tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : PUFF - Living In The Partyzone

PUFF

Living In The Partyzone

MusicCD
ElectronicsNeue Deutsche WelleNoisePunk

[78/100]   

Slovenly Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The first thing you have to know is this: do not be fooled by the cover. The image of three naughty pigs spanking some people is obviously funny, but many music fans will think Puff is just another German fun punk band that sings about drinking beer and chasing girls. No, these Germans are doing something completely different.

They make messy punk, albeit with analog electronics and influences of Neue Deutsche Welle. The lyrics are downright absurd (therefore it is Dadaism). Sometimes in English, sometimes in their German mother tongue. It is obvious that they are fans of Devo and Grauzone, the electronic beeps are indeed hard to keep up with. Everything sounds pretty disorderly, but that's the fun (and of course the punk factor of it). Do what you want to do, do not follow any rules, just obey the principles of the DIY code.

Puff starts a European tour in September with two dates in Belgium (Ghent on September 19 and Kortrijk on September 22). We bet it will be good!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Het eerste wat je willen vertellen is dit: laat je niet misleiden door de hoes. De drie biggetjes die stoute mensen billenkoek geven zijn wel grappig, maar menig muziekfan zal denken dat Puff wederom zo’n Duitse pretpunkband is die het alleen maar over bier zuipen en meisjes versieren heeft. Neen, deze Duitsers doen iets compleet anders.

Ze maken rommelige punk, weliswaar met analoge elektronica en Neue Deutsche Welle-invloeden. De teksten zijn ronduit absurd (daarom is het ook Dadaïsme). Soms in het Engels, dan weer in hun Duitse moedertaal. Het is duidelijk dat ze fans zijn van Devo en Grauzone, de elektronische beeps zijn immers nauwelijks bij te houden. Alles klinkt behoorlijk wanordelijk, maar dat is net de pret- (en natuurlijk ook de punkfactor). Doen waar je lekker zin in hebt, je geen reet aantrekken van regels en alles volgens het principe van de DIY-code doen.

Puff start in september een Europese tour die ook halt houdt in België (op 19 september in Gent in De Ruimte en op 22 september in de Pits in Kortrijk). Wedden dat het goed zal zijn?

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
SHINE NOIR • Shine Noir EP
JOHANNES STABEL (XTR HUMAN) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
COCAINE PISS • The Dancer
MORTILLERY • Shapeshifter
BRIGITTE ROSE (BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
VITA NOCTIS • Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
PAWEL STRZELEC (ALLES) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
THE ART OF NOISE • In Visible Silence
KRAFTWERK • 3-D Catalogue
DER PLAN • Unkapitulierbar
BESTIAL MOUTHS • (Still) Heartless
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
AUTOMAT • OstWest

 

Same genre: NEUE DEUTSCHE WELLE
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
X-QUADRAT • X-Quadrat
CRYSTAL SODA CREAM • Rationale Arbeitsschritte
LISAWARS • Niemals
VARIOUS ARTISTS • NDW Aus grauer Städte Mauern Teil 2 – Die Neue Deutsche Welle 1977 – 85
BAL PARé • Taxi Zum Mond
WAGONMAN • Desire EP
AKALOTZ, PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE & PORTION CONTROL • live in Concert At KAVKA, 02/05/2014, Antwerp, Belgium
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE • Therapy

 

Same genre: NOISE
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
ONEIROGEN • Convivium
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Hands Label Sampler
LA MUERTE • Murder Machine

 

Same genre: PUNK
STRUGGLER • The Gap
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
CULTURE SHOCK • Attention Span
STENDAL BLAST • Ein Abschied - Das Letzte Konzert
COCAINE PISS/SPLIT V/A • Cosmic Bullshit + Sex Weirdo’s
COCAINE PISS • Sex Weirdos
TACOCAT • Lost Time
LAVVI EBBEL • Wir Schaffen Das!
BLONDIE • Parallel Lines
THE STRANGLERS, THE ALARM • O2 Academy, Bristol (19/03/16)

Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…

PHOTOS

23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Dragula
23
06
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
22
06
THE EDITORS
Papillon
21
06
KONTRAVOID
Silent Visions
20
06
RED LORRY YELLOW LORRY
Talk About The Weather
19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY