tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

08/01/2016 : LISAWARS - Niemals

LISAWARS

Niemals

MusicDigital
Neue Deutsche WelleNew wavePost Punk

[78/100]   

Self-released
08/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

With a name like LisaWars you might think that we’re dealing with a female singer behind a piano or a woman with an acoustic guitar. But no, LisaWars is a duo consisting of Jens (synths) and Micah (guitar and vocals), and a drum machine. Their German music is a mix of new wave, punk and goth. The instruments are minimal, while the lyrics and themes are kind of weird. Anyway, we just love that. Even though the music is wave rock or post-punk, their energy and the vision mostly remind me of bands like Virgin Prunes, Das Ich and Goethes Erben.

Niemals is minimal, while you notice a combination of keyboards with guitars in Auf Der Flucht. A track like Abgründig is almost cabaret. On Nein the singer sounds like a stubborn toddler, and there are no guitars, just a beautiful sound tapestry of synths. In an alternating way, you get songs with and without heavy guitar sounds. Personally, I prefer those without.

As you can read, you will find a lot of musical styles and influences. It definitely is a varied album, but in a way it also misses some profile. Anyway, the voice stands out, and fits well with both the lyrics and the music

In comparison to their previous album (Auf Messers Schneide), Niemals sounds more mature and more direct. Interesting songs are: Lagerfeuer, Nein, Grau, Trink Mit Mir and Auf Der Flucht. They won’t move the earth with this record, although it is nice to hear how this duo creates music in a rather unusual way.

Available at www.lisawars.bandcamp.com

 

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/01/2016


NL

Bij de naam LisaWars denk je misschien aan een zangeres die achter een piano zit of wat op een akoestische gitaar tokkelt. Maar niets daarvan, LisaWars is een duo dat bestaat uit Jens (synths) en Micha (gitaar en zang), en een drummachine. Hun muziek is een mengeling van new wave, punk en goth. Het wordt op een dwarse, maar frisse manier gebracht en in het Duits gezongen. De instrumenten zijn minimaal met wat vreemde teksten en thema’s. Maar goed, we houden daar wel van. Ook al staat het muzikaal dicht bij waverock of postpunk, herinnert de energie en de visie me vooral aan bands als Virgin Prunes, Das Ich of Goethes Erben.

Niemals is minimalistisch, terwijl men in Auf Der Flucht keyboards met gitaren combineert. Op Nein klinkt de zanger wat als een koppige peuter. Op dit nummer hoor je geen gitaren waardoor de synths ruimte krijgen voor een mooi geluidtapijt. We krijgen bijna afwisselend nummers met en zonder zware gitaargeluiden. Zelf vind ik deze zonder iets beter. Abgründig is bijna cabaret.

Zoals je kan lezen, tref je heel wat muzikale stijlen en invloeden op dit album aan. Dat zorgt weliswaar voor variatie, maar het geheel mist daardoor ook een eigen profiel. De stem is intrigerend en dat valt wel op, enze past zeer goed bij de tekst en de muziek.

In vergelijking met hun vorige album Auf Messers Schneide, klinkt Niemals meer volwassen en directer. Interessante songs zijn: Lagerfeuer, Nein, Grau, Trink Mit Mir en Auf Der Flucht. Een aardschok veroorzaken ze met deze plaat niet, desalniettemin is het leuk om te horen hoe dit duo op muzikale wijze keet schopt.

Verkrijgbaar via: www.lisawars.bandcamp.com

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/01/2016


 

Next reviews
BLINKY BLINKY COMPUTERBAND • Strange Electro Pop
RADICAL BOYS/PJARO • Business, Commerce and the Internet
PASCAL VERLOOVE • The Best Of 2015
HEARTLAY • Remedy (EP)
SKEPTICAL MINDS • Omega-Thanatos
SIAMGDA • Oppression
BENNY SERNEELS • The Best Of 2015
LEIF KUNZEL (MONO NO AWARE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
NTTX • Falls Beautiful
UNTOTEN • Grabsteinland V: Die Rückkehr

 

Other reviews from LISAWARS
LISAWARS • Nichts

 

Same genre: NEUE DEUTSCHE WELLE
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
X-QUADRAT • X-Quadrat
CRYSTAL SODA CREAM • Rationale Arbeitsschritte
VARIOUS ARTISTS • NDW Aus grauer Städte Mauern Teil 2 – Die Neue Deutsche Welle 1977 – 85
BAL PARé • Taxi Zum Mond
WAGONMAN • Desire EP
AKALOTZ, PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE & PORTION CONTROL • live in Concert At KAVKA, 02/05/2014, Antwerp, Belgium
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE • Therapy

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas

Music reviews

19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis
18
10
NEW MODEL ARMY
From Here
18
10
RIDE
This Is Not a Safe Place
17
10
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA
Mesmeranto
17
10
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK
Far From The Apple Tree

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
10
ORSON HENTSCHEL
Noise of the Light
19
10
ORBITAL
One Perfect Sunrise
18
10
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)