tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

08/01/2016 : LISAWARS - Niemals

LISAWARS

Niemals

MusicDigital
Neue Deutsche WelleNew wavePost Punk

[78/100]   

Self-released
08/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

With a name like LisaWars you might think that we’re dealing with a female singer behind a piano or a woman with an acoustic guitar. But no, LisaWars is a duo consisting of Jens (synths) and Micah (guitar and vocals), and a drum machine. Their German music is a mix of new wave, punk and goth. The instruments are minimal, while the lyrics and themes are kind of weird. Anyway, we just love that. Even though the music is wave rock or post-punk, their energy and the vision mostly remind me of bands like Virgin Prunes, Das Ich and Goethes Erben.

Niemals is minimal, while you notice a combination of keyboards with guitars in Auf Der Flucht. A track like Abgründig is almost cabaret. On Nein the singer sounds like a stubborn toddler, and there are no guitars, just a beautiful sound tapestry of synths. In an alternating way, you get songs with and without heavy guitar sounds. Personally, I prefer those without.

As you can read, you will find a lot of musical styles and influences. It definitely is a varied album, but in a way it also misses some profile. Anyway, the voice stands out, and fits well with both the lyrics and the music

In comparison to their previous album (Auf Messers Schneide), Niemals sounds more mature and more direct. Interesting songs are: Lagerfeuer, Nein, Grau, Trink Mit Mir and Auf Der Flucht. They won’t move the earth with this record, although it is nice to hear how this duo creates music in a rather unusual way.

Available at www.lisawars.bandcamp.com

 

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/01/2016


NL

Bij de naam LisaWars denk je misschien aan een zangeres die achter een piano zit of wat op een akoestische gitaar tokkelt. Maar niets daarvan, LisaWars is een duo dat bestaat uit Jens (synths) en Micha (gitaar en zang), en een drummachine. Hun muziek is een mengeling van new wave, punk en goth. Het wordt op een dwarse, maar frisse manier gebracht en in het Duits gezongen. De instrumenten zijn minimaal met wat vreemde teksten en thema’s. Maar goed, we houden daar wel van. Ook al staat het muzikaal dicht bij waverock of postpunk, herinnert de energie en de visie me vooral aan bands als Virgin Prunes, Das Ich of Goethes Erben.

Niemals is minimalistisch, terwijl men in Auf Der Flucht keyboards met gitaren combineert. Op Nein klinkt de zanger wat als een koppige peuter. Op dit nummer hoor je geen gitaren waardoor de synths ruimte krijgen voor een mooi geluidtapijt. We krijgen bijna afwisselend nummers met en zonder zware gitaargeluiden. Zelf vind ik deze zonder iets beter. Abgründig is bijna cabaret.

Zoals je kan lezen, tref je heel wat muzikale stijlen en invloeden op dit album aan. Dat zorgt weliswaar voor variatie, maar het geheel mist daardoor ook een eigen profiel. De stem is intrigerend en dat valt wel op, enze past zeer goed bij de tekst en de muziek.

In vergelijking met hun vorige album Auf Messers Schneide, klinkt Niemals meer volwassen en directer. Interessante songs zijn: Lagerfeuer, Nein, Grau, Trink Mit Mir en Auf Der Flucht. Een aardschok veroorzaken ze met deze plaat niet, desalniettemin is het leuk om te horen hoe dit duo op muzikale wijze keet schopt.

Verkrijgbaar via: www.lisawars.bandcamp.com

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/01/2016


 

Next reviews
BLINKY BLINKY COMPUTERBAND • Strange Electro Pop
RADICAL BOYS/PJARO • Business, Commerce and the Internet
PASCAL VERLOOVE • The Best Of 2015
HEARTLAY • Remedy (EP)
SKEPTICAL MINDS • Omega-Thanatos
SIAMGDA • Oppression
BENNY SERNEELS • The Best Of 2015
LEIF KUNZEL (MONO NO AWARE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
NTTX • Falls Beautiful
UNTOTEN • Grabsteinland V: Die Rückkehr

 

Other reviews from LISAWARS
LISAWARS • Nichts

 

Same genre: NEUE DEUTSCHE WELLE
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
X-QUADRAT • X-Quadrat
CRYSTAL SODA CREAM • Rationale Arbeitsschritte
VARIOUS ARTISTS • NDW Aus grauer Städte Mauern Teil 2 – Die Neue Deutsche Welle 1977 – 85
BAL PARé • Taxi Zum Mond
WAGONMAN • Desire EP
AKALOTZ, PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE & PORTION CONTROL • live in Concert At KAVKA, 02/05/2014, Antwerp, Belgium
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE • Therapy

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
A SLICE OF LIFE • Tabula Rasa
THIS VALE OF TEARS • This Vale Of Tears
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
KILL SHELTER • Asylum
SYGO CRIES • In Outside Places
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DARK • Nightmare
SJOBLOM • Tape
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time

Music reviews

25
11
DEZ MONA
LOOSE ENDS
02
11
STAATSEINDE
Fehlerlinie
05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
12
44 years ago, Throbbing Gristle released their second studio album D.o.A: The Third and Final Report.
03
12
This month, 35 years ago, Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.
02
12
This month it’s 38 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
Dark Electronic Band, Hem Netjer Talks Of Releasing Inner Warriors With New Single
01
12
52 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
30
11
Gothic/Occult Wave Duo, Raven Said Brings Alchemy To 'Chants To Dissolve'

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.
29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview

PHOTOS

04
12
SALTATIO MORTIS
Ruhrcongress Bochum
28
11
FAUN
Phantastischer Lichter Weihnachtsmarkt Dortmund
28
11
SKALD
Phantastischer Lichter Weihnachtsmarkt Dortmund
28
11
EKLIPSE
Phantastischer Lichter Weihnachtsmarkt Dortmund
25
11
QNTAL
Christuskirche Bochum
24
11
THE CURE
Sportpaleis Antwerpen
18
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Porta Nigra Autumn Passage

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
12
ORSON HENTSCHEL
Noise of the Light
03
12
GOOSE
Synrise
02
12
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
01
12
MASQUERADE
Too Depressed to Dance
30
11
SOLDOUT
Forever
29
11
SLOVENSKA TELEVIZA
Muskiz
28
11
MAX LILJA
Twin Peaks Theme