tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

RAT SCABIES

Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
Alternative RockPunk

[88/100]   

Cleopatra Records
09/08/2018, Danil VOLOHOV

When I talked with Rat Scabies for the first time, it seems that there were not many common features with his literary image, created by Rat’s neighbour - Christopher Dawes.

First of all because a writer’s work – is to create an attractive image, using the features of romantic character and emphasizing them with the uniqueness of his narration. At least, I thought about it, sitting in my room and listening to Rat’s voice in my loudspeakers. As Christopher Dawes once did, I thought about my first impressions of The Damned, and Rat in general. And comparing my feelings to the emotions of his new record, I found myself thinking that Rat is a very special kind of person.

He could be calm and talk about his old days or play his sweet loud punk rock. He could mix blues bits with classical rock-n-roll pieces. His “Sing, Sing, Sing” sounds like a symphony for the beats, after their freak out – powerful chords and practically well-known tune. But with it, it sounds so new and without any disharmony with other tracks. “Rat’s Opus” with violin overture sounds a bit different. Deep sound and raw power of Rat’s creativity won’t disappear from the song. It’s the thing you could feel listening to the record again and again – even when you don’t hear Rat’s voice he gives you a full blast of energy, getting out of such a songs as “Glad You Could Make It” or “Floating”. It's the situation like if you'd have been visiting Musée du Louvre and looking through lots of paintings. Some of them could be unknown for you. But still, looking at blushwork and color palette you could easily understand - it's the work of Picasso, it's the work of Degas, it's the work of Modigliani. There are many years had passed since, I heard "New Rose" for the first time. And it's many years has passed after Rat Scabies finally released his solo-LP, singing for the first time and drumming like he did in 1970's - sometimes without any words, but sometimes it seems quite enogh to make the listeners remember the very first seconds of the greatest punk-rock song of all times, and say as loud as you can: "Rat Scabies playing! The legend!"

Danil VOLOHOV
09/08/2018


09/08/2018 : RAT SCABIES - Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
02
Gimme Danger | The Stooges Raw Power Is 50-Today!
06
02
On this day, 41 years ago, the Kraftwerk single ‘The Model’ reached the Top 1 of the UK Singles Chart!
05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!
03
02
This month, 37 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Corrosion!

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
02
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
06
02
FRONTMASCHINE
EXP9
05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face