tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

02/03/2019 : FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY - Wake Up The Coma

FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY

Wake Up The Coma

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
ElectroElectro PopExperimental

[90/100]   

Metropolis Records
02/03/2019, Kevin BURKE

The sonic-driven, industrial sound of Front Line Assembly is a welcome swell of edm at the dawn of 2019. Their latest and one which perhaps hints at a return to their cyber-punk roots is the electrified ‘Wake Up The Coma’.

It has been a long six-years since their previous release, ‘Echogenetic’ in 2013. Since then the band has morphed again though through necessity with the sad loss of Jeremy Inkel last year through asthma complications. This is where some of the poignancy lies within ‘Wake Up The Coma’, Inkel’s last contributions can be heard here in the haunting ‘Structures’ and ‘Mesmerized’, and as a mark of respect the recording was released on the day of his birthday(08/02).
This recording however marks the return of Rhys Fulber, alongside Bill Leeb the duo move enigmatically into another dimension.

That aside, the album is a fine release if not a little uneven at times. It cannot be viewed as the moment when FLA break new ground or push forward in a new direction. Instead they create a layered, ambient landscape through a flawless production. With the aggression levels at a low, and an album which switches tempos and themes effortlessly without any jump into dangerous territory.

And then there is the slices of pop, in for one the curious if not highly enjoyable cover of the Falco classic ‘Rock Me Amadeus’. At first what may sound like a curious edition becomes an overwhelming addiction, though guest vocalist Jimmy Urine of Mindless Self Indulgence sings faithfully in German. Other guest cameos include Nick Holmes from metal band Paradise Lost on the title track and Chris Connelly on the closing ‘Spitting Wind’.

Leeb has thirty-three years honing the sound of Front Line Assembly, what may seem like an ordinary album from them would be a masterpiece for a contemporary. The album is not bad, ‘Wake Up The Coma’ is a solid affair, great in places-curios in others, it just does not give us anything new sounding.

Track List:
1. Front Line Assembly feat. Robert Görl - Eye On You (feat. Robert Görl)
2. Arbeit
3. Rock Me Amadeus (feat. Jimmy Urine)
4. Tilt
5. Hatevol
6. Proximity
7. Living A Lie
8. Front Line Assembly feat. Nick Holmes - Wake Up The Coma (feat. Nick Holmes)
9. Mesmerized
10. Negative Territory
11. Structures
12. Front Line Assembly feat. Chris Connelly - Spitting Wind (feat. Chris Connelly)

Kevin BURKE
02/03/2019


 

Next reviews
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
SPC ECO • Fifteen
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
WE ARE THE LINE • Songs of Light and Darkness
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
A MIDSUMMER NIGHT'S DREAM • A modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play
NEON ELECTRONICS • Mondriaan
QUAL • Cyber Care

 

Other reviews from FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • London, The Garage (14/03/2016)
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Echogenetic

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
JIHAD • Retrospekt

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Space and time
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
J:DEAD • A Complicated Genocide
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

28
06
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
THE MISSION
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
IAMX
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
W.H. LUNG
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
FORCED TO MODE
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
TORUL
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
ATMOSPHERE
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete