tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

18/09/2017 : SPARKS - Hippopotamus

SPARKS

Hippopotamus

MusicCD


[85/100]   

BMG
18/09/2017, Paul PLEDGER

There are few bands remaining in service from the '70s but Sparks have shown considerable endurance since the Mael brothers cemented their musical union in 1972. 45 years later and album number twenty-three heralds something of a renaissance for the band and yet another career highlight.

Recalling the acerbic and observational lyricisms of old, Hippopotamus is intelligent, fun and charmingly eccentric for the best part of its 55 minutes. Theatrical, harmonic and kitsch, the opening salvo of Probably Nothing, Missionary Position, Edith Piaf and Scandanavian Design are the equal of anything Ron and Russell have released, period.

Humour sits at the very heart of Sparks' candour - how can you resist couplets like "Most times she won't come but I don't really mind / Has a job to do as some guy's concubine...", "You might have positions you can recommend / But I don't know if we'll ever get to them..." or "In every other way I find you amazing but one / I wish you were fun...".

For sheer silliness however, head to the title-track. On Hippopotamus, the Maels are confronted with the issue of hippos, Bosch paintings and a VW camper in their pool, set to the sort of tune normally reserved for nursery rhymes or flamboyant musicals.

Dismiss Sparks at your peril - the likes of Divine Comedy, Momus, Cardiacs and even Killers in their earlier incarnation have benefitted from bearing similar dramatic genes, intended or otherwise and this is up there with their best.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
18/09/2017


18/09/2017 : SPARKS - Hippopotamus 18/09/2017 : SPARKS - Hippopotamus

Music reviews

17
02
NEON ELECTRONICS
Mondriaan
15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Damned, Damned, Damned - At 42, 42, 42!
18
02
Today, exactly 16 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Mechanical Man | Remembering Bob Casale - The Devo Legend
15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'

PHOTOS

17
02
KAELAN MIKLA
Magasin 4
17
02
SOME EMBER
Magasin 4
17
02
TURQUOISE
Magasin 4
10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
02
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
18
02
WARHAUS
The Good Lie
17
02
HYBRYDS
I hear you calling
16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)