tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

RAT SCABIES

Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
Alternative RockPunk

[88/100]   

Cleopatra Records
09/08/2018, Danil VOLOHOV

When I talked with Rat Scabies for the first time, it seems that there were not many common features with his literary image, created by Rat’s neighbour - Christopher Dawes.

First of all because a writer’s work – is to create an attractive image, using the features of romantic character and emphasizing them with the uniqueness of his narration. At least, I thought about it, sitting in my room and listening to Rat’s voice in my loudspeakers. As Christopher Dawes once did, I thought about my first impressions of The Damned, and Rat in general. And comparing my feelings to the emotions of his new record, I found myself thinking that Rat is a very special kind of person.

He could be calm and talk about his old days or play his sweet loud punk rock. He could mix blues bits with classical rock-n-roll pieces. His “Sing, Sing, Sing” sounds like a symphony for the beats, after their freak out – powerful chords and practically well-known tune. But with it, it sounds so new and without any disharmony with other tracks. “Rat’s Opus” with violin overture sounds a bit different. Deep sound and raw power of Rat’s creativity won’t disappear from the song. It’s the thing you could feel listening to the record again and again – even when you don’t hear Rat’s voice he gives you a full blast of energy, getting out of such a songs as “Glad You Could Make It” or “Floating”. It's the situation like if you'd have been visiting Musée du Louvre and looking through lots of paintings. Some of them could be unknown for you. But still, looking at blushwork and color palette you could easily understand - it's the work of Picasso, it's the work of Degas, it's the work of Modigliani. There are many years had passed since, I heard "New Rose" for the first time. And it's many years has passed after Rat Scabies finally released his solo-LP, singing for the first time and drumming like he did in 1970's - sometimes without any words, but sometimes it seems quite enogh to make the listeners remember the very first seconds of the greatest punk-rock song of all times, and say as loud as you can: "Rat Scabies playing! The legend!"

Danil VOLOHOV
09/08/2018


09/08/2018 : RAT SCABIES - Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination