tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : MICHEL BANABILA - Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past

MICHEL BANABILA

Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past

MusicCD
AmbientDrone
Bureau B
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

You may contradict me, but the most beautiful thing about music is that you always can discover something new, a name you've never heard before and makes your life better, or at least more colorful. We’re sure that very few people are familiar with Michel Banabila. Nevertheless, this Dutch musician made 53 (!) albums and worked on 10 Steps To Heaven by Holger Czukay.

Today, he mainly composes music for Dutch theater, but in the 80s he was one of the (many) brilliant ambient artists who were barely noticed. Music that often was released on a simple tape. Bureau B. compiled this wonderful compilation with those forgotten releases.

Sometimes you hear simple piano pieces in Satie style, then it's Eno ambient with ethnic sounds (A Sharp Silver Line) or just a sublime improvisation (Harmonium Improv 2).

Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past is a wonderful release of forgotten tracks that ended up in a dusty cupboard... out of sight, and yet so beautiful!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Je mag me tegenspreken, maar het mooiste aan muziek is dat ze nooit uitgeput raakt. Altijd valt er wel iets te ontdekken, steeds duikt er een naam op die je nog nooit hebt gehoord en die garant staat voor muziek die je leven mooier of ten minste wat kleurrijker maakt. Waarschijnlijk zal je maar bitter weinig mensen ontmoeten die vertrouwd zijn met het werk van Michel Banabila. Toch maakte deze Nederlander 53 (!) platen en werkte hij onder meer mee aan 10 Steps To Heaven van Holger Czukay.

Tegenwoordig componeert hij vooral muziek voor Nederlandse theaterproducties, maar in de jaren 80 was hij één van de (vele) geniale ambientartiesten die nauwelijks werden opgemerkt. Muziek die vaak werd uitgebracht op een eenvoudige tape, en uit die releases heeft Bureau B. deze prachtige compilatie samengesteld.

Soms zijn het eenvoudige pianostukjes in Satie-stijl, dan weer is het Eno-ambient met etnische klanken (A Sharp Silver Line) of gewoon een (sublieme) improvisatie (Harmonium Improv 2).

Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past is alweer zo’n heerlijke release vol vergeten tracks die ergens onder het stof lagen in één of andere kast... uit het oog verloren, en toch zo mooi!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
SHINE NOIR • Shine Noir EP
JOHANNES STABEL (XTR HUMAN) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
COCAINE PISS • The Dancer
MORTILLERY • Shapeshifter
BRIGITTE ROSE (BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
VITA NOCTIS • Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
PAWEL STRZELEC (ALLES) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow
OPHELIA (SAIGON BLUE RAIN) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
WE THE NORTH • Endemic

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + DRONE
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BE • One
PALE THORNS • Somberland
ONEIROGEN • Convivium
JOHN 3:16 • The Burnt Tower/Babylon the Great (EP)
LA MONTE YOUNG & MARIAN ZAZEELA • Dream House 78’ 17”
SUBHEIM • Foray
INNERWOUD • Mirre
CHVE • Rasa
YELLOW6 • No Memories, Only Photographes

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:

 

Same genre: DRONE
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
EMPUSAE + KLANKDAL • Split album
YODOK III • Legion Of Radiance: Live At Dokkhuset
HERMAN NITSCH • (Brussels, Begijnenkerk, 28/02/2016)

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra
25
09
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom