tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

12/10/2017 : HELIOPHILE - Permeate

HELIOPHILE

Permeate

MusicCD
New romanticsSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[80/100]   

ScentAir Records
12/10/2017, Masha KASHA

Here we have a release "Permeate" from a Dutch band, Heliophile. The key member of the band is Gijs van Ouwerkerk, an artist from Enschede.The general sound the band is balancing at their foundations is somewhere between new wave, new romantic and future pop. In my opinion, the sound of the band is quite close to Diorama and a bit Apoptygma, although there are surely others they sound similar to.

The album begins with the clean and vibrant track "Towers to Fall", that has nice and dynamic dramatic composition as well as good deep vocals, involving some futurepop notions. "Permeate" continues further in a good rhythm leading us straight to the dance floor, followed by "Fall Over", a track that offers a big melancholic touch. "Tranen van de Regen" is an interesting surprise since I am not that used to hearing synthpop songs in Dutch but this one sounds good, with a well developed musical part and only to be recommended. "Hungry for the Day" lifts your mood if you were feeling down from the song before. "Meet the New You" brings us back to retrodance with it's digitally trashed voice. "The Broken Dance" is the most romantic song and the prospective slow dance for sure. "The Educators" somehow reminds me of Polarkreis 18 by the sound, good light synthpop.

If I could only choose one song...

Hesitated between "Permeate" and "Towers to Fall". The "Towers" win ;)

To sum up:

A good retro sounding synthpop (just invented) with a pinch of darkness. If you like dancing and are a bit romantic in your soul you will not regret it.

Playlist:

1.Towers so Tall

2. Permeate

3. Fall Over

4. Tranen van de Regen

5. Hungry for the Day

6. Satellite (Heartbeat Mix)

7. Meet the New You

8. Echo Chamber

9. This Broken Dance

10 The Educators

11. Your Clandestine

Masha KASHA
12/10/2017


Music reviews

22
10
VEDA RAYS
For The Rest To Rest
20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
10
DAVID J
Interview with David J
20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!

PHOTOS

23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
10
CRASH COURSE IN SCIENCE
Flying Turns (Live @ BIM 2009)
22
10
ADULT.
Heartbreak (Live @ MOOGFEST SOUND LAB)
21
10
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?