tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

08/01/2016 : LISAWARS - Niemals

LISAWARS

Niemals

MusicDigital
Neue Deutsche WelleNew wavePost Punk

[78/100]   

Self-released
08/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

With a name like LisaWars you might think that we’re dealing with a female singer behind a piano or a woman with an acoustic guitar. But no, LisaWars is a duo consisting of Jens (synths) and Micah (guitar and vocals), and a drum machine. Their German music is a mix of new wave, punk and goth. The instruments are minimal, while the lyrics and themes are kind of weird. Anyway, we just love that. Even though the music is wave rock or post-punk, their energy and the vision mostly remind me of bands like Virgin Prunes, Das Ich and Goethes Erben.

Niemals is minimal, while you notice a combination of keyboards with guitars in Auf Der Flucht. A track like Abgründig is almost cabaret. On Nein the singer sounds like a stubborn toddler, and there are no guitars, just a beautiful sound tapestry of synths. In an alternating way, you get songs with and without heavy guitar sounds. Personally, I prefer those without.

As you can read, you will find a lot of musical styles and influences. It definitely is a varied album, but in a way it also misses some profile. Anyway, the voice stands out, and fits well with both the lyrics and the music

In comparison to their previous album (Auf Messers Schneide), Niemals sounds more mature and more direct. Interesting songs are: Lagerfeuer, Nein, Grau, Trink Mit Mir and Auf Der Flucht. They won’t move the earth with this record, although it is nice to hear how this duo creates music in a rather unusual way.

Available at www.lisawars.bandcamp.com

 

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/01/2016


NL

Bij de naam LisaWars denk je misschien aan een zangeres die achter een piano zit of wat op een akoestische gitaar tokkelt. Maar niets daarvan, LisaWars is een duo dat bestaat uit Jens (synths) en Micha (gitaar en zang), en een drummachine. Hun muziek is een mengeling van new wave, punk en goth. Het wordt op een dwarse, maar frisse manier gebracht en in het Duits gezongen. De instrumenten zijn minimaal met wat vreemde teksten en thema’s. Maar goed, we houden daar wel van. Ook al staat het muzikaal dicht bij waverock of postpunk, herinnert de energie en de visie me vooral aan bands als Virgin Prunes, Das Ich of Goethes Erben.

Niemals is minimalistisch, terwijl men in Auf Der Flucht keyboards met gitaren combineert. Op Nein klinkt de zanger wat als een koppige peuter. Op dit nummer hoor je geen gitaren waardoor de synths ruimte krijgen voor een mooi geluidtapijt. We krijgen bijna afwisselend nummers met en zonder zware gitaargeluiden. Zelf vind ik deze zonder iets beter. Abgründig is bijna cabaret.

Zoals je kan lezen, tref je heel wat muzikale stijlen en invloeden op dit album aan. Dat zorgt weliswaar voor variatie, maar het geheel mist daardoor ook een eigen profiel. De stem is intrigerend en dat valt wel op, enze past zeer goed bij de tekst en de muziek.

In vergelijking met hun vorige album Auf Messers Schneide, klinkt Niemals meer volwassen en directer. Interessante songs zijn: Lagerfeuer, Nein, Grau, Trink Mit Mir en Auf Der Flucht. Een aardschok veroorzaken ze met deze plaat niet, desalniettemin is het leuk om te horen hoe dit duo op muzikale wijze keet schopt.

Verkrijgbaar via: www.lisawars.bandcamp.com

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/01/2016


 

Next reviews
BLINKY BLINKY COMPUTERBAND • Strange Electro Pop
RADICAL BOYS/PJARO • Business, Commerce and the Internet
PASCAL VERLOOVE • The Best Of 2015
HEARTLAY • Remedy (EP)
SKEPTICAL MINDS • Omega-Thanatos
SIAMGDA • Oppression
BENNY SERNEELS • The Best Of 2015
LEIF KUNZEL (MONO NO AWARE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
NTTX • Falls Beautiful
UNTOTEN • Grabsteinland V: Die Rückkehr

 

Other reviews from LISAWARS
LISAWARS • Nichts

 

Same genre: NEUE DEUTSCHE WELLE
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
X-QUADRAT • X-Quadrat
CRYSTAL SODA CREAM • Rationale Arbeitsschritte
VARIOUS ARTISTS • NDW Aus grauer Städte Mauern Teil 2 – Die Neue Deutsche Welle 1977 – 85
BAL PARé • Taxi Zum Mond
WAGONMAN • Desire EP
AKALOTZ, PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE & PORTION CONTROL • live in Concert At KAVKA, 02/05/2014, Antwerp, Belgium
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE • Therapy

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert

Music reviews

03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix
02
09
CAWATANA
In The Silver Light (7')
01
09
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY
On Common Ground
31
08
TUKT
Tukt
26
08
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE
Sharpening The Axe
21
08
STRUGGLER
Wilma (Determinated Protector)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
MORTAR DEVOTIONS
Dystopia Is Just Around The Corner And Orwell Warned Us Already In 1948
16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'
12
09
DAWN OF ASHES
‘Covid-19 Is A Gateway To Show Us The True Colors Of The Human Race

PHOTOS

20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
09
ALPHAMAY
Silence Emotion
20
09
FREISPIELEREI
Fish Muss Schwimmen, Gell
19
09
TRUE ZEBRA
Connection is addiction
19
09
NO!ON
6
18
09
NEOCOMA
Like An Angel
17
09
SYDNEY VALETTE
Précipice
16
09
HELDMACHINE
Die Braut, das Meer