tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : PUFF - Living In The Partyzone

PUFF

Living In The Partyzone

MusicCD
ElectronicsNeue Deutsche WelleNoisePunk

[78/100]   

Slovenly Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The first thing you have to know is this: do not be fooled by the cover. The image of three naughty pigs spanking some people is obviously funny, but many music fans will think Puff is just another German fun punk band that sings about drinking beer and chasing girls. No, these Germans are doing something completely different.

They make messy punk, albeit with analog electronics and influences of Neue Deutsche Welle. The lyrics are downright absurd (therefore it is Dadaism). Sometimes in English, sometimes in their German mother tongue. It is obvious that they are fans of Devo and Grauzone, the electronic beeps are indeed hard to keep up with. Everything sounds pretty disorderly, but that's the fun (and of course the punk factor of it). Do what you want to do, do not follow any rules, just obey the principles of the DIY code.

Puff starts a European tour in September with two dates in Belgium (Ghent on September 19 and Kortrijk on September 22). We bet it will be good!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Het eerste wat je willen vertellen is dit: laat je niet misleiden door de hoes. De drie biggetjes die stoute mensen billenkoek geven zijn wel grappig, maar menig muziekfan zal denken dat Puff wederom zo’n Duitse pretpunkband is die het alleen maar over bier zuipen en meisjes versieren heeft. Neen, deze Duitsers doen iets compleet anders.

Ze maken rommelige punk, weliswaar met analoge elektronica en Neue Deutsche Welle-invloeden. De teksten zijn ronduit absurd (daarom is het ook Dadaïsme). Soms in het Engels, dan weer in hun Duitse moedertaal. Het is duidelijk dat ze fans zijn van Devo en Grauzone, de elektronische beeps zijn immers nauwelijks bij te houden. Alles klinkt behoorlijk wanordelijk, maar dat is net de pret- (en natuurlijk ook de punkfactor). Doen waar je lekker zin in hebt, je geen reet aantrekken van regels en alles volgens het principe van de DIY-code doen.

Puff start in september een Europese tour die ook halt houdt in België (op 19 september in Gent in De Ruimte en op 22 september in de Pits in Kortrijk). Wedden dat het goed zal zijn?

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
SHINE NOIR • Shine Noir EP
JOHANNES STABEL (XTR HUMAN) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
COCAINE PISS • The Dancer
MORTILLERY • Shapeshifter
BRIGITTE ROSE (BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
VITA NOCTIS • Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
PAWEL STRZELEC (ALLES) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
ABSTRACKT BLACK • Unheimlich
CONFORMIST FEAT. H O R S E S • Heddiw
STAATSEINDE • Fehlerlinie
PARADOX OBSCUR • Intercourse
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP

 

Same genre: NEUE DEUTSCHE WELLE
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
X-QUADRAT • X-Quadrat
CRYSTAL SODA CREAM • Rationale Arbeitsschritte
LISAWARS • Niemals
VARIOUS ARTISTS • NDW Aus grauer Städte Mauern Teil 2 – Die Neue Deutsche Welle 1977 – 85
BAL PARé • Taxi Zum Mond
WAGONMAN • Desire EP
AKALOTZ, PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE & PORTION CONTROL • live in Concert At KAVKA, 02/05/2014, Antwerp, Belgium
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE • Therapy

 

Same genre: NOISE
THE HEAT INC. • EP
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)

 

Same genre: PUNK
CUT • Dead City Nights
THE GODFATHERS • ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)
THE PULSEBEATS • LOOKIN’ OUT
LAPECHE • Blood In The Water
SONNY VINCENT • Shake Pit Therapy
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE SPECIALS • Encore

Music reviews

27
02
WHISPERING SONS
The Great Calm
22
02
YOUR ENEMY
Broken Toys
21
02
XTORT
Zwart
03
02
MERCIFUL NUNS
Oneironauts
02
02
ANTLER RECORDS
Early Years Vol 1
01
02
YELWORC
The Ghosts I Called

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
02
38 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!
25
02
Today it's exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 5 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 46 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
24.2.24 International EBM day is coming closer!
20
02
This Charming Band | 40 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album

Concert reviews

16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023
06
05
SIOUXSIE
The glorious resurrection after ten years of silence.

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
ELEKTRIKILL
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Band, Elektrikill
03
02
HAMMERSHOI
French works well with these musical genres. It’s not like rock’n roll in French! It sucks, no ?
27
01
PAS MUSIQUE
An Interview With Pas Musique
26
01
TRAGIC VISIONS
An Interview With EBM/Industrial Band, Tragic Visions
22
01
CAT RAPES DOG
'We will try to put as much energy as possible into our performance. There will be no power ballads!'

PHOTOS

19
02
EKLIPSE FORCED TO MODE ONE CARESS TOUR
Christuskirche Bochum
18
02
LA MUERTE
Bélvèdere Namen
18
02
STIN SCATZOR
Bélvèdere Namen
18
02
GOETHES ERBEN
Cc De Schakel Waregem
18
02
THE ARCH
Cc De Schakel Waregem
18
02
LEBANON HANOVER
Christuskirche Bochum
11
02
SELOFAN
JunkYard Dortmund

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
02
VIOLENT VICKIE
Cicle Square
27
02
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
26
02
MONICA RICHARDS
Into My Own
25
02
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
24
02
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
23
02
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
22
02
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies