tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : BLACKWOOD - As the World Rots Away

BLACKWOOD

As the World Rots Away

MusicCD
Black MetalDoomDrone

[80/100]   

Subsound Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The album starts with Breaking God 'Spine: pretty grim and it sounds like a trailer for a horror movie. The tone is set for the rest of the album. The album is like a black metal/doom album, mainly with guitars, industrial, slow beats and synth sounds.

The song are mainly vocal sample and they have some drone elements along with the aforementioned characteristics which provide a dark, scary and alienated atmosphere. Let this be the things that appeal to me!

All of this is spread over forty minutes in the form of six tracks. But you could also call it one long trip. Sodom has a fantastic intro. On the last song Unrecoverable Mistakes, Blackwood replaces the lead guitar with a piano. This is a successful alternation in which he manages to maintain the dark atmosphere. I would even say he should do this more because it brings more variety in the tracks.

About the Italian Blackwood, I only know that Eraldo Bernocchi is behind this project. The skull that emerge from the tree roots on the cover, is the work of Petulia Mattioli. It perfectly expresses the mood of the music. For those who love desolation, death and destruction in the form of songs, this is a very fine release.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Het album start met Breaking God’ Spine: vrij duister en het klinkt als een trailer voor een horrorfilm. De toon is meteen gezet voor de rest van het album. Het album klinkt een beetje als een black metal/doomalbum, maar dan hoofdzakelijk met gitaren, industrial, trage beats en synthsounds. De zang bestaat voornamelijk uit vocale samples, de songs hebben wat drone-elementen die samen met eerder genoemde karakteristieken zorgen voor een donkere, enge en vervreemdende sfeer. Laat dit nu net elementen zijn die mij bij momenten aanspreken.

Dit alles is uitgesmeerd over veertig minuten muziek in de vorm van zes tracks. Maar je zou het ook wel als één lange trip kunnen beschouwen. Sodom heeft een fantastische intro: een heel mooie synthsound die het geheel op gang trekt. Op de afsluiter Unrecoverable Mistakes laat Blackwood de loden gitaren even achterwege en ruilt ze in voor piano. Men slaagt er mooi in om de donkere sfeer te behouden. Ik zou zelfs meer zeggen: hij zou dit wat meer mogen doen omdat het meer variatie in de tracks brengt.

Over het Italiaanse Blackwood kan ik niet veel meer vertellen dan dat het een zekere Eraldo Bernocchi is die achter dit project zit. De schedel die uit boomwortels tevoorschijn komt op de hoes, is het werk van Petulia Mattioli en vind ik erg geslaagd: de sfeer van de muziek woredt uitstekend uitgedrukt. Voor wie houdt van troosteloosheid, dood en verderf in de vorm van songs, is dit een heel fijne release.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
DUSTERLUST • Düster Lust
TANZ OHNE MUSIK • Infinity
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
SIMON JONES (AND ALSO THE TREES) • Ten Albums That changed My Life
W-FESTIVAL • Wortegem-Petegem (23/08/2016)
DEAD SKELELETONS • Live in Berlin
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
LANA JASTREVSKI (POPSIMONOVA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
CRYSTAL CASTLES • Amnesty (I)

 

Same genre: BLACK METAL
KRALLICE • Mass Cathexis
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
LOTUS THIEF • Gramarye
CRADLE OF FILTH • Dusk And Her Embrace – The Original Sin
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears
DOMINANZ • Noxious
EREB ALTOR • Blot-Ilt-Taut
MIGHTIEST • Sinisterra
DALLA NEBBIA • Felix Culpa
DRACONIAN • Sovran

 

Same genre: DOOM
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
HIGH FIGHTER • Scars and Crosses
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
AMBER ASYLUM • Sin Eater
ORGAN • Tetro
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
GJÖLL • The Background of Perpetual Discontent
MY DYING BRIDE • Feel The Misery
TANGLED THOUGHTS OF LEAVING • Yield To Despair

 

Same genre: DRONE
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BE • One
PALE THORNS • Somberland
EMPUSAE + KLANKDAL • Split album

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

21
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Hafensommer 21 Am Speicher 2 Osnabrück
12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown