tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

05/08/2017 : BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION - Split EP

BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION

Split EP

MusicVinyl
ElectroMinimalSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[80/100]   

Peripheral Minimal
05/08/2017, Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY

Brigitte Enzler, aka Beta Evers, hardly needs any introduction. Either by herself or with some of her projects, including Black Spider Clan, or even through her (now defunct) label Kommando 6, she has amassed an impressive body of work. After last year's outstanding LP "Delusion", released by Daft Records, Beta Evers is back with this 12" EP, a split between herself and New York duo Spatial Relation, the musical vehicle of married couple Lissette and Jacob Schoenly. The EP is released on the Bristolian label Peripheral Minimal.

The three tracks on the Beta Evers side sound like a continuation of the "Delusion" LP, like a way of showing us the full range of her abilities and where she's going next. It starts with the relatively catchy synthpop of "Hiding", only to get darker and more atmospheric on the second track, the mid-tempo dirge "Soundtrack For A Tomorrow", with amazing vocals and eerie synth harmonies. The side ends with the even gloomier "Innerhalb Der Zeit", a beat-less piece of hazy and slightly disturbing music, featuring Heinrich Müller from Dopplereffekt and sang by Brigitte, completely in German.

Side B is definitely more up tempo, and possibly more upbeat as well. Spatial Relation is an electro duo that seems to have picked up from where ADULT. left off after "Anxiety Always", or even before that, in their earlier EPs and singles. The sparse 606 electro beats, the heavily echoed I-don't-give-a-single-fuck female vocals, and the overall production gives it a distinctive 2002-ish, even Electroclash-y feel, which is actually pretty enjoyable, and sits quite well as the more light-hearted cousin of Beta Evers' synth gloom. All in all the EP sounds cohesive, a great addition to the catalogue of this relatively new but really interesting label.

Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY
05/08/2017


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVERNANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire