tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

09/12/2016 : HEAVEN FALLS HARD - 20 Years of Tears 1993-2013

HEAVEN FALLS HARD

20 Years of Tears 1993-2013

MusicDigital
DarkwaveGothic

[85/100]   

Self-released
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

A few months ago, Heaven Falls Hard released the very fine album The Mercy Go Round. Dark wave fans better pay attention to the compilation album 20 Years of Tears 1993-2013 that was released in 2013, which is now available on Bandcamp and Facebook at a price you decide yourself.

The biggest difference is that some songs have more drums and synths. The instruments on The Mercy Go Round sound quite minimalist.

What do we get here? Thirteen songs. Many tracks are taken from The Obedience of Angels that came out in 2002: I Died For You, To Be Sure, Colder and Bleed Like Me. That is no surprise, since it is one of their most appreciated/known albums.

From the 2008 album For All The World many songs are taken as well: Breathing (a live version), Resurrection and For All The World. In Death And The Maiden you hear echoes of Sinéad O'Connor in Stacye Moser's voice. A masterful track.

The minimalist Fade Away is quite catchy. Frightened is taken from Solace. Whether these songs are performed live, played in a minimalist way or done with a full band, every time we hear excellent dark wave tracks, thanks to the brilliant voice of Stacye Moser. This compilation is a great introduction for people who are not familiar with Heaven Falls Hard.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Nadat enkele maanden geleden het puike album The Mercy Go Round verscheen, wil ik de liefhebbers van deze darkwavemuziek graag attenderen op het overzichtsalbum uit 2013, te verkrijgen op bandcamp of via de facebookpagina tegen een zelf te bepalen prijs.

Het grootste verschil met het laatste album is dat er in een aantal songs meer drum en synths weerklinken. Op The Mercy Go Round is het instrumentengebruik eerder minimalistisch.

Wat krijgen we hier? Dertien songs. Een groot aantal tracks komt uit In The Obedience of Angels (2002) zoals I Died For You, To Be Sure, Colder en Bleed Like Me. Niet zo verwonderlijk, want het is één van hun meest gewaardeerde/bekendste albums. Ook uit het album For All The World (2008) komen vrij veel tracks: Breathing (hier in een live-uitvoering), Resurrection en For All The World. In Death And The Maiden weerklinken in Stacye Mosers stem echo's van Sinéad O'Connor. Het blijft een magistrale en aangrijpend track. Ook het minimalistische Fade Away is pakkend. Uit Solace (2006) komt o.a. Frightened.

Of de songs nu live, minimalistisch of met een volledige band zijn gebracht, telkens horen we donkere wavesongs die pakkend en aangrijpend zijn, mede door de schitterende stem van Stacye Moser. Deze compilatie is een mooie kennismaking voor mensen die niet vertrouwd zijn met het werk van deze band.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE FIRM INCORPORATED • Veritas
• Black Easter 2016 Day 2 (27/03/2016)
A-HA • London, O2 Arena (26/03/2016)
PRIMAL SCREAM • Chaosmosis
COLLAPSE • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (25/03/2016)
MORTIIS • The Great Deceiver
BLINKY BLINKY COMPUTERBAND • Fractured Sign
DARK AWAKE • Imago Typhonis
• Black Easter 2016 Day 1 (26/03/2016)
MAX LILJA • Coalescaremonium 2016

 

Other reviews from HEAVEN FALLS HARD
HEAVEN FALLS HARD • The Mercy-Go-Round

 

Same combination of genres: DARKWAVE + GOTHIC
DARK • Nightmare
TEARFUL MOON • Evocation
SUBTERFUGE • Blind To Reason
TEARFUL MOON • In The Dark Morning
DOUBLE ECHO • La Danza
SOPOR AETERNUS AND THE ENSEMBLE OF SHADOWS • Mitternacht
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Iscariot Blues
DIGITAL ANGEL • On The Side Of Angels
LOVE IN A CAGE • Position

 

Same genre: DARKWAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
LA SCALTRA • Cabaret
CARNAL MACHINERY • Cluster A
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'
05
08
Darkwave Duo Sever The Servants Drop Apocalyptic Debut LP

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation