tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

RAT SCABIES

Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
Alternative RockPunk

[88/100]   

Cleopatra Records
09/08/2018, Danil VOLOHOV

When I talked with Rat Scabies for the first time, it seems that there were not many common features with his literary image, created by Rat’s neighbour - Christopher Dawes.

First of all because a writer’s work – is to create an attractive image, using the features of romantic character and emphasizing them with the uniqueness of his narration. At least, I thought about it, sitting in my room and listening to Rat’s voice in my loudspeakers. As Christopher Dawes once did, I thought about my first impressions of The Damned, and Rat in general. And comparing my feelings to the emotions of his new record, I found myself thinking that Rat is a very special kind of person.

He could be calm and talk about his old days or play his sweet loud punk rock. He could mix blues bits with classical rock-n-roll pieces. His “Sing, Sing, Sing” sounds like a symphony for the beats, after their freak out – powerful chords and practically well-known tune. But with it, it sounds so new and without any disharmony with other tracks. “Rat’s Opus” with violin overture sounds a bit different. Deep sound and raw power of Rat’s creativity won’t disappear from the song. It’s the thing you could feel listening to the record again and again – even when you don’t hear Rat’s voice he gives you a full blast of energy, getting out of such a songs as “Glad You Could Make It” or “Floating”. It's the situation like if you'd have been visiting Musée du Louvre and looking through lots of paintings. Some of them could be unknown for you. But still, looking at blushwork and color palette you could easily understand - it's the work of Picasso, it's the work of Degas, it's the work of Modigliani. There are many years had passed since, I heard "New Rose" for the first time. And it's many years has passed after Rat Scabies finally released his solo-LP, singing for the first time and drumming like he did in 1970's - sometimes without any words, but sometimes it seems quite enogh to make the listeners remember the very first seconds of the greatest punk-rock song of all times, and say as loud as you can: "Rat Scabies playing! The legend!"

Danil VOLOHOV
09/08/2018


09/08/2018 : RAT SCABIES - Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
KNK
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
ELM
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
PRAGA KHAN
AB Brussel
24
09
CHRISTIAN DEATH
South of Heaven Bilzen
24
09
FACTHEORY
South of Heaven Bilzen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets
18
09
CALVA Y NADA
Der Sturm