tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

02/03/2019 : FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY - Wake Up The Coma

FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY

Wake Up The Coma

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
ElectroElectro PopExperimental

[90/100]   

Metropolis Records
02/03/2019, Kevin BURKE

The sonic-driven, industrial sound of Front Line Assembly is a welcome swell of edm at the dawn of 2019. Their latest and one which perhaps hints at a return to their cyber-punk roots is the electrified ‘Wake Up The Coma’.

It has been a long six-years since their previous release, ‘Echogenetic’ in 2013. Since then the band has morphed again though through necessity with the sad loss of Jeremy Inkel last year through asthma complications. This is where some of the poignancy lies within ‘Wake Up The Coma’, Inkel’s last contributions can be heard here in the haunting ‘Structures’ and ‘Mesmerized’, and as a mark of respect the recording was released on the day of his birthday(08/02).
This recording however marks the return of Rhys Fulber, alongside Bill Leeb the duo move enigmatically into another dimension.

That aside, the album is a fine release if not a little uneven at times. It cannot be viewed as the moment when FLA break new ground or push forward in a new direction. Instead they create a layered, ambient landscape through a flawless production. With the aggression levels at a low, and an album which switches tempos and themes effortlessly without any jump into dangerous territory.

And then there is the slices of pop, in for one the curious if not highly enjoyable cover of the Falco classic ‘Rock Me Amadeus’. At first what may sound like a curious edition becomes an overwhelming addiction, though guest vocalist Jimmy Urine of Mindless Self Indulgence sings faithfully in German. Other guest cameos include Nick Holmes from metal band Paradise Lost on the title track and Chris Connelly on the closing ‘Spitting Wind’.

Leeb has thirty-three years honing the sound of Front Line Assembly, what may seem like an ordinary album from them would be a masterpiece for a contemporary. The album is not bad, ‘Wake Up The Coma’ is a solid affair, great in places-curios in others, it just does not give us anything new sounding.

Track List:
1. Front Line Assembly feat. Robert Görl - Eye On You (feat. Robert Görl)
2. Arbeit
3. Rock Me Amadeus (feat. Jimmy Urine)
4. Tilt
5. Hatevol
6. Proximity
7. Living A Lie
8. Front Line Assembly feat. Nick Holmes - Wake Up The Coma (feat. Nick Holmes)
9. Mesmerized
10. Negative Territory
11. Structures
12. Front Line Assembly feat. Chris Connelly - Spitting Wind (feat. Chris Connelly)

Kevin BURKE
02/03/2019


 

Next reviews
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
SPC ECO • Fifteen
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
WE ARE THE LINE • Songs of Light and Darkness
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
A MIDSUMMER NIGHT'S DREAM • A modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play
NEON ELECTRONICS • Mondriaan
QUAL • Cyber Care

 

Other reviews from FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • London, The Garage (14/03/2016)
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Echogenetic

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Shadow Of Fear
DIVE • Where do we go from here
AD:KEY • Resonanz
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE • Sharpening The Axe

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
J:DEAD • A Complicated Genocide
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall
ERASURE • THE NEON
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
03
No Time To Cry since 36 years!
08
03
Today, exactly 1 years ago, American industrial band Nine Inch Nails released The Downward Spiral!
07
03
Electronic Act IMBUED VAGARY Releases 6 CD Project – “Hexalogy”
07
03
33 years ago the Drag Queen of the 20th Century, Divine, passed away!
07
03
41 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released the single 'Happy House'!
05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
03
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
07
03
MARSHEAUX
Eyes Without A Face
06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You