tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : BE - One

BE

One

MusicCD
AmbientDrone

[90/100]   

Caught By The River
10/12/2016, Paul PLEDGER

Back in the '80s, I had an insatiable appetite for hearing new music, new genres and anything off the wall. One port-of-call was the much-missed Wandsworth Road-based Recommended Records, a seriously left-field label and mail order company spearheaded by Chris Cutler that specialised in progressive avant-garde releases that defied the standard definition of avant-garde. Along with Touch Recordings, Recommended dished out some bewildering work that ranged from found-sound field recordings to brutalist, contemporary and cacophonous jazz that no-one would ever quote in a year-end list.

Fast forward to 2016 and the days of challenging, though-provoking music seem to have faded somewhat. Thank fuck-on-high for Caught by the River (and Touch, actually - they still exist). Rather than camp on their laurels, the team behind CBTR (Heavenly's Jeff Barrett for one) have grasped the candle and banged on with a swath of beautiful recordings that won't become anything other than documents, time-capsules, chapters of our time. This one just happens to be damn near perfect.

Commissioned for the 2015 Milan Expo for the UK Pavilion by artist Wolfgang Buttress, One is a four-part symphony created to highlight the plight of our honeybees. Recorded with an ensemble that includes Sigur Ros' string section, Jason Spaceman and Youth, One's key contributor also happens to include tens of thousands of our buzzing chums. Good luck with the publishing rights. With various equipment triggering sounds from within a hive (in Nottingham), the ensemble synchronised strings, lap steels, pianos (added later), harmonium and various electronica to produce something quite magical.

The Journey sets the tone with 19 minutes of gentle drone, string-driven accession and one gorgeous two minutes of melody right at the end, before blissfully drifting into the lilting Into. Now here is that rarest of pieces that sounds like other previously issued masterpieces for all the right reasons. Think Virginia Astley's From Gardens Where We Feel Secure, British Sea Power's From the Sea to the Land Beyond, The Blue Nile when they used to record instrumentals for b-sides and, now this leads us back to the Recommended reference earlier, Steve Moore's untouchable A Quiet Gathering. Utterly, utterly beautiful.

I'm not completely sold on The Hive - none of this music needs vocals, it all speaks for itself. But this is a minor quibble because Uplift flows into earshot as a lip-trembling curatin-call with another Eno-esque melody that might signify the end of days for all I care. Bewitching stuff.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE HIGH LLAMAS • Here Come The Rattling Trees
AURRA • Body Rock
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Studio One Showcase
FIELD MUSIC • Commontime
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite
JOHN FOXX • Burning Car
M CRAFT • Blood Moon
PASCAL PINON • Sundur
WERNER KARLOFF • Tanz Der Automaten
GIRLSCHOOL • Nightmare At Maple Cross

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + DRONE
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
PALE THORNS • Somberland
ONEIROGEN • Convivium
JOHN 3:16 • The Burnt Tower/Babylon the Great (EP)
LA MONTE YOUNG & MARIAN ZAZEELA • Dream House 78’ 17”
SUBHEIM • Foray
INNERWOUD • Mirre
CHVE • Rasa
YELLOW6 • No Memories, Only Photographes

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait

 

Same genre: DRONE
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
EMPUSAE + KLANKDAL • Split album
YODOK III • Legion Of Radiance: Live At Dokkhuset
HERMAN NITSCH • (Brussels, Begijnenkerk, 28/02/2016)
ÆMAETH • The Roman

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
20
05
THE ARCH
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures