tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

09/12/2016 : HEAVEN FALLS HARD - 20 Years of Tears 1993-2013

HEAVEN FALLS HARD

20 Years of Tears 1993-2013

MusicDigital
DarkwaveGothic

[85/100]   

Self-released
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

A few months ago, Heaven Falls Hard released the very fine album The Mercy Go Round. Dark wave fans better pay attention to the compilation album 20 Years of Tears 1993-2013 that was released in 2013, which is now available on Bandcamp and Facebook at a price you decide yourself.

The biggest difference is that some songs have more drums and synths. The instruments on The Mercy Go Round sound quite minimalist.

What do we get here? Thirteen songs. Many tracks are taken from The Obedience of Angels that came out in 2002: I Died For You, To Be Sure, Colder and Bleed Like Me. That is no surprise, since it is one of their most appreciated/known albums.

From the 2008 album For All The World many songs are taken as well: Breathing (a live version), Resurrection and For All The World. In Death And The Maiden you hear echoes of Sinéad O'Connor in Stacye Moser's voice. A masterful track.

The minimalist Fade Away is quite catchy. Frightened is taken from Solace. Whether these songs are performed live, played in a minimalist way or done with a full band, every time we hear excellent dark wave tracks, thanks to the brilliant voice of Stacye Moser. This compilation is a great introduction for people who are not familiar with Heaven Falls Hard.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Nadat enkele maanden geleden het puike album The Mercy Go Round verscheen, wil ik de liefhebbers van deze darkwavemuziek graag attenderen op het overzichtsalbum uit 2013, te verkrijgen op bandcamp of via de facebookpagina tegen een zelf te bepalen prijs.

Het grootste verschil met het laatste album is dat er in een aantal songs meer drum en synths weerklinken. Op The Mercy Go Round is het instrumentengebruik eerder minimalistisch.

Wat krijgen we hier? Dertien songs. Een groot aantal tracks komt uit In The Obedience of Angels (2002) zoals I Died For You, To Be Sure, Colder en Bleed Like Me. Niet zo verwonderlijk, want het is één van hun meest gewaardeerde/bekendste albums. Ook uit het album For All The World (2008) komen vrij veel tracks: Breathing (hier in een live-uitvoering), Resurrection en For All The World. In Death And The Maiden weerklinken in Stacye Mosers stem echo's van Sinéad O'Connor. Het blijft een magistrale en aangrijpend track. Ook het minimalistische Fade Away is pakkend. Uit Solace (2006) komt o.a. Frightened.

Of de songs nu live, minimalistisch of met een volledige band zijn gebracht, telkens horen we donkere wavesongs die pakkend en aangrijpend zijn, mede door de schitterende stem van Stacye Moser. Deze compilatie is een mooie kennismaking voor mensen die niet vertrouwd zijn met het werk van deze band.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN

PHOTOS

18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell