tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : BE - One

BE

One

MusicCD
AmbientDrone

[90/100]   

Caught By The River
10/12/2016, Paul PLEDGER

Back in the '80s, I had an insatiable appetite for hearing new music, new genres and anything off the wall. One port-of-call was the much-missed Wandsworth Road-based Recommended Records, a seriously left-field label and mail order company spearheaded by Chris Cutler that specialised in progressive avant-garde releases that defied the standard definition of avant-garde. Along with Touch Recordings, Recommended dished out some bewildering work that ranged from found-sound field recordings to brutalist, contemporary and cacophonous jazz that no-one would ever quote in a year-end list.

Fast forward to 2016 and the days of challenging, though-provoking music seem to have faded somewhat. Thank fuck-on-high for Caught by the River (and Touch, actually - they still exist). Rather than camp on their laurels, the team behind CBTR (Heavenly's Jeff Barrett for one) have grasped the candle and banged on with a swath of beautiful recordings that won't become anything other than documents, time-capsules, chapters of our time. This one just happens to be damn near perfect.

Commissioned for the 2015 Milan Expo for the UK Pavilion by artist Wolfgang Buttress, One is a four-part symphony created to highlight the plight of our honeybees. Recorded with an ensemble that includes Sigur Ros' string section, Jason Spaceman and Youth, One's key contributor also happens to include tens of thousands of our buzzing chums. Good luck with the publishing rights. With various equipment triggering sounds from within a hive (in Nottingham), the ensemble synchronised strings, lap steels, pianos (added later), harmonium and various electronica to produce something quite magical.

The Journey sets the tone with 19 minutes of gentle drone, string-driven accession and one gorgeous two minutes of melody right at the end, before blissfully drifting into the lilting Into. Now here is that rarest of pieces that sounds like other previously issued masterpieces for all the right reasons. Think Virginia Astley's From Gardens Where We Feel Secure, British Sea Power's From the Sea to the Land Beyond, The Blue Nile when they used to record instrumentals for b-sides and, now this leads us back to the Recommended reference earlier, Steve Moore's untouchable A Quiet Gathering. Utterly, utterly beautiful.

I'm not completely sold on The Hive - none of this music needs vocals, it all speaks for itself. But this is a minor quibble because Uplift flows into earshot as a lip-trembling curatin-call with another Eno-esque melody that might signify the end of days for all I care. Bewitching stuff.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE HIGH LLAMAS • Here Come The Rattling Trees
AURRA • Body Rock
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Studio One Showcase
FIELD MUSIC • Commontime
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite
JOHN FOXX • Burning Car
M CRAFT • Blood Moon
PASCAL PINON • Sundur
WERNER KARLOFF • Tanz Der Automaten
GIRLSCHOOL • Nightmare At Maple Cross

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + DRONE
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
PALE THORNS • Somberland
ONEIROGEN • Convivium
JOHN 3:16 • The Burnt Tower/Babylon the Great (EP)
LA MONTE YOUNG & MARIAN ZAZEELA • Dream House 78’ 17”
SUBHEIM • Foray
INNERWOUD • Mirre
CHVE • Rasa
YELLOW6 • No Memories, Only Photographes

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)

 

Same genre: DRONE
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
EMPUSAE + KLANKDAL • Split album
YODOK III • Legion Of Radiance: Live At Dokkhuset
HERMAN NITSCH • (Brussels, Begijnenkerk, 28/02/2016)

Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection