tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

18/09/2017 : SPARKS - Hippopotamus

SPARKS

Hippopotamus

MusicCD


[85/100]   

BMG
18/09/2017, Paul PLEDGER

There are few bands remaining in service from the '70s but Sparks have shown considerable endurance since the Mael brothers cemented their musical union in 1972. 45 years later and album number twenty-three heralds something of a renaissance for the band and yet another career highlight.

Recalling the acerbic and observational lyricisms of old, Hippopotamus is intelligent, fun and charmingly eccentric for the best part of its 55 minutes. Theatrical, harmonic and kitsch, the opening salvo of Probably Nothing, Missionary Position, Edith Piaf and Scandanavian Design are the equal of anything Ron and Russell have released, period.

Humour sits at the very heart of Sparks' candour - how can you resist couplets like "Most times she won't come but I don't really mind / Has a job to do as some guy's concubine...", "You might have positions you can recommend / But I don't know if we'll ever get to them..." or "In every other way I find you amazing but one / I wish you were fun...".

For sheer silliness however, head to the title-track. On Hippopotamus, the Maels are confronted with the issue of hippos, Bosch paintings and a VW camper in their pool, set to the sort of tune normally reserved for nursery rhymes or flamboyant musicals.

Dismiss Sparks at your peril - the likes of Divine Comedy, Momus, Cardiacs and even Killers in their earlier incarnation have benefitted from bearing similar dramatic genes, intended or otherwise and this is up there with their best.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
18/09/2017


18/09/2017 : SPARKS - Hippopotamus 18/09/2017 : SPARKS - Hippopotamus

Music reviews

19
07
NAUT
Raise The Lights
13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s exactly 30 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 38 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
16
07
DIRK DA DAVO 'MOODS': CD release July 2018
16
07
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play celebrates theatrical debut
10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!
10
07
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!

Concert reviews

16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
07
CHRISTIAN DEATH
'I think pacifism will be the rehearsal for the ultimate slaughter'
18
07
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
'I have no high hopes for humanity anymore...'
23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
07
SECRETS OF THE MOON
Man Behind The Sun
18
07
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
17
07
MAIA VIDAL
Jell-O
16
07
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away
15
07
JO QUAIL
Laurus
14
07
PIG
The Revelation
13
07
KLAMMER
Spiral Girl