tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

10/10/2017 : TEARFUL MOON - Evocation

TEARFUL MOON

Evocation

MusicVinyl
DarkwaveGothic

[80/100]   

InClub Records
10/10/2017, Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY

Sky Lesco and Manuel Lozano, aka Tearful Moon (Texas, USA) are back, not long after their first album In The Dark Morning came out on CD. This second album, Evocation, is the duo's first time on vinyl, released by Peruvian label InClub Records (by the way, don't lose sight of the Latin American Goth/Darkwave scene, trust me).

Evocation is at the same time similar and different from the first album, actually it feels a bit like the improved version of In The Dark Morning. The songwriting is more confident, the overall thing just sounds clearer, more focused, and with a truly international set of guest musicians (Wonder Dark, This Cold Night, Stockhaussen, and Suzi Sabotage), although the atmosphere is very much alike.

The album opens with two of the strongest tracks on the LP. The first one, The Prayer, features a great drum pattern and it's sang by Manuel. It makes you think of very early Dead Can Dance and that's a good thing. This is quickly followed by House Of Joy, which pretty much sets the tone for the rest of the album, with an impossibly Gothic chorus tune. Other favourites are The Confusion, Animal Inside, Conviction, and the amazing Parasite, with Suzi Sabotage (from Masquerade and Virgin In Veil) as guest vocalist.

Although the album does stretch a bit too thin over the course of its twelve songs (oddly enough, I think the two singles were the weakest tracks on it), the whole thing sounds extremely cohesive and just like Morning, it conjures up the right images of dry ice and candlelight. However synth-driven the sound of Tearful Moon might be, Evocation has much more to do with 90s bands like The Shroud than with anything even remotely Coldwave-y. A most welcome über-Goth extravaganza.

Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY
10/10/2017


10/10/2017 : TEARFUL MOON - Evocation 10/10/2017 : TEARFUL MOON - Evocation

 

Next reviews
SPECIAL LOVE • Unloveable
ASTARI NITE • Dreams Of Majesty
SUBTERFUGE • Blind To Reason
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
CRASH COURSE IN SCIENCE • Situational Awareness
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
LCD SOUNDSYSTEM • American Dream
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017
OMD • The Punishment Of Luxury

 

Other reviews from TEARFUL MOON
TEARFUL MOON • In The Dark Morning

 

Same combination of genres: DARKWAVE + GOTHIC
SUBTERFUGE • Blind To Reason
TEARFUL MOON • In The Dark Morning
HEAVEN FALLS HARD • 20 Years of Tears 1993-2013
DOUBLE ECHO • La Danza
SOPOR AETERNUS AND THE ENSEMBLE OF SHADOWS • Mitternacht
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Iscariot Blues
DIGITAL ANGEL • On The Side Of Angels
LOVE IN A CAGE • Position

 

Same genre: DARKWAVE
LA SCALTRA • Cabaret
CARNAL MACHINERY • Cluster A
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
THE HERESY GENE • La Luz Del Padre

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
10
41 of Subhuman and Adrenalin!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!
29
09
Canadian Industrial Act DI AUGER Takes Raw Anger To Government Tyranny with 'Piss & Vinegar'

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

23
10
FRONT 242
Depot Leuven
23
10
RADICAL G
Depot Leuven
03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
10
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
22
10
AFTER ABSENCE
Collide
21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
18
10
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
17
10
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi