tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

08/01/2016 : LISAWARS - Niemals

LISAWARS

Niemals

MusicDigital
Neue Deutsche WelleNew wavePost Punk

[78/100]   

Self-released
08/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

With a name like LisaWars you might think that we’re dealing with a female singer behind a piano or a woman with an acoustic guitar. But no, LisaWars is a duo consisting of Jens (synths) and Micah (guitar and vocals), and a drum machine. Their German music is a mix of new wave, punk and goth. The instruments are minimal, while the lyrics and themes are kind of weird. Anyway, we just love that. Even though the music is wave rock or post-punk, their energy and the vision mostly remind me of bands like Virgin Prunes, Das Ich and Goethes Erben.

Niemals is minimal, while you notice a combination of keyboards with guitars in Auf Der Flucht. A track like Abgründig is almost cabaret. On Nein the singer sounds like a stubborn toddler, and there are no guitars, just a beautiful sound tapestry of synths. In an alternating way, you get songs with and without heavy guitar sounds. Personally, I prefer those without.

As you can read, you will find a lot of musical styles and influences. It definitely is a varied album, but in a way it also misses some profile. Anyway, the voice stands out, and fits well with both the lyrics and the music

In comparison to their previous album (Auf Messers Schneide), Niemals sounds more mature and more direct. Interesting songs are: Lagerfeuer, Nein, Grau, Trink Mit Mir and Auf Der Flucht. They won’t move the earth with this record, although it is nice to hear how this duo creates music in a rather unusual way.

Available at www.lisawars.bandcamp.com

 

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/01/2016


NL

Bij de naam LisaWars denk je misschien aan een zangeres die achter een piano zit of wat op een akoestische gitaar tokkelt. Maar niets daarvan, LisaWars is een duo dat bestaat uit Jens (synths) en Micha (gitaar en zang), en een drummachine. Hun muziek is een mengeling van new wave, punk en goth. Het wordt op een dwarse, maar frisse manier gebracht en in het Duits gezongen. De instrumenten zijn minimaal met wat vreemde teksten en thema’s. Maar goed, we houden daar wel van. Ook al staat het muzikaal dicht bij waverock of postpunk, herinnert de energie en de visie me vooral aan bands als Virgin Prunes, Das Ich of Goethes Erben.

Niemals is minimalistisch, terwijl men in Auf Der Flucht keyboards met gitaren combineert. Op Nein klinkt de zanger wat als een koppige peuter. Op dit nummer hoor je geen gitaren waardoor de synths ruimte krijgen voor een mooi geluidtapijt. We krijgen bijna afwisselend nummers met en zonder zware gitaargeluiden. Zelf vind ik deze zonder iets beter. Abgründig is bijna cabaret.

Zoals je kan lezen, tref je heel wat muzikale stijlen en invloeden op dit album aan. Dat zorgt weliswaar voor variatie, maar het geheel mist daardoor ook een eigen profiel. De stem is intrigerend en dat valt wel op, enze past zeer goed bij de tekst en de muziek.

In vergelijking met hun vorige album Auf Messers Schneide, klinkt Niemals meer volwassen en directer. Interessante songs zijn: Lagerfeuer, Nein, Grau, Trink Mit Mir en Auf Der Flucht. Een aardschok veroorzaken ze met deze plaat niet, desalniettemin is het leuk om te horen hoe dit duo op muzikale wijze keet schopt.

Verkrijgbaar via: www.lisawars.bandcamp.com

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/01/2016


 

Next reviews
BLINKY BLINKY COMPUTERBAND • Strange Electro Pop
RADICAL BOYS/PJARO • Business, Commerce and the Internet
PASCAL VERLOOVE • The Best Of 2015
HEARTLAY • Remedy (EP)
SKEPTICAL MINDS • Omega-Thanatos
SIAMGDA • Oppression
BENNY SERNEELS • The Best Of 2015
LEIF KUNZEL (MONO NO AWARE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
NTTX • Falls Beautiful
UNTOTEN • Grabsteinland V: Die Rückkehr

 

Other reviews from LISAWARS
LISAWARS • Nichts

 

Same genre: NEUE DEUTSCHE WELLE
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
X-QUADRAT • X-Quadrat
CRYSTAL SODA CREAM • Rationale Arbeitsschritte
VARIOUS ARTISTS • NDW Aus grauer Städte Mauern Teil 2 – Die Neue Deutsche Welle 1977 – 85
BAL PARé • Taxi Zum Mond
WAGONMAN • Desire EP
AKALOTZ, PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE & PORTION CONTROL • live in Concert At KAVKA, 02/05/2014, Antwerp, Belgium
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE • Therapy

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas

Music reviews

16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS
06
01
KMFDM
Paradise

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary
15
01
This month 48 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
11
01
On this day 35 years ago, Nina Hagen performed in front of 1,5 million people on the first edition of world’s biggest festivals Rock in Rio (Brazil).
10
01
Lair Of The Dark Prince | Lou Reed's New York At 31

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.
11
01
CHRIS HASKETT (ROLLINS BAND)
'Musicians are more like radios that occasionally pick up and reproduce things from the cosmos.'

PHOTOS

26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest
26
12
REIN
Bimfest
26
12
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
bimfest
26
12
STURM CAFE
bimfest
26
12
RADERKRAFT
bimfest
26
12
ZWEITE JUGEND
Bimfest
26
12
ENZO KREFT
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
14
01
JANE'S ADDICTION
Been Caught Stealing
13
01
VOK
Waterfall
12
01
KLANGSTABIL
You may start