tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

09/12/2016 : HEAVEN FALLS HARD - 20 Years of Tears 1993-2013

HEAVEN FALLS HARD

20 Years of Tears 1993-2013

MusicDigital
DarkwaveGothic

[85/100]   

Self-released
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

A few months ago, Heaven Falls Hard released the very fine album The Mercy Go Round. Dark wave fans better pay attention to the compilation album 20 Years of Tears 1993-2013 that was released in 2013, which is now available on Bandcamp and Facebook at a price you decide yourself.

The biggest difference is that some songs have more drums and synths. The instruments on The Mercy Go Round sound quite minimalist.

What do we get here? Thirteen songs. Many tracks are taken from The Obedience of Angels that came out in 2002: I Died For You, To Be Sure, Colder and Bleed Like Me. That is no surprise, since it is one of their most appreciated/known albums.

From the 2008 album For All The World many songs are taken as well: Breathing (a live version), Resurrection and For All The World. In Death And The Maiden you hear echoes of Sinéad O'Connor in Stacye Moser's voice. A masterful track.

The minimalist Fade Away is quite catchy. Frightened is taken from Solace. Whether these songs are performed live, played in a minimalist way or done with a full band, every time we hear excellent dark wave tracks, thanks to the brilliant voice of Stacye Moser. This compilation is a great introduction for people who are not familiar with Heaven Falls Hard.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Nadat enkele maanden geleden het puike album The Mercy Go Round verscheen, wil ik de liefhebbers van deze darkwavemuziek graag attenderen op het overzichtsalbum uit 2013, te verkrijgen op bandcamp of via de facebookpagina tegen een zelf te bepalen prijs.

Het grootste verschil met het laatste album is dat er in een aantal songs meer drum en synths weerklinken. Op The Mercy Go Round is het instrumentengebruik eerder minimalistisch.

Wat krijgen we hier? Dertien songs. Een groot aantal tracks komt uit In The Obedience of Angels (2002) zoals I Died For You, To Be Sure, Colder en Bleed Like Me. Niet zo verwonderlijk, want het is één van hun meest gewaardeerde/bekendste albums. Ook uit het album For All The World (2008) komen vrij veel tracks: Breathing (hier in een live-uitvoering), Resurrection en For All The World. In Death And The Maiden weerklinken in Stacye Mosers stem echo's van Sinéad O'Connor. Het blijft een magistrale en aangrijpend track. Ook het minimalistische Fade Away is pakkend. Uit Solace (2006) komt o.a. Frightened.

Of de songs nu live, minimalistisch of met een volledige band zijn gebracht, telkens horen we donkere wavesongs die pakkend en aangrijpend zijn, mede door de schitterende stem van Stacye Moser. Deze compilatie is een mooie kennismaking voor mensen die niet vertrouwd zijn met het werk van deze band.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE FIRM INCORPORATED • Veritas
• Black Easter 2016 Day 2 (27/03/2016)
A-HA • London, O2 Arena (26/03/2016)
PRIMAL SCREAM • Chaosmosis
COLLAPSE • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (25/03/2016)
MORTIIS • The Great Deceiver
BLINKY BLINKY COMPUTERBAND • Fractured Sign
DARK AWAKE • Imago Typhonis
• Black Easter 2016 Day 1 (26/03/2016)
MAX LILJA • Coalescaremonium 2016

 

Other reviews from HEAVEN FALLS HARD
HEAVEN FALLS HARD • The Mercy-Go-Round

 

Same combination of genres: DARKWAVE + GOTHIC
TEARFUL MOON • Evocation
SUBTERFUGE • Blind To Reason
TEARFUL MOON • In The Dark Morning
DOUBLE ECHO • La Danza
SOPOR AETERNUS AND THE ENSEMBLE OF SHADOWS • Mitternacht
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Iscariot Blues
DIGITAL ANGEL • On The Side Of Angels
LOVE IN A CAGE • Position

 

Same genre: DARKWAVE
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
THE HERESY GENE • La Luz Del Padre
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
DAGEIST • Sexy
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
JE T'AIME • Je T'aime
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MANDIVULA • Nonsens

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse

Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
05
Electro/Synthwave Act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON Unleash New Studio Album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein
28
05
GOLDEN BOY FEAT. MISS KITTIN
Rittin Kitten (Extended)
27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still