tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : MICHEL BANABILA - Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past

MICHEL BANABILA

Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past

MusicCD
AmbientDrone
Bureau B
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

You may contradict me, but the most beautiful thing about music is that you always can discover something new, a name you've never heard before and makes your life better, or at least more colorful. We’re sure that very few people are familiar with Michel Banabila. Nevertheless, this Dutch musician made 53 (!) albums and worked on 10 Steps To Heaven by Holger Czukay.

Today, he mainly composes music for Dutch theater, but in the 80s he was one of the (many) brilliant ambient artists who were barely noticed. Music that often was released on a simple tape. Bureau B. compiled this wonderful compilation with those forgotten releases.

Sometimes you hear simple piano pieces in Satie style, then it's Eno ambient with ethnic sounds (A Sharp Silver Line) or just a sublime improvisation (Harmonium Improv 2).

Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past is a wonderful release of forgotten tracks that ended up in a dusty cupboard... out of sight, and yet so beautiful!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Je mag me tegenspreken, maar het mooiste aan muziek is dat ze nooit uitgeput raakt. Altijd valt er wel iets te ontdekken, steeds duikt er een naam op die je nog nooit hebt gehoord en die garant staat voor muziek die je leven mooier of ten minste wat kleurrijker maakt. Waarschijnlijk zal je maar bitter weinig mensen ontmoeten die vertrouwd zijn met het werk van Michel Banabila. Toch maakte deze Nederlander 53 (!) platen en werkte hij onder meer mee aan 10 Steps To Heaven van Holger Czukay.

Tegenwoordig componeert hij vooral muziek voor Nederlandse theaterproducties, maar in de jaren 80 was hij één van de (vele) geniale ambientartiesten die nauwelijks werden opgemerkt. Muziek die vaak werd uitgebracht op een eenvoudige tape, en uit die releases heeft Bureau B. deze prachtige compilatie samengesteld.

Soms zijn het eenvoudige pianostukjes in Satie-stijl, dan weer is het Eno-ambient met etnische klanken (A Sharp Silver Line) of gewoon een (sublieme) improvisatie (Harmonium Improv 2).

Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past is alweer zo’n heerlijke release vol vergeten tracks die ergens onder het stof lagen in één of andere kast... uit het oog verloren, en toch zo mooi!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
SHINE NOIR • Shine Noir EP
JOHANNES STABEL (XTR HUMAN) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
COCAINE PISS • The Dancer
MORTILLERY • Shapeshifter
BRIGITTE ROSE (BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
VITA NOCTIS • Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
PAWEL STRZELEC (ALLES) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow
OPHELIA (SAIGON BLUE RAIN) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
WE THE NORTH • Endemic

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + DRONE
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BE • One
PALE THORNS • Somberland
ONEIROGEN • Convivium
JOHN 3:16 • The Burnt Tower/Babylon the Great (EP)
LA MONTE YOUNG & MARIAN ZAZEELA • Dream House 78’ 17”
SUBHEIM • Foray
INNERWOUD • Mirre
CHVE • Rasa
YELLOW6 • No Memories, Only Photographes

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
CELESTIAL NORTH • When The Gods Dance
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree

 

Same genre: DRONE
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
EMPUSAE + KLANKDAL • Split album
YODOK III • Legion Of Radiance: Live At Dokkhuset

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'
05
08
Darkwave Duo Sever The Servants Drop Apocalyptic Debut LP

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation