tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

16/09/2017 : SPARE SNARE - Unicorn

SPARE SNARE

Unicorn

MusicCD
Indie

[75/100]   

Chute Records
16/09/2017, Paul PLEDGER

This high-wired Dundee-based lo-fi outfit have been knocking out edgy angsty jangle-pop for the best part of 25 years now and show little signs of abating. Unicorn recalls mid-period Wedding Present (but Scottish), Velvet Underground, Nightingales and Fire Engines in varying measures and showcases the band's somewhat ramshackle but occasionally beautiful song-structures.

Work I Am and All I'm Hating both sport infectious choruses yet sound like they may fall apart in a stiff breeze, due in part to Jan Burnett's unsettling distorted megaphone vocals that career across the songs' unbridled paths and the rest of the band steadfastly buzzing around like a hive of moody hornets - top stuff, natch.

Things take respite on the almost wistful You're Not Home, although the song's subject matter could very well be political with a line like "this democracy is not yours...". All of which heralds the eerie knell of Soft Rains which recalls Dazzle Ships-era OMD and the chipper (and mildly sardonic) Not As Smart As You, the latter issued as a standalone track.

Unicorn sounds exactly like the sort of thing John Peel would have embraced - unique trailblazing and slightly bonkers crash-n-bash indie rock with old broadcasting samples and a sense of fun and fury.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
16/09/2017


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
03
No Time To Cry since 36 years!
08
03
Today, exactly 27 years ago, American industrial band Nine Inch Nails released The Downward Spiral!
07
03
Electronic Act IMBUED VAGARY Releases 6 CD Project – “Hexalogy”
07
03
33 years ago the Drag Queen of the 20th Century, Divine, passed away!
07
03
41 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released the single 'Happy House'!
05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
03
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
07
03
MARSHEAUX
Eyes Without A Face
06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You