tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : MICHEL BANABILA - Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past

MICHEL BANABILA

Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past

MusicCD
AmbientDrone
Bureau B
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

You may contradict me, but the most beautiful thing about music is that you always can discover something new, a name you've never heard before and makes your life better, or at least more colorful. We’re sure that very few people are familiar with Michel Banabila. Nevertheless, this Dutch musician made 53 (!) albums and worked on 10 Steps To Heaven by Holger Czukay.

Today, he mainly composes music for Dutch theater, but in the 80s he was one of the (many) brilliant ambient artists who were barely noticed. Music that often was released on a simple tape. Bureau B. compiled this wonderful compilation with those forgotten releases.

Sometimes you hear simple piano pieces in Satie style, then it's Eno ambient with ethnic sounds (A Sharp Silver Line) or just a sublime improvisation (Harmonium Improv 2).

Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past is a wonderful release of forgotten tracks that ended up in a dusty cupboard... out of sight, and yet so beautiful!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Je mag me tegenspreken, maar het mooiste aan muziek is dat ze nooit uitgeput raakt. Altijd valt er wel iets te ontdekken, steeds duikt er een naam op die je nog nooit hebt gehoord en die garant staat voor muziek die je leven mooier of ten minste wat kleurrijker maakt. Waarschijnlijk zal je maar bitter weinig mensen ontmoeten die vertrouwd zijn met het werk van Michel Banabila. Toch maakte deze Nederlander 53 (!) platen en werkte hij onder meer mee aan 10 Steps To Heaven van Holger Czukay.

Tegenwoordig componeert hij vooral muziek voor Nederlandse theaterproducties, maar in de jaren 80 was hij één van de (vele) geniale ambientartiesten die nauwelijks werden opgemerkt. Muziek die vaak werd uitgebracht op een eenvoudige tape, en uit die releases heeft Bureau B. deze prachtige compilatie samengesteld.

Soms zijn het eenvoudige pianostukjes in Satie-stijl, dan weer is het Eno-ambient met etnische klanken (A Sharp Silver Line) of gewoon een (sublieme) improvisatie (Harmonium Improv 2).

Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past is alweer zo’n heerlijke release vol vergeten tracks die ergens onder het stof lagen in één of andere kast... uit het oog verloren, en toch zo mooi!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
SHINE NOIR • Shine Noir EP
JOHANNES STABEL (XTR HUMAN) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
COCAINE PISS • The Dancer
MORTILLERY • Shapeshifter
BRIGITTE ROSE (BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
VITA NOCTIS • Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
PAWEL STRZELEC (ALLES) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow
OPHELIA (SAIGON BLUE RAIN) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
WE THE NORTH • Endemic

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + DRONE
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BE • One
PALE THORNS • Somberland
ONEIROGEN • Convivium
JOHN 3:16 • The Burnt Tower/Babylon the Great (EP)
LA MONTE YOUNG & MARIAN ZAZEELA • Dream House 78’ 17”
SUBHEIM • Foray
INNERWOUD • Mirre
CHVE • Rasa
YELLOW6 • No Memories, Only Photographes

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)

 

Same genre: DRONE
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
EMPUSAE + KLANKDAL • Split album
YODOK III • Legion Of Radiance: Live At Dokkhuset
HERMAN NITSCH • (Brussels, Begijnenkerk, 28/02/2016)

Music reviews

03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix
02
09
CAWATANA
In The Silver Light (7')
01
09
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY
On Common Ground
31
08
TUKT
Tukt
26
08
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE
Sharpening The Axe
21
08
STRUGGLER
Wilma (Determinated Protector)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
MORTAR DEVOTIONS
Dystopia Is Just Around The Corner And Orwell Warned Us Already In 1948
16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'
12
09
DAWN OF ASHES
‘Covid-19 Is A Gateway To Show Us The True Colors Of The Human Race

PHOTOS

20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
09
ALPHAMAY
Silence Emotion
20
09
FREISPIELEREI
Fish Muss Schwimmen, Gell
19
09
TRUE ZEBRA
Connection is addiction
19
09
NO!ON
6
18
09
NEOCOMA
Like An Angel
17
09
SYDNEY VALETTE
Précipice
16
09
HELDMACHINE
Die Braut, das Meer