tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

02/03/2019 : FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY - Wake Up The Coma

FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY

Wake Up The Coma

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
ElectroElectro PopExperimental

[90/100]   

Metropolis Records
02/03/2019, Kevin BURKE

The sonic-driven, industrial sound of Front Line Assembly is a welcome swell of edm at the dawn of 2019. Their latest and one which perhaps hints at a return to their cyber-punk roots is the electrified ‘Wake Up The Coma’.

It has been a long six-years since their previous release, ‘Echogenetic’ in 2013. Since then the band has morphed again though through necessity with the sad loss of Jeremy Inkel last year through asthma complications. This is where some of the poignancy lies within ‘Wake Up The Coma’, Inkel’s last contributions can be heard here in the haunting ‘Structures’ and ‘Mesmerized’, and as a mark of respect the recording was released on the day of his birthday(08/02).
This recording however marks the return of Rhys Fulber, alongside Bill Leeb the duo move enigmatically into another dimension.

That aside, the album is a fine release if not a little uneven at times. It cannot be viewed as the moment when FLA break new ground or push forward in a new direction. Instead they create a layered, ambient landscape through a flawless production. With the aggression levels at a low, and an album which switches tempos and themes effortlessly without any jump into dangerous territory.

And then there is the slices of pop, in for one the curious if not highly enjoyable cover of the Falco classic ‘Rock Me Amadeus’. At first what may sound like a curious edition becomes an overwhelming addiction, though guest vocalist Jimmy Urine of Mindless Self Indulgence sings faithfully in German. Other guest cameos include Nick Holmes from metal band Paradise Lost on the title track and Chris Connelly on the closing ‘Spitting Wind’.

Leeb has thirty-three years honing the sound of Front Line Assembly, what may seem like an ordinary album from them would be a masterpiece for a contemporary. The album is not bad, ‘Wake Up The Coma’ is a solid affair, great in places-curios in others, it just does not give us anything new sounding.

Track List:
1. Front Line Assembly feat. Robert Görl - Eye On You (feat. Robert Görl)
2. Arbeit
3. Rock Me Amadeus (feat. Jimmy Urine)
4. Tilt
5. Hatevol
6. Proximity
7. Living A Lie
8. Front Line Assembly feat. Nick Holmes - Wake Up The Coma (feat. Nick Holmes)
9. Mesmerized
10. Negative Territory
11. Structures
12. Front Line Assembly feat. Chris Connelly - Spitting Wind (feat. Chris Connelly)

Kevin BURKE
02/03/2019


 

Next reviews
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
SPC ECO • Fifteen
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
WE ARE THE LINE • Songs of Light and Darkness
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
A MIDSUMMER NIGHT'S DREAM • A modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play
NEON ELECTRONICS • Mondriaan
QUAL • Cyber Care

 

Other reviews from FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • London, The Garage (14/03/2016)
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Echogenetic

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
KLANGWELT • The Incident
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
VLIMMER • Angststand

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction

Music reviews

20
04
LUCKY AND LOVE
Transitions
12
04
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO
Menetekel
04
04
GROOVENOM
Wir müssen reden
03
04
THE RECEIPTS
The Receipts
02
04
FONTAINES D.C
Dogrel
01
04
FRAGRANCE
Now That I'm Real

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 33 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
15
04
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #33 out now!
14
04
Blindness Vocalist Beth Rettig Announces Debut EP ''The Desert'' From New Project Where We Sleep
13
04
Watch a new trailer for an upcoming documentary on Canadian synthpunk innovator, Nash The Slash!
12
04
Coil Release 150 minutes Of Music Entitled ''SWANYARD''
11
04
Tomorrow! Double concert Neon Electronics + Simi Nah - Win a free album!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
04
GNOSTIC GORILLA
WAKE UP! We are really in deep shit if we don’t snap out of this siege mentality and we need to stop killing the earth!
12
04
ERNEST MOON
“Our interest in the literary arts is equal to that of music.”
11
04
51 PEG
Breaking A 14-Year Absence: An Interview With 51 Peg
10
04
JO QUAIL
'I guess I’m a bit difficult to categorize!'
08
04
LAIBACH
'In reality, nobody really wants to solve a Korean problem.'

PHOTOS

18
04
DATE AT MIDNIGHT
Dark Skies over Witten V Werkstatt Witten Germany
18
04
AUGER
Dark Skies over Witten V Wekstatt Witten Germany
06
04
PERSEPHONE
@ A Mourning hall concert Gelsenkirchen
24
03
RED ZEBRA
De Lux Herenthout
24
03
DE BRASSERS
De Lux Herenthout
10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
04
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Gone (Feat. Yvette Winkler)
20
04
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion
19
04
GNOSTIC GORRILA
St. Basil's Asylum
18
04
UNDERTHESKIN
Borderline
18
04
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
17
04
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
16
04
ANNI HOGAN
Angels Of Romance (featuring Gavin Friday