tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

RAT SCABIES

Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
Alternative RockPunk

[88/100]   

Cleopatra Records
09/08/2018, Danil VOLOHOV

When I talked with Rat Scabies for the first time, it seems that there were not many common features with his literary image, created by Rat’s neighbour - Christopher Dawes.

First of all because a writer’s work – is to create an attractive image, using the features of romantic character and emphasizing them with the uniqueness of his narration. At least, I thought about it, sitting in my room and listening to Rat’s voice in my loudspeakers. As Christopher Dawes once did, I thought about my first impressions of The Damned, and Rat in general. And comparing my feelings to the emotions of his new record, I found myself thinking that Rat is a very special kind of person.

He could be calm and talk about his old days or play his sweet loud punk rock. He could mix blues bits with classical rock-n-roll pieces. His “Sing, Sing, Sing” sounds like a symphony for the beats, after their freak out – powerful chords and practically well-known tune. But with it, it sounds so new and without any disharmony with other tracks. “Rat’s Opus” with violin overture sounds a bit different. Deep sound and raw power of Rat’s creativity won’t disappear from the song. It’s the thing you could feel listening to the record again and again – even when you don’t hear Rat’s voice he gives you a full blast of energy, getting out of such a songs as “Glad You Could Make It” or “Floating”. It's the situation like if you'd have been visiting Musée du Louvre and looking through lots of paintings. Some of them could be unknown for you. But still, looking at blushwork and color palette you could easily understand - it's the work of Picasso, it's the work of Degas, it's the work of Modigliani. There are many years had passed since, I heard "New Rose" for the first time. And it's many years has passed after Rat Scabies finally released his solo-LP, singing for the first time and drumming like he did in 1970's - sometimes without any words, but sometimes it seems quite enogh to make the listeners remember the very first seconds of the greatest punk-rock song of all times, and say as loud as you can: "Rat Scabies playing! The legend!"

Danil VOLOHOV
09/08/2018


09/08/2018 : RAT SCABIES - Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

Music reviews

16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS
06
01
KMFDM
Paradise

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary
15
01
This month 48 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
11
01
On this day 35 years ago, Nina Hagen performed in front of 1,5 million people on the first edition of world’s biggest festivals Rock in Rio (Brazil).
10
01
Lair Of The Dark Prince | Lou Reed's New York At 31
10
01
20 years 'Into The Void'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.
11
01
CHRIS HASKETT (ROLLINS BAND)
'Musicians are more like radios that occasionally pick up and reproduce things from the cosmos.'
10
01
EVA - X
An Interview With Synthpop Act EVA - X

PHOTOS

26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest
26
12
REIN
Bimfest
26
12
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
bimfest
26
12
STURM CAFE
bimfest
26
12
RADERKRAFT
bimfest
26
12
ZWEITE JUGEND
Bimfest
26
12
ENZO KREFT
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
14
01
JANE'S ADDICTION
Been Caught Stealing
13
01
VOK
Waterfall
12
01
KLANGSTABIL
You may start