tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

18/09/2017 : SPARKS - Hippopotamus

SPARKS

Hippopotamus

MusicCD


[85/100]   

BMG
18/09/2017, Paul PLEDGER

There are few bands remaining in service from the '70s but Sparks have shown considerable endurance since the Mael brothers cemented their musical union in 1972. 45 years later and album number twenty-three heralds something of a renaissance for the band and yet another career highlight.

Recalling the acerbic and observational lyricisms of old, Hippopotamus is intelligent, fun and charmingly eccentric for the best part of its 55 minutes. Theatrical, harmonic and kitsch, the opening salvo of Probably Nothing, Missionary Position, Edith Piaf and Scandanavian Design are the equal of anything Ron and Russell have released, period.

Humour sits at the very heart of Sparks' candour - how can you resist couplets like "Most times she won't come but I don't really mind / Has a job to do as some guy's concubine...", "You might have positions you can recommend / But I don't know if we'll ever get to them..." or "In every other way I find you amazing but one / I wish you were fun...".

For sheer silliness however, head to the title-track. On Hippopotamus, the Maels are confronted with the issue of hippos, Bosch paintings and a VW camper in their pool, set to the sort of tune normally reserved for nursery rhymes or flamboyant musicals.

Dismiss Sparks at your peril - the likes of Divine Comedy, Momus, Cardiacs and even Killers in their earlier incarnation have benefitted from bearing similar dramatic genes, intended or otherwise and this is up there with their best.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
18/09/2017


18/09/2017 : SPARKS - Hippopotamus 18/09/2017 : SPARKS - Hippopotamus

Music reviews

15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum
07
05
STRUCK9
Ritual Body Music
05
05
CONSPIRACY COVEN
Conspiracy Coven
03
05
PAULINA CASSIDY
Drawing Up A Storm
25
04
RITUAL VEIL
Wolf In The Night

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
05
Europe, watch out! International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest next month!
19
05
LOW FACTOR releases new album 'L'Oiseau du Désespoir'
17
05
'Worlds Left Behind', first full-length album by NEW HAUNTS
13
05
Adam & Eve release new song 'Unlucky Señor'
13
05
Today it’s exactly 21 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Classic Pop publishes special issue on the career of Pet Shop Boys!

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
05
PERSEPHONE
Maybe You Can Describe The Production Like A Puzzle: You Have To Find Each And Every Piece And Put It Together
08
05
ELECTRO SYNTHETIC REBELLION (ESR)
‘My Work Has Never Been Driven By The Trends Or The Dancefloor/Club Appeal’
04
05
MARTYRIA
The Process Of Creating Our Music Is A Way Of Expressing This Spiritual Transformation
02
05
WARM BODIES
Live - 27th of March - Antwerp Music City
21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’

PHOTOS

21
05
SKELETAL FAMILY
WGT
21
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
WGT
21
05
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA
WGT
21
05
UNDERTHESKIN
WGT
21
05
THE LAST CRY
WGT
20
05
PLASTIC NOICE EXPERIENCE
WGT
20
05
WULFBAND
WGT

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
05
LAID BACK
White Horse
23
05
DIRTY HARRY
D' BOP
22
05
STAHLR
Into The Black
21
05
VIRGIN PRUNES
Baby Turns Blue
21
05
ATTRITION
Dante's Kitchen
20
05
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
19
05
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa