tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

09/12/2016 : HEAVEN FALLS HARD - 20 Years of Tears 1993-2013

HEAVEN FALLS HARD

20 Years of Tears 1993-2013

MusicDigital
DarkwaveGothic

[85/100]   

Self-released
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

A few months ago, Heaven Falls Hard released the very fine album The Mercy Go Round. Dark wave fans better pay attention to the compilation album 20 Years of Tears 1993-2013 that was released in 2013, which is now available on Bandcamp and Facebook at a price you decide yourself.

The biggest difference is that some songs have more drums and synths. The instruments on The Mercy Go Round sound quite minimalist.

What do we get here? Thirteen songs. Many tracks are taken from The Obedience of Angels that came out in 2002: I Died For You, To Be Sure, Colder and Bleed Like Me. That is no surprise, since it is one of their most appreciated/known albums.

From the 2008 album For All The World many songs are taken as well: Breathing (a live version), Resurrection and For All The World. In Death And The Maiden you hear echoes of Sinéad O'Connor in Stacye Moser's voice. A masterful track.

The minimalist Fade Away is quite catchy. Frightened is taken from Solace. Whether these songs are performed live, played in a minimalist way or done with a full band, every time we hear excellent dark wave tracks, thanks to the brilliant voice of Stacye Moser. This compilation is a great introduction for people who are not familiar with Heaven Falls Hard.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Nadat enkele maanden geleden het puike album The Mercy Go Round verscheen, wil ik de liefhebbers van deze darkwavemuziek graag attenderen op het overzichtsalbum uit 2013, te verkrijgen op bandcamp of via de facebookpagina tegen een zelf te bepalen prijs.

Het grootste verschil met het laatste album is dat er in een aantal songs meer drum en synths weerklinken. Op The Mercy Go Round is het instrumentengebruik eerder minimalistisch.

Wat krijgen we hier? Dertien songs. Een groot aantal tracks komt uit In The Obedience of Angels (2002) zoals I Died For You, To Be Sure, Colder en Bleed Like Me. Niet zo verwonderlijk, want het is één van hun meest gewaardeerde/bekendste albums. Ook uit het album For All The World (2008) komen vrij veel tracks: Breathing (hier in een live-uitvoering), Resurrection en For All The World. In Death And The Maiden weerklinken in Stacye Mosers stem echo's van Sinéad O'Connor. Het blijft een magistrale en aangrijpend track. Ook het minimalistische Fade Away is pakkend. Uit Solace (2006) komt o.a. Frightened.

Of de songs nu live, minimalistisch of met een volledige band zijn gebracht, telkens horen we donkere wavesongs die pakkend en aangrijpend zijn, mede door de schitterende stem van Stacye Moser. Deze compilatie is een mooie kennismaking voor mensen die niet vertrouwd zijn met het werk van deze band.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE FIRM INCORPORATED • Veritas
• Black Easter 2016 Day 2 (27/03/2016)
A-HA • London, O2 Arena (26/03/2016)
PRIMAL SCREAM • Chaosmosis
COLLAPSE • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (25/03/2016)
MORTIIS • The Great Deceiver
BLINKY BLINKY COMPUTERBAND • Fractured Sign
DARK AWAKE • Imago Typhonis
• Black Easter 2016 Day 1 (26/03/2016)
MAX LILJA • Coalescaremonium 2016

 

Other reviews from HEAVEN FALLS HARD
HEAVEN FALLS HARD • The Mercy-Go-Round

 

Same combination of genres: DARKWAVE + GOTHIC
THE MARS MODEL • Primal Urge
KILL SHELTER • Asylum
DARK • Nightmare
TEARFUL MOON • Evocation
SUBTERFUGE • Blind To Reason
TEARFUL MOON • In The Dark Morning
DOUBLE ECHO • La Danza
SOPOR AETERNUS AND THE ENSEMBLE OF SHADOWS • Mitternacht
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Iscariot Blues
DIGITAL ANGEL • On The Side Of Angels

 

Same genre: DARKWAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
LA SCALTRA • Cabaret
CARNAL MACHINERY • Cluster A
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
FEATHER TRADE • Dead Boy
THIS VALE OF TEARS • This Vale Of Tears
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep

Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!
03
02
This month, 37 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Corrosion!
02
02
Anarchy And Innocence | Sid Vicious Died 44 Years Ago Today...
01
02
Luna Del Luna Addresses Trauma And Abuse With Debut EP

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face
31
01
W. PIKE
We were lucky
31
01
MIREXXX
Nine angles