tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

08/01/2016 : LISAWARS - Niemals

LISAWARS

Niemals

MusicDigital
Neue Deutsche WelleNew wavePost Punk

[78/100]   

Self-released
08/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

With a name like LisaWars you might think that we’re dealing with a female singer behind a piano or a woman with an acoustic guitar. But no, LisaWars is a duo consisting of Jens (synths) and Micah (guitar and vocals), and a drum machine. Their German music is a mix of new wave, punk and goth. The instruments are minimal, while the lyrics and themes are kind of weird. Anyway, we just love that. Even though the music is wave rock or post-punk, their energy and the vision mostly remind me of bands like Virgin Prunes, Das Ich and Goethes Erben.

Niemals is minimal, while you notice a combination of keyboards with guitars in Auf Der Flucht. A track like Abgründig is almost cabaret. On Nein the singer sounds like a stubborn toddler, and there are no guitars, just a beautiful sound tapestry of synths. In an alternating way, you get songs with and without heavy guitar sounds. Personally, I prefer those without.

As you can read, you will find a lot of musical styles and influences. It definitely is a varied album, but in a way it also misses some profile. Anyway, the voice stands out, and fits well with both the lyrics and the music

In comparison to their previous album (Auf Messers Schneide), Niemals sounds more mature and more direct. Interesting songs are: Lagerfeuer, Nein, Grau, Trink Mit Mir and Auf Der Flucht. They won’t move the earth with this record, although it is nice to hear how this duo creates music in a rather unusual way.

Available at www.lisawars.bandcamp.com

 

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/01/2016


NL

Bij de naam LisaWars denk je misschien aan een zangeres die achter een piano zit of wat op een akoestische gitaar tokkelt. Maar niets daarvan, LisaWars is een duo dat bestaat uit Jens (synths) en Micha (gitaar en zang), en een drummachine. Hun muziek is een mengeling van new wave, punk en goth. Het wordt op een dwarse, maar frisse manier gebracht en in het Duits gezongen. De instrumenten zijn minimaal met wat vreemde teksten en thema’s. Maar goed, we houden daar wel van. Ook al staat het muzikaal dicht bij waverock of postpunk, herinnert de energie en de visie me vooral aan bands als Virgin Prunes, Das Ich of Goethes Erben.

Niemals is minimalistisch, terwijl men in Auf Der Flucht keyboards met gitaren combineert. Op Nein klinkt de zanger wat als een koppige peuter. Op dit nummer hoor je geen gitaren waardoor de synths ruimte krijgen voor een mooi geluidtapijt. We krijgen bijna afwisselend nummers met en zonder zware gitaargeluiden. Zelf vind ik deze zonder iets beter. Abgründig is bijna cabaret.

Zoals je kan lezen, tref je heel wat muzikale stijlen en invloeden op dit album aan. Dat zorgt weliswaar voor variatie, maar het geheel mist daardoor ook een eigen profiel. De stem is intrigerend en dat valt wel op, enze past zeer goed bij de tekst en de muziek.

In vergelijking met hun vorige album Auf Messers Schneide, klinkt Niemals meer volwassen en directer. Interessante songs zijn: Lagerfeuer, Nein, Grau, Trink Mit Mir en Auf Der Flucht. Een aardschok veroorzaken ze met deze plaat niet, desalniettemin is het leuk om te horen hoe dit duo op muzikale wijze keet schopt.

Verkrijgbaar via: www.lisawars.bandcamp.com

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/01/2016


 

Next reviews
BLINKY BLINKY COMPUTERBAND • Strange Electro Pop
RADICAL BOYS/PJARO • Business, Commerce and the Internet
PASCAL VERLOOVE • The Best Of 2015
HEARTLAY • Remedy (EP)
SKEPTICAL MINDS • Omega-Thanatos
SIAMGDA • Oppression
BENNY SERNEELS • The Best Of 2015
LEIF KUNZEL (MONO NO AWARE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
NTTX • Falls Beautiful
UNTOTEN • Grabsteinland V: Die Rückkehr

 

Other reviews from LISAWARS
LISAWARS • Nichts

 

Same genre: NEUE DEUTSCHE WELLE
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
X-QUADRAT • X-Quadrat
CRYSTAL SODA CREAM • Rationale Arbeitsschritte
VARIOUS ARTISTS • NDW Aus grauer Städte Mauern Teil 2 – Die Neue Deutsche Welle 1977 – 85
BAL PARé • Taxi Zum Mond
WAGONMAN • Desire EP
AKALOTZ, PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE & PORTION CONTROL • live in Concert At KAVKA, 02/05/2014, Antwerp, Belgium
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE • Therapy

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
DEAD HIGH WIRE • Pray for us
NEON TZIGANE • Del Wesh
WHISPERING SONS • Image
VEDA RAYS • For The Rest To Rest
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
A SLICE OF LIFE • Restless
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
NAUT • Raise The Lights

Music reviews

20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us
19
01
DIVE
Live Maschinenfest 2017
16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, exactly 9 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex on Major Records!
22
01
This month 47 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
21
01
Today, exactly 26 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
CANADIAN DUO FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY TO RELEASE NEW ALBUM 'WAKE UP THE COMA'
18
01
Israeli Dark Synthpop Artist LIYA Announces The Release Of LISTEN
17
01
MY LIFE WITH THE THRILL KILL KULT Reveal New Single, 'The Chains of Fame' Off Upcoming LP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
01
WULFBAND
If you feel that guitars would destroy whatever you think Wulfband is about, stay at home
17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
MILA MAR
Haime
21
01
THE CURE
Pictures Of You, Live in Antwerp, 2016
20
01
SOPHIA (S)
Herbstwerk
19
01
OY
A New Planet Is Born
18
01
HEIMATAERDE
Hoch hinaus
17
01
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
16
01
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life