tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

11/12/2016 : PUFF - Living In The Partyzone

PUFF

Living In The Partyzone

MusicCD
ElectronicsNeue Deutsche WelleNoisePunk

[78/100]   

Slovenly Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The first thing you have to know is this: do not be fooled by the cover. The image of three naughty pigs spanking some people is obviously funny, but many music fans will think Puff is just another German fun punk band that sings about drinking beer and chasing girls. No, these Germans are doing something completely different.

They make messy punk, albeit with analog electronics and influences of Neue Deutsche Welle. The lyrics are downright absurd (therefore it is Dadaism). Sometimes in English, sometimes in their German mother tongue. It is obvious that they are fans of Devo and Grauzone, the electronic beeps are indeed hard to keep up with. Everything sounds pretty disorderly, but that's the fun (and of course the punk factor of it). Do what you want to do, do not follow any rules, just obey the principles of the DIY code.

Puff starts a European tour in September with two dates in Belgium (Ghent on September 19 and Kortrijk on September 22). We bet it will be good!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Het eerste wat je willen vertellen is dit: laat je niet misleiden door de hoes. De drie biggetjes die stoute mensen billenkoek geven zijn wel grappig, maar menig muziekfan zal denken dat Puff wederom zo’n Duitse pretpunkband is die het alleen maar over bier zuipen en meisjes versieren heeft. Neen, deze Duitsers doen iets compleet anders.

Ze maken rommelige punk, weliswaar met analoge elektronica en Neue Deutsche Welle-invloeden. De teksten zijn ronduit absurd (daarom is het ook Dadaïsme). Soms in het Engels, dan weer in hun Duitse moedertaal. Het is duidelijk dat ze fans zijn van Devo en Grauzone, de elektronische beeps zijn immers nauwelijks bij te houden. Alles klinkt behoorlijk wanordelijk, maar dat is net de pret- (en natuurlijk ook de punkfactor). Doen waar je lekker zin in hebt, je geen reet aantrekken van regels en alles volgens het principe van de DIY-code doen.

Puff start in september een Europese tour die ook halt houdt in België (op 19 september in Gent in De Ruimte en op 22 september in de Pits in Kortrijk). Wedden dat het goed zal zijn?

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
SHINE NOIR • Shine Noir EP
JOHANNES STABEL (XTR HUMAN) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
COCAINE PISS • The Dancer
MORTILLERY • Shapeshifter
BRIGITTE ROSE (BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
VITA NOCTIS • Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
PAWEL STRZELEC (ALLES) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
THE ART OF NOISE • In Visible Silence
KRAFTWERK • 3-D Catalogue
DER PLAN • Unkapitulierbar
BESTIAL MOUTHS • (Still) Heartless
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
AUTOMAT • OstWest
WRANGLER • White Glue
YELLO • Toy
BESTIAL MOUTHS • Remix
THE INVISIBLE • Patience

 

Same genre: NEUE DEUTSCHE WELLE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
X-QUADRAT • X-Quadrat
CRYSTAL SODA CREAM • Rationale Arbeitsschritte
LISAWARS • Niemals
VARIOUS ARTISTS • NDW Aus grauer Städte Mauern Teil 2 – Die Neue Deutsche Welle 1977 – 85
BAL PARé • Taxi Zum Mond
WAGONMAN • Desire EP
AKALOTZ, PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE & PORTION CONTROL • live in Concert At KAVKA, 02/05/2014, Antwerp, Belgium
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE • Therapy
LISAWARS • Nichts

 

Same genre: NOISE
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
ONEIROGEN • Convivium
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Hands Label Sampler
LA MUERTE • Murder Machine
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Bönen Germany, Festival (23/04/2016)

 

Same genre: PUNK
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
CULTURE SHOCK • Attention Span
STENDAL BLAST • Ein Abschied - Das Letzte Konzert
COCAINE PISS/SPLIT V/A • Cosmic Bullshit + Sex Weirdo’s
COCAINE PISS • Sex Weirdos
TACOCAT • Lost Time
LAVVI EBBEL • Wir Schaffen Das!
BLONDIE • Parallel Lines
THE STRANGLERS, THE ALARM • O2 Academy, Bristol (19/03/16)
KOTZE IM EINKAUFSWAGEN • Wunderschön und Unverfälscht

Music reviews

16
08
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND
Mercury Fountain
10
08
CONVERGE
I Can Tell You About Pain
05
08
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION
Split EP
03
08
NTTX
Of Beauty and Chaos'
01
08
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD
Murder Of The Universe
30
07
LIE DETECTOR
To Fly!

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
08
Is The Knife being sharpened again?
15
08
Sinead O' Connor posts desperate help-call video on her Facebook
13
08
Kirlian Camera co-operate with Covenant and announce new album
11
08
Hocico - Spell of The Spider - German tour dates
08
08
Wool-E's physical shop closing down - Up to 50% discount on stock-sales!
07
08
Silken Tofu on yearly Atlantikwall nocturnal, 19th August

Concert reviews

28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni
26
06
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH
Zaterdag 3 juni
26
06
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON
Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni
26
06
ZWEITE JUGEND, HIGH-FUNCTIONING FLESH, SCHWEFELGELB, A SPLIT SECOND
WGT EBM warm-up - Felsenkeller
26
06
KRYONIX, SYNTHATTACK, BLEIB MODERN, WHISPERING SONS, THE VISION BLEAK
Zondag 4 juni
09
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
08
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'A True Watchmaker work'
17
08
DICEPEOPLE
'Electro with an Industrial/Gothic edge and broad range of other influences'
09
08
SEEMING
I'm trying to paint a world where humans are not the stars or the narrators—where it's not about us at all.
06
08
THE MESCALINE BABIES
'I love Christian death, but their first album is nearly 40 years old, we should try to evolve the concept.'
03
08
LIQUID TRAUMA
OUR MEMORIES OF A BETTER PAST ARE OFTEN FAKE

PHOTOS

20
08
GROUND NERO
GDW Festival Tilloloy
20
08
HAPAX
GDW Festival Tilloloy
20
08
HAPAX
GDW Festival Tilloloy
20
08
AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE
GDW Festival Tilloloy
28
07
EISBRECHER
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
COMBICHRIST
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
LETZTE INSTANZ
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
MASQUERADE
Too Depressed to Dance
17
08
PSY'AVIAH
Reboot Reset Relay
17
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Virus
17
08
DIE KRUPPS
Nazis Auf Speed
15
08
VIRGIN IN VEIL
Of Tears and Poisons
14
08
JAMBINAI
They Keep Silence
13
08
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Exorcism