tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : BE - One

BE

One

MusicCD
AmbientDrone

[90/100]   

Caught By The River
10/12/2016, Paul PLEDGER

Back in the '80s, I had an insatiable appetite for hearing new music, new genres and anything off the wall. One port-of-call was the much-missed Wandsworth Road-based Recommended Records, a seriously left-field label and mail order company spearheaded by Chris Cutler that specialised in progressive avant-garde releases that defied the standard definition of avant-garde. Along with Touch Recordings, Recommended dished out some bewildering work that ranged from found-sound field recordings to brutalist, contemporary and cacophonous jazz that no-one would ever quote in a year-end list.

Fast forward to 2016 and the days of challenging, though-provoking music seem to have faded somewhat. Thank fuck-on-high for Caught by the River (and Touch, actually - they still exist). Rather than camp on their laurels, the team behind CBTR (Heavenly's Jeff Barrett for one) have grasped the candle and banged on with a swath of beautiful recordings that won't become anything other than documents, time-capsules, chapters of our time. This one just happens to be damn near perfect.

Commissioned for the 2015 Milan Expo for the UK Pavilion by artist Wolfgang Buttress, One is a four-part symphony created to highlight the plight of our honeybees. Recorded with an ensemble that includes Sigur Ros' string section, Jason Spaceman and Youth, One's key contributor also happens to include tens of thousands of our buzzing chums. Good luck with the publishing rights. With various equipment triggering sounds from within a hive (in Nottingham), the ensemble synchronised strings, lap steels, pianos (added later), harmonium and various electronica to produce something quite magical.

The Journey sets the tone with 19 minutes of gentle drone, string-driven accession and one gorgeous two minutes of melody right at the end, before blissfully drifting into the lilting Into. Now here is that rarest of pieces that sounds like other previously issued masterpieces for all the right reasons. Think Virginia Astley's From Gardens Where We Feel Secure, British Sea Power's From the Sea to the Land Beyond, The Blue Nile when they used to record instrumentals for b-sides and, now this leads us back to the Recommended reference earlier, Steve Moore's untouchable A Quiet Gathering. Utterly, utterly beautiful.

I'm not completely sold on The Hive - none of this music needs vocals, it all speaks for itself. But this is a minor quibble because Uplift flows into earshot as a lip-trembling curatin-call with another Eno-esque melody that might signify the end of days for all I care. Bewitching stuff.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE HIGH LLAMAS • Here Come The Rattling Trees
AURRA • Body Rock
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Studio One Showcase
FIELD MUSIC • Commontime
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite
JOHN FOXX • Burning Car
M CRAFT • Blood Moon
PASCAL PINON • Sundur
WERNER KARLOFF • Tanz Der Automaten
GIRLSCHOOL • Nightmare At Maple Cross

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + DRONE
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
PALE THORNS • Somberland
ONEIROGEN • Convivium
JOHN 3:16 • The Burnt Tower/Babylon the Great (EP)
LA MONTE YOUNG & MARIAN ZAZEELA • Dream House 78’ 17”
SUBHEIM • Foray
INNERWOUD • Mirre
CHVE • Rasa
YELLOW6 • No Memories, Only Photographes

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull

 

Same genre: DRONE
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
EMPUSAE + KLANKDAL • Split album
YODOK III • Legion Of Radiance: Live At Dokkhuset
HERMAN NITSCH • (Brussels, Begijnenkerk, 28/02/2016)

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem