tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

16/09/2017 : SPARE SNARE - Unicorn

SPARE SNARE

Unicorn

MusicCD
Indie

[75/100]   

Chute Records
16/09/2017, Paul PLEDGER

This high-wired Dundee-based lo-fi outfit have been knocking out edgy angsty jangle-pop for the best part of 25 years now and show little signs of abating. Unicorn recalls mid-period Wedding Present (but Scottish), Velvet Underground, Nightingales and Fire Engines in varying measures and showcases the band's somewhat ramshackle but occasionally beautiful song-structures.

Work I Am and All I'm Hating both sport infectious choruses yet sound like they may fall apart in a stiff breeze, due in part to Jan Burnett's unsettling distorted megaphone vocals that career across the songs' unbridled paths and the rest of the band steadfastly buzzing around like a hive of moody hornets - top stuff, natch.

Things take respite on the almost wistful You're Not Home, although the song's subject matter could very well be political with a line like "this democracy is not yours...". All of which heralds the eerie knell of Soft Rains which recalls Dazzle Ships-era OMD and the chipper (and mildly sardonic) Not As Smart As You, the latter issued as a standalone track.

Unicorn sounds exactly like the sort of thing John Peel would have embraced - unique trailblazing and slightly bonkers crash-n-bash indie rock with old broadcasting samples and a sense of fun and fury.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
16/09/2017


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)