tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

09/12/2016 : HEAVEN FALLS HARD - 20 Years of Tears 1993-2013

HEAVEN FALLS HARD

20 Years of Tears 1993-2013

MusicDigital
DarkwaveGothic

[85/100]   

Self-released
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

A few months ago, Heaven Falls Hard released the very fine album The Mercy Go Round. Dark wave fans better pay attention to the compilation album 20 Years of Tears 1993-2013 that was released in 2013, which is now available on Bandcamp and Facebook at a price you decide yourself.

The biggest difference is that some songs have more drums and synths. The instruments on The Mercy Go Round sound quite minimalist.

What do we get here? Thirteen songs. Many tracks are taken from The Obedience of Angels that came out in 2002: I Died For You, To Be Sure, Colder and Bleed Like Me. That is no surprise, since it is one of their most appreciated/known albums.

From the 2008 album For All The World many songs are taken as well: Breathing (a live version), Resurrection and For All The World. In Death And The Maiden you hear echoes of Sinéad O'Connor in Stacye Moser's voice. A masterful track.

The minimalist Fade Away is quite catchy. Frightened is taken from Solace. Whether these songs are performed live, played in a minimalist way or done with a full band, every time we hear excellent dark wave tracks, thanks to the brilliant voice of Stacye Moser. This compilation is a great introduction for people who are not familiar with Heaven Falls Hard.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Nadat enkele maanden geleden het puike album The Mercy Go Round verscheen, wil ik de liefhebbers van deze darkwavemuziek graag attenderen op het overzichtsalbum uit 2013, te verkrijgen op bandcamp of via de facebookpagina tegen een zelf te bepalen prijs.

Het grootste verschil met het laatste album is dat er in een aantal songs meer drum en synths weerklinken. Op The Mercy Go Round is het instrumentengebruik eerder minimalistisch.

Wat krijgen we hier? Dertien songs. Een groot aantal tracks komt uit In The Obedience of Angels (2002) zoals I Died For You, To Be Sure, Colder en Bleed Like Me. Niet zo verwonderlijk, want het is één van hun meest gewaardeerde/bekendste albums. Ook uit het album For All The World (2008) komen vrij veel tracks: Breathing (hier in een live-uitvoering), Resurrection en For All The World. In Death And The Maiden weerklinken in Stacye Mosers stem echo's van Sinéad O'Connor. Het blijft een magistrale en aangrijpend track. Ook het minimalistische Fade Away is pakkend. Uit Solace (2006) komt o.a. Frightened.

Of de songs nu live, minimalistisch of met een volledige band zijn gebracht, telkens horen we donkere wavesongs die pakkend en aangrijpend zijn, mede door de schitterende stem van Stacye Moser. Deze compilatie is een mooie kennismaking voor mensen die niet vertrouwd zijn met het werk van deze band.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE FIRM INCORPORATED • Veritas
• Black Easter 2016 Day 2 (27/03/2016)
A-HA • London, O2 Arena (26/03/2016)
PRIMAL SCREAM • Chaosmosis
COLLAPSE • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (25/03/2016)
MORTIIS • The Great Deceiver
BLINKY BLINKY COMPUTERBAND • Fractured Sign
DARK AWAKE • Imago Typhonis
• Black Easter 2016 Day 1 (26/03/2016)
MAX LILJA • Coalescaremonium 2016

 

Other reviews from HEAVEN FALLS HARD
HEAVEN FALLS HARD • The Mercy-Go-Round

 

Same combination of genres: DARKWAVE + GOTHIC
TEARFUL MOON • Evocation
SUBTERFUGE • Blind To Reason
TEARFUL MOON • In The Dark Morning
DOUBLE ECHO • La Danza
SOPOR AETERNUS AND THE ENSEMBLE OF SHADOWS • Mitternacht
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Iscariot Blues
DIGITAL ANGEL • On The Side Of Angels
LOVE IN A CAGE • Position

 

Same genre: DARKWAVE
LA SCALTRA • Cabaret
CARNAL MACHINERY • Cluster A
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
THE HERESY GENE • La Luz Del Padre

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

21
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Hafensommer 21 Am Speicher 2 Osnabrück
12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)