tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

11/12/2016 : PUFF - Living In The Partyzone

PUFF

Living In The Partyzone

MusicCD
ElectronicsNeue Deutsche WelleNoisePunk

[78/100]   

Slovenly Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The first thing you have to know is this: do not be fooled by the cover. The image of three naughty pigs spanking some people is obviously funny, but many music fans will think Puff is just another German fun punk band that sings about drinking beer and chasing girls. No, these Germans are doing something completely different.

They make messy punk, albeit with analog electronics and influences of Neue Deutsche Welle. The lyrics are downright absurd (therefore it is Dadaism). Sometimes in English, sometimes in their German mother tongue. It is obvious that they are fans of Devo and Grauzone, the electronic beeps are indeed hard to keep up with. Everything sounds pretty disorderly, but that's the fun (and of course the punk factor of it). Do what you want to do, do not follow any rules, just obey the principles of the DIY code.

Puff starts a European tour in September with two dates in Belgium (Ghent on September 19 and Kortrijk on September 22). We bet it will be good!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Het eerste wat je willen vertellen is dit: laat je niet misleiden door de hoes. De drie biggetjes die stoute mensen billenkoek geven zijn wel grappig, maar menig muziekfan zal denken dat Puff wederom zo’n Duitse pretpunkband is die het alleen maar over bier zuipen en meisjes versieren heeft. Neen, deze Duitsers doen iets compleet anders.

Ze maken rommelige punk, weliswaar met analoge elektronica en Neue Deutsche Welle-invloeden. De teksten zijn ronduit absurd (daarom is het ook Dadaïsme). Soms in het Engels, dan weer in hun Duitse moedertaal. Het is duidelijk dat ze fans zijn van Devo en Grauzone, de elektronische beeps zijn immers nauwelijks bij te houden. Alles klinkt behoorlijk wanordelijk, maar dat is net de pret- (en natuurlijk ook de punkfactor). Doen waar je lekker zin in hebt, je geen reet aantrekken van regels en alles volgens het principe van de DIY-code doen.

Puff start in september een Europese tour die ook halt houdt in België (op 19 september in Gent in De Ruimte en op 22 september in de Pits in Kortrijk). Wedden dat het goed zal zijn?

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
SHINE NOIR • Shine Noir EP
JOHANNES STABEL (XTR HUMAN) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
COCAINE PISS • The Dancer
MORTILLERY • Shapeshifter
BRIGITTE ROSE (BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
VITA NOCTIS • Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
PAWEL STRZELEC (ALLES) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
THE ART OF NOISE • In Visible Silence
KRAFTWERK • 3-D Catalogue
DER PLAN • Unkapitulierbar
BESTIAL MOUTHS • (Still) Heartless
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
AUTOMAT • OstWest
WRANGLER • White Glue
YELLO • Toy
BESTIAL MOUTHS • Remix

 

Same genre: NEUE DEUTSCHE WELLE
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
X-QUADRAT • X-Quadrat
CRYSTAL SODA CREAM • Rationale Arbeitsschritte
LISAWARS • Niemals
VARIOUS ARTISTS • NDW Aus grauer Städte Mauern Teil 2 – Die Neue Deutsche Welle 1977 – 85
BAL PARé • Taxi Zum Mond
WAGONMAN • Desire EP
AKALOTZ, PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE & PORTION CONTROL • live in Concert At KAVKA, 02/05/2014, Antwerp, Belgium
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE • Therapy

 

Same genre: NOISE
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
ONEIROGEN • Convivium
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Hands Label Sampler
LA MUERTE • Murder Machine
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Bönen Germany, Festival (23/04/2016)

 

Same genre: PUNK
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
CULTURE SHOCK • Attention Span
STENDAL BLAST • Ein Abschied - Das Letzte Konzert
COCAINE PISS/SPLIT V/A • Cosmic Bullshit + Sex Weirdo’s
COCAINE PISS • Sex Weirdos
TACOCAT • Lost Time
LAVVI EBBEL • Wir Schaffen Das!
BLONDIE • Parallel Lines
THE STRANGLERS, THE ALARM • O2 Academy, Bristol (19/03/16)
KOTZE IM EINKAUFSWAGEN • Wunderschön und Unverfälscht

Music reviews

20
10
THE BIPOLAR
Tomorrow everything will get better
19
10
STACIAN
Person L
18
10
TYCHO BRAHE
Triplex [Complete]
17
10
LA GRAZIA OBLIQUA
La Grazia Obliqua (EP)
16
10
AMORPHOUS
Shapeshifting
12
10
HELIOPHILE
Permeate

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
New single by Kirlian Camera featuring Covenant singer Eskil Simonsson!
20
10
This weekend! DAFT / MINIMAL MAXIMAL - FEST weekend in Antwerp!
10
10
Amnesty International Belgium invites hundreds of artists
10
10
New Simi-Nah video 'Chacun Pour Soi' on YouTube!
02
10
New Wave cult & club classic band Crash Course In Science is back with a new (bomb) album!
01
10
New IMPLANT EP / Video - The Phone Call - Out now!

Concert reviews

27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017
27
08
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017
28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni
26
06
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH
Zaterdag 3 juni
26
06
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON
Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni
26
06
ZWEITE JUGEND, HIGH-FUNCTIONING FLESH, SCHWEFELGELB, A SPLIT SECOND
WGT EBM warm-up - Felsenkeller

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
10
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
'When you see that some chords that you have composed become a song, it's a very special feeling.'
15
10
BLANCMANGE
'We were making experimental music for a while, really just for ourselves, not thinking anyone would want to listen.'
13
10
KOL BELOV
I make strange animations, that look like music videos and strange music videos, that look like animation.
11
10
THE HORRORIST
'Sometimes I cringe when I hear some of my songs about sex or pain but at the same time it’s my diary.'
09
10
A SPLIT-SECOND
Marc Ickx talks about A Split-Second

PHOTOS

20
10
GARY NUMAN
Depot Leuven
20
10
JAYCE LEWIS
Depot Leuven
17
10
GARY NUMAN
Brighton Dome, Brighton, UK
14
10
ATTRITION
Charles Bradlaugh, Northampton, UK
14
10
VUDUVOX
Charles Bradlaugh, Northampton, UK
14
10
CURXES
229 The Venue, London, UK
08
10
BLANCMANGE
229 The Venue, London, UK

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

20
10
DEATH OF A CHEERLEADER
Tanna
19
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Inside My Asylum
19
10
TEARFUL MOON
Ecstasy in Black
17
10
AND ALSO THE TREES
Your Guess
16
10
!DISTAIN
Conversation Overkill
15
10
TEHI TEARDO & BLIXA BARGELD
The Beast
15
10
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)