tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : BLACKWOOD - As the World Rots Away

BLACKWOOD

As the World Rots Away

MusicCD
Black MetalDoomDrone

[80/100]   

Subsound Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The album starts with Breaking God 'Spine: pretty grim and it sounds like a trailer for a horror movie. The tone is set for the rest of the album. The album is like a black metal/doom album, mainly with guitars, industrial, slow beats and synth sounds.

The song are mainly vocal sample and they have some drone elements along with the aforementioned characteristics which provide a dark, scary and alienated atmosphere. Let this be the things that appeal to me!

All of this is spread over forty minutes in the form of six tracks. But you could also call it one long trip. Sodom has a fantastic intro. On the last song Unrecoverable Mistakes, Blackwood replaces the lead guitar with a piano. This is a successful alternation in which he manages to maintain the dark atmosphere. I would even say he should do this more because it brings more variety in the tracks.

About the Italian Blackwood, I only know that Eraldo Bernocchi is behind this project. The skull that emerge from the tree roots on the cover, is the work of Petulia Mattioli. It perfectly expresses the mood of the music. For those who love desolation, death and destruction in the form of songs, this is a very fine release.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Het album start met Breaking God’ Spine: vrij duister en het klinkt als een trailer voor een horrorfilm. De toon is meteen gezet voor de rest van het album. Het album klinkt een beetje als een black metal/doomalbum, maar dan hoofdzakelijk met gitaren, industrial, trage beats en synthsounds. De zang bestaat voornamelijk uit vocale samples, de songs hebben wat drone-elementen die samen met eerder genoemde karakteristieken zorgen voor een donkere, enge en vervreemdende sfeer. Laat dit nu net elementen zijn die mij bij momenten aanspreken.

Dit alles is uitgesmeerd over veertig minuten muziek in de vorm van zes tracks. Maar je zou het ook wel als één lange trip kunnen beschouwen. Sodom heeft een fantastische intro: een heel mooie synthsound die het geheel op gang trekt. Op de afsluiter Unrecoverable Mistakes laat Blackwood de loden gitaren even achterwege en ruilt ze in voor piano. Men slaagt er mooi in om de donkere sfeer te behouden. Ik zou zelfs meer zeggen: hij zou dit wat meer mogen doen omdat het meer variatie in de tracks brengt.

Over het Italiaanse Blackwood kan ik niet veel meer vertellen dan dat het een zekere Eraldo Bernocchi is die achter dit project zit. De schedel die uit boomwortels tevoorschijn komt op de hoes, is het werk van Petulia Mattioli en vind ik erg geslaagd: de sfeer van de muziek woredt uitstekend uitgedrukt. Voor wie houdt van troosteloosheid, dood en verderf in de vorm van songs, is dit een heel fijne release.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
DUSTERLUST • Düster Lust
TANZ OHNE MUSIK • Infinity
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
SIMON JONES (AND ALSO THE TREES) • Ten Albums That changed My Life
W-FESTIVAL • Wortegem-Petegem (23/08/2016)
DEAD SKELELETONS • Live in Berlin
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
LANA JASTREVSKI (POPSIMONOVA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
CRYSTAL CASTLES • Amnesty (I)

 

Same genre: BLACK METAL
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
LOTUS THIEF • Gramarye
CRADLE OF FILTH • Dusk And Her Embrace – The Original Sin
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears
DOMINANZ • Noxious
EREB ALTOR • Blot-Ilt-Taut
MIGHTIEST • Sinisterra
DALLA NEBBIA • Felix Culpa
DRACONIAN • Sovran
AMBER ASYLUM, CAMERATA MEDIOLANENSE, EMPYRIUM, DARKHER, TENHI • Prophecy Fest @ Balver Höhle in Balve 19/09/2015

 

Same genre: DOOM
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
HIGH FIGHTER • Scars and Crosses
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
AMBER ASYLUM • Sin Eater
ORGAN • Tetro
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
GJÖLL • The Background of Perpetual Discontent
MY DYING BRIDE • Feel The Misery
TANGLED THOUGHTS OF LEAVING • Yield To Despair

 

Same genre: DRONE
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BE • One
PALE THORNS • Somberland
EMPUSAE + KLANKDAL • Split album

Music reviews

12
04
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO
Menetekel
04
04
GROOVENOM
Wir müssen reden
03
04
THE RECEIPTS
The Receipts
02
04
FONTAINES D.C
Dogrel
01
04
FRAGRANCE
Now That I'm Real
31
03
PARADE GROUND
Life [Live In Frankfurt]

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
04
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #33 out now!
14
04
Blindness Vocalist Beth Rettig Announces Debut EP ''The Desert'' From New Project Where We Sleep
13
04
Watch a new trailer for an upcoming documentary on Canadian synthpunk innovator, Nash The Slash!
12
04
Coil Release 150 minutes Of Music Entitled ''SWANYARD''
11
04
Tomorrow! Double concert Neon Electronics + Simi Nah - Win a free album!
10
04
THRILLSVILLE Releases Dark Electronic Single, 'Second Sleep'

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
04
GNOSTIC GORILLA
WAKE UP! We are really in deep shit if we don’t snap out of this siege mentality and we need to stop killing the earth!
12
04
ERNEST MOON
“Our interest in the literary arts is equal to that of music.”
11
04
51 PEG
Breaking A 14-Year Absence: An Interview With 51 Peg
10
04
JO QUAIL
'I guess I’m a bit difficult to categorize!'
08
04
LAIBACH
'In reality, nobody really wants to solve a Korean problem.'

PHOTOS

18
04
DATE AT MIDNIGHT
Dark Skies over Witten V Werkstatt Witten Germany
18
04
AUGER
Dark Skies over Witten V Wekstatt Witten Germany
06
04
PERSEPHONE
@ A Mourning hall concert Gelsenkirchen
24
03
RED ZEBRA
De Lux Herenthout
24
03
DE BRASSERS
De Lux Herenthout
10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
04
UNDERTHESKIN
Borderline
18
04
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
17
04
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
16
04
ANNI HOGAN
Angels Of Romance (featuring Gavin Friday
15
04
DOWNLOAD
Glassblower (Official music video)
15
04
JO QUAIL
The Falconer
14
04
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Tell Them