tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : BLACKWOOD - As the World Rots Away

BLACKWOOD

As the World Rots Away

MusicCD
Black MetalDoomDrone

[80/100]   

Subsound Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The album starts with Breaking God 'Spine: pretty grim and it sounds like a trailer for a horror movie. The tone is set for the rest of the album. The album is like a black metal/doom album, mainly with guitars, industrial, slow beats and synth sounds.

The song are mainly vocal sample and they have some drone elements along with the aforementioned characteristics which provide a dark, scary and alienated atmosphere. Let this be the things that appeal to me!

All of this is spread over forty minutes in the form of six tracks. But you could also call it one long trip. Sodom has a fantastic intro. On the last song Unrecoverable Mistakes, Blackwood replaces the lead guitar with a piano. This is a successful alternation in which he manages to maintain the dark atmosphere. I would even say he should do this more because it brings more variety in the tracks.

About the Italian Blackwood, I only know that Eraldo Bernocchi is behind this project. The skull that emerge from the tree roots on the cover, is the work of Petulia Mattioli. It perfectly expresses the mood of the music. For those who love desolation, death and destruction in the form of songs, this is a very fine release.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Het album start met Breaking God’ Spine: vrij duister en het klinkt als een trailer voor een horrorfilm. De toon is meteen gezet voor de rest van het album. Het album klinkt een beetje als een black metal/doomalbum, maar dan hoofdzakelijk met gitaren, industrial, trage beats en synthsounds. De zang bestaat voornamelijk uit vocale samples, de songs hebben wat drone-elementen die samen met eerder genoemde karakteristieken zorgen voor een donkere, enge en vervreemdende sfeer. Laat dit nu net elementen zijn die mij bij momenten aanspreken.

Dit alles is uitgesmeerd over veertig minuten muziek in de vorm van zes tracks. Maar je zou het ook wel als één lange trip kunnen beschouwen. Sodom heeft een fantastische intro: een heel mooie synthsound die het geheel op gang trekt. Op de afsluiter Unrecoverable Mistakes laat Blackwood de loden gitaren even achterwege en ruilt ze in voor piano. Men slaagt er mooi in om de donkere sfeer te behouden. Ik zou zelfs meer zeggen: hij zou dit wat meer mogen doen omdat het meer variatie in de tracks brengt.

Over het Italiaanse Blackwood kan ik niet veel meer vertellen dan dat het een zekere Eraldo Bernocchi is die achter dit project zit. De schedel die uit boomwortels tevoorschijn komt op de hoes, is het werk van Petulia Mattioli en vind ik erg geslaagd: de sfeer van de muziek woredt uitstekend uitgedrukt. Voor wie houdt van troosteloosheid, dood en verderf in de vorm van songs, is dit een heel fijne release.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
DUSTERLUST • Düster Lust
TANZ OHNE MUSIK • Infinity
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
SIMON JONES (AND ALSO THE TREES) • Ten Albums That changed My Life
W-FESTIVAL • Wortegem-Petegem (23/08/2016)
DEAD SKELELETONS • Live in Berlin
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
LANA JASTREVSKI (POPSIMONOVA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
CRYSTAL CASTLES • Amnesty (I)

 

Same genre: BLACK METAL
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
LOTUS THIEF • Gramarye
CRADLE OF FILTH • Dusk And Her Embrace – The Original Sin
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears
DOMINANZ • Noxious
EREB ALTOR • Blot-Ilt-Taut
MIGHTIEST • Sinisterra
DALLA NEBBIA • Felix Culpa
DRACONIAN • Sovran
AMBER ASYLUM, CAMERATA MEDIOLANENSE, EMPYRIUM, DARKHER, TENHI • Prophecy Fest @ Balver Höhle in Balve 19/09/2015

 

Same genre: DOOM
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
HIGH FIGHTER • Scars and Crosses
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
AMBER ASYLUM • Sin Eater
ORGAN • Tetro
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
GJÖLL • The Background of Perpetual Discontent
MY DYING BRIDE • Feel The Misery
TANGLED THOUGHTS OF LEAVING • Yield To Despair

 

Same genre: DRONE
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BE • One
PALE THORNS • Somberland
EMPUSAE + KLANKDAL • Split album

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
01
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS 40th ANNIVERSARY EUROPEAN TOUR
20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!
19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams