/2017 : FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY - Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017 27/09/2017 : FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY - Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017 27/09/2017 : FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY - Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017 27/09/2017 : FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY - Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017 27/09/2017 : FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY - Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017 27/09/2017 : FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY - Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017 27/09/2017 : FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY - Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

Music reviews

19
07
NAUT
Raise The Lights
13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s exactly 30 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 38 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
16
07
DIRK DA DAVO 'MOODS': CD release July 2018
16
07
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play celebrates theatrical debut
10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!
10
07
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!

Concert reviews

16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
07
CHRISTIAN DEATH
'I think pacifism will be the rehearsal for the ultimate slaughter'
18
07
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
'I have no high hopes for humanity anymore...'
23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
07
SECRETS OF THE MOON
Man Behind The Sun
18
07
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
17
07
MAIA VIDAL
Jell-O
16
07
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away
15
07
JO QUAIL
Laurus
14
07
PIG
The Revelation
13
07
KLAMMER
Spiral Girl