tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

10/10/2017 : TEARFUL MOON - Evocation

TEARFUL MOON

Evocation

MusicVinyl
DarkwaveGothic

[80/100]   

InClub Records
10/10/2017, Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY

Sky Lesco and Manuel Lozano, aka Tearful Moon (Texas, USA) are back, not long after their first album In The Dark Morning came out on CD. This second album, Evocation, is the duo's first time on vinyl, released by Peruvian label InClub Records (by the way, don't lose sight of the Latin American Goth/Darkwave scene, trust me).

Evocation is at the same time similar and different from the first album, actually it feels a bit like the improved version of In The Dark Morning. The songwriting is more confident, the overall thing just sounds clearer, more focused, and with a truly international set of guest musicians (Wonder Dark, This Cold Night, Stockhaussen, and Suzi Sabotage), although the atmosphere is very much alike.

The album opens with two of the strongest tracks on the LP. The first one, The Prayer, features a great drum pattern and it's sang by Manuel. It makes you think of very early Dead Can Dance and that's a good thing. This is quickly followed by House Of Joy, which pretty much sets the tone for the rest of the album, with an impossibly Gothic chorus tune. Other favourites are The Confusion, Animal Inside, Conviction, and the amazing Parasite, with Suzi Sabotage (from Masquerade and Virgin In Veil) as guest vocalist.

Although the album does stretch a bit too thin over the course of its twelve songs (oddly enough, I think the two singles were the weakest tracks on it), the whole thing sounds extremely cohesive and just like Morning, it conjures up the right images of dry ice and candlelight. However synth-driven the sound of Tearful Moon might be, Evocation has much more to do with 90s bands like The Shroud than with anything even remotely Coldwave-y. A most welcome über-Goth extravaganza.

Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY
10/10/2017


10/10/2017 : TEARFUL MOON - Evocation 10/10/2017 : TEARFUL MOON - Evocation

Music reviews

15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth
20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...
14
02
Today, exactly 40 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
13
02
In The Light | Happy Birthday Peter Hook!
12
02
Producer/composer Phil Western (Download/PlatEAU/...) passed way on Saturday 9 February.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'

PHOTOS

10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)
12
02
COMBICHRIST
My Life My Rules
11
02
SLOVENSKA TELEVIZA
Muskiz
11
02
ALVAR
The Fluid