tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

12/10/2017 : HELIOPHILE - Permeate

HELIOPHILE

Permeate

MusicCD
New romanticsSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[80/100]   

ScentAir Records
12/10/2017, Masha KASHA

Here we have a release "Permeate" from a Dutch band, Heliophile. The key member of the band is Gijs van Ouwerkerk, an artist from Enschede.The general sound the band is balancing at their foundations is somewhere between new wave, new romantic and future pop. In my opinion, the sound of the band is quite close to Diorama and a bit Apoptygma, although there are surely others they sound similar to.

The album begins with the clean and vibrant track "Towers to Fall", that has nice and dynamic dramatic composition as well as good deep vocals, involving some futurepop notions. "Permeate" continues further in a good rhythm leading us straight to the dance floor, followed by "Fall Over", a track that offers a big melancholic touch. "Tranen van de Regen" is an interesting surprise since I am not that used to hearing synthpop songs in Dutch but this one sounds good, with a well developed musical part and only to be recommended. "Hungry for the Day" lifts your mood if you were feeling down from the song before. "Meet the New You" brings us back to retrodance with it's digitally trashed voice. "The Broken Dance" is the most romantic song and the prospective slow dance for sure. "The Educators" somehow reminds me of Polarkreis 18 by the sound, good light synthpop.

If I could only choose one song...

Hesitated between "Permeate" and "Towers to Fall". The "Towers" win ;)

To sum up:

A good retro sounding synthpop (just invented) with a pinch of darkness. If you like dancing and are a bit romantic in your soul you will not regret it.

Playlist:

1.Towers so Tall

2. Permeate

3. Fall Over

4. Tranen van de Regen

5. Hungry for the Day

6. Satellite (Heartbeat Mix)

7. Meet the New You

8. Echo Chamber

9. This Broken Dance

10 The Educators

11. Your Clandestine

Masha KASHA
12/10/2017


Music reviews

27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
01
ASHRR’S Dark Industrialized New Single, “ALL YOURS ALL MINE (DARKER DAYS MIX)” Is Streaming Now
25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

28
01
BIG TIME KILL
Again and Again
28
01
DEPECHE MODE
Enjoy The Silence
27
01
GEOMETRIC VISION
Apocalypse Queen
26
01
MASSENHYSTERIE
Weiber regieren die Welt
25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic